Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you talk to yourself ?

• 09-09-2016 3:29pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭

Last Night (Looking for remote) '' When I find you ya little blx I will remove your brain (Batteries) and **** you in the bin'' Then I found it, changed the channel and forgot about my rant. Do you talk to yourself ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That would be an example of you talking to the remote, rather than yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

It's fine till you find yourself answering back loudly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,245 ✭✭✭mosstin

People who talk to themselves are weirdos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Chris.

I said 'yes' out loud to the question in the thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,245 ✭✭✭mosstin

mosstin wrote: »
    People who talk to themselves are weirdos.

No-one's perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Everybody does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Frequently. Usually I don't quite catch it, and have to ask me to repeat myself. I'm often none the wiser. I make little sense at the best of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

I chat out loud to myself more when I am really busy or stressed. I usually just say the next task out loud, like "now I have to file that document". I actually notice in the supermarket I will remind myself of the next thing on my list.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

That would be an example of you talking to the remote, rather than yourself.
    Ahh the Nitpicker ! Fcuk Off and maybe go out this weekend... ? S C...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

That's absurd nobody talks to themselves.
    Shut up, don't listen to him.
    Stay out of this, you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

I do.

Allinall wrote: »
    I do.

Really? How often?

Allinall wrote: »
    Really? How often?

Ah- not that often. Usually when there's no one else around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

No I don't but my parents both do. My mother worse than my father. Used to drive me mad when I was at home as you never knew if she was talking to you or herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

chillin117 wrote: »
    Last Night (Looking for remote) '' When I find you ya little blx I will remove your brain (Batteries) and **** you in the bin'' Then I found it, changed the channel and forgot about my rant. Do you talk to yourself ?

You talkin to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I do and I call myself Colser when doing so...worryingðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

I sure do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Yes as I'm the only one who'll listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

You should have a chat with yourself there and see if you can get yourself calmed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The day will come when that remote answers you and pulls your brain out your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I give out and critisise myself out loud but wouldn't have a full conversation with myself

All the time. Isn't that right Persepoly? It is.

I usually have a little commentary running. A bit like "now Persepoly you know damn well what will happen if you have that fourth pint".
    Or "don't mind them Persepoly, they're just a bunch of gobshítes" or "you got this one and you're going to be just fine".

All the time. Isn't that right Persepoly? It is.

I usually have a little commentary running. A bit like "now Persepoly you know damn well what will happen if you have that fourth pint".
    Or "don't mind them Persepoly, they're just a bunch of gobshítes" or "you got this one and you're going to be just fine".

You talk an awful lot of Shíte sometimes don't you Persepoly.

Hey! You take that back! Attack the post and not the poster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Look at that bloke over there ,Corner, talking away to himself.Sure he thinks no-one can see him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭sundodger5

Only way i can get intelligent conversation..

Only to tell myself how much of a sexy bastard I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

I lecture myself out loud in the car or when out for a walk if i am bothered by something. Its like my rational mind explaining to my emotional mind why its wrong. Like having my internal dialogue out loud. I find it has a better effect at calming me down about something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

I do but not to the scale my Mom does. At times if I'm at home being quiet in my room dossing on the laptop she'll assume no one is in. The conversations are literally her doing 2 people. Example:

Mom 1: "Jesus that's some weather out there"

Mom 2: "Yeah I know ye wouldn't want to be caught out in that"

Mom 1: "Just as well we're home"

Mom 2: "I know...be drenched getting caught in that"

Me: "You alright Mom? why are you having a full blown conversation with yourself?"

Mom 1 & 2: "No I wasn't, I was just thinking out loud"

chrissb8 wrote: »
    I do but not to the scale my Mom does. At times if I'm at home being quiet in my room dossing on the laptop she'll assume no one is in. The conversations are literally her doing 2 people. Example:

Mom 1: "Jesus that's some weather out there"

Mom 2: "Yeah I know ye wouldn't want to be caught out in that"

Mom 1: "Just as well we're home"

Mom 2: "I know...be drenched getting caught in that"

Me: "You alright Mom? why are you having a full blown conversation with yourself?"

Mom 1 & 2: "No I wasn't, I was just thinking out loud"

Jesus christ it's me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

I'm always taking part in a rousing conversations with myself.

Other times I speak on behalf of another person that I'm going to meet soon and then the worst thing happens. They don't stick to the script :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

I talk to myself all the time.. I answer myself too..
    'Will you vacuum the sitting room and the stairs.. no?.. ffs... Do what you're told.. no, I'll start with the bathroom, it's starting to smell...you know I'm not supposed to use the vacuum cleaner, you won't be able to walk tomorrow . Ok so.. I'll spend the next 4 days convincing the 14 year old to do it... And then end up doing it anyway so I might as well do it now. Christ you're a slave driver .. tell you what. If you do a good job I'll treat you to a bottle of wine on Friday night to ease the pain.. How's that? ...2 bottles and you've got yourself a deal...! '
    It works every time.. I get the vacuuming done and I get wine .. win win. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

All the time , it's the only way I can be sure of intelligent conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I go around saying 'bastard' to myself. I don't really talk to myself otherwise.

I'm always taking part in a rousing conversations with myself.

Other times I speak on behalf of another person that I'm going to meet soon and then the worst thing happens. They don't stick to the script :pac: :pac:

Thanks..I was going to say that in my post but didn't want to sound too mad ðŸ˜I fight the world and always win in my own head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Often call myself a c*nt....and with some justification too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I curse a lot to myself.... And rarely curse to other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭phater phagan

When I look into the mirror before I go out I say "you handsome devil". Does that count?

Yes..lying to yourself counts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Mildred Pierce

Yeah, have done since I was small. I have severe dissociation. Can usually keep it in when around people though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

No

That's called 'lying to yourself'

Different thing altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Colser wrote: »
    Yes..lying to yourself counts too.
    Damit it.

Where were you a min ago?

Suffering from 'get witty remark in asap' syndrome, Art.

WTF?

Who-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭phater phagan

On a serious note, though, there's nothing wrong occasionally in talking aloud when you're alone. Everyone does it at some time or another - as long as it is not a continuous thing, or when out in public. An odd bit of thinking aloud is not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I replay arguments. Out loud. Angrily. Occasionally tears of temper are involved. Sometimes when I'm walking down a road or in a public place, but mostly when I'm in the car. As if that makes me invisible (no, I don't have tinted windows :o).

I feckin' well win every time though, I can tell you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Jasmine_16

Not full blown conversations, but yes I might utter a few profanities to myself. I'm quite clumsy when I'm tired, so I tend to bash myself off door handles and door frames (no drink involved!). After which it's normally 'you dopey b.itch'. Another one is forgetting why I came into a room - 'ffs, you crazy bint'. I'm pretty hard on myself. And a bit mad :pac:

I suffer a bit from mind wandering since childhood which can lead to me getting a little agitated and animated. If im calm and things are going swimmingly i am able to function normally. Its when im feeling anxious, angry, fearful, stressed, that i will succumb to this type of behaviour and in general i suppose i tend to worry about future events. Engageing so willingly with oneself probably stems from having to spend alot of childhood on my own as im the youngest of my family and my sisters were adults when i was still a toddler so i got used to my own company as years progressed. I kicked a ball around the garden on my own and used to commentate as if i was playing a match. Im my own best friend and probably my own worst enemy too.

It can be a good thing because i consider myself a creative person but constant noise can affect your day to day ability to build and/or maintain relationships with people because you become more withdrawn and overanxious in real life situations as a result

I think its probably a better thing to stay in the present moment and forget the past. Also let the future worry about itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

I don't talk to myself I just think out loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

yep, all the time...i'm a right space cadet

i usually get flashbacks to stressful times, and i end up getting all flustered and start yapping away to myself ...usually happens on long bus/train journeys, then i cop on when i get strange looks off fellow passengers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,564 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Ya I do. Usually when doing some calculations or talking myself through something complicated , I just start talking away to myself. Often have people in work look at me but I find that it helps increase my concentration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Most times that I talk to meself is when I'm having an ould 'pedal & crank'.....I like to talk dirty to meself just to get me going :pac: