Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm fkin delighted everyone is a fitness expert and dietitian all of a sudden

• 09-09-2016 3:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

For a while there i was wondering how to go about eating a bowl of fuking salad or running on a treadmill.

Here was me thinking 'superfood' was some unscientific bullsh!t meaningless term! And for a while I thought that people had to go to university and study sports science, physiotherapy or dietetics to issue this kind of advice to people.

Boy was I wrong!

Now thanks to the internet all i have to do is log on to youtube or insta-groan or check my facebook newsfeed any time day or night to get sage lifestyle council from a selection of internet sensations whose qualifications include (but are not limited to):

- 'owning a health-food store'
    - 'being a model'

or indeed

- 'being some random fukker at the gym'

.... all of which are more than enough to satisfy my exacting requirements as someone who should be giving me diet and exercise advise.

Yet everywhere I look I see chubsters. With such an unprecedented abundance of excellent, sound, never EVER contradictory advice available online, I ask you, people of boards, what the hell gives ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Sky King wrote: »

Yet everywhere I look I see chubsters.

You see OP, some of us just don't give a fcuk about salads and gyms and other hipster shyte. That's why we chubby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,628 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I remember a time when the gym was just full of big sweaty men lifting big weights, t-shirts optional. Rubbing each other down in the change room and oiling one another. Now when I go to the gym all I see is little fagg0ts prancing around drinking skinny protein shakes from a sippy cup. We were real men back then, none of that gay sh1t you have these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

To be fair, if everybody only held forth on things of which they actually had relevant experience, forums like this would have about 21 posts a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I remember a time when the gym was just full of big sweaty men lifting big weights, t-shirts optional. Rubbing each other down in the change room and oiling one another. Now when I go to the gym all I see is little fagg0ts prancing around drinking skinny protein shakes from a sippy cup. We were real men back then, none of that gay sh1t you have these days.

Are you sure its a gym youve been going to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

I remember when people went to the gym to exercise, not to take selfies.

Are you sure your gym wasn't turned into a sauna or gay bar when you were on holiday?

eeguy wrote: »
    I remember when people went to the gym to exercise, not to take selfies.

Your workout doesn't count unless you tell everyone on Facebook that you're going and update your instagram on your diet that day. Everyone knows gym selfies are an absolute must for such *****.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Do you even lift, bro?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

Selfies:
    On my way to the gym. Omg can't face it
    Leg day - killing me
    Finished - aching
    McDs - well earned

If you've to tell everyone via social media you're going to the gym you're doing it wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

Fitness industry is a ****ing sham tbf. Dominated by pretty boys or try hard wannabe prettt boys who were graced with 1 in a million muscle building genetics lecturing people on healthy living while they down a can of Monster

BabyE wrote: »
    Fitness industry is a ****ing sham tbf. Dominated by pretty boys or try hard wannabe prettt boys who were graced with 1 in a million muscle building genetics lecturing people on healthy living while they down a can of Monster

While secretly taking steroids and fat burners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

If you've to tell everyone anything via social media you're going to the gym you're doing it wrong.

Amended to fit (my agenda)

While secretly taking steroids and fat burners.

Great doc by Reggie Yates called Dying for a 6 pack.

He interviewed some knacker making steroids in a shed using tupperware pots and wooden spoons. He was selling across the UK for big £££.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You see all this online, there is also an offline that you can switch to :)

Gyms are for wimps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I have nothing of value to add but this is funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Some v salty replies in this thread from what I can only imagine are those whose only experience of gyms are those encountered in Pokemon Go

Yet everywhere I look I see chubsters. With such an unprecedented abundance of excellent, sound, never EVER contradictory advice available online, I ask you, people of boards, what the hell gives ?

Cake is really tasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Some v salty replies in this thread from what I can only imagine are those whose only experience of gyms are those encountered in Pokemon Go

Oh Anita, really now.. Salt, follwed by Shade.

Sent from my iPhone 7 Plus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Working out is just one of those things people like the BS about. I had people barefaced lie to my face about how often they went to the gym, what protein shakes to take and what "to do" in the gym... Said people clearly never did a fraction of that they claimed.

For some reason it's just what some people blow themselves out about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

somefeen wrote: »

Says in that article she's a model....

Holy Fück!!!!!!!!! That is one of the most disturbing articles I've read in quite some time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

When people talk about "experts" and "expert advice"... what they're REALLY after is a magic bullet solution.

And of course there are no end of Charlatans and fraudsters falling over themselves to give them their "expert advice". (read: gimmicks & bs)

Hard work and simple common sense is not too popular! These people would not exist unless there was a demand for their bs... clearly as a society, we want and need the bs!

Give the people what they want! :pac::pac::pac:

Paleo diet? You're a cock.
    Gluten intolerant? You're a cock.
    Working out? You're a cock.
    Spinach and kale? You're a cock.
    Boiled chicken and "nutrien drinks" - you are an especial cock.

Run 50km a week, eat more fruit and veg, it's not rocket science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

eat less...move more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

Their ain't no muscle gainz in that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭Pretzill

"Run 50km a week..." You're a cock.

😀 I jest but that is excessive too. Sure enjoy being active -
    It's not even about eating more fruit & veg. Just eat a balanced diet, home cook your meals from scratch, and lessen sugar intake in all its many forms from low fat yogurt to large glasses of wine. You're right it's not rocket science.

I agree though the trends for fitness and dietary evangelists (and silly Paleo type rubbish... don't get me started on why everyone notwithstanding celiacs are suddenly gluten intolerant) This rubbish is feeding an audience of people who should really know better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

The problem is that all of the fitness expertise that is expressed on the internet is usually for super athletes.

Most people looking for some basic information are reading stuff that way beyond their level.

Just as an example take the fitness technique called HIT ( High Interval Training) , which is basically running very speedily for a very short of time and then pausing for a time then speeding up rapidly again and repeat. You will hear that this is very good for burning fat.

It is. But it's terrible advice for a your average person looking to get fit and healthy.

It's a bit like diagnosing an illness on the internet. It's such a no no. One should go to their GP and not just to conclusions or remedies.

All the advice you read is largely correct, its just probably not appropriate for the reader.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Isn't running 50km a week "working out"?

Isn't spinach and kale actually veg?

Are you a cock so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Fat loss is achieved in the kitchen, not in the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Red Kev wrote: »
    You see OP, some of us just don't give a fcuk about salads and gyms and other hipster shyte. That's why we chubby.

My last job had a gym onsite. I never went. The smoking area was outside the gym window. So every morning I'd end up standing outside the gym windows at 7:30 having a smoke, a cup of coffee and a pastry in my hand whilst 3 foot away from me there'd be someone sweating on a gym cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

bluewolf wrote: »

Cake is really tasty

It's a fooking disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Grayson wrote: »
    My last job had a gym onsite. I never went. The smoking area was outside the gym window. So every morning I'd end up standing outside the gym windows at 7:30 having a smoke, a cup of coffee and a pastry in my hand whilst 3 foot away from me there'd be someone sweating on a gym cycle.

So you'll have emphesema, cancer and heart disease while they enjoy their retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Don't be postin pictures of me burd ya prick!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭TommyRiordan

Why does every thread have to be antagonising, whiney and argumentative on here?

Even off of AH it's full of pedantics looking for contrarian views just to start a petty e-fight. Southerners seem like mad craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Why does every thread have to be antagonising, whiney and argumentative on here?

Even off of AH it's full of pedantics looking for contrarian views just to start a petty e-fight. Southerners seem like mad craic.

1. No it doesn't.
    2. No it's not.
    3. No we're not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

And they all claim to be "fitpros" and give out "protips".

I saw one create a group on Facebook for fellow fitpros and when nobody joined he claimed all fitpros were idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

That ahnold video was great.

Arnold is numero uno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Special K is loaded with sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,813 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Special K is loaded with sugar.

Most cereals are, joys of free market economics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Health and Fitness enthusiasts are vermin. I'm glad to see the backlash against them. Hopefully T.V. and radio start acknowledging that people are sick of this.

What is more worrying is that there have been people abusing mental health issues for their own gain via health and fitness. Niall Brezzy Breslin being one.

I wouldn't be able to count how many times I have seen "join a gym" being suggested to people who have depression. This and programmes like Operation Transformation, who are giving people the impression that their problems will go away if they lose weight, exercise and cut out junk food.

Go into your local gym right now at 8am on this Saturday morn and you'll find a man who is ripped and eats nothing but chicken & rice with a protein shake. You think that guy is happy with himself? I think you'll find he has massive self esteem and confidence issues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

Health and Fitness enthusiasts are vermin. I'm glad to see the backlash against them. Hopefully T.V. and radio start acknowledging that people are sick of this.

What is more worrying is that there have been people abusing mental health issues for their own gain via health and fitness. Niall Brezzy Breslin being one.

I wouldn't be able to count how many times I have seen "join a gym" being suggested to people who have depression. This and programmes like Operation Transformation, who are giving people the impression that their problems will go away if they lose weight, exercise and cut out junk food.

Go into your local gym right now at 8am on this Saturday morn and you'll find a man who a ripped and eats nothing but chicken & rice with a protein shake. You think that guy is happy with himself? I think you'll find he has massive self esteem and confidence issues.
    Legit, lifting weights is a coping mechanism for bad face, small height, small dick or low IQ. It is an absurd activity tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

If only there was an easy way to avoid all the sage advice from the unqualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Nah that's no good bro. Too many catabolic hormones. Do circuit-type strength training instead. You’ll get muscle strength and an elevated heart rate. It is the total package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Go into your local gym right now at 8am on this Saturday morn and you'll find a man who is ripped and eats nothing but chicken & rice with a protein shake. You think that guy is happy with himself? I think you'll find he has massive self esteem and confidence issues.
    A little on the judgey side, no? If you were in my gym at 8 this morning, you'd have met me. Decent enough shape. By no means 'ripped'. Last thing I ate before going was a big ol' pizza last night. With half a bottle of red. Very happy with myself thanks. No self esteem or confidence issues. Why was I in the gym at 8? Felt like it. I like the gym, I was up, and I had the gear in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

If only there was an easy way to avoid all the sage advice from the unqualified.

Pfft, like you know anything!

These Herbalife pills and that ab roller you sold me have really got my rage on and plumped up my pecs real nice .

Bro five!