Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia nuclear war training exercise 40 million people involved.

• 05-10-2016 8:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭

The Russian government has launched a nationwide civil defence training exercise to ensure the country is properly prepared in the event of a nuclear, chemical and biological attack from the West.

Amid growing international tensions, particulary over Russia's conduct in Syria, the Defence Ministry-run Zvezda TV network announced last week: "Schizophrenics from America are sharpening nuclear weapons for Moscow."

Lasting three days, the exercise bing run by the Ministry for Civil Defence, Emergencies and Elimination of Consequences of Natural Disasters (EMERCOM) will involve 200,000 emergency personnel and the co-operation of 40 million civilians.
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/russia-nuclear-weapon-training-attack-radiation-moscow-vladimir-putin-a7345461.html

Today this getting serious.
    Russia suspends nuclear agreement, ends uranium research pact with United States
    http://www.reuters.com/article/us-russia-usa-nuclear-uranium-idUSKCN12521J

President Obama faces an increasingly stark choice in Syria — he can order American military action or watch thousands of women and children die as the rebel stronghold of Aleppo falls.

So far, he has shown no willingness to launch a U.S. military response, but White House officials told NBC News Monday they are now considering escalating the U.S. involvement in Syria's civil war, including unspecified "actions…that would further underscore the consequences of not coming back to the negotiating table."

Until now, Obama could point to the possibility of a diplomatic solution, as Secretary of State John Kerry won Russia's agreement on a ceasefire.

But the ceasefire never happened, and the diplomatic effort has now collapsed, with the U.S. suspending talks with Russia.

And as the civilian death toll rises, Obama may come under increasing pressure to act, though there is no sign yet that a strike is imminent.
    http://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/isis-terror/syria-white-house-warns-actions-if-russia-won-t-negotiate-n659126

Would Obama risk war with the Russians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

At this stage Obama won't be doing any major military campaigns this close to the end of his presidency.. That's a problem for the next US President.

As for the Russians the whole charade is for the benefit of one audience here and that's the Russian People. Best way to keep a people in check, fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The Russian government has launched a nationwide civil defence training exercise to ensure the country is properly prepared in the event of a nuclear, chemical and biological attack from the West.

Amid growing international tensions, particulary over Russia's conduct in Syria, the Defence Ministry-run Zvezda TV network announced last week: "Schizophrenics from America are sharpening nuclear weapons for Moscow."

Lasting three days, the exercise bing run by the Ministry for Civil Defence, Emergencies and Elimination of Consequences of Natural Disasters (EMERCOM) will involve 200,000 emergency personnel and the co-operation of 40 million civilians.
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/russia-nuclear-weapon-training-attack-radiation-moscow-vladimir-putin-a7345461.html

Russia suspends nuclear agreement, ends uranium research pact with United States

President Obama faces an increasingly stark choice in Syria — he can order American military action or watch thousands of women and children die as the rebel stronghold of Aleppo falls.

So far, he has shown no willingness to launch a U.S. military response, but White House officials told NBC News Monday they are now considering escalating the U.S. involvement in Syria's civil war, including unspecified "actions…that would further underscore the consequences of not coming back to the negotiating table."

Until now, Obama could point to the possibility of a diplomatic solution, as Secretary of State John Kerry won Russia's agreement on a ceasefire.

But the ceasefire never happened, and the diplomatic effort has now collapsed, with the U.S. suspending talks with Russia.

And as the civilian death toll rises, Obama may come under increasing pressure to act, though there is no sign yet that a strike is imminent.
    http://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/isis-terror/syria-white-house-warns-actions-if-russia-won-t-negotiate-n659126

"Cheerful Spring " ? You're not cheerful, Are you a spring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

That's more like it

Iron curtain four minute warning mutual destruction

Better times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Putin is a lunatic. He's trying to revive a "great" Russia and he wants to humiliate the US and separate the Anglo Saxon (Russia's ideas) from the rest of Europe. Brexit is a joy to him and the distancing of The EU from the US. If he can undermine NATO too all the better. He will continue with his hybrid wars and a risky brinksmanship with the US over Syria and the South China Sea. While US foreign policy is bad enough it is Preferable compared to the cynical ethic free power lunacy of Putin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Great to see Russia and America at loggerheads again. All the best movies were coldwar related. Top Gun, Rocky IV, Hunt for Red October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

If I hide under my desk I'll be safe from nuclear destruction....right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Hopefully we'll get a remake of Threads with modern special effects etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Great to see Russia and America at loggerheads again. All the best movies were coldwar related. Top Gun, Rocky IV, Hunt for Red October
    And James Bond can breathe again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

And alls we got was jaysus Iodine tablets from our government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Iodine tablets..... are they still fresh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

If they start whacking each other with missiles, would we be able to see them passing over at night?

If it wasn't too cloudy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Fleawuss wrote: »
    and separate the Anglo Saxon (Russia's ideas) from the rest of Europe ... distancing of The EU from the US.

I'm sure many Europeans would have preferred if "**** the EU" Washington hadn't started messing around in the east by attempting to incorporate former Soviet states into NATO. Russia's actions are pushback rather than provocation.

If Moscow was anywhere near as provocative as Washington it would be making defence pacts with South and Central American states, putting missile defences in Guatemala, and funding pro Russian politics in Mexico.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Wouldn't surprise me if both US and Russia start bombing the be jaysus out of each other Syria. Both sides seem to be acting like petulant kids lately. Pity the EU is so spineless and doesn't seem to have an independent criticizing voice for itself as it continues to be the US lapdog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Basically the Russian military will conduct exercises around civillian populations hardly ground breaking stuff ,
    For some reason the op makes its sound so much more dramatic than it actually is ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

When you've got infowars and Alex Jones reporting this you know its paranoid conspiracy garbage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Half a million Syrians wouldn't be dead and 10 million wouldn't be refugees if Obama hadn't unleashed ISIS on Syria to overthrow Assad in order to install a puppet who would allow Western oil companies to rape the country.

Don't kid yourself with this preschooler excuse of humanitarian intervention or that Assad is a "brutal dictator". Only the naive and the gullible swallow that line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The original Red Dawn

AVENGE ME!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

HensVassal wrote: »
    Half a million Syrians wouldn't be dead and 10 million wouldn't be refugees if Obama hadn't unleashed ISIS on Syria to overthrow Assad in order to install a puppet who would allow Western oil companies to rape the country.

Don't kid yourself with this preschooler excuse of humanitarian intervention or that Assad is a "brutal dictator". Only the naive and the gullible swallow that line.

Exactly. Funny how people eat up the media narrative that USA = Good and Russia = Bad. Sadly there are no good guys in this war but if I was to support anyone it would be the legitimate president of Syria, Assad. Things were better the way they were before. Even many Syrians who supported the uprising wish to return to the pre uprising days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭FISMA.

No, just atomic!

HensVassal wrote: »

Sounds like something off a Facebook meme ,

Suppose conspiracy's have to start somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Gatling wrote: »
    Sounds like something off a Facebook meme ,

Suppose conspiracy's have to start somewhere

A dictator in the ME I'm shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The Vodka's not working anymore, the Novofuhrer needs to distract and foster fear to keep himself in power. Funny how some seem to soak up the propaganda and his Russian Strong man act.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Iodine tablets..... are they still fresh?
    Expiry March 05.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Russia conduct similar exercises on a regular enough basis, so I won't be pulling the Govt.-issued iodine tablets out just yet. I suspect this is scaremongering rather than a credible threat.

And fcuk it! if the nukes do fly, I can hide in my fridge - Han Solo did it as Indiana Jones and he was okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭no.8

' rebel stronghold' xD
    ....You lost me (& probably most of us)!there. Are we talking about legitimate recognized opposition or savages/mercenaries fighting a funded proxy war on behalf of other regional and international players. Some may be legit, some, but there is no black and white, good vs. evil in this particularly horrible conflict :'(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I think a nice bit of Cake might alleviate the problem

21/25

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

uch wrote: »
    I think a nice bit of Cake might alleviate the problem

One kiddy on Cake cried all the water out of his body :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Basically the Russian military will conduct exercises around civillian populations hardly ground breaking stuff ,
    For some reason the op makes its sound so much more dramatic than it actually is ,

I think you missed this- the Defence Ministry-run Zvezda TV network announced last week: "Schizophrenics from America are sharpening nuclear weapons for Moscow."

Drills involving the co-operation of 40 million people is hardly nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

One kiddy on Cake cried all the water out of his body :mad:

I find this reprehensible, if cake doesn't solve these things what is the point of my being!

21/25

uch wrote: »
    I find this reprehensible, if cake doesn't solve these things what is the point of my being!
    Do you deny giving cake to kids ?

next you'll be saying it's part of their culture

ís mith liom cacá milis - mar dhea :rolleyes:

And fcuk it! if the nukes do fly, I can hide in my fridge - Han Solo did it as Indiana Jones and he was okay.
    Only because the fridge was lead lined and look at the way that filum ended :(

Good news everybody ! the Tsar Bomb was the cleanest bomb per megaton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Hunt for Red October

Compulsory

Drills involving the co-operation of 40 million people is hardly nothing to worry about.

Don't believe everything you happen to read when it comes from russia .

This says it all really

"In addition to the nationwide exercise, EMERCOM has announced its intention to build underground facilities beneath Moscow to shield 100 per cent of the capital's population from a nuclear attack."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 246 ✭✭PlamenDon

Don't believe everything you happen to read when it comes from russia .

This says it all really

"In addition to the nationwide exercise, EMERCOM has announced its intention to build underground facilities beneath Moscow to shield 100 per cent of the capital's population from a nuclear attack."

Why not believe it?, it's been on almost every news channel on the planet so far.

And the Moscow bunkers have been under construction for years according to US intelligence.

Anybody denying that things are very tense between Russia and America need to wake up, Ash Carter seems determined to start WW3, there's a lot of talk on both sides that things could get hot fairly quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

... a very wise decision indeed ...
    http://www.frontpagemag.com/sites/default/files/uploads/2015/03/HillaryClinton.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

Do we need another thread to go through this nonsense again?

*Russia does military/emergency exercises*

"Is this an issue?"

'Rabble Rabble' Everything is the fault of the US that dragged Eastern Europe kicking and screaming into NATO before inventing ISIS in a lab in Arizona 'Rabble Rabble'

/Thread

Do we need another thread to go through this nonsense again?

*Russia does military/emergency exercises*

"Is this an issue?"

'Rabble Rabble' Everything is the fault of the US that dragged Eastern Europe kicking and screaming into NATO before inventing ISIS in a lab in Arizona 'Rabble Rabble'

/Thread

Were you dragged kicking and screaming into this thread, it would have been easier for you not to post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

PlamenDon wrote: »
    Were you dragged kicking and screaming into this thread, it would have been easier for you not to post.

In truth I feel an irrepressible urge to swat away some of the nonsense I see coming out of people's mouths on this issue. Simply sitting back and allowing bad information to be repeated ad nauseam until it has the weight of consensus is not a particularly desirable state of affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Yeah,just put some bags of coal and the like on top and all around the sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Thermonuclear

Thank god there are some people here who are following whats really happening.

We are heading for ruination world wide.

I actually saw a lady giving out on an earlier thread about Irish men wearing comfortable clothes and joined to give my 2 cent worth. Bloody ridiculous! and typical of a dumbed down gogsh'# giving about about cords while some of the world is reading for nuclear war.

What fools there are littered across the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Why not believe it?, it's been on almost every news channel on the planet so far.

Please show me a reputable news channel or site quoting the 40 million figure that the conspiracy sites are banging on about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

It was more scary in the 70,s early eighty's , or maybe only seemed that way,

Personally I think the real trouble will/might come from the chineses as they try to push for being top dog with as much influence as US n Russia ,Its all a big game played out to a world stage with the unfortunate pawns being mostly innocent people, Same as it ever was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

violence occurred in the Middle East, including the Iran–Iraq War, the Soviet–Afghan War, the 1982 Lebanon War, the Nagorno-Karabakh War, the Bombing of Libya in 1986, and the First Intifada in the Gaza Strip and the West Bank. Islamism became a powerful political force in the 1980s and many terrorist organizations, including Al Qaeda started.

1989 saw the overthrow and attempted overthrow of a number of governments led by communist parties, such as in Hungary, the Tiananmen Square protests of 1989 in China, the Czechoslovak "Velvet Revolution", Erich Honecker's East German regime, Poland's Soviet-backed government, and the violent overthrow of the Nicolae Ceauşescu regime in Romania. The Cold War ended in the early 1990s with the successful Reunification of Germany and the USSR's demise after the August Coup of 1991.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_wars_1945%E2%80%931989#1980.E2.80.931989

Big long list of wars there that ended in 1989, well most of them some of them have continued on in some form or another. enjoy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

His attempt was to shut down debate critical of the US of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭brickmauser

A nuclear war would be catastrophic.
    In the space of a few minutes it would all be over.
    Once US missiles would be in the air it would make no difference if Russian missiles were fired. Every major Russian city would be flattened.
    What would be the point on levelling every major US city in reply?
    Anti missile systems would not get all the warheads because there would be multiple bombs in each missiles and multiple dummies to use up interceptors.
    Two whole continents should be rendered uninhabitable for years.
    With every infrastructure vital to sustain survivors destroyed and farming collapsed the majority would perish from famine.
    The few who survived would be reduced to medieval levels of existence probably returning to living in castles and fortresses and slavery and serfdom and the use of horse power.
    War would be fought again with swords axes arrows spears and clubs.
    Generations to come would marvel at the ghostly ruins of the cities and folklore would be full of tales of flying silver birds and great ships and towers that reached the skies before the ancients ones provoked the wrath of the gods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

/Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Musk needs to hurry the fcuk up.

VinLieger wrote: »
    Please show me a reputable news channel or site quoting the 40 million figure that the conspiracy sites are banging on about

Not sure what you mean by reputable news channels, I think I know what you mean, I'll try my best.

Before I do why not just put the Emercom article which is the original source.
    More than 40 million people, 200,000 specialists of emergency rescue divisions and about 50,000 units of equipment are going to be involved in the drill.
    http://en.mchs.ru/mass_media/news/item/32915549/

Is Putin preparing for WW3? Russia begins evacuation of FORTY MILLION PEOPLE in huge drill.
    http://www.express.co.uk/news/world/717446/russia-evacuate-40-million-people-emergency-drill-vladimir-putin-ww3

Russia claims nuclear war could be imminent as it evacuates 40 MILLION people in drill and warns that 'schizophrenics from America' could attack.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3823232/Russia-warns-schizophrenics-America-sharpening-atomic-weapons-Moscow-nuclear-war-imminent-evacuates-40-MILLION-people-drill.html#ixzz4MJEEiGKG

Russia to evacuate 40 million people ready for nuclear strike TODAY
    http://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/latest-news/550542/russia-nuclear-world-war-3-us-civil-defence-drill-40-million-people-vladimir-putin-bunkers

40 million Russians involved in annual 4-day defense drills
    https://www.rt.com/news/361553-russia-civil-defense-drill/

WW3 News: Vladimir Putin Evacuating Russians For Nuclear War With America
    http://www.morningnewsusa.com/ww3-news-vladimir-putin-evacuating-russians-nuclear-war-america-23110128.html

Putin’s WW3? Russia holds massive nuclear war exercise as military tensions rise with US
    http://yalibnan.com/2016/10/04/russia-holds-massive-nuclear-war-exercise-as-military-tensions-rise-with-us/

40 million Russians take part in training to survive man-made or natural disaster
    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/world/news/article.cfm?c_id=2&objectid=11723175

40 million Russians take part in training to survive man-made or natural disaster
    http://www.news.com.au/world/europe/40-million-russians-take-part-in-training-to-survive-manmade-or-natural-disaster/news-story/870f4415bb76c529610a2706998fa763

Russian government's decision to hold an evacuation drill for 40 million people.
    http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/russian-nukes-alarm-congress-but-not-state-dept./article/2603699

Russia begins ‘large scale’ drill with 40 million citizens participating
    http://english.alarabiya.net/en/News/world/2016/10/04/Russia-begins-large-scale-drill-with-40-million-citizens-participating-.html

The Russian Emergencies Ministry has launched a sweeping nationwide civil defense drill set to involve 40 million people.
    http://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/russia-launches-civil-defense-drills-amid-tensions-us-42589431

Russia launches massive nuclear war training exercise that 'involves 40 million people'

Russia to conduct civil defense training for 40 million people
    http://uawire.org/news/russia-to-conduct-civil-defense-training-for-40-million-people

As I said it's on news sources all over the world, there are some of the english examples.