Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over weight lab cross

• 19-09-2016 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭

Hi all

I have a lab who is a mix shorter than a full grown lab. I need to get her weight down drastically she is 30 pounds way too heavy. Her legs aren't really able to carry her. Any suggestions food what's the best.? All treats are now gone. Only apple slice or carrots broccoli but I'm very concerned she can't walk to well at the moment. Any suggestions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

sadie1502 wrote:
    I have a lab who is a mix shorter than a full grown lab. I need to get her weight down drastically she is 30 pounds way too heavy. Her legs aren't really able to carry her. Any suggestions food what's the best.? All treats are now gone. Only apple slice or carrots broccoli but I'm very concerned she can't walk to well at the moment. Any suggestions

Cutting out treats is a step in the right direction OP. What food is she on at the minute? Is she on any medication?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

OP – is she 30 pounds overweight?

Portion control is your best bet… what are you currently feeding her? What brand? how many times per day? Cut out the apple slices stick to veg

What age is your dog?

If she having difficulty when she is walking I would bring her to a vet to see if it’s safe to increase her exercise a little build it up each day…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jesus, what's the problem?!? You're in complete control here! Limited healthy diet, measured proportions, and as much exercise as the dog can manage.

Talk to your vet. Get them to decide what portions are correct, how often they should be given, and how much exercise is appropriate. Then follow those instructions.

Edit: If she has Labrador in her, take her swimming. It's what she was bred for. Zero impact exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

You should feed to whatever weight your dog should be, if you use the guidelines on the dog food. Don't feed what she weighs at the moment.

Edited because I didn't have my reading glasses on, and misread the OP :) I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭VictorRomeo

We had something similar with our Lab recently. We were feeding ours Real Nature Wilderness Wild.... A high protein food and one we understood to be of a high quality. Now, she had a bit of an issue with arthritis recently and it all compounded to her putting on weight as she became exercise averse. I won't bore you with the details of what we went through to get her back on track but we were advised by our Vet and separately by our our dog's cardiologist (yes, again, I won't bore you) this food...

Hill´s Prescription Diet Canine j/d Reduced Calorie food. We dose it with a good squirt of a glucosamine suppliment our vet gave us.

Anyhow, we've seen fantastic results with the food. At least 3 kilos off in two months and she's back in the game. We're more careful now we're not over exercising her too much to mind her joints.

She also loves the food. I would however get your vet's input before moving her on to a food like this. Bearing in mind, they do a non-joint/arthritic medicated food also - as in low calorie only. But from the sounds of it there could be joint issues too.

It can all compound and spiral quickly....

For us it was winter, the dog not wanting to go out as it was miserable. The exercise slips and we let it... She's still fed well and the weight packs on very fast.... The food was probably wrong too... she is not a working dog and the high protein stuff was too much... All of a sudden you have a pudding for a dog and it's embarrassing... the vet then identifies other issues and a couple of grand later (luckily we have insurance) it's improved, have a slim dog who loves her walks again...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

endacl wrote: »
    Jesus, what's the problem?!? You're in complete control here! Limited healthy diet, measured proportions, and as much exercise as the dog can manage.

Talk to your vet. Get them to decide what portions are correct, how often they should be given, and how much exercise is appropriate. Then follow those instructions.

Edit: If she has Labrador in her, take her swimming. It's what she was bred for. Zero impact exercise.

Endacl, your opening comment is a little harsh. The op is looking for help, and that's going to include understanding and support from the people they're asking for help.
    Thanks,
    DBB

Op, well done for taking the first steps here, your dog will thank you for it.
    I'd really echo the advice to seek help from your vet here. Many vet practices have a nurse who specialises in weight control for pets,often these clinics are free... Qualified advice, regular weigh-ins, and emotional support... Give them a call and ask!
    But no matter what, you've quite herculean task ahead of you, and you need professional help with it. Remember, there may be an undiagnosed health issue lurking in the background that's causing or contributing to this.
    Call your vet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭sadie1502

I feel bad enough so don't need lectured. She weighs 30 pounds. It's lack of exercise it's not over feeding I know myself. I can't walk them unless my partner is with me. I have two dogs and they are impossible to walk I've tried numerous leads treats you know it they just drag me up and down the road. I wonder is there a swimming pool for dogs as she won't go in ghe the water she runs along water edge. I will go about the food. Yes she has arthritis also. I just had her at the vet out walking other night and she has hurt her leg. It's a viscous cycle they drag me they end up hurt and they have to rest before I can walk them again.

I'll have to take her to the weight loss clinic I was only with the vet the other day told him I feed her burns dog food and he said half cup in morning and evening that was it didn't say much more. My other dog is not overweight so it's not food it's exercise I'd take them to the water I live by the water but they run along it. Water edge they don't go in for a swim. She is not a retriever she likes having a ball but she ain't to bothered about retrieving it when it's thrown.

Have you tried using a walking belt? Doesn't stop the pulling, just keeps your arms in their sockets.

Or a front attachment harness.

Might also be worth looking into getting a local trainer to do a one to one with you on loose lead walking, they may have tips and techniques that you haven't seen before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

We have several dogs here that don't really exercise ...two because they're too unsteady on their old legs and one because he has an injured paw.
    Neither one of them is overweight.

We feed "normal" good quality dog food.
    The only control we have is over the amount that has been established per dog over time by trial and error.
    We don't weigh our dogs, they don't have to go on a special program or a special diet, we just make sure we don't over-feed.

Don't let yourself be bamboozled by advertising or guilt-tripped by so called experts, it's not rocket science.

Find out what the ideal weight of your dog should be and feed accordingly.

Most food packets give a guideline on how much to feed per weight of dog.
    While your dog is still overweight, stick to the lower end of the guideline and keep it at that.

If your dog doesn't start losing weight on that regime after a while there would have to be underlying medical causes (or a secret food stash that you don't know about :D)

BTW
    30 pound is not that much weight ...we have a sturdy terrier that weighs only a little less and a slender bearded collie that weighs a little more...30 pound doesn't sound all that much for a lab mix

No haven't tried that one but have tried every other lead halti another one which is like a harness meant to stop pulling also but doesn't. Yeah ill have to see about one on one lessons my only option at this stage. Hydrotheraphy can't see any in limerick.

Would it be 30kgs. I'm not sure what measuments do they use it vets the scales they stand on. The springer mix I have is 22 it must be Kgs

Ah yeah, most vets would be kg, so yeah, 30kg is fairly heavy alright.

sadie1502 wrote: »
    Would it be 30kgs. I'm not sure what measuments do they use it vets the scales they stand on. The springer mix I have is 22 it must be Kgs

Yeah I'd imagine it's kg. 30lbs wouldnt be much for a lab mix. Fair play for trying to get her weight down. My girl is on a small dose of steroids for a lung condition so I have to be very careful about her weight as the steroids can bulk them up and make them extra hungry. I suggest always weighing her food. Never guess.
    She's in perfect nick but I weigh her food every single day. Even though I know by sight how far to fill her bowl I don't take the risk and always weigh it out. That way if she gains any weight I can easily cut back a few grams and it's gone again in no time.

Thanks all. I will go to the vet and get food and also something for arthritis it's a start and as she loses weight hopefully I can walk her more without her injuring herself all the time. The vet wasn't overly concerned about her weight. She had a biopsy on a lump which they rang tonight to give results it's fatty tissue benign so that's good news. Thanks again

Just to note on the arthritis - your vet may recommend arthiraid - my vet did and I didn't find it great tbh and it's over priced IMO.

I moved my guy over to some Luposan pellets, and salmon oil everyday worked wonders.. Get them both through zooplus.ie

Tumeric paste is also excellent. Just an FYI

Sorry one last thing.. Look at moving her over to the RAW diet, my guy was 18kgs, now down to 16kg which is perfect since I moved him over.. He looks lovely and lean without being skinny.. He's 11.5 years old and in great condition I'm sorry I didn't move him over to raw sooner.

What's raw diet ? Tumeric what do I do with that? I'll definitely be looking at all these options and try to figure out how best to help her. She will be 9 in oct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

DBB wrote: »
    Endacl, your opening comment is a little harsh. The op is looking for help, and that's going to include understanding and support from the people they're asking for help.
    Thanks,
    DBB

Apologies to Sadie. Doesn't read in the tone I would have spoken it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Latatian

Weigh the food! It will always be more accurate than either eyeballing or measuring with a cup. Feed for the ideal weight of the dog, and check the dog's regularly if you can and adjust the food accordingly. The dog should be losing between 1 and 2 per cent of their weight per week. 30kg is around 66lb, so a little over 1lb a week is the most she should be losing.

Pet shops and vets will often let you just walk in, weigh your dog, and walk out. Wish I had known this before I spent many months picking up my 80lb labrador to stand on the scales. Got her down from 80lb to 55lb.

The arthritis will usually get a LOT better once you get the weight down. Best thing you can do for dog arthritis, really. Glucosamine etc. are not well supported by evidence, talk to your vet but for my dog weight control, slow regular walks (nothing wrong with lots of short slow walks), lots of swimming, painkillers, all really helped.

What's raw diet ? Tumeric what do I do with that? I'll definitely be looking at all these options and try to figure out how best to help her. She will be 9 in oct

Raw is actually what is “says on the tin” per say… RAW meat veg and bones, all minced up.

My cocker is 11.5 years of age and I fed him burns for 5/6 years and Taste of the wild for the last 5 years and to be honest I would never go back to dried food, no matter how good the “quality is”.
    I am total RAW convert to be honest. Here is some in formation for you on the RAW diet: http://www.dogsfirst.ie/

I buy all the food “pre mixed” from here: https://carnivorekellys.myshopify.com/

I buy like 2 months’ worth, in mixed chubs and pop in in my chest freezer in the shed. Each day I weigh his portion out and pop in a containers sealed in my fridge…. It’s VERY simple and easy.

If you want to try it before you commit (I did) I bought the samples pack and tried him on it for a few days: https://carnivorekellys.myshopify.com/collections/chubs-by-the-box/products/meat-mix-sample-box-for-new-customers

He LOVES it… if you do decide to go with RAW here a calculator to help gage what weight to feed your dog: http://www.raw4dogs.com/calculate.htm

Remember depending on exercise and the dogs the weights may vary etc. As other RAW posters on here will tell you always gage it by your own dogs condition and not 100% on the calculators.

Also just to note (not that this matters) they poo a whole lot less too as the RAW food is extremely digestible etc.
    Hope all the above helps on the RAW diet.

Now onto the supplements for his arthritis…

My cocker has issues with his hips and shoulders from running with me when he was younger (totally my fault) and the supplements have made a HUGE difference to him.
    Around 7/8 he started limping getting VERY stiff the vet wanted to do injections I said no and started him on these supplements:

Lupossan pellets / YuMove is also very good.
    http://www.zooplus.ie/shop/dogs/supplements_specialty_food/bones_joints/luposan/129097?rrec=true
    http://fetchyourpetneeds.com/products/yumove-joint-supplement-tablets

Salmon Oil (also great for his coat and joints and cognitive functions)
    http://fetchyourpetneeds.com/products/salmon-oil-cold-pressed-100-natural-1l

Turmeric Paste – I buy it here: http://www.holistichound.ie/ it’s called golden paste.

You can make your own here but I don’t have the patience to be honest:
    http://www.turmericforhealth.com/general-info/10-easy-and-awesome-ways-to-use-turmeric-or-golden-paste

I add all the above to his food (now RAW food) and he is honestly in very good condition…

Now this is the HONEST TO GOD TRUTH - we were walking in Crone woods on Saturday (15km) meet a guy with a golden cocker aged 7… he asked us was Cody a pup – we laughed and told him he couldn’t believe how well he looked and was running around.. then we pointed out his little grey beard and he still was shocked etc. His dog was waaaay less active and looked older than our guy. Now some of it is just genetics and maybe we’re blessed in that department but I firmly believe the food and supplements also help a good bit.

I am just hoping we can keep him in this condition for a long as possible…

Best of luck :D

Hope this helps and the links too X

Hi OP one last thing… I also invested in a decent bed for my cocker too to help with his joints etc.. he had a normal plastic dog bed with Vet bed and blankets etc. but was still a bit slow getting in and out (before the supplements too), so I invested in a good bed for him: http://www.zooplus.ie/shop/dogs/dog_beds_baskets/square/ortho_memory/206850

But I have also heard great reports on these neds too : https://www.hik9.com/

Its def. worth an investment he loves his bed… a bit too much if you ask me ;)

Well we are off to the vet tonight and I will be making an appointments for weight loss clinic. Her leg is banjaxed at moment praying it's tissue damage as oppossed to something more sinister. I will be defiantly looking into the raw diet I have book marked all the links and will look at putting them both on it. I've read a bit on it last night and ill be discussing with my vet tonight. Thanks for all your help on this.

I hope its nothing too serious and loosing a bit of weight will help etc X

Just to bare in mind while many vets are medically minded many are pretty poor when its comes to animal nutrition. so while by all means discuss it with your vet - do your own research and decide whats best for your dog.
    and not what food the vet physically sell's (they get commission), more than likely he/she will try and convince you to buy Royal Canin or Hills diet food (very overpriced and pretty poor quality) but its up to you at the end of the day. use this site as reference when it comes to dog food quality - regardless of what your vet says. : http://www.allaboutdogfood.co.uk/

Best of luck :pac:

cocker5 wrote: »
    I hope its nothing too serious and loosing a bit of weight will help etc X

Just to bare in mind while many vets are medically minded many are pretty poor when its comes to animal nutrition. so while by all means discuss it with your vet - do your own research and decide whats best for your dog.
    and not what food the vet physically sell's (they get commission), more than likely he/she will try and convince you to buy Royal Canin or Hills diet food (very overpriced and pretty poor quality) but its up to you at the end of the day. use this site as reference when it comes to dog food quality - regardless of what your vet says. : http://www.allaboutdogfood.co.uk/

Best of luck :pac:

Vets don't get commission on food. They sell food, just like every other shop that sells food, they buy it wholesale and they sell it retail. They make a profit - scumbags that they are. Imagine trying to make some money to pay their rent and rates, and pay their staff. Honestly, they should do it for the love of the animals. :rolleyes:

OP a lot of posters on here hate certain brands, you'll soon see. Your vet and their vet nurses do have nutrition training - more than the vast majority of API posters do :D And they also have been taught about animals' digestion systems, exercise etc.

If you have a very overweight pet, just cutting down their food whilst not increasing exercise will probably lead to an unhappy dog, who may try and scavenge as much as they can, as they feel hungry. The diet foods that your vet may or may not recommend, are designed to make the pet feel fuller, and maybe also to fool the pet into thinking they are eating more (some have holes in the middle, so the bowl looks full, but actually isn't).

There is no scientific evidence as to the benefits of tumeric etc, but I guess I shouldn't dare to suggest that the people that sell these supplements are making money hey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭tk123

<snip>

OP my vet recommended that Hills joint food when Bailey got very stiff and sore after hurting himself last year because she'd had good results with patients who tried it. I know a few people who switched to it and had great results too.. I was happy enough with his diet and didn't want to change it so changed his supplements around a bit instead and got some hydro sessions in for him and he was brand new and back to himself.

I'd recommend bulking out whatever you decide to feed her with veg - that way you can cut it back and still keep her nice and full.

Yeah the weight is her main issue. Her sister fed the same but obviously labs just more prone to weight gain. Treats are gone carrots and veg will be given to her. They do love raw carrots. And ill be giving apples but not too many as a treat when I see the weight coming down. I feel awful for her but one week she was ok weight wise and before I really took notice she has gotten heavy my own fault I know. I'll tackle it and hopefully figure outs what's best for them. Don't want them to be hungry. Thanks again.

Don't beat yourself up, I have a few dogs, most of them are fed the same amount, and get the same exercise. One of them has put some serious weight on while the others are fine.

I guess like ourselves, some have different metabolisms - thats my excuse and I'm sticking with it anyway :P

When Bailey was hurt last year I had to cut back his walks and we all got lazy - both dogs put on 2KGS! :eek:

Ask your vet if a splint/brace would help support the leg when you go in? I got one from http://www.ortocanis.com/en/home/90-dog-knee-brace.html a while back when Bailey hurt himself running and it made a HUGE difference - he was visibly happier with it on.

I use front attach harnesses and have no problems walking my two at all - 75kgs between them! I've a few different kinds but I know PetMaina stock the halti front attach one (not the head collar - a body harness) so you could maybe go and try one on her in the shop and see how you get on rather than buying one online that mightn't suit.

PS Bailey has an under active thyroid which made getting weight off him really difficult until he was on medication so if you cut back the food and are still getting nowhere that might be something to add to your check-list!

tk123 wrote: »
    When Bailey was hurt last year I had to cut back his walks and we all got lazy - both dogs put on 2KGS! :eek:

Ask your vet if a splint/brace would help support the leg when you go in? I got one from http://www.ortocanis.com/en/home/90-dog-knee-brace.html a while back when Bailey hurt himself running and it made a HUGE difference - he was visibly happier with it on.

I use front attach harnesses and have no problems walking my two at all - 75kgs between them! I've a few different kinds but I know PetMaina stock the halti front attach one (not the head collar - a body harness) so you could maybe go and try one on her in the shop and see how you get on rather than buying one online that mightn't suit.

PS Bailey has an under active thyroid which made getting weight off him really difficult until he was on medication so if you cut back the food and are still getting nowhere that might be something to add to your check-list!

I have both haltis extendable lead you name it I've tried them all. Currently using halti harness. I end up with swollen hands I'm surprised my hands aren't down by my ankles at this stage. The brace looks ideal the other dog has ruptured crutia ligaments. I swear it's never ending with them. The vet says their files are massive. Always something. They both ate ping pong balls and had to have stomachs opened a year after each other. They were banned in the house but one was found in a toy box. My son only young at the time. I love them dearly but jesus they cost me a fortune but I'd beg borrow or steal to get them good care.

Maybe think of having a trainer come and help with their pulling? You won't know yourself once they're waking calmly and not pulling!

Yeah ill have to do that also the trainer as I can't manage them by myself that and its embarrassing. They aren't interested in food rewards though or toys. So dunno how that would work. I'll have to see if u can get a name of a good trainer in Limerick

What food rewards have you tried with them? Obviously you need something low fat at the moment, but my lot love sausages, cheese, ham, high value, nice and smelly.

At the moment I am using the tubes of pate that you can get in certain pet shops, Maxi Zoo and Pet World sell different ones. One of the vets at our practice - sorry the practice I use - hadn't seen the tubes before yesterday and was amazed at how my dogs reacted to them, they got their rabies vaccs and the KC up the nose without batting an eyelid, they were so fixated on my hand and the pate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Ms Doubtfire1

Sadie,

there is an outstanding tablet that will take away all signs of pain from arthritis-I have used it on a very old dog myself a few years back and he went from being barely able to walk to running along the beach.
    I will PM you the name.Don't go for arthiaid or that stuff-it's way overpriced and doesn't work anymore in cases were the arthritis is already well presented.
    Once the pain is gone your doggie will be more happy to have his walkies.

One option springs to mind than-what about a dog walker? At least maybe for one of them while you exercise the other?

<snip>
    I must admit I do like the idea of raw food going back to the beginning evolution and what wolves would have eaten original strip it all back and get help with managing the arthritis

Domestic dogs aren't wolves though, and never were what we now think of as wolves. They have evolved to live with us by eating our waste and what the humans didn't want.

If you want to feed raw, try it, I have lots of friends that do, and are really happy with it. My lot get a mixture of kibble and meat and fish.

You'll be looking for a chest freezer in a few weeks ;)

muddypaws wrote: »

You'll be looking for a chest freezer in a few weeks ;)

Or any upright if you're short like me...and can't reach down into a chest freezer! :pac::pac::pac:

Bailey tried to push you in didn't he, thats the real reason ;)

muddypaws wrote: »
    Bailey tried to push you in didn't he, thats the real reason ;)

No... I tried to reach the bottom of a few in Currys etc and couldn't. The upright ones are easier to keep organised too lol

I thought that said 'I tried to reach the bottom to get a few currys' doh

Sorry OP, we're going OT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

sadie1502 wrote:
    I feel bad enough so don't need lectured. She weighs 30 pounds. It's lack of exercise it's not over feeding I know myself. I can't walk them unless my partner is with me. I have two dogs and they are impossible to walk I've tried numerous leads treats you know it they just drag me up and down the road. I wonder is there a swimming pool for dogs as she won't go in ghe the water she runs along water edge. I will go about the food. Yes she has arthritis also. I just had her at the vet out walking other night and she has hurt her leg. It's a viscous cycle they drag me they end up hurt and they have to rest before I can walk them again.

sadie1502 wrote:

I know it's time consuming OP but would you be able to walk them separately? I ended up doing that with my two, 1 is very dog reactive and she was making the other that way, they have pulled me over a few times, into puddles, grass verges, I've really hurt myself more than once, so i just started walking them separately and it's a revelation!! The older one is a dream, so easy going, the other one is still dog reactive but I can manage her on her own, I realise this may not be an option for you, but just a thought if it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

carnivorekellys.ie are awesome!

I will never go back from RAW no matter what.

What, in the name of all that's holy, is wrong with everyone today? I have deleted a pile of posts, I'm that embarrassed at the carry-on. Remember what I said earlier about driving other posters away? If I was a new poster reading this thread, there's not a chance I'd post in this forum. Ever.
    Folks, step away from the keyboard and stop posting in the forum for the rest of the day, unless you all decide to post in a respectful manner towards each other.
    From this point on, helpful posts specifically for the op in this thread please.
    Thanks,
    DBB

Tranceypoo wrote: »
    I know it's time consuming OP but would you be able to walk them separately? I ended up doing that with my two, 1 is very dog reactive and she was making the other that way, they have pulled me over a few times, into puddles, grass verges, I've really hurt myself more than once, so i just started walking them separately and it's a revelation!! The older one is a dream, so easy going, the other one is still dog reactive but I can manage her on her own, I realise this may not be an option for you, but just a thought if it is!

It's just so time consuming working all day and then going on sepertate walks then trying to battle out the front door with keeping the other back she would bark the house down. I really don't have them time but it may have to be considered if I can't manage the two by myself. They are sisters from same litter and they take off down the road like they are pulling a sleigh. It's so stressful I cone back looking like I was dragged through the bushes and I more often than not have been. My partrer works evenings so I'm usually by myself my sister came with me once and swore never again.

This head collar really helped me when my dog was a terrible puller :

http://www.dogmatic.org.uk/

I had tried the halti, the gentle leader neither worked.. The dogmatic head collar worked for me. Google it.

Seriously get some help from a trainer and you won't look back. You'll learn steps to work on at home first to teach them self contol - ie not rushing ahead and build up to going out on proper walks. The training will be great for using up her energy too if she's restricted with the arthritis. A good trainer will have different harnesses etc for you to try and you can see which one suits you best - some work/fit better than others for different dogs depending on their size/build etc.
    Changing her diet is all well and good but you potentially have a dog who's going to be restricted - you need to get her walking calmly on lead to prevent further damage - to both of you! (Bailey landed me in hospital aged 3 months old when he jerked the lead and pulled muscles in my back - they thought my ribs were broke! :o... "Is it a big dog".. "no a pup!")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Latatian

Have you tried giving them more brain work to do at home as well? Sometimes giving them difficult tasks to work out can help with the over-excitement and high energy on walks. You can get rubber toys that you put food into, and hide them around the house and ask the dog to look for them. Freeze the food in the toy to make it more difficult. You can also do trick training, teaching the dog to focus on you and understand what you ask them, and it will help tire them out. I have a lab who was very strong and pulled as well and I absolutely had all the pain (literally, bruises when she pulled me over) and frustration. But now, well, she still sproings around me but at least she keeps a loose leash. I worked on teaching her that any tension in the lead was bad.

Here is a training exercise that might be of use to you, though I do second the recommendation to get a professional trainer. http://cynography.blogspot.ie/2011/12/it-takes-two-to-tension-foundation-of.html You can get long lines in the pet shop for about a tenner or for two quid in the pound shop.

Arthritis in dogs is notoriously susceptible to the caregiver placebo effect- even vets will see an 'improvement' in a dog that they are told has been given a treatment. So you can't really judge whether something works by trying it or listening to people who have tried it. You need to control for that placebo effect so a study would be needed.

She is booked in for an xray in the morning could be ruptured crutia ligaments. I'm praying it's not. She gave an injection for pain relief so fasting till the morning. She got on scales and in a week has dropped a few pounds. So hopefully it's not a crutia as that's both dogs now with same injury. I'll speak with them in more detail when I have results.