Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have much money at the end of the month?

• 09-10-2016 1:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭

The Odds and young evens (two odds make an even) did their weekly shop today and ended up spending in or around €400. Shoes, Haircuts, groceries and a treat of lunch out, with Pokémon cards as a bonus (if you don't have kids you won't understand the Pokémon cards).

To be honest this would have been unthinkable a few years back, and would have put a strain on the Odd household (Mind you I think €400 would have gone a bit further a few years back). By no means is this meant to offend anyone; at the end of the day €400 is €400, (to some it's a night out).

Are we ready to do that on a weekly basis? The answer is No, but quite possibly look forward to next Month. ( big savers by the way).

So do you have much money at the end of the month?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

No.

I have a lot of month at the end of the money....

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I burn all my left over money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I want less months and more monies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I have money for food, bills, grown up money (dogs needing vets, people needing a and E or a dr, unforeseen sh1t) and savings money. Whatever's left is free money, for new makeup or clothes or treats. Gotta live a little too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Its hard work trying to save any cash when you're powered by the dole.

I have to use a credit union loan to pay for the holliers and butter vouchers to fund my smoking habbit.

Looking forward to the block of cheddar at christmas along with my bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

€400 is €400, (to some it's a night out

Would be a good night out for 400 quid! I'd actually struggle to spend that on a night out if I was trying.

Is it not Pokemon? I could be wrong but just check it before they call you on it :)

Nothing left at end of month personally but we tend to budget every cent

We would have about 200 left but we put 50/week into a savings account and then when it reaches a decent figure transfer it to mortgage to get the amount down a bit. (stops us spending it)

But if you dont have a mortgage and you're comfy financially then where's the harm? Yee only live once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭For ever odd

Would be a good night out for 400 quid! I'd actually struggle to spend that on a night out if I was trying.

Is it not Pokemon? I could be wrong but just check it before they call you on it :)

Nothing left at end of month personally but we tend to budget every cent

We would have about 200 left but we put 50/week into a savings account and then when it reaches a decent figure transfer it to mortgage to get the amount down a bit. (stops us spending it)

But if you dont have a mortgage and you're comfy financially then where's the harm? Yee only live once.

Thanks - it probably is, spelt it phonetically as the kids say it. Been a long day.

Haha, well (and I mean this in a nice way), the fact that the pokemon bit stood out more than the mortgage question would make me guess that you don't have a mortgage... :)

Sounds like you've a good situation there financially so I would say screw it mate and let them enjoy their wee perks.

Sure if they're happy and you can afford these things for them then why not! Best of luck to yee, nice situation to be in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Boards is for everyone, not just for 'struggling' working class people.

Yep.. A relatively high salary in one of the cheapest places in the world makes it pretty effortless. When I wanted to save properly, I worked 6-7 days + evenings a week and saved around 4k a month.
    But on a normal month like I've had for the last two years, I still have a lot of disposable income. I don't up my lifestyle much at all.. Last night, dinner out (noodles on the street) cost 3euro for both of us because it's our favorite dish.

But life got rocked by an unexpected medical thing a few weeks ago and was relieved that we have and will have an emergency fund because it isn't going away. Some friends here have the same disposable but live the high life and I've had to bail them out when the unexpected happens.

Having some money saved for something serious > Having a new phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm very good with money.

Every year I do an update on all out goings , I write them all down , then add up incomings. Try to make savings where I can and see where were at. We don't really make a lot of money so have to really .

But I know a good few people who make loads more than we do and say they can't afford to go out, buy house ect .....poppy cock!!!! Simple maths that most people are to lazy to do .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Which department of the state do ye work for, op? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,915 ✭✭✭masterboy123

It's pokemon :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

For some reason I can't quote grasp we have less money with two income than we did with one. Got 2500 euros worth of bills in the post yesterday. Screw that ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

I work as a personal financial advisor and my main goal is to ensure people, especially with kids, have the income protected against death/illness, have their children's education costs planned for and their own retirement planned for. I meet them in their homes where they are likely to open up and be honest. I meet people on all kinds of incomes with all kinds of expenses and I have to say the majority, not all, are in financial problems due to no planning and prioritising wrong.

If you find yourself with too much month left at the end of your money, don't moan about it and do nothing, act on it! Ways I have helped people save money, you should try the same instead of just accepting being broke.

Top of range tv package switched to cheaper alternative. Personally I dropped all tv package in favour of streaming, saved myself about 600 a year on that one. I have seen tv bills up to 1600 a year which is nonsense.

Switch banks to one with no fees for your current account. Worth about 100 to me personally a year.

Same as above with mobile phones, electricity, gas providers, shop around could be worth a fortune. Mobile phones in particular, I have seen people on 60 Euro a month plans whereas I run my full business on a 30 a month plan.

Make your lunch and tea/coffee for commute instead of buying it could be up to 200 a month saved I have found, think about it, that's over 2 grand a year.

Shop in lower cost supermarket, I'm not going to advertise for them here but we know which ones are expensive and which ones aren't. Huge saving potential, especially if kids involved.

Pick a distance or time where you will walk instead of driving the car. Mine is 10 minutes. If I can walk it in 10 minutes I won't drive unless it's pissing rain or have to bring something bulky/heavy.

For God sake, cut out the smoking! I used to smoke too until recently but the cost is astronomical. 15 a day cost me almost 3 grand a year. Ouch. But I know quitting smoking is tough, I tried and failed a hundred times. Got myself a vape now and I prefer it. And that 3000 a year is about 300 now.

There's thousands of savings in there folks, and if you look at them you are not denying yourself anything really just being clever.

Put the money into a holiday, credit union, education plan, pension, whatever but there is money to be saved.

Oops: Just realised this is after hours, sorry for the serious nature of the post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Now that I have cancelled my gym membership, I will have €35 left at the end of every month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I am ok, two things I have learned over the years...

Never lend money to a friend. It's dangerous. It could damage his memory.
    - Sam Levenson

If you want to leave Dubai with a million dollars in your pocket, Go there with two million.

bmwguy wrote: »
    I work as a personal financial advisor ...........
    Put the money into a holiday, credit union, education plan, pension, whatever but there is money to be saved.

I'm on a pension. I scoured ye post for some way to save a bone. Nope.

Don't watch TV. Drink bought coffee. Have kids. Go on holidays. Drive a motor ..... I could probably go on.

I appreciate ye effort. But, I probably have something in the slush fund, every month, because I don't contribute to the BMW ownership of any slick talking SOB hoping to tell me how I should manage to do what I already do! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Stigura wrote: »

Don't watch TV. Drink bought coffee. Have kids. Go on holidays. Drive a motor ..... I could probably go on.

I appreciate ye effort. But, I probably have something in the slush fund, every month, because I don't contribute to the BMW ownership of any slick talking SOB hoping to tell me how I should manage to do what I already do! :p

What are you spending your money on then?

It hardly just disappears.

:confused: I run a computer. Things like that.

Did ye mis read / understand my post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I'm very good with money.

Every year I do an update on all out goings , I write them all down , then add up incomings. Try to make savings where I can and see where were at. We don't really make a lot of money so have to really .

But I know a good few people who make loads more than we do and say they can't afford to go out, buy house ect .....poppy cock!!!! Simple maths that most people are to lazy to do .
    The trouble with most people is that the more they earn the more they waste money. If you look at askaboutmoney.com you'll see the people looking for advice for a money makeover are double income families with net income of 50-80k.

Stigura wrote: »

That's good you have all that and are doing well. If someone takes ideas from it great, if someone like you is already doing it then they are already well ahead. Some people just need to sit down, think about where money goes maybe track expenses for a while. Then make some little changes for the better.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The trouble with most people is that the more they earn the more they waste money. If you look at askaboutmoney.com you'll see the people looking for advice for a money makeover are double income families with net income of 50-80k.

It's called lifestyle creep and it should be taught to everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Calling them a creep is a bit much now... they were only makin a point... gee wiz! :P

Go home Yank :rolleyes:

Lifestyle should be taught to everyone?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The biggest hit to our income is actually very visible. A right wing city council's implementation of a left-wing government's ill-conceived policy on after-school care has more than quadrupled our monthly expenditure in that area. This, and employers' refusal to entertain COLA in salaries coupled with steep increases in the cost of living essentials wipes out the vast majority of the monthly income.

Not a whole lot can be done really and I appreciate that we're still in way more favourable a position than most Irish workers with respect to the above, rent, health care and more. Not to mention Americans and other people with none of the safety nets we take for granted in Europe.

Got 2500 euros worth of bills in the post yesterday. Screw that ****.

That's insane. Assuming they're bi-monthly are you really paying 15,000 per year on bills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Great advice BMWGuy. I examine EVERY bill that comes in to make sure I get the best deal out there. There are websites which will give you the best local price for heating oil, broadband, phone (I got rid of the landline), Insurance etc. Loyalty is not rewarded by any business and you should accept that. Biggest saving was getting rid of Sky. Freeview, Streaming & Netflix all the way. Get a Chromecast, it's the business

There are only 2 of us in the house now and we found that we were beginning to throw out raw ingredients, which had gone off, because of the minimum quantities you had to buy. Now, we use the whole lot at one go and freeze the leftovers. Cuts down on the electricity bill too.

At my stage of life, I'm not cutting down on my comforts, but I'm not going to pay more money for the same thing. I would always have a surplus at the end of the month. I love buying electrical gadgets, other treats, put some away and also help out my (adult) kids with the odd bill, as they are just starting out. They would never ask, but I got the same when I was their age and it meant a lot

TLDR; Get the best deal for everything and you can get more than you thought you could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

That's insane. Assuming they're bi-monthly are you really paying 15,000 per year on bills?

Could be car tax, car insurance and a fill of oil for a tank.

Great advice BMWGuy. I examine EVERY bill that comes in to make sure I get the best deal out there. There are websites which will give you the best local price for heating oil, broadband, phone (I got rid of the landline), Insurance etc. Loyalty is not rewarded by any business and you should accept that. Biggest saving was getting rid of Sky. Freeview, Streaming & Netflix all the way. Get a Chromecast, it's the business

There are only 2 of us in the house now and we found that we were beginning to throw out raw ingredients, which had gone off, because of the minimum quantities you had to buy. Now, we use the whole lot at one go and freeze the leftovers. Cuts down on the electricity bill too.

At my stage of life, I'm not cutting down on my comforts, but I'm not going to pay more money for the same thing. I would always have a surplus at the end of the month. I love buying electrical gadgets, other treats, put some away and also help out my (adult) kids with the odd bill, as they are just starting out. They would never ask, but I got the same when I was their age and it meant a lot

TLDR; Get the best deal for everything and you can get more than you thought you could

Good advice also.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 Side Gate

I've debt coming out of my ears so nowt left at the end of the month. Rent is killing us and no chance of a pay rise on the horizon. Looking like we will be heading to New Zealand with the kids at the beginning of next year don't see a future here unfortunately.

Side Gate wrote: »
    I've debt coming out of my ears so nowt left at the end of the month. Rent is killing us and no chance of a pay rise on the horizon. Looking like we will be heading to New Zealand with the kids at the beginning of next year don't see a future here unfortunately.

Don't know if you are living in Dublin, but: If you are living in Dublin then move out of Dublin to somewhere else in Ireland rather than moving half way across the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Do you need to pay a TV licence if you don't have any channels, i.e. just watch Netflix/YouTube on it?

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Do you need to pay a TV licence if you don't have any channels, i.e. just watch Netflix/YouTube on it?

Yeah. It's a bit crap to be honest.

I don't watch anything on RTE. I haven't even got whatever aerial you need to get it but i do listen to Radio 1 for the unadulterated comedy of Liveline so at least i'm getting something for my 160 quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Yeah. It's a bit crap to be honest.

I don't watch anything on RTE. I haven't even got whatever aerial you need to get it but i do listen to Radio 1 for the unadulterated comedy of Liveline so at least i'm getting something for my 160 quid.

I love liveline :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Tasden wrote: »
    I love liveline :)
    You don't show it caller
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057653244

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

snubbleste wrote: »

I give Joe my full attention!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

A week after I'm paid, I've nothing left for the month. This is a household of 3 adults and 2 kids. 2 incomes coming in, and after bills, petrol, etc, normally left with about €50 a week between us all. So when I have car tax to pay, I can only pay it for 3 months, as can't afford the year all at once.

My car insurance, house insurance and health insurance all come our each month, cause again don't have enough monthly income to pay it all off as one.

Of the €50 left every week, about €20 of that is put away for holidays, as the kids need to go away (last holiday was 2 years ago). Ihave noodles for lunch twice a week, pasta the other 2 days and then whatever I have left in the fridge for the Friday.

I was paid less than 2 weeks ago, and Im already looking at a tin of beans for lunch tomorrow, banana sandwich for lunch Tuesday, and not sure for the rest of the week. I don't get paid for another 2 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

The squeezed middle is clear here. What happens when or if interest rates increase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

antodeco wrote: »
    A week after I'm paid, I've nothing left for the month. This is a household of 3 adults and 2 kids. 2 incomes coming in, and after bills, petrol, etc, normally left with about €50 a week between us all. So when I have car tax to pay, I can only pay it for 3 months, as can't afford the year all at once.

My car insurance, house insurance and health insurance all come our each month, cause again don't have enough monthly income to pay it all off as one.

Of the €50 left every week, about €20 of that is put away for holidays, as the kids need to go away (last holiday was 2 years ago). Ihave noodles for lunch twice a week, pasta the other 2 days and then whatever I have left in the fridge for the Friday.

I was paid less than 2 weeks ago, and Im already looking at a tin of beans for lunch tomorrow, banana sandwich for lunch Tuesday, and not sure for the rest of the week. I don't get paid for another 2 weeks

Jesus, that's grim. No judging, it sounds like an extremely tough situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Side Gate wrote: »

Ya I think you are right.There is little chance here with high rents/high cost of buying a home.There is a great chance to save money in the Middle East etc.It is inevitable that house prices will fall eventually, they won't go up in value forever.Better to come back here when auctioneers are struggling to sell houses,when you have a nice chunk of change saved from overseas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Was in a small town in England last week population of 6,000. The small bar/restaurant that we spent our time in had a manager, 2 bar man/ waiter. A cleaner, a handyman, a chef and 2 kitchen staff. None of them seemed stressed or over worked in anyway.

The same pub in ireland would have a owner/manager/bar man/cook with another 1 maybe 2 employees. Just shows how much easier it is to live in England than Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭Daisy78

You should be commended on the above, not easy. You children are lucky to have a parent who sacrifices so much for them.

For me it depends on the month. I'm on a pretty decent salary so can't complain too much. I've no loans/ debt so that is a big plus compared to others. I save a good chunk of money every month, I'm hoping to apply for a mortgage early next year so all savings will go towards that. Even when I was in less money I always put something aside even if it was a small amount. When bills, rent and other sundries are paid for there is not much left tbh. Was chatting to my flatmate about this some time ago and she said that she always has money left at the end of the month, it's just there in her account. Now she is on less money than me so I was a bit embarrassed telling her that there was practically nothing left in mine when it comes to month end. I think I can be a wasteful at times and am trying to be more mindful of my spending. But then sometimes I think we'll I work bloody hard so what harm is it if I have the odd night out or splurge, as long as I'm saving a bit and paying the bills it can't do much harm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

In the early days of marriage and a young family, coupled with huge mortgagee interest rates in the 70s and 80s, it was a tight budget every week. We had to consider every purchase and often discussed what could or could not be bought each week. We avoided debt, kept up a small saving routine and emerged out of the period to a much better situation today. Now, money is far from a problem and it has moved on to a situation where the bank balance is rarely looked at other than to see if some needs moving to savings.

Why are you paying health insurance on such a tight budget?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,915 ✭✭✭masterboy123

We are a couple with no kids.

Both of us are working. Our savings are 30-40% of total combined income, that leaves us around 1000e every month. Saving that money so we can have 25% of total mortgage even we get a house in future.

• Site Banned Posts: 19 Bigby

One million dol..

About €20. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

lawlolawl wrote:
    Don't know if you are living in Dublin, but: If you are living in Dublin then move out of Dublin to somewhere else in Ireland rather than moving half way across the world.

This is what we did and we are fairly comfortable considering there is only one of us working and 3 kids. Anybody who works for low/minimum wages and lives in Dublin is crazy IMO. Have a niece who works as a hairdresser, gets paid 400 a week, partner is unemployed, rent is 1200 but won't move from Dublin. Crazy!