Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Jumpers are coming 16/17

• 01-09-2016 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭

A former regular used to open this every year. Things will ramp up within a month so think it's not premature to open now.

Tizzard ace Thistlecrack on the Gold Cup trail

BY GRAHAM DENCH & DAVID JENNINGS8:00PM 1 SEP 2016

COLIN TIZZARD could saddle as many as three runners in the Timico Gold Cup at Cheltenham in March, with the thrilling prospect of last season's stunning World Hurdle winner Thistlecrack heading a trio that also includes Cue Card and Native River.

However, news of the current wearer of the Gold Cup crown Don Cossack is less upbeat, with Gigginstown racing manager Eddie O'Leary saying on Thursday: "If I'm being honest, I doubt we'll make it." Trainer Gordon Elliott, though, is less pessimistic.

Thistlecrack is favourite in all lists for the RSA Chase at as short as 3-1, but is outright market leader at 6-1 with Ladbrokes and Sky Bet for the Gold Cup and that is his main target for the season, assuming he can prove himself over fences.

He is also favourite or co-favourite for a World Hurdle repeat after last season's defeat of Alpha Des Obeaux matched the highest figures of four-time winner Big Buck's with a Racing Post Rating of 178 and an official rating of 174. His chasing debut has been earmarked for Chepstow on October 8 in the race in which Cue Card made a successful chasing debut in 2011.

Joe Tizzard, assistant to his father, said yesterday: "If it all goes as well as it could do Thistlecrack could definitely be running in the Gold Cup this season.

"We'll take it step by step, and that's a decision for nearer Christmas, but [owners] the Snooks are very keen on him chasing this season and he could well end up in the Gold Cup. The alternative would be to drop to hurdling and go for the World Hurdle, so we've got options."

He added: "He's doing three canters a day and we'll look for a novice chase as soon as the ground eases. Chepstow would be perfect, but we won't be taking any chances. It's too quick to school him on grass, but we have an Olympic-size menage with Easyfix fences, so we can school all the year round."

Read more on Thistlecrack, Cue Card and Don Cossack in Friday's Racing Post, available on iPad now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Tis the season to be jolly! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Niallers87

Cant wait for it!! Yupp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Fair play to Tizzard and the owners, they have a machine and they wan't to win the biggest prize. They could easily have hoovered up the prize money in the stayers division. Makes a nice change to see and I can't wait to see that beast over fences.

Personally I don't think we will see Don Cossack run again but hopefully I'm wrong.

Like Min and Douvan this lad is by Walk In The Park and has been bought by Ricci. Looks a real nice jumping prospect looking at him winning there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Tis the season to be jolly! :D

And to lose your hard earned lolly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Itziger

Johner wrote: »

Like Min and Douvan this lad is by Walk In The Park and has been bought by Ricci. Looks a real nice jumping prospect looking at him winning there.

The winner? Jesus, I must be a terrible judge, thought he looked like a bit of a monkey. Flashing tail and ungainly stride. Of course he's young and don't know how many races he's had or anything but I won't be running down to the Credit Union for a loan to put on him just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Altior heading chasing. Surprised by that decision, looked really good over hurdles and with faugheen coming back from injury, thought he might put in a good challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Think an 8yo going novice chasing is madness myself, will make for exciting viewing as long as the horse comes back safe and sound.

Moon Racer hurdling debut this Thursday Perth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

BumperD wrote: »
    Moon Racer hurdling debut this Thursday Perth

He's facing Ballyandy who i fancy down the line for the Neptune. Moon Racer will make up for lost time this season but i'm not sure if he will win the supreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

madmoose wrote: »
    He's facing Ballyandy who i fancy down the line for the Neptune. Moon Racer will make up for lost time this season but i'm not sure if he will win the supreme.

That's some Novice hurdle for a Thursday at Perth in September. Let the fun begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

That's some Novice hurdle for a Thursday at Perth in September. Let the fun begin.

For the love of god this flat racing needs to finish. Cant wait for the first Big Saturday of NH racing. I know it usually seems the same, but feck there are some real contests upcoming between what looks a very good novice class of last year and older bridage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

Slightly soured for me this year with Rich Ricci and his deplorable attitude to NH fans with Vautour.
    How can you have a GC horse and stick it in the Ryanair?
    Part of the attraction of NH was watching horses over the years and compiling a view to cheltenham chances
    The anti post market is all but destroyed now , the Mullins effect has ensured a lack of decent contests on the run up to the big money with everyone avoiding each other so how are we the punter to know?
    We are left with small fields and poor handicaps all season and the festivals diluted to fill extra days and TV and gate money.
    Seems like everything else , money rules and we are witnessing the demise of a once great sport.

Sorry but the season doesnt bring the same excitement as it once did

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    Slightly soured for me this year with Rich Ricci and his deplorable attitude to NH fans with Vautour.
    How can you have a GC horse and stick it in the Ryanair?

Part of the attraction of NH was watching horses over the years and compiling a view to cheltenham chances
    The anti post market is all but destroyed now , the Mullins effect has ensured a lack of decent contests on the run up to the big money with everyone avoiding each other so how are we the punter to know?
    We are left with small fields and poor handicaps all season and the festivals diluted to fill extra days and TV and gate money.
    Seems like everything else , money rules and we are witnessing the demise of a once great sport.

Sorry but the season doesnt bring the same excitement as it once did

They pretty obviously don't think its a Gold Cup horse, and in fairness to him he owns the horse and is entitled to run him where he likes. Anyone dabbling the and AP market at this stage is their own worst enemy considering there will be great prices available on the day.

I certainly prefer the longer Festival as every race is still a Class race that is fought for .

Perhaps but the ultimate prize in NH , if you have an animal with a chance you go for it with the collection he has and the money. Can understand a small owner/trainer doing that.
    Also you don't lead everyone on media saying GC then switch last minute, esp when your on the board of a large bookmaking firm.
    The big money boys are ruining the sport for the punters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    The big money boys are ruining the sport for the punters.

Personally I think it's never been better to be a punter. You are right the antepost market is all but dead(the last 2 years I've placed a total of 3 Cheltenham antepost bets, 3 losers no less) As Aidan said though the prices available on the day are more than fair for any big festival/race day.

Fair enough but its not all about the betting , its seeing the best horses compete against one another.
    Too many quality horses owned by too few people. Understandable they are under orders to avoid each other but it spoils the spectacle for us whilst they share out the big prizes. Must be very disheartening for the smaller yards too left picking up the crumbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Could be some Gold Cup, Vautour / Annie Power, Coneygree, Cue Card, Don Cossack(maybe) and Thistlecrack.

Feel sorry for Tizzard if he has to pit his best two against each other, would be brilliant for racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Shemale wrote:
    Feel sorry for Tizzard if he has to pit his best two against each other, would be brilliant for racing.

Shemale wrote:
    Could be some Gold Cup, Vautour / Annie Power, Coneygree, Cue Card, Don Cossack(maybe) and Thistlecrack.

More chance of Mad Moose running in Gold Cup than Annie Power!

Tizzard could easily have his best three animals line up in GC. Two already mentioned and Native River, who, although probably too slow, will be well suited to test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

jimjamcos wrote: »
    More chance of Mad Moose running in Gold Cup than Annie Power!

There has been plenty of talk of her being a Gold Cup horse and they will hardly leave her against Faugheen in the CH. I suppose if Thisclecrack takes to fences they would leave her in a handy WH

Shemale wrote:
    There has been plenty of talk of her being a Gold Cup horse and they will hardly leave her against Faugheen in the CH. I suppose if Thisclecrack takes to fences they would leave her in a handy WH

That's just talk. Shes 100 to see a fence. I'd rather see Faugheen go chasing anyway. Which won't happen either.

Paddy Mullins is already on record as stating Faugheen and Annie will be split between 2m and 2m4 until a decision is even necessary. Both have travelled over to Kempton and the likes pre-Cheltenham in the past so Mullins will be able to separate them easily while mopping up against a weak English division (been confirmed Altior goes chasing). March is a long way away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Moon Racer and Ballyandy both Declared for tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

Moon Racer and Ballyandy both Declared for tomorrow

Why run them against each other on their hurdling debut, madness imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Moon racer for me
    Classier animal IMO
    Ballyandy looks a grinder and will prob need further

Mouthwatering clash so early. Can't wait for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

Johner wrote: »
    Mouthwatering clash so early. Can't wait for it.

What this man said. If the 8 run there could be lovely place money on Wakea to be had or the W/O market maybe.

Earendil wrote: »
    What this man said. If the 8 run there could be lovely place money on Wakea to be had or the W/O market maybe.

One pulled out. Only 7 runners now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Shemale wrote: »

Think Djakadam could well be Rich's main GC horse this year again come March.

Annie will certainly stay hurdling. The doubt is there now about Vautour at the trip, he has plenty of miles on the clock also.

Keep out for Prince of Scars in the staying novice chasers, Elliott speaking like he was when Don Cossack was a novice.

madmoose wrote: »
    Keep out for Prince of Scars in the staying novice chasers, Elliott speaking like he was when Don Cossack was a novice.

Sandra Hughes has been talking him up saying he'd be a star since before he ever ran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭slimshady007

TheTorment wrote: »
    One pulled out. Only 7 runners now

Down to 5 now. Wakea out. 20/1 bar the front two.

What a ****ing cracker. National hunt you beauty.

Right thats it im F***king done with boring flat racing. What a start to the season of proper racing.. Neither can jump really but superb race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

aidankkk wrote: »
    Right thats it im F***king done with boring flat racing. What a start to the season of proper racing.. Neither can jump really but superb race.

Who won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

akelly02 wrote: »
    Who won

Moon Racer. Gave Ballyandy a shove over the 2nd last and was probably behind after the last but stayed on nicely on the run up. Hard to say who looked the better horse neither was a natural over the hurdles but it was a fantastic battle. Plenty of races won between the two of them im guessing!

Alpha Des Obeaux declared to make his debut over fences in the Butterfly Novice Chase (2m4f) at Tipperary on Sunday.

Looking forward to his debut. A gold cup horse is what mouse said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭dicky dunne

few nice NH races in Tipp on Sunday, have a soft spot for Thomas Hobson but trip mightn't be ideal, think Penhill could be pretty decent too can see him winning on Sunday and possibly lining up in the Royal Bond after, lovely Novice Chase on the card as well

BumperD wrote: »
    Looking forward to his debut. A gold cup horse is what mouse said.

Always a chaser no doubts, i must say the 8/1 for the RSA is shocking though at this stage.

I think its reasonable value.

Very strong likelihood that current favourite for race (Thistlecrack) won't run in it. Already confirmed by connections that if taking to fences, its Gold Cup, and if not, World Hurdle.

Without Thistlecrack (a freakish monster) in race, ADO would be a 20l World Hurdle winner going into his novice chase season against an average bunch of 3m novice hurdlers.

As stated, ADO looks made for fences and is trained by a proven master so unless something like Yorkhill (pulls way too hard) steps up, he looks sure to win races and lineup a much shorter price on the day.

I've placed a small antepost ew doubles and treble on ADO, Thistlecrack (Gold Cup) and Killultagh Vic (Ryanair)

Cue Card best value in the GC at the moment at 11/1

Despite age, he's most definitely the one with the least question marks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Prince of Scars for RSA hopefully.

Cue Card best value in the GC at the moment at 11/1

Despite age, he's most definitely the one with the least question marks

Give Cue Card no chance myself.

Hilarious Thistlecrack is fav though.

Most solid option to be in the shake up is Djakadam imo but hard to see him being good enough to win.

mdwexford wrote: »
    Give Cue Card no chance myself.

Hilarious Thistlecrack is fav though.

Most solid option to be in the shake up is Djakadam imo but hard to see him being good enough to win.

Why not?

Thistlecrack - A novice that hasn't jumped a fence in public
    Don Cossack - Potentially fcuked and possible non runner
    Coneygree - Coming back from a long lay off after being injured
    Djakadam - A nearly horse imo, won't be good enough
    Douvan - Won't run

Cue Card had his best ever season last year as a 10 year old, age is the only concern for this season imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Prince of Scars for RSA hopefully.

Unless they run it in the December i can't see him involved, wants it soft to show his best. Elliott could well have the winner of it sitting at home anyway but will be wearing the Mc Manus silks.

Why not?

Thistlecrack - A novice that hasn't jumped a fence in public
    Don Cossack - Potentially fcuked and possible non runner
    Coneygree - Coming back from a long lay off after being injured
    Djakadam - A nearly horse imo, won't be good enough
    Douvan - Won't run

Cue Card had his best ever season last year as a 10 year old, age is the only concern for this season imo

Yeah it's just that simple for me, 11yo don't win Gold Cups.

It's even very tough at 10.

mdwexford wrote: »
    Yeah it's just that simple for me, 11yo don't win Gold Cups.

It's even very tough at 10.

True, but that way that race is likely to cut up this year he is a very likely starter and may not need to near last years form to win.

The dark horse in that could be Killultagh Vic should he come back safe and sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Anyone give Black Hercules a shout for the Gold Cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭shamdrog63

With the extra year under his belt would love to see Vautour giving the Gold Cup a try.Given the moderate record of recent world hurdle winners like Bachanal, Big Bucks and More of That over fences I couldn,t take an ante post price about Thistlecrack until I,d seen him jump.