Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lawyer shoots 9 people in this weeks mass shooting.

• 26-09-2016 5:52pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0926/819365-houston-shooting/
    A lawyer opened fire on morning commuters in Houston in Texas, injuring at least nine people before being shot dead by police, authorities said.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-37469757
    Third mall attack in 9 days

Expect no new arguments on either side.

Expect the usual search for "why" even though most other countries have drastically reduced incidences by focusing on "how".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Texas again .

It's getting to the point it's not even worth discussing anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I really don't care at this stage. If the yanks want to shoot each other then let them at it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

At least it seems only the perpetrator has died in this instance.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Ban lawyers from public places.
    That's what a good lefty would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

I really don't care at this stage. If the yanks want to shoot each other then let them at it.

In fairness, I don't think the 9 people he shot were necessarily all on the 'let's go shoot each other' train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Less guns would mean less shootings.

If all those 9 people also had guns maybe he'd only have shot 4 or 5 of them before the others had a chance to draw their weapons.

There's no clear winning argument. They're both so solid

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Less guns would mean less shootings.
    Yes, that's how it's done outside the US

[/QUOTE]If all those 9 people also had guns maybe he'd only have shot 4 or 5 of them before the others had a chance to draw their weapons. [/QUOTE]That doesn't work in the US. How many times do you hear of mass shooting foiled by armed civilians ?

cba looking it up but I'd bet good money that the Mall Guards are armed.
    There's no clear winning argument. They're both so solid
    Only to a gun nut :P

Take a wild f*cking guess why there's been no mass shootings in Oz in the last 20 years ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Pkiernan wrote: »

In your attempt to troll you've hit on an idea we can all get behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

If all those 9 people also had guns maybe he'd only have shot 4 or 5 of them before the others had a chance to draw their weapons.

No, what would actually have happened is the rest of them would have shot at everyone else with a gun, thinking they were all in on it together. Bam, multiple fatalities due to multiple shooters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

No, what would actually have happened is the rest of them would have shot at everyone else with a gun, thinking they were all in on it together. Bam, multiple fatalities due to multiple shooters.

Yeah, because if i'm in a crowd, hear a gunshot and then turn around and see a crown of people with guns I'll know exactly what to do. And when the police show up and everyone has guns how the hell are they supposed to know who the shooter is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

What the fcuk would a lawyer have a gun during the morning communte for??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

it's hard to have it in the afternoon if you don't have it in the morning first.

plus chances are he wasn't just sitting reading the paper and decided out of the blue to start indiscriminately shooting. clearly unhinged and had decided, at the latest as he was going out the door, to do some shooting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Its everyday now somewhere. I just read there was a shooting incident at a supermarket in France. Two people critically injured, the shooter is surrounded by police. Its not islamic terrorism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Objection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

I've spent a couple of holidays with family in Waco. The brother in law doesn't own a gun, his work friends take the piss out of him constantly. They think it's weird of him not to own a firearm.

When I was there April gone, I went shooting on a range with him. People in Texas don't just have one gun or two they have a pickup truck worth in back. The owner of range for Christ sake brought out his 50cal Barrett sniper rifle to show it off, $5 it costs for one round.... I was looking at him fire it, the whole ground shook. It scared the bejaysus out of me while the other were in awe of it.

anyone I talked to that day has a consealed firearms license. It's a wonderful place to visit Texas but at same time they really love there guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

They always said the lawyers would be the first up against the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

it's hard to have it in the afternoon if you don't have it in the morning first.

plus chances are he wasn't just sitting reading the paper and decided out of the blue to start indiscriminately shooting. clearly unhinged and had decided, at the latest as he was going out the door, to do some shooting.

He'd recently lost his job it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Pkiernan wrote: »

A good righty would have them all deported.

Even the child lawyers.

It's Texas ,
    the state is one of the biggest pro gun states You can find .
    Your literally looking at several rifles , shotguns,pistols for every man , woman and child in the state,
    I've even been served coffee by a waitress packing a revolver on her belt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,752 ✭✭✭DeBurca

Gatling wrote: »
    It's Texas ,
    the state is one of the biggest pro gun states You can find .
    Your literally looking at several rifles , shotguns,pistols for every man , woman and child in the state,
    I've even been served coffee by a waitress packing a revolver on her belt

Did you leave a tip

DeBurca wrote: »
    Did you leave a tip

Absolutely I did .

Was taught 2 important things in life Don't ever treat a woman badly and when they pack a pistol you treat her like a princess and please and thank you in every sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

" Texas ..... Oh, that's where I belong, it seems to me ..... " ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I will be going to Texas next month, I will be doing my best to avoid the bullets...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

To shoot people with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,905 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Seems like he was wearing a Nazi uniform while he was doing the shooting. http://www.click2houston.com/news/large-police-presence-reported-in-southwest-houston Aryan confusion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

mad m wrote: »
    I've spent a couple of holidays with family in Waco. The brother in law doesn't own a gun, his work friends take the piss out of him constantly. They think it's weird of him not to own a firearm.

When I was there April gone, I went shooting on a range with him. People in Texas don't just have one gun or two they have a pickup truck worth in back. The owner of range for Christ sake brought out his 50cal Barrett sniper rifle to show it off, $5 it costs for one round.... I was looking at him fire it, the whole ground shook. It scared the bejaysus out of me while the other were in awe of it.

anyone I talked to that day has a consealed firearms license. It's a wonderful place to visit Texas but at same time they really love there guns.

A friend went to a shooting range in Texas. He told the owner thst he didn't own any guns cause it's pretty much against the law in Ireland. He got his shooting for free cause the owner felt sorry that his freedom was limited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Seems like he was wearing a Nazi uniform while he was doing the shooting. Aryan confusion?

Hitler famously suffered that, when he had all the Gypsys rounded up and stuffed into Auschwitz. Only to have his own boffins turn round and tell him;

" Here, Boss? How do we say this ..... We've actually ~ with German thoroughness and attention to detail ~ proven that these f**kin' Gypo's are about as Aryan as it gets!!! "

So, they tried to burn the evidence. August 2/3 :mad:

But, yeah; This is a guy with a screw loose. Dressing up in ye collection of nazi regalia, to go shoot randomers on the morning tube? No f**king ideology on the earth has a book that tells ye to do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

Ted111 wrote: »
    Objection.

Sustained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Lachako

Better Call Saul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Crea wrote: »
    A friend went to a shooting range in Texas. He told the owner thst he didn't own any guns cause it's pretty much against the law in Ireland. He got his shooting for free cause the owner felt sorry that his freedom was limited.

I must remember to try that line next year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭larchielads

Tiz a pity someone didn't shoot 9 lawyers!��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

If your friend thinks you can't own any guns cause it's pretty much against the law in Ireland, then he is a fcuking eejit.

If the Gardaí have no concerns about you and have a genuine need for a gun, then you can get one. Or two. Or three. Or four. Or Five etc.........

Legitimate reasons to have a gun here in Ireland is target shooting, hunting or vermin control.

The big difference between here and the US is that we aren't allowed guns for self defence.

But it's a very incorrect statement to say that guns are pretty much against the law here in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,442 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

BattleCorp wrote:
    The big difference between here and the US is that we aren't allowed guns for self defence.

....and thank God

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    ....and thank God

Well actually there are a few people in Ireland who the Gardaí say their life is under threat. I think they are allowed a gun for self defence but I'd say you'd count how many people that is on your fingers.

Is it not odd that they've declined to identify the shooter, but if it were someone "of a different nationality", you just know that their name would be everywhere?

I'm expecting the opposite tbh.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

You can own guns
    You can use a gun in self defence - without the Gardai issuing you a licence to hold a handgun for self defence.
    Pádraig Nally v the state - farmer shot at intruders, killing one. he was charged with and acquitted of manslaughter. . . this resulted in The Criminal Law (Defence and the Dwelling) Act 2011 being enacted on 19 December 2011. If i possess a gun and you break into and enter my house, and threaten my life by doing so, it would be well within reason for me to shoot you to defend my property and life.

Morpheus wrote: »
    You can own guns
    You can use a gun in self defence - without the Gardai issuing you a licence to hold a handgun for self defence.
    Pádraig Nally v the state - farmer shot at intruders, killing one. he was charged with and acquitted of manslaughter. . . this resulted in The Criminal Law (Defence and the Dwelling) Act 2011 being enacted on 19 December 2011.

Padraig Nally was most certainly convicted of manslaughter. He spent nearly a year in jail for it. He was cleared on appeal.

I stand by my statement that guns aren't allowed for self defence except in very very rare instances where the Gardaí acknowledge that there is an imminent threat to someone's life.

Go put down self-defence as a reason for licencing a firearm here in Ireland and see how far you get. Guns are allowed for target shooting, hunting, vermin control and humane despatch of animals.

Allowing guns for self defence is different from using guns for self defence.
    If i possess a gun and you break into and enter my house, and threaten my life by doing so, it would be well within reason for me to shoot you to defend my property and life.

It might be well within reason to shoot someone to defend your life. But that's not always 100% true. It's a very very grey area. Whatever means you use must be proportional to the level of threat. And someone breaking into your house doesn't necessarily mean that your life is under threat.

BattleCorp wrote: »

I stand by my statement that guns aren't allowed for self defence except in very very rare instances where the Gardaí acknowledge that there is an imminent threat to someone's life.

Never heard of anything like that before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ted111 wrote: »
    Objection.

Overruled.
    mad m wrote: »

Cool where is that shooting range again ?
    BattleCorp wrote: »
    If your friend thinks you can't own any guns cause it's pretty much against the law in Ireland, then he is a fcuking eejit.

If the Gardaí have no concerns about you and have a genuine need for a gun, then you can get one. Or two. Or three. Or four. Or Five etc.........

Legitimate reasons to have a gun here in Ireland is target shooting, hunting or vermin control.

But it's a very incorrect statement to say that guns are pretty much against the law here in Ireland.

Well he is kinda right.
    Firearms as you admit yourself are limited here to certain pastimes or user.
    What you don't say is that the type and calibre of firearms that can be licenses here is very limited and even more so over the last 10 odd years with clampdown on handguns.

There is no way in hell most of the firearms that people in the states can license would ever be allowed here.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

Its everyday now somewhere. I just read there was a shooting incident at a supermarket in France. Two people critically injured, the shooter is surrounded by police. Its not islamic terrorism.

Mentioned this to a few of the French lads I'm working with at lunchtime. They, follow the news but hadn't noticed anything about it. Then said, "maybe Marseilles, daily occurrence, not worth reporting", bit like Dublin I guess.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭GeneralVanilla

I call for a bad court thingy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Next time I'm talking to a solicitor I'm going to bring this incident up and hold it against them.

jmayo wrote: »
    Well he is kinda right.
    Firearms as you admit yourself are limited here to certain pastimes or user.
    What you don't say is that the type and calibre of firearms that can be licenses here is very limited and even more so over the last 10 odd years with clampdown on handguns.

There is no way in hell most of the firearms that people in the states can license would ever be allowed here.

I'm not trying to be awkward but guns are nowhere near illegal here in Ireland. Granted, we have to jump through hoops to get them but most types are still available. In the US you can get a gun if you want one. That isn't the case here. You must convince the Gardaí that you have a need for one.

You can still licence handguns here as long as it is for target shooting. You are limited to a .22lr calibre and the magazine has to be limited to only hold 5 rounds. Once it's a .22lr and can only hold 5 rounds it's licenceable (if there is such a word) in Ireland.

There are lots of people with 9mm, .357, .38 Spl etc. handguns for target shooting. Currently no new licences are being issued for these types of handguns but those currently with licences can keep them.

Any type of bolt action rifle can be licenced. Larger calibre rifles can be licenced once you can justify why you need such a firearm. Special restricted licences are issued for those.

Semi-automatic rifles such as an AR15 or a M1 Garand can be licenced on a restricted licence (once you can convince a Chief Super that you have a genuine use for it). It's difficult enough to get these but some people have them.

Fully auto firearms are completely banned from civilian use and I've no problem with that.

Yes, we are restricted in what we can have compared to America but there's a fair amount of firearms allowable too. You just have to jump through a lot more hoops here to licence them.

Gatling wrote: »
    Never heard of anything like that before

It's very very rare. Personally I don't know anyone who has such a permission but there are a few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

jmayo wrote: »
    Overruled.

Approach the bench please, Mr jmayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

The shooters name is Nathan Desai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Nazi memorabilia found in his car.

Houston shooter wore Nazi emblems, drove a Porsche, carried 2,600 rounds of ammo, police say

I wonder what his motivations were, considering the Nazi stuff in his car.....

wes wrote: »
    Nazi memorabilia found in his car.

Houston shooter wore Nazi emblems, drove a Porsche, carried 2,600 rounds of ammo, police say

I wonder what his motivations were, considering the Nazi stuff in his car.....

I'd say he was just a mad fcuker.

The usual "I'm upset so I'll shoot loads of people" craic that they do be up to over there.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

2,600 rounds of ammunition.

Whatever about a gun, what on earth do you be doing driving around with 2,600 rounds of ammunition?