Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you report it to the Gardai?

• 25-08-2016 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭

I live in a small town in rural Ireland & there are a group of teenagers who are openly dealing drugs. The main culprit is from a " well to do " family & he deals from his front door which is on the main street. They don't care who see's them. Now I am not anti or pro drugs as I've dabbled myself but what gets me is that these teenagers are breaking into peoples homes, trying to mug people etc. The whole town knows about it but nothing seems to be getting done. One of these teenagers robbed an old womans shop with a knife but got a slap on the wrist & was let out a few hours later. Is it worth reporting it to the Gardaí? Or should I just be like everyone else & say nothing & hope it doesn't come my direction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Do you want to open evidence in Court against local druggie teenagers?

If so- feel free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Do you want to open evidence in Court against local druggie teenagers?

If so- feel free.

No of course not but is there anyway to report it without it coming back on me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

A. I don't believe you
    B. If you are genuine - the police already know
    C. shuddup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I'd say its likely they do know.
    If you know a Guard personally you could it off the record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It would be very cruel to remove the crutch of drugs from all the young people living in a small rural town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Help!!!! wrote: »
    I live in a small town in rural Ireland & there are a group of teenagers who are openly dealing drugs. The main culprit is from a " well to do " family & he deals from his front door which is on the main street. They don't care who see's them. Now I am not anti or pro drugs as I've dabbled myself but what gets me is that these teenagers are breaking into peoples homes, trying to mug people etc. The whole town knows about it but nothing seems to be getting done.One of these teenagers robbed an old womans shop with a knife but got a slap on the wrist & was let out a few hours later.Is it worth reporting it to the Gardaí? Or should I just be like everyone else & say nothing & hope it doesn't come my direction?

Probably fair to assume the Gardai know about it so.

As for reporting it anyway, it's illegal and you feel it poses a potential threat to your property and well-being so by all means report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing"- Edmund Burke. Only saying....

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Of course they know about it but it's easier to penalise people for out of date tax discs and doing 60 in a 50 zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I live in a small town in rural Ireland & there are a group of teenagers who are openly dealing drugs. The main culprit is from a " well to do " family & he deals from his front door which is on the main street. They don't care who see's them. Now I am not anti or pro drugs as I've dabbled myself but what gets me is that these teenagers are breaking into peoples homes, trying to mug people etc. The whole town knows about it but nothing seems to be getting done. One of these teenagers robbed an old womans shop with a knife but got a slap on the wrist & was let out a few hours later. Is it worth reporting it to the Gardaí? Or should I just be like everyone else & say nothing & hope it doesn't come my direction?

So to sum up a bunch of teens are doing drugs and rob people blind with weapons and nothing is being done about it.
    If what you say is true then if one of them got a slap on the wrist for mugging an OAP with a knife what sort of punishment do you think awaits them if they are caught with weed?
    Report away if you have a problem with it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

OP you could ring the Garda Confidential number. 1800 666111

bear1 wrote: »
    So to sum up a bunch of teens are doing drugs and rob people blind with weapons and nothing is being done about it.
    If what you say is true then if one of them got a slap on the wrist for mugging an OAP with a knife what sort of punishment do you think awaits them if they are caught with weed?
    Report away if you have a problem with it.

Its not weed its met & cocaine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

sounds like something out of a Jack Reacher novel...

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Of course they know about it but it's easier to penalise people for out of date tax discs and doing 60 in a 50 zone.

Garlic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Spandex, funky mask, cool nick name, kung-fu skills, optional Cape and serious sassy attitude.

Go get 'em tiger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

Garda Confidential Drug Line (they really should have come up with a less illegal-sounding name)

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=30
    Nationwide each region has dedicated Garda personnel committed to policing drug misuse. Please contact your local Garda Station if you would like to pass on information about drug misuse.

Every district in Dublin city has a local drug unit that tackles the sale and distribution of controlled drugs at a local level. To find out which drug unit covers your area, please contact your local Garda Station.

Also, if you have any information that could help gardaí in combating drug dealers please ring the Garda Confidential Line Freephone on 1800 666111 or ring GNDU on +353 1 6669900.

Information, video and leaflets on Drug Related Intimidation Reporting Programe are available here

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

It's highly unlikely they don't know about it OP.

faceman wrote: »
    OP you could ring the Garda Confidential number. 1800 666111

Yeah was thinking to do that. Would they want my details?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

How do you know this?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

LoLth wrote: »
    Garda Confidential Drug Line (they really should have come up with a less illegal-sounding name)

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=30

Instructions unclear. I ordered a bag of weed, and they said they'd be over shortly. :eek:

Yeah was thinking to do that. Would they want my details?

No. That's where the 'confidential' bit comes in.

bear1 wrote: »
    How do you know this?

Because I know someone who partakes, as I said I'm not anti or pro drugs, if you can afford it & it doesn't affect anyone else then work away. If your mugging some owl wan of her pension then you need to be punished

Damn snowflake millenials.

We had to make do with buying wan pellets of paraffin-soaked hash from lads in Naf Naf jackets, Adidas Rom and mullets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Best to report it anonymously.

Throw a rock with a note on it through the station's window.

Damn snowflake millenials.

We had to make do with buying wan pellets of paraffin-soaked hash from lads in Naf Naf jackets, Adidas Rom and mullets.

Exactly, whats wrong with them doing a few E? They could be of service to the community, go around hugging the old & lonely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Where is this small rural town?
    Weekend is fast approaching.

Foggy Jew wrote: »
    "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing"- Edmund Burke. Only saying....

"The only thing necessary for your house to mysteriously go on fire is for good men to get caught grassing" - Druggie Teenagers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

Organise a group of residents to have a 'meeting' with this group!!!

I know of a group of individuals who promised to throw a guy over the side

of a fishing boat if he didn't 'move along' Hasn't been seen since.....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

Maybe he didn't "move along" quick enough :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

drake70 wrote: »
    Maybe he didn't "move along" quick enough :eek:

Maybe he didn't! Who knows???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

More than a whiff of nonsense about this IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Gardaí don't give a fúck. If you want anything done, call the gardai and when they don't do anything call Joe Duffy. Seriously. When Joe gives out about the Gardaí for doing nothing there'll be helicopters and armed response units down there that evening.

Why are they robbing, mugging and committing burglary? Is there no auld profit in selling the drugs?

Yamanoto wrote: »
    More than a whiff of nonsense about this IMO.

What do you mean?

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    Why are they robbing, mugging and committing burglary? Is there no auld profit in selling the drugs?

There teenagers, one deals the others buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

Is it possible at all that the guards are keeping an eye on this with the aim of using these lads to nab someone higher up the chain? If they're as open/stupid as you're suggesting I'm sure they'd be seen as an easy in for the local drug squad. The mugger lad probably gave them info, hence the light touch.

I hate the guards as much as the next person but generally speaking they're not COMPLETE idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I don't think they'll do anything. I still think you should, maybe others are reporting it and the combined pressure will encourage action. Always wondered if there are higher-ups you can report to when the local police aren't dealing with stuff. Probably wouldn't make you very popular though

Cienciano wrote: »
    Gardaí don't give a fúck. If you want anything done, call the gardai and when they don't do anything call Joe Duffy. Seriously. When Joe gives out about the Gardaí for doing nothing there'll be helicopters and armed response units down there that evening.

Joe Duffy on the radio?!

I'm confused, your main point seems to be about drugs, yet the reason you seem to be so bothered by it is the fact they're robbing old people. The two aren't really connected. Take the drugs away and they'll spend more time beating the ****e out of people because they'll have nothing better to do.

Yes they are, they are robbing to fund their habit.

There teenagers, one deals the others buy.

Where teenagers? How does one deal a buy?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Meet with you local community Garda, Im sure they already know about the dealing if it's a small town.

In Dublin Gardai normally raid the house or premises especially if they have intel/ evidence that subject X are dealing a controlled drug, how do you know it's coke and Met they are dealing in though?

Undercover plain clothes Garda usually act as a buyer here in Dublin and they have a stronger evidence for a prosecution when it comes to court/ criminal justice system.

But if you are aware this is going on is it not a civic duty as a citizen to report criminal activity to Garda, depends on your moral compass I guess.

Is it possible at all that the guards are keeping an eye on this with the aim of using these lads to nab someone higher up the chain? If they're as open/stupid as you're suggesting I'm sure they'd be seen as an easy in for the local drug squad. The mugger lad probably gave them info, hence the light touch.

I hate the guards as much as the next person but generally speaking they're not COMPLETE idiots.

What about when it's going on for years, though? Not this case, but I'm sure a few of us here can think of similar..

kravmaga wrote: »
    Meet with you local community Garda, Im sure they already know about the dealing if it's a small town.

In Dublin Gardai normally raid the house or premises especially if they have intel/ evidence that subject X are dealing a controlled drug, how do you know it's coke and Met they are dealing in though?

Undercover plain clothes Garda usually act as a buyer here in Dublin and they have a stronger evidence for a prosecution when it comes to court/ criminal justice system.

But if you are aware this is going on is it not a civic duty as a citizen to report criminal activity to Garda, depends on your moral compass I guess.

Yeah I will report it, was just looking for advice. The problem is you don't really see Gardaí around here although you see these lads dealing everyday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Amanda.ie

No of course not but is there anyway to report it without it coming back on me?

If you really cared you would report it, but like most people you want to remain anonymous and sit back while these get caught so you can feel good.
    Im sure the gardai are well aware if everything you say is happening is actually true.
    Take some photographs of the drug dealing and send them to the gardai.

Robbing to fund their habit? really, are they addicts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Must have been a crowded fishing boat

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Go over there with a balaclava and a hurley and 'do your bit for the community'..

Amanda.ie wrote: »
    If you really cared you would report it, but like most people you want to remain anonymous and sit back while these get caught so you can feel good.
    Im sure the gardai are well aware if everything you say is happening is actually true.
    Take some photographs of the drug dealing and send them to the gardai.

I want to remain anonymous because I do not want to put my family at risk, there is nothing to feel good about. Yes everything I've said is true, I've only just moved here so I do not know the " politics " of the town so am wary of what I say & who I say it to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Is there a garda station in the town or is it closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Butterbeans

GerB40 wrote: »
    Go over there with a balaclava and a hurley and 'do your bit for the community'..

Just make sure you cover over your name on the hurl!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Amanda.ie

I want to remain anonymous because I do not want to put my family at risk, there is nothing to feel good about. Yes everything I've said is true, I've only just moved here so I do not know the " politics " of the town so am wary of what I say & who I say it to

you know alot about everyone for someone who only just moved there.
    How small is this town? sounds like one street to me or a village?
    Theses are a few teenagers not big drug dealers, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Just make sure you cover over your name on the hurl!

Or write your enemies name on it...