Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaa

• 20-09-2016 11:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

There is now a replay in the AI final. And the GAA have announced a slight reduction in the ticket price to 60 euro. :confused::eek:

This seems to be a charitable move by them.

But on a serious and real note, as we have unraveled the charity sector in Ireland - is it time to review the GAA at a forensic level.

First of all, how come the people who were at the first match - can not return for a nominal fee to an amateur game, in a stadium that was basically funded by the tax payer and all the people who give so much to the game on a voluntary basis.

Why when we watched the highlights of the game were there 2 Dublin GAA adds in a row.

Why is everyone pretending that no one is getting paid when this seems untrue.

So at this point what is GAA about and is about time we were honest and realised that we need to account for these "Charity/Amateur" organisations in a proper way.

I think the GAA selling out to Sky puts them in a bizarre last stance position.

People say it is the Grab all association - but is it time for truth ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

The truth? You want the truth? You can't handle the truth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

The GAA are up their own a$$... bunch of pretentious frauds! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Hon Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

First of all, how come the people who were at the first match - can not return for a nominal fee to an amateur game, in a stadium that was basically funded by the tax payer and all the people who give so much to the game on a voluntary basis.
    Think the IRFU/FAI received more in government funding for the Landsdowne Rd redevelopment...ended up with a smaller stadium and an ugly corporate name to boot.

The GAA publish accounts every year, but I think you know that and just want an ill-informed rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Think the IRFU/FAI received more in government funding for the Landsdowne Rd redevelopment...ended up with a smaller stadium and an ugly corporate name to boot.

The GAA publish accounts every year, but I think you know that and just want an ill-informed rant.

Yes I think the GAA like things to be ill informed.

They got 110 Million euro and with inflation, that is an astronomical contribution.

If they want to charge 60 to 80 euro for a final - it is time we unraveled this organisation. Because , so far - we have found out extraordinary things about any organisation we have looked into.

Look - you can't sell out and not expect justified scrutiny.

Published Accounts are easily written.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Hon Tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The GAA took my baby away
    They took her away
    Away from me

She went away for the holidays
    Said she's going to Galway
    But she never got there
    She never got there
    She never got there, they say

The GAA took my baby away
    They took her away
    Away from me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,577 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

John Delaney should run the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

John Delaney should run the GAA.
    The OP already pointed out that the GAA isn't amateur!

Ring me, ring me, ring me
    Up the Uachtarán
    And find out
    Where my baby went
    Ring me, ring me, ring me
    Up the FAI
    And find out if
    My baby's alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

First of all, how come the people who were at the first match - can not return for a nominal fee to an amateur game,

1. There are a massive expense in opening up a stadium to 82,500
    2. They can return for a nominal fee - as can everyone else. Terrace tickets are only €30. An amazing price for such a spectacle

in a stadium that was basically funded by the tax payer and all the people who give so much to the game on a voluntary basis.

1. In relation to the funding received by gov, all major sporting organisations receive gov funding. It's so beneficial to the country and to the development of it's children that they are active and learn the skills involved in sports - doesn't matter if it's team on individual sports.

Also the tax take from last sundays game is approx €3 - €5 million when all is taken into account. Events like this and big concerts add a lot to the local economy as well. Gov will recoup their investment - don't worry.

2. Volunteers are very proud of the stadium and organisation they helped build with their charity work and donations. I've never heard a true gaa fan use this as an argument against All Ireland final ticket prices

Why when we watched the highlights of the game were there 2 Dublin GAA adds in a row.

This is what happens when people are proud of the team, a by product of their success is they become very marketable and company and players both take advantage of this. The clean living lifestyle of the modern GAA player is a very attractive prospect for marketers

No one got paid for playing football on Sunday. A few members of each squad may have been paid by advertisers to do commercials or use certain products. But that is their reward for sacrificing so much through the year.

So at this point what is GAA about and is about time we were honest and realised that we need to account for these "Charity/Amateur" organisations in a proper way.

1. GAA is the same now as is was in that hotel in Thurles all those years ago. It's about promotion of our national games. In my opinion the promotion that went on during both the hurling, then camogie, then football and next weeks ladies football have and will be spectacular.

2. Everyone wants clear accountability off all charities and sporting organisations. Nobody will argue against that.

I watched last Sundays game in a Irish bar in Krakow. Had it not been for the sky deal I would have missed it. The GAA seen another chance to promote the games to a wider community all over the world and took it. It's been a great success and the coverage provided by SKY has really shown up the flaws in the product offered by RTE. At the same time as the final swansea were playing southhampton or the TV beside it. There was a crowd of about 5 swansea fans watching that game. All gave up watching the soccer 5 minutes into the final. They couldn't believe the excitement and fast paced entertainment it offered compared to the product they were use to. We met the same group in the airport on monday evening and they were still talking about it and asking questions re the rules. Another plus of the SKY deal.

What truth are you looking for ? time for the conspiracy theory forum ?

As a fan of "soccer" in this country...I wish the FAI had a fraction of the GAA's ability to run an organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

What an odd thread. The GAA as an organisation is many things, but non-transparent is not one of them. As has been said above, the accounts are released to the public every year. Every GAA club in the world gives a run-down of accounts at AGMs every year.

The Grab-All Association thing is so tired at this stage. The GAA isn't full of Sepp Blatters and Michel Platinis, lining their living rooms with Swiss Francs. Money taken in from a replay will trickle down to clubs all over the world.

Personally, I'd be in favour of charging the same amount for a replay. It's very generous of the GAA to offer a product for which, without any doubt, demand will far exceed supply at a reduced price.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

ryaner777 wrote: »
    I watched last Sundays game in a Irish bar in Krakow.

Fukking bar stooler. You're not a real fan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Jesus. wrote: »
    Fukking bar stooler. You're not a real fan

Says the Dude who promised to return but hasnt been seen since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I hope Dublin win the replay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

There is now a replay in the AI final. And the GAA have announced a slight reduction in the ticket price to 60 euro. :confused::eek:
    This seems to be a charitable move by them.
    But on a serious and real note, as we have unraveled the charity sector in Ireland - is it time to review the GAA at a forensic level.

What impeccable timing on your part. FIFA and UEFA are mired in scandal, while nearer home Irish soccer supporters are harrassed by police in Belgrade at the behest of people close to the FAI who dislike their opinions. The IOC let Russia off the hook over state-sponsored drug cheating, justified by OCI chief Pat Hickey in a radio interview a week before Rio opened ( "we don't want another boycott") promoting John Delaney as his successor in the same interview ("he is very popular") while the less said about the current difficulties of the OCI the better. Amateur boxing remains riddled with corrupt judging. Drugs have made a joke of cycling, weightlifting etc. etc..
    And you want a forensic root and branch investigation of the GAA?
    And why? Well....well....
    "as we have unraveled the charity sector in Ireland - is it time to review the GAA at a forensic level."
    "about time we were honest and realised that we need to account for these "Charity/Amateur" organisations in a proper way. "
    Some charities have been found wanting, so let's look at the GAA. Not the FAI or the IOC, mind you, just the GAA
    You are one of a long line of geniuses who visit boards.ie alleging or implying corruption in the GAA without offering a shred of evidence in support. You people should put up or shut up.

Time was when posh types looked down their noses at the Gaelic games, "the games of the poor peasants." Railway companies refused to lay on adequate transport for GAA followers. Through superior organisation, the GAA triumphed, and what now? "What does the GAA do with all its money?" is the cry from the successors of the sneering classes.

I see by your posts that golf is the centre of your universe. Look at this:

Mrs. Barnes: asked the Minister for Education if she will name the golf clubs to which grants have been given from national lottery funds; and the amount given to each club.

Minister for Education (Mrs. O'Rourke): A list of golf clubs which have been allocated grants by my Department from national lottery funds is attached for the Deputy's information. The schemes under which these grants were given are the Commercial Development of Sport and the Capital Grant Scheme for the Provision of Recreational Facilities.

[1931] Commercial Development of Sport
    £Connemara Golf Club, County Galway30,000Oughterard Golf Club, County Galway10,000Portumna Golf Club, County Galway10,000Ceann Sibéal Golf Club, County Kerry30,000Cruit Island Golf Club, County Donegal10,000Gweedore Golf Club, County Donegal5,000Portnoo Golf Club, County Donegal4,000Total99,000

Capital Grant Scheme for the Provision of Recreational Facilities
    £Kilrush Golf and Sports Club, County Clare5,000Slade Valley Golf Club, County Dublin15,000Total20,000

That at a time when deprived areas of Dublin were crying out for sports facilities, and a few people such as Sean Sorensen were willing to volunteer their time to promote their sport of choice in such localities, but gave up due to lack of official support or encouragement, while pampered golfing types were too mean to put their hands in their pockets to paddle their own well-heeled canoe.
    And what thanks did the nation get for its munificence to golf? When Ireland got a chance to medal in golf at Rio the top Irish male golfers declined to travel lest they contract zika and get pregnant.

This anti-GAA thing emanates for the most part from money made from wartime blackmarketeering and profiteering by unpatriotic grabbers, money inherited by the parents of Ross O'Carroll-Kelly types and used to fund the"education" of the latter in posh schools, where they generally fail the Leaving Cert, that being no problem since they can walk into a job in Daddy's business.

Bigotry and snobbery are bedfellows, rooted in ignorance.
    You have some gall to imply corruption in the GAA without substantiation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

The gaa curiously enough at munster council and county level accounts are relatively easy to access
    Used be on munster council website iirc

And as for the public funding of croke park....it amounted to getting the vat back on all supplies as the gaa is registered as a sporting body and can't claim VAT back afaik

.though there is the big impossible to prove of managers getting kick backs off wealthy supporter/business of the county....its the worst kept secret in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

though there is the big impossible to prove of managers getting kick backs off wealthy supporter/business of the county....its the worst kept secret in the world

That hardly comes under the heading of corruption though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

No one got paid for playing football on Sunday. A few members of each squad may have been paid by advertisers to do commercials or use certain products. But that is their reward for sacrificing so much through the year.

And how much of those ads have GAA merchandise, footage and references in them? Making money off the name and reputation of the GAA? If they want to make an ad themselves and pretend it has nothing to do with the GAA then fair enough. But by entering the trademarked GAA into it, they're making money off of the organization that is supposed to be semi-state owned.

Also, what about extensive travelling expenses and such? Hasn't there big commotion over that? I hope your specific phrasing of "for playing football on Sunday" isn't a sneaky way of trying to make people overlook that.

How convenient that the GAA get to avoid paying the big sums of money that they would have if they went truly professional (player wages and tax status), and yet look the other way for some sweeteners every now and then just so the star players don't abandon them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭The Wolverine

We get it lads ye went to every training session but still didn't ever get a chance to come off the bench, time to make peace with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

AnBut by entering the trademarked GAA into it, they're making money off of the organization that is supposed to be semi-state owned.

What in the name of God are you rambling on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Please do answer this. Semi-state owned?

Pretty sure it was sold off along with Irish Steel in the 80s, when Indian giant Ispat wanted to buy Haulbowline and Hurling...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I think someone didn't get picked for the Under 12s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

And how much of those ads have GAA merchandise, footage and references in them? Making money off the name and reputation of the GAA? If they want to make an ad themselves and pretend it has nothing to do with the GAA then fair enough. But by entering the trademarked GAA into it, they're making money off of the organization that is supposed to be semi-state owned.

Also, what about extensive travelling expenses and such? Hasn't there big commotion over that? I hope your specific phrasing of "for playing football on Sunday" isn't a sneaky way of trying to make people overlook that.

How convenient that the GAA get to avoid paying the big sums of money that they would have if they went truly professional (player wages and tax status), and yet look the other way for some sweeteners every now and then just so the star players don't abandon them.

If they are using GAA trademarks then you can be sure that the GAA are getting paid as well.

and where did you get the idea that the GAA is semi state owned??? it is an independent organisation that receives some government funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

At the end of the day they'll be there or thereabouts, and there'll be only the bounce of a ball in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭howiya

Semi state? Does this mean the GAA could be on strike for the replay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Look, lookit, ya know, I think the GAA are charging people for tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

But my friends neighbours Grandson wasn't allowed train because he had a Liverpool jersey on .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

What a car crash of a thread. We get it OP you don't like the GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Well I play Junior F hurling and I often wonder why I'm not getting paid for it. But now that I've read this thread I realise it's corruption from the big wigs in Croke Park. Here I am working 9-5 when if life was fair I'd have been paid a few hundred quid for going training last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

blue note wrote: »
    Well I play Junior F hurling and I often wonder why I'm not getting paid for it. But now that I've read this thread I realise it's corruption from the big wigs in Croke Park. Here I am working 9-5 when if life was fair I'd have been paid a few hundred quid for going training last night.

Must have a decent junior team if you're still training in late september ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

feargale wrote: »
    This anti-GAA thing emanates for the most part from money made from wartime blackmarketeering and profiteering by unpatriotic grabbers, money inherited by the parents of Ross O'Carroll-Kelly types and used to fund the"education" of the latter in posh schools, where they generally fail the Leaving Cert, that being no problem since they can walk into a job in Daddy's business.

All kinds of odd on display right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Must have a decent junior team if you're still training in late september ?

Matches scheduled until the end of October regardless of quality of the team. But yes, I'd say very decent!

Continually receiving money means there's bound to be an influence. If they're not formally designated as semi-state they maybe they should be. Otherwise it's like investing big-time in a company and not only do you not ever get the money back, you don't even get a say in how it's run.

http://www.the42.ie/sport-ireland-gaa-fai-irfu-investment-2876023-Jul2016/
    http://www.the42.ie/jerry-kiernan-gaa-1380369-Mar2014/
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/letters/gaa-shouldnt-receive-funding-from-taxpayers-34518573.html

But okay, it was incorrect of me to state semi-state, it doesn't make the GAA better not to be.

Continually receiving money means there's bound to be an influence. If they're not formally designated as semi-state they maybe they should be. Otherwise it's like investing big-time in a company and not only do you not ever get the money back, you don't even get a say in how it's run.

http://www.the42.ie/sport-ireland-gaa-fai-irfu-investment-2876023-Jul2016/
    http://www.the42.ie/jerry-kiernan-gaa-1380369-Mar2014/
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/letters/gaa-shouldnt-receive-funding-from-taxpayers-34518573.html

But okay, it was incorrect of me to state semi-state, it doesn't make the GAA better not to be.

Forgive me if I don't take anything you say seriously, is just that you sound like you haven't the faintest idea what it is you're complaining about.

howiya wrote: »
    Semi state? Does this mean the GAA could be on strike for the replay?

No, Cork aren't in it.

Wonderful wronglish.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

This thread shows up
    Every.
    Feckin.
    Year.

Forgive me if I don't take anything you say seriously, is just that you sound like you haven't the faintest idea what it is you're complaining about.

Don't mind your "Forgive me if", I never specifically asked you anything. If you can't say things in a straightforward way then you shouldn't expect people to take you seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Don't mind your "Forgive me if", I never specifically asked you anything. If you can't say things in a straightforward way then you shouldn't expect people to take you seriously.

let me help by saying things in a straightforward way. you're talking nonsense.

...itwas incorrect of me to state semi-state, it doesn't make the GAA better not to be.

= set up and
    If you can't say things in a straightforward way...

= punchline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Up down

Then please, in a straightforward way, what the hell are you talking about? Your last post made as little sense as the one before it. Or is it more likely that you don't have a clue what you're talking about, but didn't want that to get in the way of a good rant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Fianna Fowl

"What a sad era when it is easier to smash an atom than a prejudice."

Some famous lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

why is there a replay even, if not for money grabbing reasons?
    Finish it on the day like any other sport...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

they have replays in the FA cup.

There have always been replays going back a long way.

I personally think for a big game they are a better option as I'd prefer to not have the final decided by fatigue.The players prepare to play for 70 minutes and the game should not be potentially decided by which team expended less energy in the 70 minutes.

Because it is fairer than extra time, overtime, penalties, first touchdown, super overs etc. Usually introduced for logistic or tv reasons...

More pathetic attempts by the same bitter "Grab All Association" clichéd cultural cringe drones with records on this website of steadfastly opposing anything that is culturally Irish, with the GAA and language being invariably at the top of their list. How dare the GAA supposedly not be "like any other [English, of course] sport". Irish difference. The "crime", as always, right there. Pathetic.

Long live GAA replays

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

why is there a replay even, if not for money grabbing reasons?Finish it on the day like any other sport...

Because the fans prefer it. Ever think of that?