Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wedding afters invite tonight, 40 miles?

• 03-09-2016 9:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 185 ✭✭

Got an afters invite to cousin's wedding. I get that it's not meant as an insult, as there may be be financial concerns, but what percentage of people normally accept these things anyway? In this case, one of my siblings, who's already married, had husband's invite given to my other sibling, so it kinda feels like everyone in the family has been invited accept me.

It's also as if it'd give the impression that you clearly have nothing else better to be doing that you'd come along?? I might be hard to get into and I'd hate to be the only afters person there! In a way, I couldn't be bothered. I'm tired of being a supporting player!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Did you go to the wedding, or just invited to the after party?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 185 ✭✭Frank101

Did you go to the wedding, or just invited to the after party?
    invited to afters, not the full invite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

OP, what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Fleawuss wrote: »
    OP, what?
    Elaborate

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Oh **** it, I wouldn't go then. Right pain in the arse.

Patww79 wrote: »
    No, I wouldn't think they're hoping for cash off me. If I felt a good few others accepted the afters, I might feel more inclined to go along.

My family are below there now, texting me. Every text seems to be making me feel differently about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

If it was local and I liked the bride and groom, I'd pop along. If it was a bit further afield and there was a decent group of people going to make a night of it, I'd probably go to that too. A long trek or accommodation costs for five hours of hotel bar prices and a dodgy band...nah...particularly if I barely knew the bride and/or groom...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Don't go to many Weddings. Havn't been to any in ages. Don't get asked to many anyway. But one Wedding I went to the Afters to. I did get invited to the Full Wedding but can't remember why I couldn't go earlier. But anyways I had the best time ever! Usually hate Weddings, due to being quiet and not having anyone to have a laugh with and the day is so looooooooongggg and drawn-out! But yeah by the time the music started, all the formal lark was over and done with and everyone is relaxed. Yeah had a great evening and night I have to say.

Hard to follow your post. Oh sorry it's your cousin. Are ye close and get on well? If ye do it's highly likely it's numbers and funds were an issue and I think you should just go and enjoy yourself...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,694 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Giz yer money then feck off!

I'm a cynic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

If you're invited to an afters so far away, I'd suspect it's a general invite just to be inclusive but not really expecting you to come.

As for giving presents or cash for an afters, when did that start happening?

Hard to follow your post. Oh sorry it's your cousin. Are ye close and get on well? If ye do it's highly likely it's numbers and funds were an issue and I think you should just go and enjoy yourself...
    Should read clearer now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shamrock2004

Frank101 wrote: »
    Got an afters invite to cousin's wedding. I get that it's not meant as an insult, as there may be be financial concerns, but what percentage of people normally accept these things anyway? In this case, one of my siblings, who's already married, had husband's invite given to my other sibling, so it kinda feels like everyone in the family has been invited accept me.

It's also as if it'd give the impression that you clearly have nothing else better to be doing that you'd come along?? I might be hard to get into and I'd hate to be the only afters person there! In a way, I couldn't be bothered. I'm tired of being a supporting player!

Got invited to the afters of a wedding in march. Didnt bother. Was watching lady c on television last night and something she said really resonated. She said that she turns down 90% of social invitations and only goes to events she believes she will actually enjoy. Thats cool in my book!

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Got invited to the afters of a wedding in march. Didnt bother. Was watching lady c on television last night and something she said really resonated. She said that she turns down 90% of social invitations and only goes to events she believes she will actually enjoy. Thats cool in my book!

I aspire to be like that, getting there slowly. I just can't yet say, "no thanks, sounds fairly shyte" :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭xabi

If it was me I wouldn't be arsed, you're probably a bit late now anyway, hate weddings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shamrock2004

xabi wrote: »
    hate weddings.

+1,000,000

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭darkestlord

It's the usual bull****. My wife tries to drags me to a wedding/funeral because some smelly relation dickhead coughed on me during mass and now we're buddies. Crack open a beer and put on some porn. And relax

• Registered Users Posts: 5,947 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

The 'Afters' around where I live, is known as the ' Leftovers '

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Jaysus.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭queueeye

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    The 'Afters' around where I live, is known as the ' Leftovers '

AKA licking the plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

At least with the Afters, you've missed all the boring/formal/ritual bits of a wedding. Let's face it, most people hate weddings. The people that have to waste their whole day there are often envious of the Afters people. The secret is to arrive late with a few friends, get a few drinks in fast and enjoy the dancing/music. That said, I usually don't generally accept an Afters invite unless it's handy to get there and the married couple are sound people (i.e. not stuck up) and I have nothing better to be doing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭holly44

Frank101 wrote: »
    invited to afters, not the full invite.

Show them the same contempt, tell them you can't come as you are washing your hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

Sure I never went to my uncles funeral the other week. There's bad blood between me and one of his sons( my cousin) anyway. Then another uncle who took it upon himself to organise the funeral never even told my mother when and where it was on. She had to find out from another of her brothers who lives in Canada!

And then to top it all off the slimy fcuk of an uncle was sending messages through other people for a contribution to the funeral costs, saying my cousins couldn't afford it. Yeah, the same cousin who got 60 k from my insurance a few years ago.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭threescompany

Do not understand that bullsh***t theory that couples invite guests to the afters of their wedding due to financial constraints.
    Nowadays, most guests give the couple a cash present which usually more than covers the cost of their meal. So if you invite 90 or 120 people,it should not matter regarding costs. There's no doubt the extra 30 people going will cover their meal.
    I don't like getting invites to the afters of weddings as I feel like the second choice and I don't ever go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

People have a real stick up their holes about this. Afters invite means you didn't make the cut but they'd like to have you at the afters/it'd be too uncomfortable to not invite you at all. If you don't want to go, they won't be upset. If you do go, they won't expect a present. So just decide what you want to do and stop reading so deeply into everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

I doubt most people hate weddings. The weddings people would be more likely not to enjoy are those of people whom they don't know that well (and where there might be hardly any people whom they know) but feel an obligation to go to (e.g. with their partner, or the wedding of a relative they don't see much, or that of someone at work). I'd say very few people hate going to the weddings of close family and friends though.

Being invited to an afters as an insult? Down to interpretation I guess. It should be considered whether there is an intent to insult, and that's doubtful. Usually those invited to afters are people like workmates and friends of friends, whom the bride/groom want to include in some way but don't have the scope to invite to the entire thing. The opposite to an insult surely. A full invite for every acquaintance and friend of a friend would be a bit much to expect, but an invite to the afters is obviously better than no invite at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I have noticed that invites to the Afrers(ie you get sandwiches/sausages/basket of chips/maybe a bit cake) have really started sliding in the last few years and people generally just invite people to the whole wedding. They used be very popular.
    If people are invited to the afters they generally give €50 or a set of glasses/vase that they picked up cheap enough or one's that they are re-gifting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

If you're not going to invite me for the spuds, I'm not going to go for the skins.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I don't get the fuss about it, some people want a tiny wedding with like 3 people and then have the evening party with everyone along.
    Although if it's like 300 people for the wedding and an extra 50 for the afters I might see the point ...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The op seems more put out about not being invited to the whole wedding instead of be invited for the leftovers :)