Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what did you get your best men as a gift

• 08-10-2016 12:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

Getting married in 3 weeks and have no gift for best men. Were hiring suits and i bought them €100 shoes they keep. Im also intending to pay for their accommodation the night before the wedding for them and their partners as the wedding is 200 miles from home. There are 2 groomsmen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

Getting married in 3 weeks and have no gift for best men. Were hiring suits and i bought them €100 shoes they keep. Im also intending to pay for their accommodation the night before the wedding for them and their partners as the wedding is 200 miles from home. There are 2 groomsmen.

Wrote speech for him. Enough of a gift as he would have made a show of himself otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭joeyboy12345

Wrote speech for him. Enough of a gift as he would have made a show of himself otherwise.

Ha ha!very good!so you got them nothing as a gift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

Ha ha!very good!so you got them nothing as a gift?

Let him and other groomsmen keep there suits. I kno some rent tho

We rented to keep costs down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭cmac2009

I think getting to keep shoes is a decent enough present. Its also something that they will actually use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Also 3 weeks away here. Rented suits, they get to keep shirts and cufflinks. Bought shoes. Also bought hipflasks for groomsmen and fathers. Gonna buy a nice bottle of whiskey and throw it into the flasks

L'prof wrote:
    Also 3 weeks away here. Rented suits, they get to keep shirts and cufflinks. Bought shoes. Also bought hipflasks for groomsmen and fathers. Gonna buy a nice bottle of whiskey and throw it into the flasks

I like that idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

L'prof wrote: »

Hip flasks also. Little vodka and red Bull and you're good for the day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

We've done a huge clearout before we moved and all the tankards and hipflasks himself has accumulated over a decade of wedding duties went to a charity shop. No one really wants or will use them so I would not bother. Paying for accommodation is a great gift.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭Arthur.beaker

Knew this thread would be full of hip flash suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Engraved hip-flasks, a bottle of their favourite spirits and a pack of Star Wars socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

lazygal wrote: »
    We've done a huge clearout before we moved and all the tankards and hipflasks himself has accumulated over a decade of wedding duties went to a charity shop. No one really wants or will use them so I would not bother. Paying for accommodation is a great gift.

Yes, I've never understood why people give these as gifts? Especially if it's done at so many weddings, why would you want to spend money on something that someone doesn't need, and that they probably already have multiples of at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Free suits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I went for Swiss army knives engraved with their names (best man and groomsmen got the same gift) as I reckon they would use it at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

Nothing - though this was back in the day

cactusgal wrote: »
    Yes, I've never understood why people give these as gifts? Especially if it's done at so many weddings, why would you want to spend money on something that someone doesn't need, and that they probably already have multiples of at home?

I'd say at a conservative guess about €200 worth went to charity from our stuff alone. Such a waste of money. I think it's a default gift, but a suit or accommodation would be far more practical.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

We got cuff links off the brother when he was getting married.

TBH, I didn't even realise this was a thing. I mean (and I know this is going to sound so cheesy and I apologise in advance), but I was just so chuffed to be asked to be his best man that any sort of present was the last think I expected.

I would assume that's the same for any groomsman or best man.

Wilberto wrote: »
    We got cuff links off the brother when he was getting married.

TBH, I didn't even realise this was a thing. I mean (and I know this is going to sound so cheesy and I apologise in advance), but I was just so chuffed to be asked to be his best man that any sort of present was the last think I expected.

I would assume that's the same for any groomsman or best man.

I think it probably depends on your stage of life. We've been to so many weddings now it's just not anything unexpected at this stage. I'm secretly relieved when we get to be "normal" guests now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

My plan is to get my brides dude a pocket watch- he's not a massive suit wearer and has a gorgeous pair of family heirloom cufflinks so no need there. I know he'll get a kick out of having a pocket watch. He'll also get to keep his suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Got them (my brothers) an engraved hipflask, bought them the shoes and a nice shirt for the wedding and got a characture drawing of the 3 of us as Simpsons characters and got them framed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

Straight cut razor set

Got them (my brothers) an engraved hipflask, bought them the shoes and a nice shirt for the wedding and got a characture drawing of the 3 of us as Simpsons characters and got them framed.

Great idea,and different 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭jellybear

Amazing picture!! Where did you get this done, if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Swarovski cuff links

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

But to be honest.. It's a waste of money. Nobody wants nor appreciates these trinkets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭sullivk

We bought our groomsmens' suits, shirts and cufflinks.
    I think paying for suit or accommodation is a very practical gift and I think it would ve appreciated far more than a hip flask.

My husband was groomsman for his Brother, and he had to foot the entire bill for his own suit and shirt... and not just any old suit, the groom chose a very expensive Hugo Boss suit no less!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭happycoach

If money isnt an issue, a nice watch is always a nice present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Usernemises

I paid for the lads accomadation, rented their suits and let them keep the shoes. The Mrs found nice watches online and ordered them in, about 100e each but they were well worth it as its always.nice to have a dress watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Usernemises

Scratch that, asked herself and it turns out they were 230e each and had to be sent to her brother in New York who then brought them over when he came for the wedding. A lot of hassle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭FightingIrish

Got all my groomsmen and both our dads nice watches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

jellybear wrote: »
    Amazing picture!! Where did you get this done, if you don't mind me asking?

It was a girl in Venuezuala (I think) found her on www.fiverr.com

Her user name is eliana93fer, search for "yellow", she should come up in the searches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

I've been best man twice and got nothing, won't be getting my best men anything either. Nothing against it, just saying that it's not mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭jellybear

It was a girl in Venuezuala (I think) found her on www.fiverr.com

Her user name is eliana93fer, search for "yellow", she should come up in the searches.

Thanks a million. Can't find her unfortunately but there are plenty more to choose from :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

We just bought our groomsmen engraved pocket watches from etsy. about 20 each and you get discount for buying multiples! they are pretty cool! Himself has 2 different hipflasks from being groomsman at different weddings. He was best man twice, once the room was paid for and a small/ no present and then another he had to pay for his own room but got hipflask, really nice watch, and socks. I don't think a big gift is necessary!

On a side note - I only got the pocketwatches engraved with their initials (or dad for the 2 dads) I left the date off them. Yes, the date is amazing and special to us, but not being mean, but 2, 3, 4 years down the line it means absolutely nothing to them so why have it on the present. They might be more likely to use it then :) That's a personal choice though :)