Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apalling dress sense/style of the average Irish male

• 05-10-2016 3:23pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 657 ✭✭✭

I have just over the past couple of months been noticing that its actually relaticly rare in Ireland to see a guy walking down the street who is in good shape and dressed smartly and has a good overall appearance.

What is far more common is guys who would seem to not give a crap and are going around in ill fitting unflattering clothing that almost loos thrown together. I'm talking about what would typically be known as "dad jeans" with XL sized shirts and ugly sweaters that are not nice.

Another poster the other day was on about how difficult it is to get shirts that fit well and that in the vast majority of mainstream outlets, even the slim fit tailored shirts are actually of a "forgiving" fit and can accomodate a pot belly.

Does anyone else think the average Irish man is just does not cut it in the style deparment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Musketeer4 wrote: »
    I have just over the past couple of months been noticing that its actually relaticly rare in Ireland to see a guy walking down the street who is in good shape and dressed smartly and has a good overall appearance.

What is far more common is guys who would seem to not give a crap and are going around in ill fitting unflattering clothing that almost loos thrown together. I'm talking about what would typically be known as "dad jeans" with XL sized shirts and ugly sweaters that are not nice.

Another poster the other day was on about how difficult it is to get shirts that fit well and that in the vast majority of mainstream outlets, even the slim fit tailored shirts are actually of a "forgiving" fit and can accomodate a pot belly.

Does anyone else think the average Irish man is just does not cut it in the style deparment?

Is it really a nessecity though? Comfort would be more of a concern for me and frankly, I coldn't give a flying **** what people think of my appearance.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Musketeer4

Whats to say you can't be comfortable and look decent? The two are not mutually exclusive!

Just based on my own daily observations I would think that men have make far less effort to keep in shape and look stylish than women. Someone pointed out here before that it's actually rare to see a man over 35 who isn't mushrooming out over their belt to some degree at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Ireland is a country with an increasingly overwieght population due to a lot of sedantry labour, so it becomes more apparant and more noticable walking down the street. I think the problems lie a lot with the clothing outlets though.

Most menswear shops , are trying to push skinny or slim fit jeans that no man should ever wear, or beige coloured chino's that no man who has ever engaged in manual labour could possibly keep clean.

The collection of very metrosexual looking shirts and tshirts also dissapoints.

When fashion outlets start realising that most men want neutral , not attention seeking colours and baggy / loose clothing, then people will catch up on fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Outside of work, I'll wear a tracksuit bottom and sporty tshirt. That's what I like and I couldn't give a flying fanny what anyone else is wearing. In fact, I would find it weird that somebody else would care what I was wearing tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Musketeer4 wrote: »
    Whats to say you can't be comfortable and look decent? The two are not mutually exclusive!

Just based on my own daily observations I would think that men have make far less effort to keep in shape and look stylish than women. Someone pointed out here before that it's actually rare to see a man over 35 who isn't mushrooming out over their belt to some degree at least.

Very true, but why bother with stlye when you really don't need or want to?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭line console zero

Having been guilty of this, and moved to London a few years ago after spending my life in Dublin. It's my opinion that there is no fashion sense whatsoever amongst Irish men. I had to up my game pretty quickly in order to not look like a yokel here.

Flannels and jeans. Grey trackies and t-shirts or bearded pervy looking hipster seem to be the 3 variations of mens fashion in Ireland. Which is a shame because I think (from a straight male perspective) that Irish men in general are much better looking than our English counterparts, who tend to lack in the hair and chin department.

We've got the accent and the looks lads, but for fook sake lose the boot cuts and the flannels! And tracksuits, unless you're lounging at home or involved in exercise you look like a total skanger.

What is with the war in bootcut jeans , theyre very comfy and work with work boots (as intended) and almost every other shoe type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I spend my life in a cotton v-neck type shirt, shorts, sandals and a fleece.

It's all about the comfort.

I could care less about dressing to impress you OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Having been guilty of this, and moved to London a few years ago after spending my life in Dublin. It's my opinion that there is no fashion sense whatsoever amongst Irish men. I had to up my game pretty quickly in order to not look like a yokel here.

Flannels and jeans. Grey trackies and t-shirts or bearded pervy looking hipster seem to be the 3 variations of mens fashion in Ireland. Which is a shame because I think (from a straight male perspective) that Irish men in general are much better looking than our English counterparts, who tend to lack in the hair and chin department.

We've got the accent and the looks lads, but for fook sake lose the boot cuts and the flannels! And tracksuits, unless you're lounging at home or involved in exercise you look like a total skanger.

What are flannels? I never ever wear track suits, either tops or bottoms and never wear t-shirts either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Boot cuts FTW!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,529 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Same here, my clothes are to keep me either dry or warm or both, not to impress random people on the street who I'll probably never see again in my life. What they look like, or whether they conform to said random peoples' idea of what constitutes dress sense or style is of no concern to me whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

But there's nobody wearing bootcut jeans in public nowadays is there?

I wear boot cut jeans pretty much every day. Straight cut make my feet look ridiculously long and skinny jeans should never be worn by any straight male ever.

Jayop wrote: »
    I wear boot cut jeans pretty much every day. Straight cut make my feet look ridiculously long and skinny jeans should never be worn by any straight male ever.

But everyone thinks that when they switch to straight/slim leg. I did. It disappeared a day later. Now I wouldn't have the guts to leave the house in boot cut.

jca wrote: »

What are flannels? I never ever wear track suits, either tops or bottoms and never wear t-shirts either.
    flannel shirt

Boot cuts FTW!!
    Dirtbird!

They are millimeters away from being flares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Boot cut are great for people who have big feet and actual muscle on their legs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

I think the Irish weather has a lot to do with it.

It is easier to wear a certain type of clothing when the weather has consistent seasons. Here you could take out some summer clothing and a week later have to put on winter stuff. The constant threat of rain limits what you can wear.

I do find clothing sizes in general to be really poor. Why can't shirts and tops have a body length size like neck size, waist size, etc. That is why so many people end up with poor wearing clothes.

When you have nice warm weather it is so much easier to dress and a simple well fitting tshirt or shirt can look well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

Beauty, elegance and style is something that has been and is highly valued in all civilisations for thousands of years - whether that is women, men, art, music, living spaces....whatever.

I'm a bit saddened by the the responses here as I thought younger Irish men had come to understand this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

People should be able to wear what they like and what they feel comfortable with, life isn't a fashion show. A happy man is better than an unhappy but fashionable man.

What have Irish men got against trousers? Why does it always have to be jeans or tracksuit bottoms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

PucaMama wrote:
    A happy man is better than an unhappy but fashionable man.

They're not singular states, you know. It's perfectly possible to be happy and well dressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

Some people can bull off wearing these outrageous skimpy t-shirts and skinny jeans while others cannot. What looks good on one person might not luck good on another.

I generally wear normal jeans and a decent hoodie, usually throw on jeans and a shirt if im hitting the booze in town.

OP you sound like a barrell of laughs judging people on what they wear.

What have Irish men got against trousers? Why does it always have to be jeans or tracksuit bottoms?

Comfort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

What are trousers? Is that what fat golfers wear?

I'm a big stickler on footwear. You can tell a lot about a person by the type of footwear they choose. We all know the blue jean-wearing, black shoe-donning, tucked-in shirt, bryllcreamed male making a beeline for the dishko.

Jodotman wrote: »
    What are trousers? Is that what fat golfers wear?

What people from the South call slacks or pants. Up north (my part at least) we only used trousers as the term and pants were what you wore under them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Boot cuts FTW!!

Absolutely.

What's with all the dudes wearing girls' jeans these days?

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Absolutely.

What's with all the dudes wearing girls' jeans these days?

Metrosexuals. Blame David Beckham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

There's certain looks I've got over the years. From skinny jeans to the chav look/etc some of which looked terriable. But each to their own. I never really care what people wear!
    However the one look I don't get is men going around in shoes with no socks on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Metrosexuals. Blame David Beckham.

No. Blame yourselves, fellas.

Yiser a disgrace.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    No. Blame yourselves, fellas.

Yiser a disgrace.

A lot of ye fashionistas don't realize how ridiculous you look, like a bunch of Dublin accented Paul Galvins. It's the emperors new clothes really, skinny jeans that make your feet look like those of a camp clown don't suddenly look good because Maxim says so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Ive been doing a bit of shopping lately for some better clobber than what is basically the pits in terms of a wardrobe.

Ive been to a load shops and actually made a concerted effort to buy decent clothes, but,

A) I havnt a clue what looks good on me
    B) I am not paying tommy hilfiger $130 for the same pair of trousers/pants that I can get in penny's for €8

I need a personal shopper I think, I really dont know where to start regards what will look well on me! It's annoying me now.

I did buy this last week, coz - i dunno - it's funny in my head :D

[URL="[URL=http://s732.photobucket.com/user/ardinn/media/315211-MLB20511441219_122015-Y.jpg.html][IMG]http://i732.photobucket.com/albums/ww323/ardinn/315211-MLB20511441219_122015-Y.jpg[/IMG][/URL]"][/url]315211-MLB20511441219_122015-Y.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,813 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

who cares! more to life than fashion!

Fella's, no ones advocating skinny jeans or metrosexual look here. I am far from that myself.

But there are such a thing as normal straight jeans. If you guys want to walk around with a pair of denim wings round your ankles be my guest.

I don't think you know the difference between bootcut and flares. Bootcut are a straight relatively close fit with a slight widening in the last inch or two to fit better on a shoe.

ll - Skinny
    /\ - Flare

Bootcut is in between.

guy's, no ones advocating skinny jeans or the metrosexual look here. I am far from that myself, but there is such a thing as normal straight jeans. If you guys want to walk around with a pair of denim wings round your ankles be my guest.

You can wear an 'I shot JR' tee shirt to complete the look.

I don't think you know the difference between bootcut and flares. Bootcut are a straight relatively close fit with a slight widening in the last inch or two to fit better on a shoe.

ll - Skinny
    /\ - Flare

Bootcut is in between.

There's not much difference, ones uglier than the other but both are ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

guy's, no ones advocating skinny jeans or the metrosexual look here. I am far from that myself, but there is such a thing as normal straight jeans. If you guys want to walk around with a pair of denim wings round your ankles be my guest.

Are you old enough to remember baggy jeans?

You would have loved them

I'm 32, I've seen my fair share of dodgey trends.

Just to ask , are you a man ?

Bootcut jeabs used to be the thing , then fashion magazines said boo urns and while lads continued wearing them for the most part, women started hating them .

Im glad to see that I am not alone in a world where text on a glossy page and a few daytime tv shows seem to he able to decide whats visually appealing to some very sad people.

There's a huge difference. I wear tight fitted jeans because I've a great arse so I may as well show it off. The bootcuts at the bottom are always very subtle and you'd have to look closely to see they're not a normal fit.

Anyways, one thing I would say is that I've been thinking on getting a jacket/sports coat type thing for a while but don't know if I could pull if off, or what indeed you wear such a thing with. I tried a few on in RiverIsland but they were all terrible looking imo.

I wish they'd come back, I buy my jeans one size too big just for extra bagginess , but with 32 inch legs its hard to get much longer jeans to complete it.

Just to ask , are you a man ?

Bootcut jeabs used to be the thing , then fashion magazines said boo urns and while lads continued wearing them for the most part, women started hating them .

Im glad to see that I am not alone in a world where text on a glossy page and a few daytime tv shows seem to he able to decide whats visually appealing to some very sad people.

I'm a SJW's worst nightmare. I'm a straight, white, middle class male. The only glossy mags I looked at were as a teen for ....er...educational purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I'm in my mid 40s - conscious how the typical guy my age looks. There's a few things you can get right.

Jeans - Spend money on a decent pair of jeans - not Levi's or Wrangler. I got a pair of Paul Smith jeans recently - have worn them for years. Quality materials and good fit. Latest pair were skinny cut - was dubious at first but they look well. Nice pair of quality chukka boots or something similar (have a pair of loake ankle boots that look good) looks well. A decent belt also works wonders.

The jack jones boot cut jeans, usually ripped randomly and boot cut with a pair of brown pointy shoes looks hideous. Usually paired with an ill fitting shirt or some sort of manky t-shirt

Shirts - check is gone. Worked in the 90s. I like a nice cut shirt - again Paul Smith a favourite but the Autograph ones at M & S are great as well. Pay attention to tailoring and fit - slim fit on a not so slim man (me included!) looks hideous. I try to wear mine tucked in, but a well cut shirt can look good out as well.

Jackets - I'm a big fan of Barbour in autumn / spring / winter - either a quilted casual jacket or a modern take on the wax. Have a few M & S courdery jackets - and old Timothy Everest one that still looks good.

Casual wear for me will be a pair of comfy jeans, pair of converse or trekking shoes and a t-shirt with a sweatshirt. I like the fat face ones.

I concur

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

I concur

Fashion is cope,a guy with a good face will make trackies and a t shirt stylish. Tbh anything more than a plain t shirt, jeans and decent shoes or runners is all you need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Irish men dress ok really.

In this day and age of instant celebrities, constant social media, and all the other sh1te, people are quite fashion conscious. Way more so now than when I was growing up.

People are also quite health conscious now too; particular about their food, exercise and lifestyle, and that plays into the world of looks and presentation.

Some lads do disturb me though with their tight girl pants and fop hair. I almost checked a lad out there the other day for ffs. Those pants are just ridiculous. To look at or try and wear.

Other thing is lads wearing tracksuits all the time. In some countries that's just for sport and exercise :pac:

The thing about the OP's argument though, is that it implies that the majority of people in other countries dress better, and thats not neccesarily the case. Not these days anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,435 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

BabyE wrote: »
    Fashion is cope,a guy with a good face will make trackies and a t shirt stylish.

Lets nip that one in the bud. A Tracksuit is never stylish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Splishsplash

Outside of work, I'll wear a tracksuit bottom and sporty tshirt. That's what I like and I couldn't give a flying fanny what anyone else is wearing. In fact, I would find it weird that somebody else would care what I was wearing tbh.

😂 flying fanny... Dream man