Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jesus or Mohammed on exo-planets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

ReefBreak wrote: »
    Genuine question for people who believe in God.
    Shouldn't you ask in religious forums then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

No,

Earth God is also Universe and Galaxy God.

Hail Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭ReefBreak

biko wrote: »
    Shouldn't you ask in religious forums then?

I was going to in the Christianity forum, but I thought I'd probably get banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Probably. Mohammed probably lives on one of those planets but he has to pack his bags and find another planet now because humans will be following him over shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I was going to in the Christianity forum, but I thought I'd probably get banned.

Why would you. It's a reasonable question, with plenty of scope for cognitive dissonance. I'd say they'd love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

John needs to stop smoking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's not really any point in asking the question since any answers would be just made up anyway. So you can just make up your own answers;

Clearly god's revelation on earth could only take place in human form as the concept of alien planets, never mind alien life, would be unknown at the time of Jesus/Mohammed/whoever.
    When the time comes that humanity interacts or otherwise engages with alien worlds, god's direction will be revealed through the bible and we will likely find that god has revealed himself similarly to alien races in a manner appropriate to their existence and culture.

The christian people in particular are big on the whole, "Every god is the same god, and every culture has a god, which is our god, therefore god must exist". They get flummoxed when you point out that some cultures have no concept of god at all, but when you're just making sh1t up, you can make sh1t up to cover that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Probably. Mohammed probably lives on one of those planets but he has to pack his bags and find another planet now because humans will be following him over shortly

At least he has a flying horse to get him out of there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

*flicks furiously through bible for answer*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

*flicks furiously through bible for answer*

"Are you looking up the Feckin answers", Mrs Brown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Life on another planet is far my plausible than the 2000yr old superstition born out of ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

It's a genuine, and rather interesting, question and I suspect it would be of interest to at least some of the contributors over there.

What level of response are you expecting to get in AH?

seamus wrote: »
    When the time comes that humanity interacts or otherwise engages with alien worlds, god's direction will be revealed through the bible and we will likely find that god has revealed himself similarly to alien races in a manner appropriate to their existence and culture..
    Yes, but doesn't the bible also say that we were created in God's image (or something). So God looks like a human? So other exo-planet species should also look human. THIS DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE AT ALL!

Pickpocket wrote: »
    It's a genuine, and rather interesting, question and I suspect it would be of interest to at least some of the contributors over there.

OK, I'll ask it in the Christianity forum. [Grabs backpack].

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Pickpocket wrote: »

the same kind of responses we always give - smart arse ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Ellen Ripley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

I'd rephrase the question somewhat to not give people an excuse to take offence.

It really is a fascinating question. If you believe in God, the creator of all things, then you'd have to have some theory on how he would view his other 'creations'. And, as has often been suggested, if we were to meet intelligent life they could possibly be vastly more intelligent than us. So were they also created in God's image, and if so what does that make us? Etc, etc, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Advanced lifeforms are living in sin because Jesus didn't specifically die for them.

Space heathens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Advanced lifeforms are living in sin because Jesus didn't specifically die for them.

Space heathens.

You don't know this. He rose from the dead so he could be touring the universe with the same show for millennia.

A bit like the Rolling Stones. But with less Sympathy for the Devil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

You'd guess based on what humans have done so far we mightn't be high in gods affections.

It is an interesting question though to consider there is a god and a chosen species but that it is not us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Jesus and Muhammad couldn't even appear on the next nearest continent let alone a different planet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Weeell, there is the question of what does "created in God's image" mean, particularly when it's been translated through several languages. "And it was good in His eyes" is another roundabout way of speaking that comes up often in the Bible, which is another phrase with several possible literal meanings.

Anyway, why would God even have a physical image? Why does God need toes? Or a nose. Or an appendix. It's could be some sort of spiritual image referring to the soul, in which case even if aliens were covered in orange fur* the physical image thing wouldn't particularly matter.

It is definitely an interesting question as to whether other extraterrestrial species would have a concept of religion though.

*Or, more likely, some sort of very spiritual algae

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

You'd guess based on what humans have done so far we mightn't be high in gods affections.

It is an interesting question though to consider there is a god and a chosen species but that it is not us.

Sure, it could be part of a bible trilogy:
    • Bible I: Old Testament
    • Bible II: New Testament
    • Bible III: St Pauls email to the Centaurians

Set much further into the future, Jesus has risen after 3 days and flown to Centauri 7, where he decides to start over again. All is going well until St. Paul accidentally hits "Reply All" on an email, letting slip Jesus' past life and his "other" civilisation......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I think the OP needs a reef break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

IMO the Bible is a fictitious account of some mad stuff that went on once upon a time.
    No-one really believes it, religion was invented to keep us in line - it followed paganism and worshipping of multiple Gods etc. I'm not sure if there is a divine being out there as some really unexplainable stuff happens from time to time but if I was to guess I reckon that no there isn't a God...on any planet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Would Muslims pray facing Earth? Do any current Astronauts/Cosmonauts/Taikonauts of that faith make it a point to pray facing Earth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

As most might know, the Vatican have an observatory and the Vatican a number of years ago did not rule out the existence of alien life and the Vatican's chief astronomer Father José Gabriel Funes had this to say:
    “Just as there is a multiplicity of creatures on Earth, there can be other beings, even intelligent, created by God, this is not in contrast with our faith because we can’t put limits on God’s creative freedom.”
    “To say it as St. Francis [of Assisi], if we consider some earthly creatures as ‘brother’ and ‘sister,’ why couldn’t we also talk of an ‘extraterrestrial brother’? He would also belong to creation,”
    “The discovery of intelligent life does not mean there’s another Jesus,” "The incarnation of the son of God is a unique event in the history of humanity, of the universe.”
    “If there was intelligent life (on another planet), I don’t see that as a contradiction with the Christian faith.”

Pope Francis had this to say last year:
    “If, for example, tomorrow an expedition of Martians came, and some of them came to us, here… Martians, right? Green, with that long nose and big ears, just like children paint them… And one says, ‘But I want to be baptized!’ What would happen?
    “When the Lord shows us the way, who are we to say, ‘No, Lord, it is not prudent! No, lets do it this way’… Who are we to close doors? In the early Church, even today, there is the ministry of the ostiary [usher]. And what did the ostiary do? He opened the door, received the people, allowed them to pass. But it was never the ministry of the closed door, never.”
    When the Vatican talks about this, it often makes allusions to the baptism of Gentiles into the early Christian church, which at first consisted largely of Jewish converts. In Acts, Peter says: “If God gave them the same gift he gave us who believed in the Lord Jesus Christ, who was I to think that I could stand in God’s way?”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Everything in the Bible and the Kuran all happened around a small area around Israel, Jordan, Iran, Iraq, Egypt etc

How can an almighty god be ruler of the universe when he isn't even bothered with ruling the rest of this little planet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

If there are millions of ntelligent societys out there, the chances are that some of them developed the concept of religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Put it in the Islam forum also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

I think certain religions should be banned in outer space.
    Suicide spacesuits shouldn't be a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Interestingly I've heard Islam doesn't rule out aliens, the Koran does specify we are not the only creation of God but doesnt explicitly mention any other except the jin. It also refers to him as ruler of the worlds plural, though this is probably supposed to mean the unseen world and heaven rather than the universe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I went looking for the Christianity forum to see what the responses were like there. It took me a while to find it because I assumed it would be under Recreation & Hobbies. When that didn't pan out I went looking in Social & Fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Jesus and Muhammad couldn't even appear on the next nearest continent let alone a different planet

But who would win in a fight.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Go ye therefore make disciples of all nations

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Everything in the Bible and the Kuran all happened around a small area around Israel, Jordan, Iran, Iraq, Egypt etc

How can an almighty god be ruler of the universe when he isn't even bothered with ruling the rest of this little planet?

At the time the most populated part of the planet and the crossroads between the three continents of Afro-Eurasia the largest landmass in the world.

To be fair if I were to choose one region for maximum spread, I would choose the Middle East.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

As I said before, the Hindu gods seem like a fairly decent bunch of lads and if anything came crawling out of a spaceship claiming to be some sort of galactic deity then it'll more than likely resemble one of those buckoes. They're fierce weird looking fellas with loads of arms and heads and would frighten the shìte out of a Martian, never mind Seàn Citizen demolishing his fish and chips while walking slowly home of an evening from a pub in Termonfeckin after a hard night's socialising.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    At the time the most populated part of the planet and the crossroads between the three continents of Afro-Eurasia the largest landmass in the world.

To be fair if I were to choose one region for maximum spread, I would choose the Middle East.
    Not even close to being the most populated part of the planet. Villages that didn't compare to Rome and certainly no where near as populous as the orient proper.

Also not a crossroads as long distance travel was by ship, because most people lived near the coast or went different routes. The silk road was to the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭pillphil

If we discovered aliens and they had already been visited by space-jesus/mohammed, would it convince you there was a god?

pillphil wrote: »
    If we discovered aliens and they had already been visited by space-jesus/mohammed, would it convince you there was a god?

For verily it was foretold by the prophet Chris de Burgh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Earth god is best god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Quantum Jesus

Quantum of Soulace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Its interesting that Jews Christians and Muslims centre their religions around Jerusalem. Do you really think it's because God isn't bothered ruling the rest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Genuine question for people who believe in God. Given the recent news of a potentially earth-like planet orbiting our nearest star, not to mention John Halligan's recent comments.

Do you also believe in an alien Jesus or alien prophets? Basically, if we were to prove the existence of intelligent life in the universe, via SETI, or the upcoming James Webb Space Telescope, does that mean that these planets will be visited by a little green man version of Jesus or Mohammed?

Only such a being who has been or can be will be determined by their own eye in the creation of their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Quantum Jesus

Interesting. Perhaps there were many Jesii across the universe, acting in unison through quantum entanglement.

What he said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

You could make it more complicated by introducing a multiverse and some Bran Stark-style time travel codology

Not even close to being the most populated part of the planet. Villages that didn't compare to Rome and certainly no where near as populous as the orient proper.

Also not a crossroads as long distance travel was by ship, because most people lived near the coast or went different routes. The silk road was to the north.

I didn't say individual cities, I said region, the Eastern part of the Roman Empire was far more populated than the West. The Middle East was the most urbanized and densely populated region in the world.

The silk road when straight through the Middle East. Not to the North.

I didn't say most trade wasn't by sea, I said the.middle east was the connection of trade between Africa Europe and Asia, which it was.