Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Apprentice UK 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

sporina wrote: »
    imagine the size of the Brandy she had after that... ekk.. ah no - she has good ideas - a bit unrealistic for now perhaps

I felt Trishna was really hard done by being fired and I think so even more now!

What I don't get is, how is anyone admitted to the show with a bad business plan? Surely every single candidate should have an excellent business plan as a minimum. But I guess that's not seen as entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

seligehgit wrote: »
    You obviously didn't watch the show on Tuesday night!:)

No I didn't I forgot all about it 'll watch it on iPlayer after I finish watching You're Fired 😂

Btw first time watching You're Fired this season and I love it very funny much better than last year

SlickRic wrote: »
    Frances is a sly human being. You can see it.
    I'm petrified that Frances will get through here.
    It can't be Frances. She's a sly, nasty piece of work.

What is it with you and Frances?

Personally I think she is adorable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

So happy Alana got through (I've been rooting for her for quite awhile now) and she seems to have managed to get the best people on her team for the final, going by the previews.
    kopite386 wrote: »
    Btw first time watching You're Fired this season and I love it very funny much better than last year

You've been missing out - tonight's You're Fired was probably the weakest because they had to cram in 3 candidates, but it's been on top form all season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,775 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I think it's one of the poorest candidate lineups for the final 5 in years.

Im trying to think back to when it was as bad as this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Really want Alana to win. Courtney is just such a damp squib. It's a real shame he managed to get even to the interview stage ahead of Trishna. She had a decent head on her shoulders and would be a worthy finalist.

You've been missing out - tonight's You're Fired was probably the weakest because they had to cram in 3 candidates, but it's been on top form all season.

Sara Cox was great craic last week.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Prediction for the winner? I reckon he'll go with Courtney, he knows a lot more about that area than he would Alana's. Plus I think it's the safer option too which he tends to prefer, as we saw with Joseph last year and Mark the year before. Hoping for Alana though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,193 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

The editing in the interview section is absolutely terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,193 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Claude really stuck up for Courtney in the boardroom. I think that's what swayed Lord Sugar.

Please get rid of Karren. She's negative and nitpicky about EVERYTHING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,180 ✭✭✭sporina

So happy Alana got through (I've been rooting for her for quite awhile now) and she seems to have managed to get the best people on her team for the final, going by the previews.

can you explain how Alana has made 70k profits with no employees? I understand she is a baker?? But that seems like a massive profit margin for someone baking cakes alone.. ???

For starters employees cost money.

She explained the profit margin in the interview. Rich chocolate brownies which she sells for £3 cost her £0.18p to make. Sell enough cakes and brownies and keep your overheads low and you'd quickly turn a nice profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,880 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Her boyfriend helps combined with so low costs it's easy to see how she could make such money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

Just watched the final 5 show on iPlayer fair play to Jessica at 29 years of age rasing 3 kids under 5 alone while running her own business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Really hope Alana wins it out,he started poor but she has got stronger as the weeks have gone by.

Find Courtney to be a bit of waffler,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Jaysus Courtney made the finals :eek:

Claude had me in tears laughing interviewing Courtney. You can tell Courtney is his love child :D

Alana I have to say surprised me in the interviews. I wasn't expecting much from her after her performance through the tasks. She did well.

Granya :p as Sugar pronounces it was a missed opportunity. Its a great business she is in. Its just she pitched way too many ideas at the interviewers. She should have stuck with the training academy.

Alana expecting Sugar to cough up £250,000 for 50% of her business when she hasn't invested significantly in her own business wasn't good. I thought that alone would been the end of her in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

IvySlayer wrote: »
    The editing in the interview section is absolutely terrible.

Courtney was being interviewed by the woman in the red dress and she brought up the "fart in a lift" comment. A few minutes later he was going up in the glass elevator and the same woman interviewed him again! It just showed how bitty this episode was, with no flow and no omg moments. Interview week is the worst for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭liam7831

i think Courtenaye will win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It was definitely a weak year judging by the business plans and the tasks. The Apprentice isn't a programme where you can say "I could probably have done better myself". Some of the candidates over the previous years must be thinking they were unlucky to be on the wrong year.

Some great characters this year though. Jessica was hilarious, can't believe she has 3 kids. I like Grainne too but was disappointed with the business plan, there was nothing really there. Karthik stole the show though.

I think Alana is the winner, who I find a very endearing character. I have no idea about Courtney. I think Lord Sugar is impressed with his story and can relate to him.

Should be noted too that Alana's business is similar to Luisa Zissman, who he passed up on in the final. Maybe he has regrets? Or fancied the idea but didn't fancy Luisa as a business partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Just quick look back at previous finalists.

2015 - Finalists.

theappfinal_vanajo_3531646b.jpg

2014 - Finalists.

The_Apprentice_fin_3143367k.jpg

2013 - Fine-lists :D

Luisa-Zissman-left-and-Leah-Totton.jpg

2012 - Finalists.

article-2154162-136F3EBB000005DC-159_634x361.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

^ All very strong finalists there, bar Joseph & Vana, last year was similarly weak. Luisa was very good on the show as well, it's a shame she was in it more for the fame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

In fairness, Vana had a very impressive CV https://uk.linkedin.com/in/vanak . If it had have been the old format of beinh Sugars Apprentice, she would have won.

Joseph was very much getting behind the man who turned his life around, plus he was a very impressive candidate in the tasks.

I don't want to sound disrespectful (because they have far greater achievements than me), but I think there has been a bigger emphasis this year on very small businesses run by people who don't have the massive education or work experience alike people like Vana and other candidates of years gone by. There was a very working class feel about this year's show. Although the finalists seem to be from quite a middle class background.

Maybe the BBC are hamstringing the selection process with background and racial quota's. As opposed to just purely selecting excellent candidates with a bit of personality.

I remember that Scottish girl that was on. She just stunk of box ticking. Didn't seem to have anything about her and had an attitude problem. The producer's must have just said "**** we need a Scottish person".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭liam7831

^ All very strong finalists there, bar Joseph & Vana, last year was similarly weak. Luisa was very good on the show as well, it's a shame she was in it more for the fame.

Luisa has some front ...

Vana was a very strong candidate from the outset and Joseph emerged as one as the show went on. I don't think that was a weak final at all.

I remember that Scottish girl that was on. She just stunk of box ticking. Didn't seem to have anything about her and had an attitude problem. The producer's must have just said "**** we need a Scottish person".

Definitely, what was she doing there? She seemed really thick.

I don't know about lack of education with the candidates. Frances got into Durham University which is almost up there with Oxbridge, Courtney has a First Class Honours degree, Dillon has a First Class Honours degree, Karthik has an engineering degree, Samuel has an IT and Business degree, Rebecca has a literature degree, Mukai has a business degree, Sofiane has an accounting degree, Trishna has a journalism degree, Oilver has an MSc and Aleksandra has an IT degree. It doesn't particularly seem like they were aiming for "school of life" candidates. There was always a mix of university-educated and school-educated candidates.

Another thing from the interviews, one has to be amused at Karren Brady, of all people, suggesting that someone's lack of charisma may affect their success in business. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭Train Dragon

Am pretty sure Sugar pointed towards
    Courtney
    when he said "you're my new partner" at the end of last week's preview.

They need to cut to black when doing this and just let us hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭Train Dragon

But it was a preview to this week. Not an alternative ending to keep the bookies happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

But it was a preview to this week. Not an alternative ending to keep the bookies happy.

But when they cut together the preview, they can cut it with either bit of footage.