Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show - 1st. October 2016

• 01-10-2016 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,320 ✭✭✭✭

sad+puppy+face.jpg

Singer Brian Kennedy will guest on Saturday night's Ray D'Arcy Show for his first television interview since revealing his cancer diagnosis. The 49-year-old Belfast-born singer said he had been diagnosed with rectal cancer at the start of September, just weeks after learning that his estranged brother is also battling the disease. At the time of his diagnosis, Kennedy made light of the situation, telling the Matt Cooper Show on Today FM, "Could I get a more embarrassing form of cancer!? But as my doctor pointed out, there are a lot more worse places to get this. "So I have cancer up the bum but I'm Brian Kennedy and I'm not afraid to talk about this kind of stuff."

D'Arcy will also talk to Darren Collins, who will discuss his struggles with his sexuality and what it's like to be an openly gay member of the Traveller community. Collins recently admitted he twice tried to take his own life over fears of coming out as gay in the Travelling community. The 21-year-old from Tullamore, Co Offaly also revealed that several of his friends killed themselves after struggling with their sexuality and told the Irish Independent he wants to "help other young people get the help they need.

Irish actress and author Pauline McLynn will be in studio to chat to Ray about her role in RTE's brand new programme Painting the Nation - a national competition showcasing the best amateur painting talent from across the country.

Straight from the All-Ireland football final replay at Croker between Dublin and Mayo, GAA broadcasting legend Michael O Muircheartaigh will provide his unique insight on the big match. He will also reveal what he has been getting up to since retiring from full-time broadcasting.

The Ray D'Arcy Show airs on October 1 on RTE One, 9:35pm.

635799452575332126664038821_Don't%20Leave.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Yayyy double dose of misery just in case the lls wasn't enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Thanks WM,

Blimey that's a lot of misery.

I'm tempted to watch something with far less misery - maybe I'll dig out my Misery DVD.

I mean, there's quite a lot of misery in that film but its nothing compared to Ray's Sunshine Flavoured Snowdrop Show.

misery2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

you know in Sweden they have a nude chat show (non sexual all shapes & sizes) every saturday night, maybe RTE could look into that

make a change from the same ol same ol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Evening all. Not sure if I'll be allowed to watch. I'll keep an eye here and go to the kitchen TV if there's anything good on.

Siobhán on the Weather says there's an Orange Fog Warning

... so watch out for that Orange Fog if you are heading out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Loveeee the dogeh and kitteh WM!...

Good evening all on this celebration of "Dubness"....Sitting on top of a hill in Mayo feeling blue is no bad thing!! :)

That's some curse......

Hi Grey.

Was rooting for ye today.

Next year. Whah?

Loveeee the dogeh and kitteh WM!...

Good evening all on this celebration of "Dubness"....Sitting on top of a hill in Mayo feeling blue is no bad thing!! :)

Congratulations to Dublin, and I mean that most sincerely folks.

But if someone could find a curse to stop them ever winning it again for 60 odd years, that would be nice :)

Nobody does cringe like RTE.

So the Da would be Mr Ed? ...

Possibly the worst start to a show I've ever seen............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,320 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Sorry, it's a no from me.

What's the craic with Ballaghadereen?

It's in Roscommon, but it used to be in Mayo?

Make your mind up lads.

Ah go on...

It was Eastenders Ray.

Skid X wrote: »
    What's the craic with Ballaghadereen?

It's in Roscommon, but it used to be in Mayo?

Make your mind up lads.

Lol Skid, was thinking that - I spend two days there when the car broke down a couple of years ago....it's a bit grim I'd have to say....

Do you remember the thread we had about Mike Murphy's 'Ireland's Favourite Painting' a few years ago?

There was blood on the floor after that thread, the stains are still there.

I'm starting to wander while Pauline is waffling on....

David Threlfall from Shameless may have already seen Pauline in the nude.

:eek: :eek: :pac:

Skid X wrote: »
    Do you remember the thread we had about Mike Murphy's 'Ireland's Favourite Painting' a few years ago?

There was blood on the floor after that thread, the stains are still there.

That thread was one of the greatest threads EVER!!...:D

I remember it well............

Where's Harry tonight? :pac:

Not bad paintings. Hats off to Mammy McLynn.

Seamus looked like he was on the batter....

Could none of them draw a nice battenberg cake?

Ah, jasis, Phil looks like he had Botox and turned into the Joker..... :(

This is dragging on now a bit....

I couldn't draw a straight line in fairness...

Bad camera work there

Just painted this, whaddya think?

200px-Ray_darcy_drawing.jpg

You missed a bit!!......... :D you were generous with the gruaige WM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It's like the questions for the quiz are for drunk people who have a 88% loss of brain function .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Icsics

Awful programme again, it's just so disjointed & Ray (who is jumpy himself) is made worse by jumping to so many different topics. No flow at all, just filling time

Very nice, you've sold paintings, haven't you? I'd love to be to draw anything at all.

Hasn't he a great way with words?

Is that you Jenny?

You missed a bit!!......... :D you were generous with the gruaige WM!

I was actually trying to paint Neil Tennant of The Pet Shop Boys, but I got some of the measurements wrong :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Paint me like one of your French girls .

Added time so the GAA can get a money jackpot bonanza!

I'll be disappointed if Micheál doesn't read out some hospital requests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The Saturday game will be on at 10pm.

So two channels with GAA.

What's he on about, was there some sort of game today or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Icsics

Shut up Ray & don't interrupt this legend

That looks like a super duper Pioneer Pin....

Must get one of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Just let him speak Ray, and stop interrupting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Had me absolute bellyfull of this GAA nonsense!

I remeber listening to matches on longwave in a pub in England in the late 80s. All the auld lads hated M O'M. "He's no Micháel O Heiher."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

It's like his skin has forgotten to age.

Marty isn't in the ha'penny stakes compared to this Legend

62 years!

Respect due. :)

He's a calmer, less egotistical, better at commentating, version of Marty Morrissey

That looks like a super duper Pioneer Pin....

Must get one of them...

Have you heard about this Pledge thing?, it might be an issue ... :D