Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunted (Channel 4)

• 20-09-2016 11:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.digitalspy.com/tv/news/a807656/heres-why-hunted-is-the-most-terrifying-television-show-on-the-planet/

10 Contestants attempt to go on the run across Britain for 28 days, while a team of surveillance experts hunt them down using state of the art technology and mind games.
    I enjoyed this last year, it was entertaining while also made you think about how 'Big Brother' is watching everyone.
    You need to suspend disbelief at times, but its worth a look.

Series 2 Episode 1 (of 6) airs Thursday September 22nd at 9pm, £100,000 cash on offer to the winner(s), if any.

Series 1 is available on All4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Never heard of it, but looks good. Must have a look at the first series over the next couple of days so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Yeah, this show is pretty f***ing awesome - can't believe I heard nothing about it before now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

It flew under the radar at the time but did seem to make a lot of best tv show of the year lists. It is a really good idea for a show because I say most people would think they would be able to do it but the paranoia does take hold after a few days and they became suspicious of everyone. The little things can easily trip you up. Some of the hunted were really smart with their tactics, while others were rubbish. There is obviously a bit of TV editing going on with it making it seem like the Hunters miss out by seconds rather than hours but it is a great watch. Glad they raised the stakes this year as it might have been too easy for the hunted. Hopefully we can get a new Ricky Allen.

That was a great first episode, plenty of tension already. The ex-military lads aren't that careful, leaving loads of evidence behind and being a bit too predictable. The two girls are lucky that the Jaguar driver convinced them to break up their pattern. Hard to know how the rest of them will get on. The stay-at-home dad evading capture by getting lost was hilarious though. Also loved the mam giving the hunters all the info about her daughter and the looks her husband was giving her.

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    That was a great first episode, plenty of tension already. The ex-military lads aren't that careful, leaving loads of evidence behind and being a bit too predictable. The two girls are lucky that the Jaguar driver convinced them to break up their pattern. Hard to know how the rest of them will get on. The stay-at-home dad evading capture by getting lost was hilarious though. Also loved the mam giving the hunters all the info about her daughter and the looks her husband was giving her.

Yeah, certainly a good opener. No Ricky Allen types unfortunately - he was such a good character to watch. The somewhat gormless stay-at-home Dad though could definitely be the star of this season if he manages to stay on the run long enough.

Good to see most of the same Hunters from the first season - in a way though because they're the ones we know from last year, I could easily see myself rooting for the Hunters rather than the Hunted this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Yeah, certainly a good opener. No Ricky Allen types unfortunately - he was such a good character to watch. The somewhat gormless stay-at-home Dad though could definitely be the star of this season if he manages to stay on the run long enough.

Good to see most of the same Hunters from the first season - in a way though because they're the ones we know from last year, I could easily see myself rooting for the Hunters rather than the Hunted this season.

Yeah that Mr Bean type will wind them up if he stays out of their grasp for too long. "My strength is my politeness :rolleyes:"

Only 10 contestants this time (there were 14 in the previous series). Makes it a bit easier to get a handle on who is who, as long as they don't get caught too quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Caught up on 4od last night, first time and loved the show.

Some are stupid to leave traces on computers etc I would of used somebody else's computer/phone to plan etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭bobo the clown

I have a feeling some of this will be on purpose. Much like the note that was in the fathers pocket. Throw them off the scent.

Particularly vicious psychological profiles last night, especially Nick's. Really hoping he can do well, very likeable. Loads of paranoia on show anyway, Ayo and Madu look close to breaking point. Lolly getting caught by a bush was hilarious but it just shows how the hunters have so much resources available to them this year so it is hard to see any of them lasting the distance, Anna and Elizabeth look the best bet at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Enjoyed it last year but it's too heavily stacked in the hunters favour. Not being allowed to do anything illegal wrecks it for me. Anyone legitimately on the run won't think twice about jacking a car or getting fake documentation. To me, this is just a programme to showcase how great big brother is (as long as you play nice) and am skipping this season for that reason.

Particularly vicious psychological profiles last night, especially Nick's. Really hoping he can do well, very likeable. Loads of paranoia on show anyway, Ayo and Madu look close to breaking point. Lolly getting caught by a bush was hilarious but it just shows how the hunters have so much resources available to them this year so it is hard to see any of them lasting the distance, Anna and Elizabeth look the best bet at the moment.

They didn't hold back on Nick

"He considers himself a failure"

"How can anyone have so few friends?"

"His life is very dull compared to his wife's"

I hope he isn't depressed sitting at home watching that on TV, it was a bit close to the bone.

Also, it would make you think twice about lending your phone to a stranger in difficulty!

Nick is great - I really want to see him go the distance. They were far too harsh on him based on looking at his facebook and online interactions. I barely talk to any of my friends on social media, and just meet up with people for a few pints or a coffee whenever I can, but I'm also quite happily introverted and can go a month or so without meeting up with anyone socially and be perfectly content with that - I'd hate for someone to be analysing my facebook or text messages on national television like that, if they need to put everyone into boxes like that...

I did have a good laugh about 6 or 7 years ago when I quit a job after having an argument with the owner of the company, and like a week later one of the lads I had worked with gave me a heads up that aforementioned owner (who had more money than sense and was a right tw@t) hired a private investigator to look into me because I knew sensitive information about the company and thought I was petty enough to go to the press and drag the company through the mud (nothing of the sort had even crossed my mind), but I did find it hilariously that someone was basically watching me go to and from my new job once a day and going home to binge-watch a couple of episodes of Frasier on Netflix because I was trying to save up money at the time, so really wasn't up to much. It did get me thinking at the time though about how easy it was for anyone who wanted to keep tabs on someone and I've considered many times since about just dropping off the grid as much as possible one day, which is probably why I really enjoy watching this series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

I thought it was interesting that they deemed Nick a failure being a stat at home dad but if they said that about a stay at home mam there would be uproar.

I'm also someone who doesn't have a lot of FB friends but that doesn't mean I don't have a lot of friends. I hope Nick avoids capture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭bobo the clown

Totally agree. Had it been the wife on the run and the husband being the GP it would be interesting to see how the female would be portrayed. Even at that considering him a failure is very harsh. I assume having an autistic child can be tough and having a stay at home parent seems practical especially considering one half being a successful GP. Feck the hunters though. Definitely rooting for him now. Come on Nick!

That was brilliant by Nick, the hunters really underestimating him. I will be pretty upset if he gets caught as him and his family deserve the money.

Yeah, hats off to Nick for that audacious stunt.

Win or lose, he has proven himself as being far smarter than they gave him credit.

Hope he goes all the way, definitely the star of this series.

Best episode of the series. Nick is a legend.

I'm also rooting for Ayo to get out of the mess he's landed himself in - he's a cocky git, but you have to applaud how in their face he's been.

This is very tense, really thought the girls would be able to do it.

Let's go Nick.

That was utterly brilliant. So happy for Nick, really showed his character throughout the show and how he should never have been underestimated. Nick's story was really heartwarming so glad he and his family get a happy ending.

Ayo's tactics put him in danger so many times but some how he gets way with it, deserves a lot of credit for putting it up to the Hunters and messing with their game.

Great series once again with some entertaining character, special recognition for the pensioner running over the hunter.

Delighted with that result. The two girls were so close, they did really well.

Skid X wrote: »
    Yeah that Mr Bean type will wind them up if he stays out of their grasp for too long. "My strength is my politeness :rolleyes:"

Apologies to Nick for making a hasty judgement on him after the first episode ^^ :) The ability to charm total strangers and get them to assist you is a huge part of this game.

Well done to Ayo too, he deserved his win.

Judging by the Contestant Call at the end Series 3 looks to be confirmed. Good to see.

Edit Or maybe not?

https://twitter.com/PeterBleksley/status/791695793807908864?lang=en

Cracking end to the series - delighted for Nick and Ayo, both very deserving of the win. I thought they were done for with all the Hunters lurking so near the extraction point, so very glad they got away in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭ItsChecoTime

Enjoyable series was chuffed for Ayo and Nick, disappointed for the girls who were unlucky with the tip off. Frustrating thing for me was it seemed like they were trying to overplay the performance and ability of the intelligence teams a lot of the time. I have a feeling that they weren't actually close to catching them on the final day and I think they filmed it to make it look like it was close, yes we saw a boat and the hunting team just arriving but it wasn't clear that Ayo and Nick were in that boat, think there would have been a few shots of them waving to the hunters if it had. Also think it would have been unfair for the two if they had been caught at the extraction point as that organisation had nothing to do with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

I watched the first season and found it enjoyable. But the more I thought about the camera footage at the ATM machines and other cctv spots I realised this show is heavily produced. For example I happened to flick on the ending of last night show earlier when 2 lads hopped into a boat and made off whilst the hunters just missed them. There was maybe 4 different camera crews recording from different locations and there was footage shot from a drone. This type of recording takes alot of planning and must be set up before the event takes place. It could be the case that the boat was the last extraction point and if so fair enough but its all too staged for my liking. Anybody know what rules the runners must abide by? Someone mentioned earlier they cant do anything illegal. Thats fair enough. Anything else?

The US version kicked off the other night, double episode tomorrow night and then continues every Wednesday until March.

They haven't strayed much from the Channel 4 format at all, even have one of the intelligence lads from the UK version in this. I didn't think too much of the contestants they introduced in episode 1, but hopefully there'll be a couple of gems introduced in the next few episodes.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,392 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

The US version kicked off the other night, double episode tomorrow night and then continues every Wednesday until March.

They haven't strayed much from the Channel 4 format at all, even have one of the intelligence lads from the UK version in this. I didn't think too much of the contestants they introduced in episode 1, but hopefully there'll be a couple of gems introduced in the next few episodes.

Is it on any channel over here?

Loughc wrote: »

No idea. I imagine it's unlikely, CBS Reality Shows don't really seem to get picked up over here (Survivor being on TG4 is the only one I can think of, but that deal has been in place for 15 years or so). Channel 4 could decide to show it, but I wouldn't count on that either...

Loughc wrote: »

The American version didn't get an airing on TV over here, but All4 (Channel 4's Free Catch Up Service) are going to make it available to stream from May 16th

http://www.digitalspy.com/tv/reality-tv/news/a827979/hunted-usa-is-coming-to-all4-in-the-uk/

The American version didn't get an airing on TV over here, but All4 (Channel 4's Free Catch Up Service) are going to make it available to stream from May 16th

http://www.digitalspy.com/tv/reality-tv/news/a827979/hunted-usa-is-coming-to-all4-in-the-uk/

It's worth watching if you haven't seen it. Not as good as the UK, but it was never gonna be, and they do a pretty decent job with keeping it as close to the UK version as possible.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,392 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Great stuff! Thanks for this!

Celebrity Hunted Special (for Stand Up To Cancer) - Tuesday October 10th

http://www.digitalspy.com/tv/reality-tv/news/a838691/celebrity-hunted-lineup-gogglebox-steph-dom-jaime-laing-spencer-matthews-the-wanted/

Celebrity Hunted has finally revealed its full lineup, and we really can't wait to see Gogglebox's Steph and Dom on the run.

The posh pair will be joining another previously confirmed posh pair, Jamie Laing and Spencer Matthews, as well as Anneka Rice, and Jay McGuinness and Siva Kaneswaran from The Wanted.

The celebrity edition of the thrilling cat-and-mouse series is in aid of the channel's Stand Up to Cancer fundraising efforts, and will feature the seven contestants as they try to go off the grid and evade capture.

That's going to be a 4 part series, starts this Tuesday at 10.15pm (after Bake Off)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

If it was getting boring couldn't they just ring the camera crew going around with the hunted folk and ask them where they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

bumping as this is on tonight at 10.15pm. Looking forward to Dom going into full ninja mode=)

Pretty certain it's on at 21.15 actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,592 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Am looking forward to this !

I'm routing for Steph and Dom cos they are bonkers. :D

B and B ?!!!

I like the way they think though !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

Just flicked onto this .
    Even TV3 wouldn’t descend to this level of s***e !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Anneka Rice has aged amazingly! I used to love challenge Anneka.

I like this show but it seems very fake sometimes...

Using the phone was a stupid thing to do , thought they'd be more clever than that .

But they'll escape in time :)

This all feels staged..why would Steph and Dom's mate just hand the information to the hunters.... stupid

I reckon Anneka Rice has the best shot of winning this, as she's probably smarter than the rest of them collectively and is less likely to leave a trail behind her.

It's a bit of a stretch of the format to have a Celebrity Version ... if Celebrities are well known it should be almost impossible for them to go anonymous and stay off grid.

Still nice to see it back. Steph and Dom's Roadtrip should be a show in it's own right, they look like they were enjpying it.
    I reckon Anneka Rice has the best shot of winning this, as she's probably smarter than the rest of them collectively and is less likely to leave a trail behind her.

I agree, and she was taking no prisoners with the woman on the boat who asked for a selfie!

In it to win it.

New series of Hunted starts on Channel 4 on Thursday 4th January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Anyone else getting a very fake/staged vibe from this ep?

Thargor wrote: »
    Yes..... very....more so than any other episode

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

The father and son are as good as gone i reckon. Feel sorry for them as i feel this adventure will cause them problems at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Thargor wrote: »

The problem with the format is that it has to be fake, they don't have access to real phone tracking, data, cctv, anpr, facial recognition, etc, it all has to be "replicated" by the production team.

Even if the hunters are not participating in the faking it is up to the producers to feed them accurate info and not to go OTT in order to spice up the show. 6 weeks of some savvy people hiding out in a remote field won't make for very good TV. The temptation to invent some convenient piece of surveillance that is only believable if you don't think too much about it is very high and they have done it repeatedly across the series.

CCTV in particular, ok the pensioner was stupid to go to the coach station and buy a ticket for somewhere but there is no way they could have had a realtime hit from a private cctv feed like that nor an instantaneous return of the ticket she bought.