Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milking 13 times a week

• 02-09-2016 10:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭

Do any of you try it? I was told that just to omit sunday evening milking and milk sunday morning and monday morning at the normal times. Would the milk yields drop much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭bullnuts

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Do any of you try it? I was told that just to omit sunday evening milking and milk sunday morning and monday morning at the normal times. Would the milk yields drop much?

Was it your wife told you?ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

bullnuts wrote: »
    Was it your wife told you?ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

Who's asking the questions here :D
    It was a dairygold salesman on ways to make life easier for the dairy farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭bullnuts

Who's asking the questions here :D
    It was a dairygold salesman on ways to make life easier for the dairy farmer.

It would definitely set them back but as to how much I don't know and would it set them back to the extent it would pay to get a milker in ? But definitely take your Sunday off because it's something to look forward to once a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Relief Milker costs less than what you'd loose .scc would be big one to watch >150/200 I wouldn't chance it did it one year and found it always took till Wednesday before cows recovered .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Relief Milker costs less than what you'd loose .scc would be big one to watch >150/200 I wouldn't chance it did it one year and found it always took till Wednesday before cows recovered .

I milk at most 13 times a week for the whole year outside of calving... The other milking it costs me the milk from about 15 or so cows to pay one of the relief chaps I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Most lads would go for the cows around 11 round here when oad Sunday lie on in the morning and the evening off best of both worlds

Better living everyone

Most lads would go for the cows around 11 round here when oad Sunday lie on in the morning and the evening off best of both worlds
    I suppose it would work if you didn't go over 18 hours, milk late saturday evening late sunday morning and very early monday morning. You still couldn't do feck all sunday though as you would be in bed early for the early monday morning milking. It would only cause more hassle than what it would be worth. I'll be sticking to the 14 milkings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭moneyheer

Hi all.
    13 milkings a week here for the last 2 years all year round. No problems as far as l can see.

moneyheer wrote: »
    Hi all.
    13 milkings a week here for the last 2 years all year round. No problems as far as l can see.
    What type of cows have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

milkers :D

Montbeliarde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Timmaay wrote: »
    I milk at most 13 times a week for the whole year outside of calving... The other milking it costs me the milk from about 15 or so cows to pay one of the relief chaps I have.

That's the ticket. Have a relief guy that comes in Fri evening to Sun evening every second weekend from May on. Best move I ever made.
    I'm happy to work every hour going for the other 12 days out of the fortnight, knowing I have a few days off at the end of the fortnight. But once Fri afternoon comes I'm out the gap. Fcuk the milk price, a couple of days family time once a fortnight...invaluable.

moneyheer wrote: »
    Montbeliarde

Do you milk normal time Sunday morning or do you leave the milking until later in the morning?

Normal time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

That would be my idea of hell. 11am milking. I'd prefer to milk at 6 and pay someone to do evening giving myself the whole day free.

On milk drop its about 10% and as MJ pointed out it recovers by Wed be hastens the herds decline in yield. The only day of the year we milk OAD is Christmas Day and with my MIL over for dinner I often wonder why I don't milk twice that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

The only day of the year we milk OAD is Christmas Day and with my MIL over for dinner I often wonder why I don't milk twice that day

Why stop at twice?

Or is once already stretching it when the girls are 3 weeks dry :) ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

That would be my idea of hell. 11am milking. I'd prefer to milk at 6 and pay someone to do evening giving myself the whole day free.

On milk drop its about 10% and as MJ pointed out it recovers by Wed be hastens the herds decline in yield. The only day of the year we milk OAD is Christmas Day and with my MIL over for dinner I often wonder why I don't milk twice that day
    Fook it go 3x

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Fook it go 3x

One of the lads who milks for me is a son of a dairyfarmer, only a young lad but full of ideas. Anyways he was suggesting trying out milking 3 times a day on his home farm when he was around during Christmas last year, just to see how much more milk etc they'd get outa the cows! I asked him how long was he going to try it for ha, he said maybe a weekend!! I said good luck, not a hope the cows will have settled, you'll prob need at least a week at it. That fairly finished off the idea for him ha. I certainly can't fault his enthusiasm in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

One of the lads who milks for me is a son of a dairyfarmer, only a young lad but full of ideas. Anyways he was suggesting trying out milking 3 times a day on his home farm when he was around during Christmas last year, just to see how much more milk etc they'd get outa the cows! I asked him how long was he going to try it for ha, he said maybe a weekend!! I said good luck, not a hope the cows will have settled, you'll prob need at least a week at it. That fairly finished off the idea for him ha. I certainly can't fault his enthusiasm in fairness.

A neighbour of mine was referenced here a couple of weeks ago, at least I think it was him. He bought in a herd of very high yielding cows after a tb breakdown a few years ago. This guy is not afraid of hard work. The sort of lad who you'll hear filling the diet feeder around quarter to seven on a winter's morning when he has the cows milked. He was advised to go 3X with the new herd. Even with paying for a milking per day either afternoon or night milking he pulled the plug on it in less than a year. Madness unless you're in a situation where you are running parlour 24hrs.

Love milking on christmas day, in the morning milking kids have been up early so milk early, milk mid afternoon then after a few beers, chance to clear the head and then all set for christmas dinner afterwards. Never knew my parents in law as they were both dead before I met oh, so kids have missed out big time there.

Did you ever think maybe the relief lads are getting fed up of milking cows every weekend too

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Did you ever think maybe the relief lads are getting fed up of milking cows every weekend too

A lot of good relief milkers are working towards a target. Once they've got what they set out to get they finish. I'm sure they get fed up but like any of us working to a target you console yourself with the notion that it's only for a finite time.

In other words once they do enough milking to get enough money there happy

Better living everyone

Sir can't they say no, there's no shortage of them to do 1 Sun pm milking and €50 in the pocket

Where's that money? And for what sort of cow numbers be very hard get that round my parts and people wonder why there's a lack of lads doing relief milking

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

Young professional I'm aware of is doing four milking on a Sunday, 200 Johnny Cash. I'd say a good few farmers wouldn't be left with 200 after the bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

visatorro wrote: »
    Young professional I'm aware of is doing four milking on a Sunday, 200 Johnny Cash. I'd say a good few farmers wouldn't be left with 200 after the bills.

Little wonder they're not making money when they're paying lads cash that they have paid tax on. That 50 is costing them around 75.
    Why not get an invoiced bill and pay by cheque? it's Fully tax deductible then.....a no brainer.

Where's that money? And for what sort of cow numbers be very hard get that round my parts and people wonder why there's a lack of lads doing relief milking

Young lad used to milk here Fri pm to Sun pm inclusive €250 beer money in his pocket going back to college every week

Little wonder they're not making money when they're paying lads cash that they have paid tax on. That 50 is costing them around 75.
    Why not get an invoiced bill and pay by cheque? it's Fully tax deductible then.....a no brainer.

Correct, put them on the books

That's one way of doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

If you're good enough, you'll get that money

Young lad used to milk here Fri pm to Sun pm inclusive €250 beer money in his pocket going back to college every week
    He'd want to be milking a fair heap of cows to be getting €50 a milking.

On the other hand I'd want to be earning more than €50 per milking doing something else

What does your rough hourly rate for milking work out at? About 20e/hr here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

What does your rough hourly rate for milking work out at? About 20e/hr here.

FRS work out at around €45 a milking on weekdays and €50 or a bit more on Sunday. That would be for herds of 80 or more, a fiver or so less for smaller herds.

It also depends what work you are doing , like if you have to bring in cows, milk them, close them in, power wash down, feed calves , fork in silage is different to rolling up cows in yard milk them and go home

whelan2 wrote: »
    It also depends what work you are doing , like if you have to bring in cows, milk them, close them in, power wash down, feed calves , pike in silage is different to rolling up cows in yard milk them and go home

fixed :D

fixed :D
    nooooooooooo

Jaysus with the farm relief here you only get 30 during the week and 35 on a Sunday for a 2hr milking and then you get a tenner on top of that per hour after the 2nd hour

Better living everyone

1 full tine milker here. Cows in morning and evening for him. He milks washes up and cows taken out for him. The odd time he may have to do himself. Does 22 a fortnight. At EP this wend so not back till tues.

He will also do a grass cover if we're not here on a Monday, paid €10/HR for that

1 full tine milker here. Cows in morning and evening for him. He milks washes up and cows taken out for him. The odd time he may have to do himself. Does 22 a fortnight. At EP this wend so not back till tues.

He will also do a grass cover if we're not here on a Monday, paid €10/HR for that
    Doing 24 a fortnight myself 10 of them with someone else with me cows in in the morning get them myself in the evening but I work full time on that farm so I'm getting paid €10 an hour after tax even for the Sunday milking

Better living everyone

Jaysus with the farm relief here you only get 30 during the week and 35 on a Sunday for a 2hr milking and then you get a tenner on top of that per hour after the 2nd hour

How many cows?

Not paid on cows paid on the time I'm not with frs but that's the going rate

Better living everyone

Not paid on cows paid on the time I'm not with frs but that's the going rate

Whether it's 50cows or 150? Hardly?

So I'm told anyway during the week it works out at 30 for the first 2 hours and 10 for each hour after that so if you milk 300 cows on a 60 unit rotary or 30 cows on a 6 unit you could be ending up with the same amount of money after it

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 doolally

Ok for me a couple of factors to consider
    Stage in lactation, cow type, impact on scc, cost.

Done it for the last few years I found no real loss in production milking a bit later on Sunday a lie in till 9!
    I'd question the 10% figure being quoted on here, As it was off set by a small increase of fat n protein . This however is practically non existent this year due to low base price.
    For scc milk record once if it jumps to find the offender but it shouldn't affect it on 13pw
    For me this year it's going to be down to €€€
    So using the 10% ????loss rate here that's 2l/cow so 46 cent a day. Rate here is 60 euro for a milker on the books oad Sunday so 130 cows to break even on the relief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

I milk here oad all year no problems

caseman wrote: »
    I milk here oad all year no problems

Interesting. How long are you at it? Is there much of a lead in time from a herd PoV ?
    What kinda solids?
    How does it compare financially to TAD.

As far as i know purebred jerseys only go back around 5-6% on production litres wise but I presume the solids would be higher that's why I'm hoping to go oad milking pbr jerseys on a leased farm in the future just to give myself a better lifestyle and get more value per litre of milk sold

Better living everyone

As far as i know purebred jerseys only go back around 5-6% on production litres wise but I presume the solids would be higher that's why I'm hoping to go oad milking pbr jerseys on a leased farm in the future just to give myself a better lifestyle and get more value per litre of milk sold

Pure jerseys aren"t the most docile of cows though fairly wicked by all accounts.