Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you lit the fire yet?

• 26-09-2016 6:08pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭

Bit of a nip in the evenings now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yeah going to light one in a while if I can find the matches...

ANYONE SEE THE BLOODY MATCHES???? I PUT THEM IN THE PRESS LAST APRIL, WHERE THE HELL HAVE THEY GONE!!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I have a stupid gas fire that I never bother with :(

Would love a proper fire.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We started lighting them last week but we haven't lit them every night.
    We're lighting one tonight tough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I will when it's cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

No too early, wait until xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I'm cooking dinner in short sleeves, flip flops and I am hot as hell. It's nice to live in a well insulated house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Witches don't burn as good as they used to

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

No, I don't live in the 19th century. I have put the central heating on once or twice though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Too warm yet for a fire or the heating. Sat in a t-shirt outside for coffee today and reading the paper. Far form chilly yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

We did tonight, yes. First time since the summer, but with the wind and rain it just felt like now's the time.

It will be a while before we turn on the heating, though. We don't usually turn that on before late November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No.

I like the open fire on a winters night but it's still too warm for it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭yellowlabrador

I'm cuddling a hot water bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Only had it lit twice since last winter. Today, and only because was in house all day.

Still in the shorts though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Yep, the stove made its debut tonight. How depressing!

I'm furiously resisting putting the central heating on though - I'm going away on 1st November, going to see if I can stick it out till then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Lit it Thursday night (well, the husband did). Our house is roasting so we didn't need it for the heat but it's a nice comfort after a crappy day/week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Feck that! Im menopausal so I have my own heating :)
    Family can put a jumper on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭schizo1014

I've been lighting fires the last two weeks here up north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Literally just fired up the stove just now

May order a load of firewood tomorrow now aswell :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

We've lit the stove the last few nights. Lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

sjb25 wrote: »
    Literally just fired up the stove just now

May order a load of firewood tomorrow now aswell :(

That's the next job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

We moved house 6 months ago. Our new house is roasting so we haven't lit a fire or turned on the heating yet.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I'm hoping to hold out for another few days, but I brought in the logs and coal earlier. No fire lighters, so herself won't try to light it on the sly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Today, as I woke up beneath a single, thin sheet; I said to the Dog ~ as I eyed the quilt hanging there .....

" I suppose, one day, we'll be laying under that again? ".

But, as it's 66F in here, as I type? I don't really see it happening just yet.

No. I tend to look to the stove for the start of November. Even that can prove a bit premature, these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

spent saturday morning with my new electric log splitter (thats about a quarter of the wood pile split !)
    first fire got lit last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Lit on Aug 31, Sept 1,..., 4 nights last week, Sat and Sunday but NOT today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭ArnieSilvia

I live in two houses over the week:

1970's one refurbished recently, freezing cold, sleeping under duvet and blanket in a tracksuit:eek:, you'd need heating on really all the time but my housemates like it this way (?)

My own house, 2014 BER A2 with heat recovery system, hot in the summer but there's never been below 23 degrees in my bedroom since March without heating at all. Prefer it this way, yay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

i know its a miserable night but my car says its 16 degrees out there right now I'm in Tipperary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Don't use the open fire as we have it blocked off so the birds can nest in it. Have had the central heating twice this year so far but not tonight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

We moved house 6 months ago. Our new house is roasting so we haven't lit a fire or turned on the heating yet.

just wait until you discover the heat has been on the entire time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Just going through the last of last winter's logs, will be ordering another 2 bags this week. Love me open fire.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭adocholiday

Are ye feckin mad lads? We've had a muggy sweaty humid baxtard of a summer, and now that it's finally starting to get to a comfortable operating temperature and I can sleep at night ye are on about sticking on a fire! Bring on the frost I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

anyone have any chape loads of logs going in clare / limerick? have to be good and dry and no feck acting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Light it?

I never let it go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Put on a bloody jumper if you are cold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Yep, for a few hours in the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

GLaDOS wrote: »

Apparently they're not that hard to get out.. but don't go near it yoursef.. but there's not much involved.. if you get my drift.. it's illegal according to the powers that be.
    I know a bloke who remo...... sorry doorbell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Too warm yet for a fire or the heating. Sat in a t-shirt outside for coffee today and reading the paper. Far form chilly yet.
    It's the women folk, they are cold creatures ;)

There's a fire lit every day at home. We still use fire to heat water for washbasins or when taking a bath, and as well as this, the house is very badly insulated; you would feel the cold at night-time on all but the warmest summer days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Won't feel the Christmas now.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Apparently they're not that hard to get out.. but don't go near it yoursef.. but there's not much involved.. if you get my drift.. it's illegal according to the powers that be.
    I know a bloke who remo...... sorry doorbell.

Rental property so wouldn't be allowed touch it anyway

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I don't have a fire, but I haven't put the heating on yet. I'm still going around in t-shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

My house is freezing so I lit the fire a couple of nights last week. Pretty skint though so when it gets cold I tend to hibernate in my room rather than try to heat a few rooms.

I want to make one of those tea-light heaters, must look out for a terracotta pot and some bricks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Toughen up, Lads, it's roasting yet.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Lit it this evening. Good frost due again tonight, and got the chimney cleaned earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It was 3°c in Dublin city centre this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I woke up to three degrees this morning too.

Ooooooo precious moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

GLaDOS wrote: »

I had a gas fire.Couldn't afford to keep running it and the house was almost instantly freezing when it was switched off.
    Paid a gas fitter €30 to disconnect the gas feed and ripped out the fire myself.
    Fitted a insert stove.Got the walls pumped with insulation.
    Best thing I ever did.Toasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Lit one last night, grand and toasty while we caught up on some low brow tv on sky plus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭GeneralVanilla

Just put on my first 'feckin cold isnt it' jumper of the year.

Back to the misery.