Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity Operation Transformation

• 07-09-2016 7:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭

Starts tonight at 930 on RTE1 folks. The runners and riders are
    Elaine Crowley
    Karl Spain
    Katherine Lynch
    Brenda Donohue
    Gerald Kean

Am not sure why they are bothering with this to be honest. The format works well when they use Joe Soaps that people can identify with, though this gang are barely celebs.

Also was astounded to hear Katherine Lynch say on The 7o'Clock Show earlier that they were paid to do it!!

More license fee being peed against the wall? let's see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I must admit I like Gerald Kean, he is a bit of a lovable rogue.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I must admit I like Gerald Kean, he is a bit of a lovable rogue.

Probably the most likeable of the bunch, seems an ok fella.

I have a major dislike of Elaine Crowley, she's possibly a lovely person but comes across as very self absorbed from what I saw of her on her TV3 show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

I have a major dislike of Elaine Crowley, she's possibly a lovely person but comes across as very self absorbed from what I saw of her on her TV3 show.

Ah I love Elaine. I think shws far from self absorbed. Shes very self deprecating which I like! Shes a beautiful woman who has very little self confidence. And she hates ronan keating which can only be a wonderful trait!

I hope Karl does well, he is a nice lad but he could be heading for major health issues if he doesn't control his diabetes and get fitter.

Brenda Donohue's parents look very young :eek:

Ah I love Elaine. I think shws far from self absorbed. Shes very self deprecating which I like! Shes a beautiful woman who has very little self confidence. And she hates ronan keating which can only be a wonderful trait!

I'm seeing her in a whole now light now, good on her :pac:

I think Elaine is very pretty but she seems to have zero self confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Elaine holds it fairly well, to me that's borderline fat nevermind obese.

She has a large bust, would that weigh a lot?

I'm shocked that Gerald is over 19 stone, I didn't think he looked that heavy.

Oh snots and spit. Which poor gopher had to clean that up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I'm shocked that Gerald is over 19 stone, I didn't think he looked that heavy.

His height hides it. 1.5 hours to smoke a cigar & he has one a day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭nc6000

These shows make me hungry. Mmm Domino's and red wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Your been too healthy stop it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

He lost so much weight in 2 weeks and ... They ate him!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Probably the most likeable of the bunch, seems an ok fella.

I have a major dislike of Elaine Crowley, she's possibly a lovely person but comes across as very self absorbed from what I saw of her on her TV3 show

Not sure about her personality but she's a fine beassst of a woman :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

Where was that walk Katherine was? Looks beautiful

jobless wrote: »

Looked like Kerry

I'd say it's her homeplace - Mohill in Leitrim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

honeybear wrote: »
    Looked like Kerry

Hmm any more specific :)

Geography not my forte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Interesting that the "celeb" women, unlike the Josephine Soaps, aren't subjected to wearing the crop tops on the weighing scale.

Garbage show.

Well I applaud Elaine, it needs to be said more and more and hammered home on these shows, it's about lifestyle change not about scales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

I think Elaine Crowley has always looked fab , always dressed well for her figure fair play to her !

I enjoyed it actually, fair play to all. it kept true to the original, except for the crop tops mentioned above, though I think Katherine Lynch had one on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

More brainless crap with Yer wan hosting it,like she hosts everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

is it really necessary to have the male participants fully topless, i mean its hard enogh for them already without having them paraded like that in front of the nation

fryup wrote: »
    is it really necessary to have the male participants fully topless, i mean its hard enogh for them already without having them paraded like that in front of the nation

The shaming is part of it I think. personally I'd be happier if they wore shoes, some manky toes going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Especially when a fully clothed Katherine Thomas gives them a hug,all about humiliating. I'd like to see those vest tops used for all the contestants.

What does it matter. If you don't feel comfortable exposing your bits that's you're right. Man or woman. I read that Elaine told them it was a no no for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

gerald kean doesn't look fat at all, he carries it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

you'd question what the 'experts' know about weightloss when they actually think Gerald lost 1st 3lbs of subcutaneous fat. maybe they play it up for TV. everyone loses loads the first week when you lose water weight and Glycogen. it's the weight loss after the first week that's when it really starts, when it should be a healthy 2/3lbs a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Ugh. I wasn't a fan of the original fat-nobody format. This is going to be even worse. Someone in Montrose needs to look up the literal definition of celebrity. Karl Spain hoping to raise his profile by lowering his cholesterol - no thanks. This show would hold more appeal if the parties involved were receiving end-stage palative care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

gerald kean doesn't look fat at all, he carries it well.

He looks a lot older than 58.

Elaine's doctor would do with plenty of excercise and keeping back from the table.

Sam Kade wrote:
    Elaine's doctor would do with plenty of excercise and keeping back from the table.

I thought that too. Hardly an advert for good health himself.

Gerald loves the last word - I'm on team Karl Henry on this argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I think it is horrendous that they made him give up cigars and wine.

What sort of lifestyle do you lead without the finer things? I'd rather live and die by 60 than give up the finer items in life and live until I'm in my 90s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Surprised Elaine is allowed to participate seeing as she's hosting a tv3 presenter on a RTE show. Also, was this all pre recorded in Janurary alongside the normal show?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Surprised Elaine is allowed to participate seeing as she's hosting a tv3 presenter on a RTE show. Also, was this all pre recorded in Janurary alongside the normal show?

No this was only recorded a couples of weeks ago. Elaine's clips on last week's shows were of her at tv3's autumn schedule launch.

I think it is horrendous that they made him give up cigars and wine.

What sort of lifestyle do you lead without the finer things? I'd rather live and die by 60 than give up the finer items in life and live until I'm in my 90s

will you still be saying that at 58 though?

Ray Darcy had something on about this today and I'm sure he said tomorrows episode was the final. Wtf? Three episodes total???

yeah- waste of time, & they got paid to go on it according to Katherine Lynch on the 7 o'clock show a few weeks back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭okedoke

One thing that strikes me about this show (and the regular operation transformation) is that the contestants are always whinging about having to cook everything from scratch. These are fairly simple meals. For those who have kids you would wonder what they feed their kids (or fed them before they went on the show).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

A new series kicked off tonight with Mary Byrne, Triona McCarthy, Gary O'Hanlon, James Patrice and Kayleigh Cullinan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭Radio5

Not a bad episode. The expert with the blonde hair, I think she is the dietician needs to stop waving her hands about while she is speaking. It is really overdone and annoying and detracts from what she is saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Col_30

Had to watch Mary Byrne downing that glass of wine a few times! pmsl!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I have a soft spot for James Patrice, I love him on snapchat ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

What is Kathryn Thomas wearing around her neck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensheep777

Being on a diet while in NYC, don't envy Triona!!! Although she might see a good loss... I can eat whatever I want over there and will always lose weight from all the walking.

Poor Triona. It didn't work for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensheep777

happyday wrote: »
    Poor Triona. It didn't work for her.

I also can sympathise with bloating after a flight... Even after a 45 min flight to London I turn into a beach ball! :o

She did very well considering the busy week she had.