Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4K and HDR compatible TV thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Ordered the 65uj634v over the weekend.

Moving into my own house and always wanted a big tv. It's a 4k model but not top of the range.
    Anyone any experience with it?

Got a sound bar as most reviews said the only drawback was the audio.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,521 ✭✭✭joe123

Just window shopping at the moment regarding 4k.

Can anyone tell me which would be a better shout.

Samsung UE55MU7000 or the LG SJ810?

Im still thinking Il hang on until next year some time but I am getting tempted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭bittihuduga

Venema wrote: »
    i pulled the trigger 2 weeks ago and bought a Bravia XE90 55" and my god its amazing.... still trying to fine tune it though

i got one too..XE9005..
    do you mind sharing the TV settings for the best picture?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

i got one too..XE9005..

AVforums. They give fantastic recommendations. Many people follow their settings and then tweek from there if necessary. Hope that helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭will56

Caved and bought the 49MU6470 last week
    Mainly because the other half wanted to upgrade and had been impressed with a 40inch 6470 she seen in her parents house

Reasonably happy with it but for some judder/movement issues
    Annoying because I seen it running in the store and with some fast movement on it and it wasn't as noticeable

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Venema

i got one too..XE9005..

Hey mate i tried AV and RTINGS and calibrated it a little to this if you want to try it -

TV/Movies (SDR)
    Picture mode: Custom
    Brightness: 13
    Contrast: 90
    Gamma: -2
    Black level: 50
    Black adjust: off
    Adv. Contrast Enhancer: Off
    Auto Local Dimming: Medium
    Extended Dynamic Range: Low
    Color: 50
    Hue: 0
    Color temperature: Expert 1
    Live color: Off
    Sharpness: 50
    Reality creation: Manual
    Resolution: 20
    Random Noise Reduction: Off
    Digital Noise Reduction: Off
    Smooth Gradation: Low
    Motionflow: True Cinema
    Cinemotion: High

Games (SDR)
    Picture mode: Game
    Gamma: 0
    Auto Local Dimming: High
    Extended Dynamic Range: High
    Color: 55
    Resolution: 10
    Motionflow: Off
    Cinemotion: Off

TV/Movies (HDR)
    Picture mode: Cinema Pro
    Brightness: Max

Games (HDR)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,804 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Thanks for the settings. I have a slightly different model that doesn't have all those options but it has made a big difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,997 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

will56 wrote: »
    Caved and bought the 49MU6470 last week
    Mainly because the other half wanted to upgrade and had been impressed with a 40inch 6470 she seen in her parents house

Reasonably happy with it but for some judder/movement issues
    Annoying because I seen it running in the store and with some fast movement on it and it wasn't as noticeable

is your firmware updated to the latest version? sometimes you'll get improvements from that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭will56

is your firmware updated to the latest version? sometimes you'll get improvements from that.

Yup, did that first. Its not noticeable all the time, but when I see it its hard to unsee

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭honda boi

• Registered Users Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

Can the feet on the hisense TVs be adjusted closer together?

eyerer wrote: »
    Can the feet on the hisense TVs be adjusted closer together?

Not on my 55n5700 anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭honda boi

Not on my 55n5700 anyway.

How you finding the 55n5700?
    Going mad trying to pick the right tv :p

honda boi wrote: »
    How you finding the 55n5700?
    Going mad trying to pick the right tv :p

Very happy with it TBH. The app store is fairly limited though, but otherwise no complaints

• Registered Users Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

Trying to hold out til the Stephen's Day Sales. Must. Stay. Stroonngg.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭finno

Hey mate i tried AV and RTINGS and calibrated it a little to this if you want to try it -

TV/Movies (SDR)
    Picture mode: Custom
    Gamma: -2
    Auto Local Dimming: Medium
    Extended Dynamic Range: Low

Games (SDR)

TV/Movies (HDR)
    Picture mode: Cinema Pro

Games (HDR)

Just wondering do you have the same problem as me

with my Virgin Media box when i put on enchanted 4K i lose the sound
    when i go back to full HD sound comes back?

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Y.N.W.A

• Registered Users Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭skerry

Very happy with it TBH. The app store is fairly limited though, but otherwise no complaints

Might look into the Hisense option. Need a new tv for sitting room in the new gaff and a 55 inch would do nicely.

Can't justify forking out 1500+ on a new tv and I'm sure even a budget 4k will be noticeably better than the 1080p I'm using at the moment.

finno wrote: »
    Just wondering do you have the same problem as me

with my Virgin Media box when i put on enchanted 4K i lose the sound
    when i go back to full HD sound comes back?

no dude i wouldnt have any idea sorry

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Brought my Xbox one X into Harvey Norman during a quiet time and tried iyt out on the Sony XE90.

The HDR immdiately caught my eye but, at the time, I didn't see much of a difference at 4K.

Then I went home and tried my TV. Wow what a difference - the level of detail lacking on my TV was actually crazy :D

Fingers crossed this goes down to under 1,000 in the Christmas sales, otherwise I'll wait for the 2018 launch and pick it up.

Any thoughts on the Samsung MU7000 folks? Was looking at the Hisense N5700 but Samsung seems to get better reviews.

Would be looking at 49inch most likely. Samsung would be absolutely top of the budget.

Don't have a One X by the way but presume upscaled One S would still look a lot better than my current 1080p screen.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭finno

no dude i wouldnt have any idea sorry

Ah no worries thanks anyways.

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Y.N.W.A

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Brought my Xbox one X into Harvey Norman during a quiet time and tried iyt out on the Sony XE90.

The HDR immdiately caught my eye but, at the time, I didn't see much of a difference at 4K.

Then I went home and tried my TV. Wow what a difference - the level of detail lacking on my TV was actually crazy :D

Fingers crossed this goes down to under 1,000 in the Christmas sales, otherwise I'll wait for the 2018 launch and pick it up.

i cant see this dropping below €1000 for this type of tv if its higher than a 49" its an amazing tv and i still have yet to test it fully.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

i cant see this dropping below €1000 for this type of tv if its higher than a 49" its an amazing tv and i still have yet to test it fully.

I'd be delighted with a 49 but my eye is on a 55

Lads, I'm seriously considering the Samsung MU7000 in 49" but have seen Sony Bravia XE8005 in 49" for same price locally. Finding it hard to find specification on the Sony to see how the two compare. Has anyone any experience of either set or can someone tell me what way Sony model numbering works, minefield.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭amadablam

skerry wrote: »
    Lads, I'm seriously considering the Samsung MU7000 in 49" but have seen Sony Bravia XE8005 in 49" for same price locally. Finding it hard to find specification on the Sony to see how the two compare. Has anyone any experience of either set or can someone tell me what way Sony model numbering works, minefield.

both those TV's are 60hz I think and have IPS panels and probably wouldnt be the most amazing setups for gaming........although you have probably convinced your 'other half' that its purely for watching TV together :D

The Samsung KS (7000,7500, etc) series are far better for the money if you can find one.

Or the higher end Hisense?

The Panasonic EX750 is supposed to be great for the money and might in the new year or, if you can find one, last years Panasonic DX750 and DX802 are supposed to offer great bang for your buck.

Thats only from my own research as Im in the market for one myself but ill wait until the new year at this stage unless something amazing comes along :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

Honestly lads, i bought a 4K Bravia last year in the New Year sales and i really recommend waiting to buy one in a sale. People blowing near two grand for a tv that lets face it the majority will only get the '4K' experience with their console are completely mad. I paid around 600 for mine and i'm glad i didn't go any higher on it.

Any idea on what model Bravia? I can get either the XE8005 or MU7000 (Samsung) for around €850 and that's the absolute most I'd spend. Just finding it next to impossible to find spec for the Sony to see how it compares.

amadablam wrote: »
    both those TV's are 60hz I think and have IPS panels and probably wouldnt be the most amazing setups for gaming........although you have probably convinced your 'other half' that its purely for watching TV together :D

The Samsung KS (7000,7500, etc) series are far better for the money if you can find one.

Or the higher end Hisense?

The Panasonic EX750 is supposed to be great for the money and might in the new year or, if you can find one, last years Panasonic DX750 and DX802 are supposed to offer great bang for your buck.

Thats only from my own research as Im in the market for one myself but ill wait until the new year at this stage unless something amazing comes along :)

Samsung KS7000 are next to impossible to find. Reviews of MU7000 are stating low input lag and saying its an ideal TV for gaming.

Panasonic is outside my budget.

Have to get a new TV for new house either way so might just pull the trigger on the Samsung, although the Sony can be got locally for same price.

Surprised anyone gets to buy a TV these days, the make it incredibly difficult to compare specs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

Any idea on what model Bravia? I can get either the XE8005 or MU7000 (Samsung) for around €850 and that's the absolute most I'd spend. Just finding it next to impossible to find spec for the Sony to see how it compares.

I think it's a KD-43XE8005. I'll check when i get home.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Here's a review of the XE8004.

Here's a review of the MU7000.

The only difference between the XE8004 and XE8005 is the MotionPlus is 100Hz and 200Hz respectively.