Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The most popular person in Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

The Leprechaun.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Paul McGrath.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,963 ✭✭✭Patser

Ann Doyle
    Jean Byrne
    Larry Mullen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Paul O'Connell or Brian O'Driscoll

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭EICVD

There's no answer to this!

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

Barry McGuigan was always fairly well liked.

But Bill O'Herlihy for me, miss him greatly!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,300 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think leinster fans greatly over estimate the popularity of o driscoll.
    He really is a hateful yoke with that permanent smirk that shouts ' I'm superior to everyone here'. A close friend also rented a property he owned. While he didn't meet him personally, they were tighter than a ducks arse in dealing with maintenance etc.
    Most popular person in Ireland. He is not the most popular person in his own house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Yer ma is the most popular person in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Ah here it's got to be Ronnie Drew or Luke Kelly from Dubalin in the rare auld times.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Seamus, the wrestling guy.

Though neither are actually in sport. More...entertainment...

Actually Ireland's world champion WWE guy the majority of people haven't heard of. This guy:

Cqbgj4PUEAAujBe.jpg

To not call what McGregor does a sport is a decent attempt at a wind up but too obvious.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Michael D Higgins is not the most popular, no political figure.
    A lot of people dislike rugby.
    No actors or actresses either.

It is hard to not like Francis Brennan.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,284 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

RobertKK wrote: »
    It is hard to not like Francis Brennan.

And yet somehow I manage to do so, probably because of that really annoying voice of his.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

John Delaney...(if only we knew where to find him right now)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Probably that wrestler guy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Enda Ahern.

Another dislike for Michael D Higgins here. No time for socialists who affect upper class accents. He really seemed to me to be in his element mixing with the queen etc. And it's not a thing of me just begrudging a man of his obvious success, it's just that affectation grates with me and you can be successful without it - for instance, I believe Bertie Ahern is an example of a guy from a modest background who achieved very highly without becoming pompous. Like did Higgins always have that accent? Higgins knows he can make grandiose left-wing speeches that will have no impact on government policy and he'll get to look like the good guy while the government will implement the *actual* policies that fix the country and be unpopular for it. Win-win for him and 5 grand a week too! I get the impression he wants to be liked by everyone - "working class", intellectual elites and "Dublin 4" people alike. I think the fact no one ever seems to share any of my feelings about him and in fact seem to dote over him ("OMG I love michael d, like aren't you proud our president is so cool!") makes me dislike him more! He's tricking you all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Bertie, man a de people, getting dig outs from well positioned friends, but damn that pinko Mickey D!

As far as most popular goes, i'd reckon Michael Lyster from the Sunday Game is right up there. Comes across as very likeable, good at his job, unpretentious, enthusiastic, usually in good form.. I'd find it hard to imagine someone disliking him for any reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Our President. Gentleman of the highest order. Wins it for sure.

mansize wrote: »
    Bertie, man a de people, getting dig outs from well positioned friends, but damn that pinko Mickey D!

It's not his being a "pinko" - the likes of Paul Murphy or people before profit politicians don't bother me even a bit as much as I know they bother others, it's just Higgins' self righteousness from a position of safety and what I perceive to be affectations that bother me- I don't hate the guy or anything and id guess he is a man of integrity and a decent guy, but I never felt the same love for him as others.

for instance, I believe Bertie Ahern is an example of a guy from a modest background who achieved very highly without becoming pompous.

You do realise that Berties "man of the people" carryon was as big an act as you believe Michael D to be playing?

Ahern was as crooked as they come.

You do realise that Berties "man of the people" carryon was as big an act as you believe Michael D to be playing?

Ahern was as crooked as they come.

Yeah probably. Ill-thought-out example perhaps ..

• Registered Users Posts: 19,192 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Wesc. wrote: »
    Had this discussion with a mate of mine earlier. I went for Paul O'Connell, while he thought Brian O'Driscoll. Couldn't think of anybody else more universally liked..

Thoughts?

Your sister is fairly "popular" at least in the surrounding counties.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,715 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Well Hume realised without the shinners peace was impossible so integrity is great but politics is about finding solutions to problems.

I'm not talking Willie McCrea sharing a platform with Billy Wright type schmoozing. Everyone knows business had to be done with the shinners eventually.

But there were occasions, particularly in the early seventies when the civil rights movement was probably better organised than the IRA when he could have been a hell of a lot more vocal in his condemnation of them.
    Seamus Mallon has been unwavering in his, even when it was extremely dangerous to have such a point of view let alone express it publicly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I like none of those people :,

Oh I'm sorry, but this thread isn't about the 'best liked' person in Ireland.

I'll pm you in future prior to making any postings on boards to be sure you like what I'm posting.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭s8n

Me

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I believe Bertie Ahern is an example of a guy from a modest background who achieved very highly without becoming pompous

Bertie was a crook!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Dustin back in his 'The Den' days!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

the pope?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

But Bill O'Herlihy for me, miss him greatly!

That guy was a shill for the tobacco industry. Absolute prick imo.