Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Captains Day - 2016 - Galway Bay

• 12-09-2016 9:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Last event of the year ! We are teeing off at 11am at Galway Bay.

We have 17 confirmed as playing, as always for the last event we are going out in reverse order. The time sheet is here - Time Sheet

I think that this will be the first year that we already know the winner of GOTY, so a big congratulations to Doublecross. With only the top 4 in the running and with only two playing Doublecross cannot be caught. Some very consistant golf throughout the year.

A win for Space (the only one of the chasers playing) will only give him 800 points, the worst that Doublecross can finish with is 860

Hopefully the weather and the course are good.

See you there

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Hi All,

We have 17 confirmed as playing, as always for the last event we are going out in reverse order. The time sheet is here - Time Sheet

I think that this will be the first year that we already know the winner of GOTY, so a big congratulations to Doublecross. With only the top 4 in the running and with only two playing Doublecross cannot be caught. Some very consistant golf throughout the year.

A win for Space (the only one of the chasers playing) will only give him 800 points, the worst that Doublecross can finish with is 860

See you there

J

Oh yea, I didn't pick that up when I was doing the last update. So it was only Rikand or Alanm who could actually catch Doublecross. I thought Rikand was playing though?

Well done Double though, a very deserved winner. I must remember to pick up the trophy during the week.......;) left it in a few weeks ago for engraving

Nice to be heading out in the last group for the second year on the trot, and hope I can outdo Space to see if I can leapfrog him into third.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Alanm

Hi All,

See you there

J

For some reason I didn't get the Teamer notification or an e-mail about it. I was hoping to play and give double a bit of a challenge. Is it too late to accept now?

Alan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Alanm wrote: »

For some reason I didn't get the Teamer notification or an e-mail about it. I was hoping to play and give double a bit of a challenge. Is it too late to accept now?

Alan.

No problem

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Enjoy the day lads and I predict the winner will have 34 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Apols golfgraffix, I have a pass for the weekend now. I was previously cancelled on teamer. Could you include me on the time sheet too?

Cheers.

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Apols golfgraffix, I have a pass for the weekend now. I was previously cancelled on teamer. Could you include me on the time sheet too?

Cheers.

Any white smoke yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

So with Doublecross & Alanm the only ones in contention for GOTY, the real interesting part of the table is from 7th down with TheChamp potentially in trouble.

He's not playing & below him in the table:

Roadrunner
    BiGChap
    Brendan
    GolfGraffix
    FDP
    3putt
    Ben
    Break80
    Ballyk
    Charlie

All can in theory, overtake him. Macker in 6th at 541 should probably be safe.

Top 10 spots still very much up for grabs, so plenty to play for

Seve OB wrote: »
    Any white smoke yet?

31 Aug. All great. I'll see you over the weekend. :)

excellent

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

So with Doublecross & Alanm the only ones in contention for GOTY, the real interesting part of the table is from 7th down with TheChamp potentially in trouble.

Roadrunner
    BiGChap
    Brendan
    GolfGraffix
    FDP
    3putt
    Ben
    Break80
    Ballyk
    Charlie

Even with a win and other results going my way I can't see myself in the Top 10 this year, I just didn't get to enough events!!!

At least I'll have my 5 qualifying rounds played just in case!!! Fingers crossed!!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Congrats

Roadrunner
    BiGChap
    Brendan
    GolfGraffix
    FDP
    3putt
    Ben
    Break80
    Ballyk
    Charlie

Yea, I think TheChamp will most likely be pushed out of the top ten but Macker should be safe, but I expect he might be close to 10th by the time we are all finished. So with the top 6 looking like they are in the team, then I think Road Runner, Big Chap, GolfGraffix, FixdePitch & Brendan all have the remaining 4 spots in their control with a half decent showing on Saturday. If any of them falter though, then 3Putt is waiting in the wings and a solid performance could very easily see him through. Ben might have to much to do and probably requires at least a second place finish as would Break 80, but if Ballyk wants to get in the team he has to win.

Also I'd just like to point out just how great a guy GolfGraffix is.

(two cpt picks up for grabs for those outside top 10, right?)

Also I'd just like to point out just how great a guy GolfGraffix is.

(two cpt picks up for grabs for those outside top 10, right?)

I think you are gonna perform well enough on Saturday

There maybe another slot available, I am not sure if all the top ten have played the required 5 events to make the Ryder Jug team.

The Jug looks like it's going to be at Portmarnock Links on Saturday the 22 of October.

J

The Jug looks like it's going to be at Portmarnock Links on Saturday the 22 of October.

J

Home advantage so for us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I never got the teamer notification either.

Hmm, both me and AlanM not getting the notification..... I smell a conspiracy!

If there's room, I would love to play, but I may have a family commitment that evening. I'd probably have to be first out to have a chance of getting in. I'll get back on to ye this evening to let you know if I can play or not

Rikand wrote: »
    I never got the teamer notification either.

Hmm, both me and AlanM not getting the notification..... I smell a conspiracy!

I just checked and it was sent to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Alanm

I just checked and it was sent to everyone.

I got the invite but no email or alert from the app.. i blame teamer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Yea, I think TheChamp will most likely be pushed out of the top ten but Macker should be safe, but I expect he might be close to 10th by the time we are all finished. So with the top 6 looking like they are in the team, then I think Road Runner, Big Chap, GolfGraffix, FixdePitch & Brendan all have the remaining 4 spots in their control with a half decent showing on Saturday. If any of them falter though, then 3Putt is waiting in the wings and a solid performance could very easily see him through. Ben might have to much to do and probably requires at least a second place finish as would Break 80, but if Ballyk wants to get in the team he has to win.

No pressure then! :D

Alanm wrote: »
    I got the invite but no email or alert from the app.. i blame teamer!

I resent reminders to everyone. I did spot Rikand doesn't have the app, so it only went to his email the first time around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭paulos53

Home advantage so for us :D

Home advantage for some of the team. ;)

I am quite happy that I have no chance of qualifying for the jug as this is the 2nd year in a row that the location requires an unreasonably long trip for the Munster based players

paulos53 wrote: »
    Home advantage for some of the team. ;)

I am quite happy that I have no chance of qualifying for the jug as this is the 2nd year in a row that the location requires an unreasonably long trip for the Munster based players

Aggreed, its not so easy as the opposition are all Dublin based. Its not set in stone yet and it could well change.

J

I'll be there. Can play anytime as long as I'm in by 5. Need to be back in A-town for 6

Anyone played here before? Guide or tips eg greens fast, rough high, fairways narrow? Sadly their website guide doesn't work. Lash together a quick 3d detailed flyby golfgraffix, these take only 2 minutes, right? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

Greens fast. No problem with roughost unless your way off line. Bunkers may be a little hard pan depending on rain night before. Society out before yesterday so expect delays. Usual wind expected Saturday which will benable off the right on first. . Put nearest the pin on 7 and longest drive on 16. No yardage poles at side of fairways or strokesavers available in pro shop. Driving range is a nice walk to first tee. GET TOKENS IN SHOP IF USING RANGE. Practice chipping area is good too and close to 1st . Course is all in front of you. Pot bunkers on 1, 2,17&18 greens need to be avoided at all costs. Go backwards if you can. I know most of ye are able to play and seeing it's captains, play off the whites. Not a huge difference between them and yellow society Tees. Expect 38 to win unless it gets very windy then 34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

In light of the weekends proceedings

http://thegcw.co.uk/latest-stuff/2016/9/13/the-different-types-of-society-golfers-coming-to-a-course-near-you

Not sure exactly where we fit in to the spectrum?

http://thegcw.co.uk/latest-stuff/2016/9/13/the-different-types-of-society-golfers-coming-to-a-course-near-you

Ha ha! Very good

Haha, we are Deffo the last one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

I haven't made one of these events in a couple of years. Always clashing with something else unfortunately. So, my entire contribution to the Galway Bay event are photos of the course - from 2014 - hope you get weather as good as I did.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/kevinmarkham/albums/72157645079321822

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads,

Had a few days to think things over and looking forward to night out in Galway and game. Only played this year as J asked me.

Anyone looking in - join society , amazing outings , courses and a sound bunch of blokes.

You honestly will see places and courses in Ireland you will never forget.

Lets have a great night to another great year.

Sorry didn't have much time for joke poem this year :D

BGS 2016

It started on a links – and ended in a bay.
    It was only right, that Christy Jnr, should have the last day.
    A captain who loves the big ones, tough long and hard.
    Great to tire limbs – removes mid-life golfers’ lard.

Fix almost had, his first and only winning day.
    Tyson knocked out Double cross, boxing away.
    Then Bunclody – one of the best – even when damp.
    A course out of this world – had to be The Champ.

The Heritage next – water and wet.
    The big hitters dream, Alanm game set.
    The 2s pot is massive – our captain is lost.
    But I want my “bleeding money”, at all cost.

New Forest a stunner – Alanm holy S**T.
    Long Drive Slice laughs, didn’t see 44 pts in it.
    Then off to The East – for a solid sound golfer.
    Space a great round – GOTY not yet over.

Castlemartyr a Kirby cracker, we had kids and the wife.
    But Dr Rieux , doctored, the game of his life.
    Then Headford was Esker and horribly slow.
    But – Rikand stuck it out, incredible, one for the low.

So the end is near – Doublecross solid all the way.
    Hits it far, great irons and holes putts all day.
    Our Captain, he did it, we played on top drawer.
    Prizes incredible, a chance for one more.

So the society is changing – the cycle of the net.
    A beginning an ending – but not over yet.
    So if you’re looking in, afraid and would like to try.
    Jump at it – amazing – not a word of a lie.

Fix 2016

That's very eloquent Fix. I think we should bestow on you the official title of Poet Laureate of the Boards Golf forum/Society! :D

Fix, you knocked it out of the park, class

Great post Fix ;)

Was chatting a few mates this evening asking for some tips on the course.

" if the first hole is downwind, go home ".

Guess it must be a tough course if the wind is blowing that way ;)

" if the first hole is downwind, go home "

galwaybay1.jpg

Probably they mean 'go home' as in "Would you go home it'll be grand", or even 'go home' as in the tail wind will help you go home or reach the first green in one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Is it a links course?

I thought I'd heard it wasn't but that overhead looks fairly links-like, especially the little round bunkers :confused:

I'm a non-runner for this now unfortunately as I have a tennis final to play at 5.30 in Dublin tomorrow and wouldn't make it back in time to play it.

Only hours to go !!!

Some small changes to the playing order TIME SHEET

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭doublecross

Is it a links course?

I thought I'd heard it wasn't but that overhead looks fairly links-like, especially the little round bunkers :confused:

The land wouldn't be traditional links but it looks and feels like a links on most of the holes. A lot of deep bunkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭doublecross

Only hours to go !!!

J

Looking forward to it now. Weather looks like it's going to be a hell of a lot better than esker hills. A little bit of wind to keep us honest. I'm predicting a winner from one of the dublin links stables.

Any word on NP & LD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Really looking forward to it now. Haven't played in a couple of weeks.

Played 2 holes yesterday. First time playing for 3 weeks. Should be fun tomorrow ;)

Only hours to go !!!

J

Gonna be a slow round for seve stuck with me

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Only hours to go !!!

J

Shows how crap i was this year when i'm first on the timesheet in reverse order!!!! At least i'll have the foundation eaten by the time ye come in!!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭a post punk

I haven't made one of these events in a couple of years. Always clashing with something else unfortunately. So, my entire contribution to the Galway Bay event are photos of the course - from 2014 - hope you get weather as good as I did.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/kevinmarkham/albums/72157645079321822
    Thanks for posting these, I have a good idea of what's in store now........ Looks like a beautiful course and setting aswell , it should be a great day out if the weather forecast is right

Gonna be a slow round for seve stuck with me

Ah don't be worried about that. We are second to last out so no rush, and I'll I've the hip flask with me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 ThecHamp26

Guys I'd like to say it has been a pleasure to play with all of you this year all the best tomorrow... Unfortunately even if I make the top 10 I'm unable to play the 22nd I'll be in Orlando so happy shouting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭tigerwood1

On my second dose of antibiotics for ear infection and suffering from tendon issue (tennis elbow) with right arm and hav'nt played since last outing on which i finished joint bottom of field (forgot to return the card honest), but have just put a few nice swings together with the wedge on the fire place mat. So if i can drag myself out of bed in the morning i will be aiming for a top 15 performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Big trip tomorrow.

So just a 3 pints warm up now.

Had 21 points today - lowest in about 3 years.

So just going to Galway for the culture, life music and art .

Just been working out what I need to do.

Win

And

Have doublecross finish outside the top 6

And

Have alanm finish outside the top 3

Cause I love pressure ;)