Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breakdown on motorway. Procedure?

• 06-09-2016 10:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭

Hi
    Whats the correct procedure when you break down on a motorway?
    Do you get out of your car and go behind the barrier? Do you call the garda? Do you walk to the next SOS phone?
    Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

testicles wrote: »
    You must immediately remove all your clothes and do jumping jacks in the hard shoulder.

You wear clothes when driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

The AA have some advise on their website.

http://www.theaa.ie/aa/aa-membership/members-advice/motorway-beakdown.aspx

Didnt know there was arrows on the back of the barriers to point to the nearest SOS phone.. Good to know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

1. If you are not on left driving lane, getting to hard shoulder might be problematic, due to huge amount of drivers undertaking in Ireland. That's my biggest worry about braking down on motorway here.

2. Placing warning triangle around 100 metres behind vehicle is legal requirement nearly all over EU Continent, but in UK and Ireland it's actually discouraged. I don't really understand the reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Given that you can be ploughed into when stopped in the hard shoulder id say try your best to get off the motorway. If you are stuck get out of the car and behind the crash barriers and I'd never walk to an SOS phone either too dangerous with the speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Leave your car and get behind a barrier. DO NOT STAY IN THE CAR.

Be very careful when leaving the car. Get out the left hand side if possible. If not make sure there are no cars coming when you exit.

Stand at least 1m back behind the barrier. (most barrier actually collapses 1.2m when hit)
    And keep alert to traffic. Drivers do silly things especially if your car is slightly/fully in the lane.

Call your breakdown service.

If any part of vehicle is in the lane call Gardai. They will get there well in advance of anyone else

MTCC
    If no breakdown available and guards not needed call MTCC.
    That's who you'll get through to on emergency phones or call 0818-715-100
    http://www.tii.ie/roads-tolling/operations-and-maintenance/network-management-traffic-control/

Location is very important. Often people have no clue where they are.
    Every 500m there is a sign with Road, direction and chainage
    Eg heading past Mitchelstown towards Fermoy

M8
    S

So you're on the M8 heading S at chainage 100. That's 100km from the M7 turn off.

This is actually reapeated at 100m intervals on the tar with a little arrow to the nearest emergency phone too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭audi12

OSI wrote: »
    Mod note: I'm getting a little tired of the snarky piss take responses to genuine questions in this forum of late. Users not posting genuine feedback and information will not be welcome in this thread.
    I agree people trying to be funny when their not is extremely annoying same thing in the media watching a serious interview and the host makes some jokes in-between questions so annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Back on topic please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

screamer wrote:
    Given that you can be ploughed into when stopped in the hard shoulder id say try your best to get off the motorway. If you are stuck get out of the car and behind the crash barriers and I'd never walk to an SOS phone either too dangerous with the speed.

What if the car suddenly dies? No option but to pull into the hard shoulder. Why wouldn't yu walk to the SOS phone from behind the barrier? You'll be waiting a long time if you don't contact someone...

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

This happened to me about 6 months after getting my first car so I was very green on the road but the alternator went kaput so I didn't even have hazards available as the battery was completely flat.

It was on the M8, funnily enough, somewhere between Fermoy and Cashel and it was in the winter of 2008. Luckily, I was in the first lane anyway and had enough momentum to pull into the hard shoulder. I rang the AA immediately and they talked me through the steps, get out on the left hand side of the car and basically get as far away from the road as you can. I had nothing reflective apart from a tiny reflective strip on my bag, which they advised me to place 100m away from the car in the hard shoulder. In hindsight (or on reflection, ahem), that was both terrible advice and an insanely stupid thing to agree to but you don't realise just how invisible you are in that situation. I think they might have thought it was more reflective than it was from whatever I said to them.

I should have just abandoned the car to what may be and gotten as far away from the road as possible as quickly as possible.

I didn't know exactly where I was. All I knew was that I had recently passed the Fermoy exit and had seen signs for Cashel but had no idea of the distances. I am still not entirely sure how the recovery truck managed to find the car but I was a long time waiting for it in the cold.

I learned a few lessons that night. I had left Cork with a warning light on the dash but put it down to the car being laid up for a week or more without a good drive and thought a bit of motor way driving would see me right (wrong) so I'll never go onto a motorway with any kind of warning light on the dash again. I will also never do anything other than bale over the barrier and get as far away as possible from the road before calling for help.

In an ideal world, we would have mandatory warning triangles and high visibility vests in our cars but even at that, I am afraid that it is too dangerous to walk for 100m (or any distance) in a hard shoulder on an Irish motorway because too few people understand the hard shoulder rules for motorways or if they know them, why they are in place.

Unfortunately, just yesterday, a young mother lost her life because she was on the phone in the back seat and asked for the driver to pull into the hard shoulder of a motorway in order to hear better. I can't be sure but I think it's not the only report of this nature in the past while, so it's important to get the message out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

So a wheel change/puncture is a tow truck job?. As somebody has to fix up the wheel - breakdown service or you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Yep probably the best thing .

I've changed a couple. Wouldn't advise it.
    Always face traffic and never step into the running lanes. If someone with you have them act as a spotter.
    Get car into safest place possible.
    Always be prepared to run.
    Do not even attempt on M50, lower M1 etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

So a wheel change/puncture is a tow truck job?. As somebody has to fix up the wheel - breakdown service or you

In most cases it's safer to keep driving to the nearest lay-by or exit if you need to change a wheel or if the vehicle won't move call recovery. A wheel can be easily replaced unlike people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Road%20Safety/Leaflets/Leaf_booklets/motorway_driving.pdf

What to do if your vehicle breaks down?
    • Look out for marked parking areas.
    • Move your vehicle to the hard shoulder. Park as
    near to the left as you can.If you cannot do this,
    take steps to warn other drivers such as switching
    on your hazard warning lights.
    • Use the roadside phone to contact the Gardai.
    This automatically lets them know your exact location. If you cannot use this
    phone use your mobile but be aware they will require information about your
    location.
    • Do not place any warning device such as a triangle on the motorway
    as it is too dangerous.
    • Never try to do repairs yourself on the hard shoulder.
    • Wear a high visibility vest. Always carry one in the vehicle.
    • Do not walk on the motorway. Leave your vehicle through the left-hand
    door and make sure your passengers do the same. Leave animals in
    the vehicle or, in an emergency, keep them under control on the verge.
    • Make sure that passengers keep away from the motorway lanes and
    hard shoulder, and keep children under control.
    • Wait for help on the embankment side of the motorway well behind the
    crash barrier.
    • If for some reason you are unable to follow the above advice, you
    should stay in your vehicle with your safety belt securely fastened
    and switch on your hazard lights.
    • Before you rejoin the motorway after a breakdown, build up your speed
    on the hard shoulder before merging into traffic. Be aware that other
    vehicles may have stopped on the hard shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

Also, if you are one of the majority of drivers that drive too close to the car in front, when you eventually crash into the car in front of you on dual carraige way or motorway, don't get out and stand between your car and your "victim's" car for a chat, to exchange details or to make a phone call!!

This is something I see regularly on the N7, it's a disaster waiting to happen, I fear there will eventually be people killed on that road as a result of doing this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

Came across a lad on the m7 last week changing a tyre on drivers side..Arse sticking out into the driving lane ...I was sure I was going to hear about his death on the news...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

+1 for getting out across the barrier straight away. Not a nice thought in bad weather but even more necessary due to lowered visibility.

I would also be reluctant to pull into the hard shoulder on the motorway if being stopped by the Garda. I would prefer to go to the next exit and stop for them off the motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Del2005 wrote: »
    In most cases it's safer to keep driving to the nearest lay-by or exit if you need to change a wheel or if the vehicle won't move call recovery. A wheel can be easily replaced unlike people.

Exactly. Amazing how people feel a rim is worth more than their life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Is it true that breakdown recovery on the m50 is only provided by one company and costs an arm and a leg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Is it true that breakdown recovery on the m50 is only provided by one company and costs an arm and a leg?

I thought it was free? I'm sure I've seen plenty of signs advertising a free recovery. I assumed it was paid for by the agency managing the road as it's better to get a car off the road than having to deal with the clean up after an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Definitely - been in this scenario myself.

Had a blow out one night on the M3 but had plenty of time to get it into the hard shoulder, stick on hazards etc.

As the tyre in question was the back right, there was no way was I attempting to change it in the dark with my ass hanging into the driving lane. Called the rescue crowd that comes with the insurance and they dispatched a truck.

It's a very different thing when a trained professional with tools to do the job quickly shows up with a truck that's lit up like a Christmas tree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

*Kol* wrote: »
    I would also be reluctant to pull into the hard shoulder on the motorway if being stopped by the Garda. I would prefer to go to the next exit and stop for them off the motorway.

Unfortunately given the lack of a standard/recommended procedure in such instances and varying driver (and Gardai) reactions to each incident, unless it was the M50 with lots of exits in close proximity, they might think you were ignoring them or taking the piss which could escalate the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Considering that the traffic corps consider it in the interest of safety to stop people for doing 143kph on the motorway, and regular post photos of them sitting in the hard shoulder dealing with these heinous offences, the message I'm getting from the photos on their twitter account is that the hard shoulder is a perfectly safe and sensible place to stop for some chat/paperwork/phototaking.

But shpeeeeed kiiiiiiillllllls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Seen a lad in a van on the side of the M50 the last day pulling things out of the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

I prefer the german method of no speed limits and smashing into eachother like theres no tomorrow. In all seriousness i feel like the hazard sign should be allowed no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭johnb25

harr wrote: »
    Came across a lad on the m7 last week changing a tyre on drivers side..Arse sticking out into the driving lane ...I was sure I was going to hear about his death on the news...

About a year ago, on the M7 just south of Kill, car pulled half onto central reservation to change a wheel. Outside lane traffic had to slow right down to pass. Puncture on drivers side. Couple of lads standing around the car. Craziest thing I ever saw. One time I wished I had a dash cam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    *Kol* wrote: »

Unfortunately given the lack of a standard/recommended procedure in such instances and varying driver (and Gardai) reactions to each incident, unless it was the M50 with lots of exits in close proximity, they might think you were ignoring them or taking the piss which could escalate the situation.

They might think that. Probably wise just to maintain a reasonable speed and acknowledge that you see them by putting on your hazard lights. They would get the message. It wouldn't effect either party to go as far as the next exit given that on the motorway you can't leave before an exit anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Only time I've stopped on a motorway was when I witnessed a head-on crash on the opposite side because of a car driving the wrong way. (less points than speeding) No choice but to stop then, really.

Made sure to be almost fully on the grass past the hard shoulder.

Another time, the drivers side wiper detached at night, in the rain, overtaking a truck... Of course I had to slow doen with some tosser about 3 feet behind me.

Not a hope I was stopping in those conditions so carried on until the next exit with the metal wiper arm scraping off the windscreen. Would rather a new windscreen than even chance stopping in bad weather.

Since then, I picked up 4 of these when Aldi or Lidl had them. The brand name ones are called Powerflares, but these are very similar. Missing the rechargeable feature. They magnetically stick to the 'ceiling' of the boot and I can take them out quickly if I need to. Wouldn't be relying on them to change a wheel or anything, but certainly helpful to give better visibility 200m back up the motor.

https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQpfBMKee4VPl-ilW3V7EBDIs4WFaiXggx018ge2POv-LWqNk2G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Muahahaha wrote: »

i thought it was free? I'm sure I've seen plenty of signs advertising a free recovery. I assumed it was paid for by the agency managing the road as it's better to get a car off the road than having to deal with the clean up after an accident.

Recovery is free and covered by TII.

Yes only one company has the contract for recovery, namely Kellys Recovery of Kilmacanogue, Wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Happened once but thankfully I was alone, in the first lane and had enough momentum to get well into the hard shoulder. Just got out of the car and thankfully was able to get out of the shoulder onto a bank and ring for assistance.

Has crossed my mind about how horrible it would be to clap out in the overtaking lane on a busy motorway like the M50 though. Especially with the kids in the motor. Another reason only to use it only for overtaking instead of hogging it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Has crossed my mind about how horrible it would be to clap out in the overtaking lane on a busy motorway like the M50 though. Especially with the kids in the motor. Another reason only to use it only for overtaking instead of hogging it. :pac:

Great point