Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mediator appointed to stem inter-Muslim violence in Longford

• 30-09-2016 2:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 276 ✭✭

A district court judge has appointed a mediator to resolve a dispute between Muslims at a Longford mosque that led to violence last summer and an allegation that a sectarian attack was going to be launched.

Judge Seamus Hughes made the order at a special sitting of the District Court in Longford this morning.

Seven members of the Muslim community appeared before the court charged with assault and failing to desist from a fracas that took place at the mosque in Longford on 21 August 2015.

Judge Hughes was told by a Longford GP, Dr Ali, that the dispute arose between different members of the Muslim community in the Sunni and Shia groupings after a decision was made to remove the Imam from his post in summer 2015.

Dr Ali claimed the decision was made after the Imam had breached rules and formed a grouping that had led to general concerns that a sectarian attack could take place within the Muslim community.

But this was strongly rejected by other members of the mosque community in court this morning who claimed the mosque was not being run in a democratic fashion.

Judge Hughes said he was concerned about the divisions within the Muslim community of over 1,100 people in Longford and wanted to see a mediator appointed.

After a hearing during which some members of the Muslim community had to be warned by a Garda Inspector to refrain from shouting, the judge received a commitment from each side present in court that they would cooperate with a mediator.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0929/820158-longford-muslim-dispute/

Longford town seems to have not bounced back from recession at all, empty shops on the main street which never was the case in the 1980s, compared to other towns in the area such as Mullingar and Carrick-on-Shannon, it's fallen behind. Now it's got this sectarian ****e to deal with too. Wonderful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Just as well shia controlled longford is bypassed.
    And sunni kinnegad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Having had our own intra-religious bullsh1t for years why not import another? What a great idea!

What a load of Sheite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

What's the weather like in longford?

Sunni today, but it'll be shiite tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Seems like a good, sensible way to try and resolve that issue. Fair play to the judge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Well when you have Tds called Kevin ‘Boxer’ Moran representing the area what do you expect :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Dr Ali claimed the decision was made after the Imam had breached rules and formed a grouping that had led to general concerns that a sectarian attack could take place within the Muslim community.
    That makes it sound like members of the Muslim community were worried that the new group could have been considered sectarian, that they were actively trying to stop anything that might be considered threatening.

I've never heard boo from Irish Muslims, they seem to be keeping their heads down for the most part and probably don't want someone stirring up crap and bringing unwanted attention down on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

We should just send em all up north they can join the FLEG! gangs if they want that carryon! :D

ScumLord wrote: »
    That makes it sound like members of the Muslim community were worried that the new group could have been considered sectarian, that they were actively trying to stop anything that might be considered threatening. I've never heard boo from Irish Muslims, they seem to be keeping their heads down for the most part and probably don't want someone stirring up crap and bringing unwanted attention down on them.

You're right. Because they are in such small numbers. If they get up to a critical mass (eg 5%) that'll soon all change.

Lets ensure they never get near that figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

It would never happen in here, unlike every other European country, they said.

It would be grand, they said.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Here come the racists,..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0929/820158-longford-muslim-dispute/

Longford town seems to have not bounced back from recession at all, empty shops on the main street which never was the case in the 1980s, compared to other towns in the area such as Mullingar and Carrick-on-Shannon, it's fallen behind. Now it's got this sectarian ****e to deal with too. Wonderful!

Mullingar is still doing badly. The unemployment rate is just as bad there as elsewhere. It was mentioned in a thread here only last week. The whole midlands is doing pretty badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Splitters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

Jesus. wrote: »
    You're right. Because they are in such small numbers. If they get up to a critical mass (eg 5%) that'll soon all change.

But... but... but France and Belgium have gone over the 5% mark and nothing has... oh wait.

So when the Muslim population hits a critical mass of 5% they all change their opinions and start bombing things?

MeatTwoVeg wrote: »

How the fcuk can you be racist against a religion/ideology?

So when the Muslim population hits a critical mass of 5% they all change their opinions and start bombing things?

Yup.

http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2016/07/19/5-facts-about-the-muslim-population-in-europe/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

b_mac2 wrote: »

You're right. The poster should refer to them as bigots, xenophobes and knuckle draggers who react to a daily mail-esque thread title rather than educating themselves about the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Because everything is racist if you don't agree with it such as Person 1: I don't like cake Person 2: Your a racist.

Anyway let's hope the judges good decision prevents any escalation between the groups.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 Smokers and Jokers?

Anything to be said for a bit of Sharia Law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Obviously. My office has been at around 10% Muslim for a couple of years now and they're constantly blowing up things around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Bomb some sense into them.

Apparently so. This is a figure that's been floated around in other threads. It's kinda like a fart. It floats, smells dodgy and it's probably pulled out of someones arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Islam isn't a race.

Here come the pedants.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Bomb some sense into them.

I don't think there's anything in that to support your theory. It just gives the muslim population in each country along with how locals feel about them. The only correlation is that one of the countries with the largest Muslim population has also had Islamic terrorist attacks.

The people of Britain and france don't hate Muslims according to the same report. So regardless of the fact a terrorist attack took place the average citizen seems to be able to get along with the Muslims they meet on a day to day basis.

Of course it ignores the fact that russia has an even bigger Muslim population and doesn't seem to have any problems. Putin even opened a massive mosque in the middle of Moscow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

FTA69 wrote: »

Obviously. My office has been at around 10% Muslim for a couple of years now and they're constantly blowing up things around here.

Yea but you work in the balloon factory.

I don't think there's anything in that to support your theory. It just gives the muslim population in each country along with how locals feel about them. The only correlation is that one of the countries with the largest Muslim population has also had Islamic terrorist attacks.

The people of Britain and france don't hate Muslims according to the same report. So regardless of the fact a terrorist attack took place the average citizen seems to be able to get along with the Muslims they meet on a day to day basis.

Of course it ignores the fact that russia has an even bigger Muslim population and doesn't seem to have any problems. Putin even opened a massive mosque in the middle of Moscow.

There was at least one bombing this year, in each of the the three countries with the highest percentage of Muslims in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

RTE's headline:

Mediator appointed in Muslim dispute in Longford

and the OPs thread title:
    Mediator appointed to stem inter-Muslim violence in Longford

Interesting change.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

dav3 wrote: »
    You're right. The poster should refer to them as bigots, xenophobes and knuckle draggers who react to a daily mail-esque thread title rather than educating themselves about the case.

Oh here comes all the liberal superciliousness and holier than thou moralizing from the incessantly offended guardian readers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Longford Islamic Centre looks like Woodies DIY

wes wrote: »
    RTE's headline:

and the OPs thread title:

Interesting change.......

Maybe he read the article that refers to violence and assaults. If there is an issue it is that the RTE headline is misleading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

You just can't win if you're an immigrant. Stick to your own beliefs and your insular
    But go to Longford and fight like the locals and the law comes down on you like a ton of bricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

You just can't win if you're an immigrant. Stick to your own beliefs and your insular
    But go to Longford and fight like the locals and the law comes down on you like a ton of bricks

Am I right in thinking the local bog ball club is called the the Longford Slashers from their habit of pissiing everywhere.

If only there was a happy medium somewhere in between.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

Am I right in thinking the local bog ball club is called the the Longford Slashers from their habit of pissiing everywhere.

And their love of slashhooks.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Sunni, Shia

So which ones are the catholics or protestants ? or presbyterians ?

Funny looking race, Islam..............:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Longford Islamic Centre looks like Woodies DIY

Most appropriate as all "revealed" religions are DIY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Islam isn't a race.

Ah but it is, a race to take over the world...

There are feuds between families going back years in the midlands. As a kid in Mullingar I remember two families going at it in the cathedral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Seems like a good, sensible way to try and resolve that issue. Fair play to the judge.

it not actually cos it the slippery slope of replacing the law of the land with faith based community courts (i.e sharia) that has infected parts of the UK completely as odds with the land of the land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

arayess wrote: »
    it not actually cos it the slippery slope of replacing the law of the land with faith based community courts (i.e sharia) that has infected parts of the UK completely as odds with the land of the land

Alternative dispute resolution is an integral part of Ireland's legal system. It gives parties an avenue to resolve their differences without having to resort to the courts which is both extremely expensive and divisive. In this case mediation would appear to be the best way for the parties to this dispute to air their grievances and settle their differences amicably.

You are correct in stating that Sharia is used in the UK, but it is only used as a form of alternative dispute resolution in civil disputes. It is only binding if all parties to a dispute agree to partake in the process and accept the outcome.

Trying to make out that the judges decision to impose mediation in this case is a slippery slope to Sharia law is nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Grayson wrote: »

"come have a look at my wall, I just painted it Red"

"thats blue"

"Don't be so pedantic"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Grayson wrote: »

I don't like any organised religions am I Racist ? I'm sure people would be fine with the grand dragon of the KKK running the local church yes ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Dr Jakub

Lads, when Ireland goes Full Islam which side are ye picking? Sunni or Shia?

Dr Jakub wrote: »

I'm just a popcorn producer so I'll be developing both Sunni brands and Shia brands for the public floggings/beheadings etc etc.

Dr Jakub wrote: »

I think we'd all be going Sufi. Some of those guys drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

This kind of thing is just total Shi'ite.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

Well you only have to look at other Countries and decide that.
    Look at the Human Rights in the Countries that Islam has conquered.
    Yes, conquered.
    That's what Islam does.
    It has done so since its inception and always will do.