Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2016-2017 Champions Cup Thread

• 27-09-2016 3:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

With games only a few weeks away may as well start a thread for the season. Referee appointments for the opening 2 rounds of games announced today

http://www.epcrugby.com/officials/index.php

Round 1
    Leinster v Castres Matthew Carley (ENG)
    Connacht v Toulouse Luke Pearce (ENG)
    Bordeaux-Begles v Ulster JP Doyle (ENG)
    Racing v Munster Wayne Barnes (ENG)
    Irish refs in Round 1
    Wasps v Zebre Andrew Brace (IRE)
    Toulon v Saracens John Lacey (IRE)
    Exeter v Clermont Auvergne George Clancy (IRE)
    Also is 3 irish refs in round 1 in challenge cup
    Ospreys v Newcastle Falcons David Wilkinson (IRE)
    Grenoble v Lyon Dudley Philips (IRE)
    Bayonne v Gloucester Rugby Gary Conway (IRE)

Round 2
    Munster v Glasgow Warriors Jerome Garces (FRA)
    Ulster v Exeter Chiefs Alexandre Ruiz (FRA)
    Montpellier v Leinster Luke Pearce (ENG)
    Zebre v Connacht Matthieu Raynal (FRA)

Irish Refs in Round 2
    Toulouse v Wasps John Lacey (IRE)
    Bath v Bristol David Wilkinson (IRE)
    Gloucester v Benetton Treviso Dudley Philipps (IRE)
    Worcester Warriors v Brive Gary Conway (IRE)
    Edinburgh v Harlequins George Clancy (IRE)
    Lyon v Ospreys Andrew Brace (IRE)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Leinster are going to win it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Cathalthesmart

If Munster are at full strength I could see us sneaking a win in Paris. Racing are a superb team but I feel we have the game plan to hurt them, most of there superstars are in there back line but looking at there pack and particularly there back row I wouldn't fear any of them when we have a back row of POM,TOD and Stander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

If Munster are at full strength I could see us sneaking a win in Paris. Racing are a superb team but I feel we have the game plan to hurt them, most of there superstars are in there back line but looking at there pack and particularly there back row I wouldn't fear any of them when we have a back row of POM,TOD and Stander.

Eh they've a pack that can include any of Ben Arous, Szarzewski, Tameifuna, Van der Merwe, Nakarawa, Le Roux, Nyanga, Masoe, Claassen. They can and will do plenty of damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Cathalthesmart

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Eh they've a pack that can include any of Ben Arous, Szarzewski, Tameifuna, Van der Merwe, Nakarawa, Le Roux, Nyanga, Masoe, Claassen. They can and will do plenty of damage.

I was referring more to the front row. If we have POM,TOD,Stander playing we will do even more damage. Its still hard to judge are pack because we haven't played a top side yet, Leinster will be interesting viewing as it will tell us where our pack stands as Leinster have looked decent in that department so far.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I can't really see any clear victories for Irish teams in those opening rounds.

Really?

I would be betting on Ulster and Leinster to win their opening two games personally. Caste have always been very poor in Dublin. Montpellier will be a challenge but if they've lost their opening round who knows.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Maybe Castres but ubb and exeter are a cut above the Irish sides ATM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

I think Connacht will have their sh*t together by the time they travel to Zebre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Interesting to see that the qualifying competition which provides 2 places in the following seasons challenge cup will have a final that will be played as part of EPCR's 2017 Finals weekend in Edinburgh
    http://www.epcrugby.com/europeanrugbychallengecup/2016-2017-qualifying_competition.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭b.gud

Edit sorry didn't read the first post properly, see that Lost Sheep had already added the refs

Irish Times is reporting that the two broadcaster model will be ditched at the next renewal, which will be great.

Also some guff about some games being FTA in Ireland but I'll believe that when I see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Irish Times is reporting that the two broadcaster model will be ditched at the next renewal, which will be great.

Also some guff about some games being FTA in Ireland but I'll believe that when I see it.

Just reading about that....

http://m.independent.ie/sport/rugby/champions-cup/more-free-to-air-coverage-in-ireland-is-where-we-would-start-champions-cup-chief-35107978.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

It makes sense in that BT wouldn't be particularly opposed because Ireland matters far less to them in the grand scheme of things since they sold their broadband customers here to Vodafone. So if they went with BT then they could include an agreement with them to split Irish rights over to FTA.

But noone knows because the tender process hasn't started yet and there are massive unknowns who could enter the market. Eurosport are now owned by Discovery, are hiring staff fairly aggresively, and are trying to expand their portfolio (just bought the European rights to the olympics for considerably more than the rugby would cost). Amazon are reportedly chasing tennis and rugby rights (2017 might come too soon for them) and it would actually make sense for Amazon to pair with FTA channels to mimic the American sports model. I think it's most likely we'll end up with BT or Sky as sole broadcaster but there's certainly a chance of a new arrival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Are Eurosport planning to become a subscription channel or remain FTA?

No plans to become a subscription channel as far as I know

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Eurosport (or rather their UK/English version) already are a subscription channel - albeit a "basic tier" one rather than premium (You need to take a least Variety pack on Sky). Yes I know there are FTA versions operating in Germany and some other markets.

But re these rights - what I can see happening is a single pay-TV deal covering both UK and Ireland, with perhaps provision in it for one game (and I don't think it'll be any more than that) in each round going to a FTA broadcaster in Ireland, on a non-exclusive basis. Sort of like the Champions League.

If BT were the broadcaster would it be possible that they might allow all provincial games FTA given that it's absolutely no skin of their nose to do so?

molloyjh wrote: »
    If BT were the broadcaster would it be possible that they might allow all provincial games FTA given that it's absolutely no skin of their nose to do so?

While everything has a price, I think it's pretty much impossible that will happen. Also it is absolutely skin off their nose.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Adbrowne

While everything has a price, I think it's pretty much impossible that will happen. Also it is absolutely skin off their nose.

Not if they sell the games to RTE/TV3/TG4/whoever.

Adbrowne wrote: »
    Not if they sell the games to RTE/TV3/TG4/whoever.

There's multiple costs to that for BT Sport, including a likely loss of subscribers in Ireland

molloyjh wrote: »

But they're contractually tied to Eir (for the moment, at least), so if that is still the case in 2019 then FTA games are unlikely.

Maybe they'd give us a couple of 'tasters', like Sky are currently doing with Sky Sports Mix (which is actually a decent channel).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I would imagine the dual subscription mess inherited by Monsieur Gaillard has caused a loss in viewership, especially in Ireland.

The sooner they solve that the sooner they can start rebuilding the competition brand and value.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/european-cup/european-champions-cup-set-to-return-to-irish-terrestrial-tv-1.2818440?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

I'm glad to read Italy being considered for a final as they were selected to host a Heineken Cup final.

Glasgow vs Leicester opens the tournament tomorrow night. It's about time Glasgow make an impact in Europe, just hopefully not at the expense of Munster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

But they're contractually tied to Eir (for the moment, at least), so if that is still the case in 2019 then FTA games are unlikely.

Maybe they'd give us a couple of 'tasters', like Sky are currently doing with Sky Sports Mix (which is actually a decent channel).

People can still buy BT sport on a sky package I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

errlloyd wrote: »
    People can still buy BT sport on a sky package I believe.

Yes you can buy the EIR/BT package. When I first took out the sub it was 99 Euro for 12 months but now it costs 225 Euro. Don't think I'll renew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Anyone watching Quins v Stade. I know it's challenge cup, but I do enjoy Thursday night rugby.

errlloyd wrote: »
    Anyone watching Quins v Stade. I know it's challenge cup, but I do enjoy Thursday night rugby.

Yes indeed. Nice little treat!

Ben Whitehouse reffing tonight.

All Quinns so far - try already, with less than 5 minutes gone.

both teams moving the ball plenty. Will open up as it goes on too i reckon

what was Plisson at

Quins have their PB before half time. Getting boring now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭TeoReid

is there a name for the 'theme' music played in the stadiums before games?

Leicester wearing a high vis strip :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

vienne86 wrote: »
    Leicester wearing a high vis strip :eek:

Don't think ye Leinster fans can comment :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Not even shouting for anybody here but Tamua's touch there gave me a heart attack.

Toomua should be gone red card. Thats a joke, Eventually a player will cop a serious injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I'm not a huge fan of Toomua, but that was a red all day long. Russell made sure he didn't land on his own neck, no regard for his safety.
    The reaction of the Leicester players at the time gave it all away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭swiwi_

That was RED!

Will be definitely a post-match citing IMO.

Leicester have a yellow.......lucky lucky guy, as I think it should be red. He landed on his shoulder rather than head, but only because Russell put his elbow out to save himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Total cop out, red every day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

Christ, you'd really think that continuing to drive the player into the ground would be taken into account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,465 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Has to be a red, if it wasn't for Russell looking after himself he would have landed on his head.

Stupid waste of advantage.

swiwi_ wrote: »
    That was RED!

Will be definitely a post-match citing IMO.

In 2011 when Rolland red carded Warburton there was a big push on these type of tackles and the focus wore off. World rugby need to get a grip on these tackles and just make it compulsory red card or if not long bans. Russell is only still on the pitch because he was able to break his fall slightly.

Missed the tip tackle so can't comment, but Glasgow had a penalty advantage from a maul and rather than go down the line for the line out they played it and ended up conceding possession. Total stupidity letting Leicester off the hook like that.

Glasgow giving away far too many penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Ryan Wilson being Ryan Wilson there.

Wilson off now for Glasgow. This is a bad tempered affair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Glad it wasn't a red.