Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIP Gene Wilder

• 29-08-2016 7:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭

Gene Wilder, the loveable Willy Wonka has passed away aged 83.

Loved that song 'Pure Imagination'

His role in many films was brilliant.

R.I.P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Oh, 2016. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I honestly thought he'd died a couple of years back. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

No, it's pronounced "Fronkensteen"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ah that's sad to hear. Himself and Richard Pryor were a great double act in some of my favourite films when I was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Not sure if it aged well but loved Stir Crazy with Richard Pryor as a kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Ah jaysus :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

See No Evil Hear No Evil was a classic

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Not sure if it aged well but loved Stir Crazy with Richard Pryor as a kid

That was actually the first film I remember recording on VHS. Haven't seen it in a while now but a great film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

For some reason I thought he was dead a few years. Well RIP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

His performance in Willy Wonka was one of the greatest acting roles in movie history.

Let's also not forget the movies he made with Richard Pryor.

He also made a movie in Ireland. Quacker Fortune Has a Brother in the Bronx. A charming movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Awwww man :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭larrykinney

'We are the music makers....and we are the dreamers of dreams....'

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

The meme will live on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭dasdog

"Little bástard shot me in the ass..."

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Ah that's sad to hear. Himself and Richard Pryor were a great double act in some of my favourite films when I was younger.

I only saw 'see no evil, hear no evil' for the first time on Netflix last week. Was giggling all the way through. Loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Damn, sad news indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

There's still 4 months of 2016 to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Ah no :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Legend.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

R.I.P. 2016 hasn't been kind :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Sad to see him go. Blazing Saddles, See no evil, hear no evil and Willy Wonka are 3 movies I will watch every time they are on tv. Love those movies. Stir Crazy was great too as was The Producers.

Feck ya 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭keno-daytrader

Silver Streak, an all time classic! RIP

☀️ 7.8kWp ⚡3.6kWp south, ⚡4.20kWp west

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Damn. Loved him in so many films. Women in Red most of all.

RIP.

Scene with Gilda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

This still makes me laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Sheriff: "Are we awake?"

Wilder: "We are not sure, are we black?"

Sheriff: "Yes"

Wilder: "Then we're awake".

Blazing saddles, what a film.

Sheriff: You ain't no wako kid...

Wilder: look at my hand...

Sheriff: Solid as a rock!

Wilder: yea but I shoot with this hand!!!

*raises other hand and it shaking terribly.

https://youtu.be/Tr9xVmCL0bA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭babygirlz

Loved him, saw him interviewed in the late late years ago and really liked him. Was he sick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I may now finally have to grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

RIP

One of my all time favourite actors.
    ClovenHoof wrote: »
    His performance in Willy Wonka was one of the greatest acting roles in movie history.

Let's also not forget the movies he made with Richard Pryor.

He also made a movie in Ireland. Quacker Fortune Has a Brother in the Bronx. A charming movie.

Yeap, this pic is from St Teresa's Place in Glasnevin during filming.

http://www.whatwasthere.com/browse.aspx#!/ll/53.368807,-6.27131399999996/id/56998/info/sv/zoom/14/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

Would love to believe in an after-life, it would be great to think that someone up there is now taking Gene Wilder by the hand and softly singing...

...If you want to view paradise
    Simply look around and view it
    Anything you want to, do it
    Want to change the world?
    There's nothing to it
    There is no
    Life I know
    To compare with pure imagination
    Living there
    You'll be free
    If you truly wish to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Young Frankenstein.... Love that film...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

Silver Streak, an all time classic! RIP

Loved that film great cast to.

Willy Wonka: So much time and so little to do. Wait a minute. Strike that. Reverse it. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭barney shamrock

Fuzzy wuzzy was a woman??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

One of the true greats. Gonna throw on Stir Crazy in remembrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Ah, man. Was only saying the other night I must rewatch Blazing Saddles. And it's not Xmas without watching Willy Wonka. Great performance in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

frau blucher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Absolutely brilliant movie.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Rest in Peace

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

A real shame.

Always liked this interview he gave.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Always loved that man. Wish he did more in his later years he had a face and voice I couldn't get enough of. My mother used to say wasn't good looking but very attractive. The Waco Kid. Brilliant.
    I always loved The Lady in Red with Kelly LeBrock. If anyone can find the scene where he gets almost caught by his wife cheating, the expressions on his face are just priceless. This 2016 lark is silly, he lived a long and hopefully happy life, I hope he's sharing a beer with Richard Pryor now in heaven, RIP Gene you made a young Crayfish laugh a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Senna wrote: »
    No, it's pronounced "Fronkensteen"

I'm watching it right now.

RIP Gene Wilder, very funny films

RIP Mr Wilder

I'll never be able to thank you enough for the enjoyment but most of all the laughs you gave me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Fuzzy wuzzy was a woman :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭newspower

He was such a funny guy. Young Frankenstein with him and Marty Feldman has to be one of the funniest movies ever....."What was the name on the brain" Eh Abbey....Abbey Normal :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

Who will rule the Oompa Loompas now and keep them in line? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

RIP

One of my all time favourite actors.

Yeap, this pic is from St Teresa's Place in Glasnevin during filming.

http://www.whatwasthere.com/browse.aspx#!/ll/53.368807,-6.27131399999996/id/56998/info/sv/zoom/14/
    He rode charlie in fair citys missus in that :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

"But I shoot with this hand"

RIP