Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Philips Hue White E27 LED Starter Kit - €73.80 [Littlewoods]

• 18-09-2016 8:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭

Thought this kinda deserved it's own thread.. but it's of particular interest to those like myself who pre-order the Echo / Echo Dot.

hue-white-starter-kit-image.png

The Philips Hue White Starter Kit seems to be priced around €89.99 in most bricks'n'mortar shops including Argos and Currys.. though stock seems flakey enough - Argos doesn't seem to have any countrywide, and was in my local Currys on Friday and was told they can only be ordered from the website as all shops with stock on their system were display models.

You can pick them up from Amazon.co.uk for £59.99 - but they won't be dispatched for 1 - 3 weeks.

So after a bit of digging, got them for what I think was a pretty good price. They're €82 at Littlewoods and you can use voucher code 'KL9F6' to get another 10% off - total price was €73.80 delivered.

PS - you may need to pick some of these (B22 to E27 converter) up too if your existing lights Bayonet cap fitting... i.e they convert the bulb connection type with the 2 small metal clips on each side to a screw in (needed for this).

b22-to-e27.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Could do even better if someone grabs the Sunday World - 20% off voucher in there today..

Screen_Shot_2016_09_18_at_09_27_49.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭richardw001

Another option for people

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Belkin-Starter-Control-Lights-Anywhere/dp/B00OG68OQQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1474187940&sr=8-1&keywords=wemo%2Blink&th=1

Comes in about 60 euro delivered( I think)

I have these already and they arent bad - again if you go for these you need the bayonet adapters - as the bayonet ones are 64 sterling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

The reviews on Amazon are a bit concerning, but fair play none the less for posting an alternative
    Another option for people

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Belkin-Starter-Control-Lights-Anywhere/dp/B00OG68OQQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1474187940&sr=8-1&keywords=wemo%2Blink&th=1

Comes in about 60 euro delivered( I think)

I have these already and they arent bad - again if you go for these you need the bayonet adapters - as the bayonet ones are 64 sterling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,005 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Part of me says I want them , but then another part says it's 40 euro for a light bulb...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Basq wrote: »
    Could do even better if someone grabs the Sunday World - 20% off voucher in there today..

Screen_Shot_2016_09_18_at_09_27_49.png

It's only on clothes and footwear but code is KQPCR before midnight September 22nd on €50 spends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭richardw001

Kevin! wrote: »
    The reviews on Amazon are a bit concerning, but fair play none the less for posting an alternative

I had problems with them originally - however last few updates (firmware automatically through the wemo app) sorted it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Can I ask what's special about these ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭durtybit

Can I ask what's special about these ?

They turn you lights on and off

In a fancy way (and more)

https://youtu.be/h1falu7I8bg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

good find, been looking at these smart bulbs for a while now. Yes saw a lot of complaints for the Belkin ones.
    Another alternative is the Lifx ones (no hub required) but expensive. Hard to know which system to go for.

durtybit wrote: »
    They turn you lights on and off

In a fancy way (and more)

https://youtu.be/h1falu7I8bg

These are just bog standard white ones, no colours available

ted1 wrote: »

Colours are available, just not in this starter pack, you can buy the colour bulbs and connect them to this unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Can pick up coloured bulbs at a later stage.. the bridge is more or less this price alone so the two white bulbs are a bonus if nothing else though they'll do me for the time being.

Colour bulbs are pricey, around fifty + bucks a bulb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭Del007

I just got the wemo starter light kit in tesco for €37, it has 2 bulbs included. There was no price on the shelf so I scanned it. I went back to get another one for the folks but the rest were scanning at €70. Could be worthwhile checking out your local Tesco.

Colours are available, just not in this starter pack, you can buy the colour bulbs and connect them to this unit.

I know that they are available, but they are not part of this bargain alert. So it's back to paying 40 euro for a bog standard lamp

How is this bog standard? If that was the case this would not be popular, the cost is in the software so have control from anywhere and also the bandwidth for additional devices like the coloured bulbs. I believe you can add sensors to these bulbs too without wires.

Its new and costs a lot but with competition these will be in everyone's homes at a lower cost in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭jakdublin

Think of how much easier your life will be, not having to stand up and walk up to five feet to switch them off.

Here is a cheaper alternative, might not have all the bells and whistles as the Phillips devices but essentially has most of what you would need.

Note: Setting this up might not be as easy as the Phillips and the apps may not have full support or features the same as the Phillips

Controller € 12,18 a piece.
    http://tinyurl.com/zjataz3

Bulbs Up to €13,20 a piece.
    http://tinyurl.com/jh4pvfs

Intro:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8qry9R6scQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 westside

jakdublin wrote: »
    Think of how much easier your life will be, not having to stand up and walk up to five feet to switch them off.

Maybe for security when you are not there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Arbie

Del007 wrote: »
    I just got the wemo starter light kit in tesco for €37, it has 2 bulbs included. There was no price on the shelf so I scanned it. I went back to get another one for the folks but the rest were scanning at €70. Could be worthwhile checking out your local Tesco.

Which Tesco were they in? Have been looking for a while but no joy.

How is this bog standard? If that was the case this would not be popular, the cost is in the software so have control from anywhere and also the bandwidth for additional devices like the coloured bulbs. I believe you can add sensors to these bulbs too without wires.

Its new and costs a lot but with competition these will be in everyone's homes at a lower cost in years.
    Bandwidth, haha you are having a laugh.
    It's big standard because it's a white light that is either on or off .
    A previous poster linked to a video with colour LEDs . This thread doesn't relate to them. This thread is about white lights that are either on or off.

Bandwidth, haha you are having a laugh.
    It's big standard because it's a white light that is either on or off .
    A previous poster linked to a video with colour LEDs . This thread doesn't relate to them. This thread is about white lights that are either on or off.

Ted if you look you can see a little white box on the initial post via the OP, this is the "controller", I am speaking about features of the controller one of which is how it can be used with colour bulbs and produce the affects like in the video you mentioned so yes.. it does relate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭Del007

Arbie wrote: »
    Which Tesco were they in? Have been looking for a while but no joy.

Douglas, there were 2 left but they were scanning at 70

Ted if you look you can see a little white box on the initial post via the OP, this is the "controller", I am speaking about features of the controller one of which is how it can be used with colour bulbs and produce the affects like in the video you mentioned so yes.. it does relate.

Do you get a controller to control coloured lights that cost 50 euro? Where's the bargain?

Just for fun can you elaborate on your bandwidth comment

Do you get a controller to control coloured lights that cost 50 euro? Where's the bargain?

Just for fun can you elaborate on your bandwidth comment

Come back to us when you read a little more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,032 ✭✭✭✭adox

They aren't €40. They retail for €20.

These are led lights so have a life expectancy of 20 years. They are white only but can be dimmed to any setting. They can be set to come on and off at regular times if desired. They can be set to fade in or fade out. They can be controlled induslly or together.

They can be controlled with an app on your phone meaning they can be controlled from outside the home.

They are not just bog standard lamps. Besides the bargain as ever is, if they are available cheaper than they usually are.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

In addition to what adox describes above, you can also:

- Turn them on and off and adjust the brightness with your voice, Siri on iPhone or Alexa on Amazon Echo:
    Hey Siri, turn on living room light
    Hey Siri, turn living room light down to 50%

- If you have a Logitech Harmony remotes, you can also turn on and off and adjust the lights with the remote and include the lights scenes in activities. For instance, if I hit "Watch Movie" my TV turns on, AV and STB and then my main living room lights switch off but the Philips Hue lamp I have behind the TV switches on to add a little colour behind the TV.

You really can't just think of these as a simple white lights. If you do then they definitely aren't worth it. Instead you have to think of it as buying into a whole home automation ecosystem and for some people it may become well worth it.

Originally I just got one light for home security, being able to turn the light on and off remotely to make the house looked lived in when away. I quickly found I loved the system and I now have replaced over half the lights in my apartment with Philips Hue lights and switches (which are great too).

adox wrote: »
    These are led lights so have a life expectancy of 20 years.

That life expectancy is extremely over rated.

Come back to us when you read a little more.

No I really want to here about your ridiculous bandwidth comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭crabbypaddy

That life expectancy is extremely over rated.

+1 and remember the warranty is 2 years

With the base up, in an enclosed or semi enclosed fixture and especially in a enclosed multilamp fixture the life expectancy due to temperature is a fraction of the theoretical 20 years.

If you expect them to last 20 years at the industy average of 3 hours per day in the average Irish fixture you are guaranteed to be disappointed. More relistically is expect it to last 2-3 years, be happy if it lasts 5 years and delighted if it last 7.

I have only one philips LED bulb thats passed the 5 year mark and that has both colour and lumen degradation in the remote phosphor and has been relegated to hot press duty.

The osram display of 25,000hr and 15,000hr bulbs in the local woodies is fairly representative of my real world failure experience:

397309.jpg

397310.jpg

No I really want to here about your ridiculous bandwidth comment

Ted1, Whats ridiculous about it? Please do tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,525 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Whats ridiculous about it? Please do tell.

Well I think it's kinda like worrying about how the weight of lint in your pocket would affect the mileage of your car when driving.

Someone mentioned the Belkin bulbs for a great price. They're temperamental out. Spent another hour yesterday getting them to behave.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

I can highly recommend the Philips Hue ones, they might be a little more expensive, but they wok perfectly 100% of time, haven't had a single issue. Very much pass the non techy OH acceptance test, specially when paired with the physical switch. In fact she has been telling me to get more for the other room.

Have been using the lamps for a few years now. Not a single failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭yoshimitsu

i ordered them through Amazon as I'm happy to wait for 1-3 weeks for a €3 saving (cheap bast*rd I know). I've put in a camelcamelcamel alert on all things Hue now to see if i can gram any add'l bulb/strip when they drop in price. Have been on a spending spree on all things home automation ever since that Amazon Echo order.... damn u BA! :)

bk wrote: »
    I can highly recommend the Philips Hue ones, they might be a little more expensive, but they wok perfectly 100% of time, haven't had a single issue. Very much pass the non techy OH acceptance test, specially when paired with the physical switch. In fact she has been telling me to get more for the other room.

Have been using the lamps for a few years now. Not a single failure.

I didnt realise there are physical switches avaiable. Its the only thing my Mrs gives out about having to use an app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭fdevine

I didnt realise there are physical switches avaiable. Its the only thing my Mrs gives out about having to use an app.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Philips-Personal-Lighting-Wireless-Dimming/dp/B0148NMVX8?th=1

yoshimitsu wrote: »
    I've put in a camelcamelcamel alert on all things Hue now to see if i can gram any add'l bulb/strip when they drop in price.

Yup, they are always coming up on the Prime Day and Black Friday/Cyber Monday and similar sales.
    fdevine wrote: »

They are great, I highly recommend them to make it really easy for non techy family members and friends to use. This switch is also great as it is actually a remote that can pop out of it's wall mount and carry around the home.

The other cool feature is that you can actually program it to do advanced features on double tap and tap and hold on each of the buttons, such as turn on a scene.

One thing to be aware of, is that if you leave the physical light switch in place and some flicks the light off, then this won't work until you physically flick the old light switch back on. One option is to get an electrician to remove it. The easier and cheaper solution that I came up with is to use a child safety cover over the old light switch:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/BabySecurity-Single-Electric-Socket-Cover/dp/B000X1DNIM/

The advantage is that it leaves the light switch there for emergencies, while stopping people from accidentally hitting it.

Also I have to say that I prefer the US version of this switch which has the words "On" and "Off" on it compared to the EU version with "I" and "O".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

I'll also give my thumbs up to Hue.
    For people looking to find faults, the following is all I can come up with after maybe 2 years.
    • They are very expensive
    • Needing an app to control lights is not good
    • Using a Hue dimmer switch means the existing switch is left in power-on and not useful but you kind of still need it there to kill power if required
    • Hard to get the B22 (Bayonet) connection
    • After a power cut, some bulbs will switch on
    • Wifi range can be a problem, but as these act as a mesh network, more bulbs means better connectivity.

Most of the negatives are easily solved. The dimmer switch is easy to use and portable if needed. The tap can act as somewhat of a master switch or control scenes with a simple tap.
    An E27 to B22 adapter is cheap.

Wider integration with a range of home automation solutions.

The soon to be released Hue motion sensor will open up a range of possibilities (e.g. switch on hall light if motion detected in driveway, and send notification to mobile phone or even turn on a radio)

I don't think anyone would claim the Hue to be a perfect solution, but it is probably the best solution available today. Yes, it is crazy expensive, but we are dealing with an emerging technology, and early adapters always pay a premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Hang on

You can buy and expensive bulb AND a switch to turn it on or off

That'll never catch on lads

Bazzy wrote: »
    Hang on

It already has

Bazzy wrote: »
    Hang on

Handy if you don't have a dimmer switch and wiring one may be an issue, this is a moveable item too so if your accommodation was not permanent or your own, this makes things a little easier when adding lighting features as you can just take it with you with zero installation.

This bridge included with the starter pack has the bandwith to add up to 50 devices where it be switches / bulbs / sensors, each can be controlled individually from anywhere you have an internet connection.

You really need to explain what you think bandwidth means
    Because the Hue uses Zigbee LL which creates a mesh and can talk to far more than 50 addressable nodes , and pull plenty of points from each node.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,578 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

lads....stop feeding the trolls...they are even thanking each other for their posts...

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭davidom2513

Yes,

I have the Milight that you linked for the past year or so.

Only using it in 2 rooms, but it only cost me about 30 quid for a bridge + two bulbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

Yes,

I have the Milight that you linked for the past year or so.

Only using it in 2 rooms, but it only cost me about 30 quid for a bridge + two bulbs

how do you find them?.... are hue that much better for the price?

You need to be very careful with any cheap electronic equipment from China. I saw a video last year of a teardown of a GU10 and it showed how they lacked basic safety equipment. You would never know until you took it apart.

I see this is claiming safety certification, but I would strongly question the legitimacy of that claim in something so important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭crabbypaddy

No harm in exercising caution, the mi light bulbs are not the typical chinese tat though. They are quite well constructed with lots of aluminium for good heatsinking and rf shielding the base design is copied almost exactly from the philips bulbs. Not sure the clip on dome would pass the DIN tests though. The power supply is transformer isolated.

Main disadvantage is the beam angle is 150 and cuts off rapidly because the case is the same diameter as the dome. That means the light is more unidirectional than the hue bulbs. Officially the hue is 160+/-20 but the cut off is a lot more gradual.

Feicanled.com seem to be the company behind them and they have proper FCC certification for the various remotes and the hub https://fccid.io/2AFRV. Their site isn't up to date but they also have the CE cerification listed for the products that are on the site http://www.feicanled.com/en/linian.asp

HTB1mwc5IFXXXXcOXFXXq6xXFXXX4.jpg

You can buy them on the apple site for 79.95 with free delivery

So the original post isn't much of a bargain