Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poor taste by Waterford Whisper News

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Wow, sure aren't you a great lad altogether OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

What other cyber bollox have you reported today?

Aaand thats enough internet for the day. Night

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I know it's never good to be one of those posters who replies early in a new thread with a one word post because it comes across as either strangely desperate or attention seeking, but having said that, in response to your post and opinion on this one particular WWN article being the one which made you report it I just really want to know your motivations. So I guess I could sum this post up in three letters, a dot and a squiggly line.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭long_b

The Cavan deaths?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Fierce mild out tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Ha ha I gave it a "Love" like on FB. Does anyone on Boards have a sense of humour?? Mrs Brown's boys doesn't count as humour btw.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Im not no i think its in poor taste at this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Satire is like a foreign language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Dave0301

sasta le wrote: »

Well you should probably build a bridge and get over it so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I think it's in poor taste given the recent Cavan deaths tbf

WWN can be hit and miss. That's a miss.

As a great Australian once said - "Harden the fvck up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Stop being a pussy op, no one cares if your offended!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

So you opened up to an audience that would have never seen it otherwise.

Seems harmless to me. Probably not haha funny though.

Im back.

Did you report the latest Charlie Hebdo edition depicting the Italian earthquake or is it only makey uppy stuff you are reporting?

Ok im really gone this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

There's all kinds of actual horror going on in the world at the moment, maybe spare your outrage for something truly outrageous.

Not offended at all by iy
    Its in poor taste and they make money off it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

That's hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

You should change your username to
    míshásta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Not offended at all by iy
    Its in poor taste and they make money off it.

Not if you have adblock installed.

Good man great answer.Prob a person that would like it or share it and think its gas or great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Yeah it's poor taste but you kinda know what you're getting with WWN.

If a person cant see the bad taste in this i guess boards has become more like the joe.ie banter clickbait crowd than i thought.Im deffo not offended but not nice for anyone connected to the deaths this week to see

eviltwin wrote: »
    Yeah it's poor taste but you kinda know what you're getting with WWN.

Thats a a new low for them

Just ignore it then. Why bother reporting it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Oh, won't somebody think of the children?!

Over 8,000 Facebook users have liked it, but you want it removed because it doesn't suit your sense of humour. Ride on, righteous one!

Good man great answer.Prob a person that would like it or share it and think its gas or great craic

I was expecting something a bit more controversial when I clicked the link. It's not particularly funny.

However, I'm amazed that anyone could be even remotely offended by that. The only connection between that story and the events in Cavan is in your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2016/09/05/kilkenny-team-found-hacked-to-death-by-cody/
    I know its a spoof and fun site but its also a clickbait money making site also but this is awful taste by them

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10157532712420195&id=247386520194

Have reported the post and hope they remove it

Stfu and fup off ya bitter sap. You're obviously some kilkenny gaa boot cut gombeen living on the other side of the river in Waterford and upset the parish parochial neighbours are laughing at your loss. Lol.

Mod-Banned

An File wrote: »
    Oh, won't somebody think of the children?!

Over 8,000 Facebook users have liked it, but you want it removed because it doesn't suit your sense of humour. Ride on, righteous one!

Not think its poor taste?Its funny but bad timing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not the funniest Waterfor Whispers ever, but hey, WW is like pizza. Even bad pizza is still pizza.

Not think its poor taste?Its funny but bad timing

That's fair enough but why report it, why not just ignore it.

Shur Cody's still alive.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

thank god, might give the rest of us a chance of winning now. feel sorry for the families though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

I think the point of this is that you reported something that someone else might have skimmed past and gone "meh" at (like me). I didn't think it was one of their best satirical posts, but I wouldn't go so far as to "parent" the internet by reporting it to be taken down. Just move on.

On fecesbook there's an arrow to the right of each story. Click that and select Hide, or Hide all from xyz.

That's fair enough but why report it, why not just ignore it.

Because the writers dont live in a bubble simple readind of the headline they should have said lads maybe not this time.Bit of common sense and decency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Not sure if the OP is a "lad" - when i looked at tthe facebook page, every offended person was a woman. Read into that what you like....!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

If a person cant see the bad taste in this i guess boards has become more like the joe.ie banter clickbait crowd than i thought.Im deffo not offended but not nice for anyone connected to the deaths this week to see

Im back again.

Ah here, dont be blaming us for not being as outraged as you.

No need to compare this place as a clickbait crowd for a ****ty website like the one you mentioned.

You're worse for starting a tread on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Did anyone else have to wait to get to the comment saying "Cavan?" to get the outrage behind this one?

Wouldn't have occurred to me to link the two. I might as well have tried to link it to the earthquake.

Because the writers dont live in a bubble simple readind of the headline they should have said lads maybe not this time.Bit of common sense and decency

It's petty. Clearly other people like it. Why not leave them to it and scroll on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭nursewally

long_b wrote: »
    The Cavan deaths?

Sure Brian Cody didn't do that?

These websites are called Satirical for a reason. To some peoples tastes and not others. They don't mean to offend. They mean to, in the words of the Irish...have the craic.

Not getting at you obviously Long_b.

If people don't like what they read on WWN just block the page and you won't see their articles. Simple

Samaris wrote: »
    Did anyone else have to wait to get to the comment saying "Cavan?" to get the outrage behind this one?

Wouldn't have occurred to me to link the two. I might as well have tried to link it to the earthquake.

Yeah must admit I didn't get the connection until reading the comments myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Decent Skin

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2016/09/05/kilkenny-team-found-hacked-to-death-by-cody/
    I know its a spoof and fun site but its also a clickbait money making site also but this is awful taste by them

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10157532712420195&id=247386520194
    Have reported the post and hope they remove it

Might have been an idea for them to headline it "hurled to death"; for one it would have broken your mental join-the-dots and for two it would have been a deadly pun at first glance!

Yeah must admit I didn't get the connection until reading the comments myself

Neither did I...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

And if they'd said Cody had shot them all we'd have someone complaining about gun violence in America. If it was a bomb we'd have some bleeding heart worrying about suicide bombings and ISIS. There's no way to win when there's always someone somewhere who just wants to whinge about a joke instead of leaving people laugh about it.

An File wrote: »
    And if they'd said Cody had shot them all we'd have someone complaining about gun violence in America. If it was a bomb we'd have some bleeding heart worrying about suicide bombings and ISIS. There's no way to win when there's always someone somewhere who just wants to whinge about a joke instead of leaving people laugh about it.

Ireland is a small country and stuff gets shared so fast on facebook.Im wrong its in great taste hopfully the families get a great laugh off it during the grieving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Decent Skin

Ireland is a small country and stuff gets shared so fast on facebook.Im wrong its in great taste hopfully the families get a great laugh off it during the grieving

It's on the internet. I'm not sure the size of a country matters.

Meant that its traffic is mainly irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Amanda.ie

You are looking for everyone to be outraged but unfortunately the incident in Cavan was last week and most people have moved on. It's human nature, bad things happen all the time and the only ones who remember are the families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Hang on op, I'll reply once I unstuck my sac from my inner thigh. That's a fierce warm night

Knife violence has been a fact of life since man first learned how to sharpen metal. There's never an "ideal" time to make a joke about murder. Most adults have the cop on to know when something is not supposed to be taken seriously, and only a tiny minority will engage in the necessary (il)logical gymnastics required to link the losing All-Ireland hurling finalists with a brutal murder at the opposite end of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Is AH having made up crazy posters now like the radio phone in shows?