Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

QuietWean weaning paddles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭jfh

yeah patsy, i got them, haven't used them yet so i cant say, too early for us to wean.
    i bought them from a supplier in england, worked out pricey enough for what they are.
    the idea behind them is good.

I'll report back in a couple of weeks

BTW that faceBook link isn't working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭visatorro

jfh wrote: »
    yeah patsy, i got them, haven't used them yet so i cant say, too early for us to wean.
    i bought them from a supplier in england, worked out pricey enough for what they are.

Is there not a boards discount somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

must be a help anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

visatorro wrote: »
    jfh wrote: »

Is there not a boards discount somewhere!

There might be if you ask nicely!

Has anyone tried these? For sale on Donedeal now. They seem like a good idea.
    (Says he, with tongue in cheek.;))

https://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/quietwean-weaning-paddles/13193436?campaign=3

https://www.facebook.com/QuietWean-Ireland

A good idea? Bloody great idea! Buy them now before they sell out I say! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Any free samples? A few of us could test them and give an honest appraisal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Has anyone tried these?

I got some of these last year patsy but never used them! Just thought of them again when I seen this thread so this morning I weaned 4 Jan bull calves. 1st impressions is they are very difficult to insert. I'd say they are designed for smaller/younger calves. Will let you know how I get on and try to get video for you

Any free samples? A few of us could test them and give an honest appraisal.

When you get something for nothing you don't appreciate what you're getting Patsy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

unsure work 100% with all calves, some just turn there head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Are these not more or less the same thing as this type of thing that's on the market for years.

http://www.mullinahonecoop.ie/catalog/partdetail.aspx?partno=CTL00518

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=heXZlxJ0sX0

He deals with paddle loss, spike and cheaters here

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Are these not more or less the same thing as this type of thing that's on the market for years.

Those yokes are a disaster, easy put on but when you try to take them off the nut starts to spin in the plastic.
    I got a couple of the stainless steel ones with no spikes in the local co-op which are spring loaded and are a lot easier to use.

tanko wrote: »
    Those yokes are a disaster, easy put on but when you try to take them off the nut starts to spin in the plastic.
    I got a couple of the stainless steel ones with no spikes in the local co-op which are spring loaded and are a lot easier to use.

I didn't see those on the website but they were even more what i was thinking of and again on the market years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

No they are not, I would not subject any cow to those spikes.
    I imagine that some calves my cheat the system but imo the device looks broad enough to stop most calves from side sucking. Bass posted a good video where it is recommended that you only leave the device on for up to 5 days, which is enough to wean.

Base price wrote: »
    No they are not, I would not subject any cow to those spikes.
    I imagine that some calves my cheat the system but imo the device looks broad enough to stop most calves from side sucking. Bass posted a good video where it is recommended that you only leave the device on for up to 5 days, which is enough to wean.

Okay maybe you misunderstood what I meant by more or less the same thing. They are a device that prevents suckling that is inserted into the nose of the calf.
    The other flat nonspiked stainless steel ones would be a better example but I couldn't get a picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Forget about the spiked ones. How do the so called paddles compare to these on price and durability

http://www.mullinahonecoop.ie/catalog/partdetail.aspx?PartNo=CTL00585

As previous poster says, these have been around for years

Farmer wrote: »
    Forget about the spiked ones. How do the so called paddles compare to these on price and durability

http://www.mullinahonecoop.ie/catalog/partdetail.aspx?PartNo=CTL00585

As previous poster says, these have been around for years

Thats the one I was thinking of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Thats the one I was thinking of.

That's what I've started using for older animals stealing milk off quiet/dumb heifers and cows. I find them easy to use and very effective. Can't remember how much they cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

tanko wrote: »
    That's what I've started using for older animals stealing milk off quiet/dumb heifers and cows. I find them easy to use and very effective. Can't remember how much they cost.

Same as that. If they loose one in the field or shed your not to worried about it going up another animals foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

No looing yet but one calf managed to lose the nose paddle. Cows are more stressed than calves looing for calf to suck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Same as that. If they loose one in the field or shed your not to worried about it going up another animals foot.
    Those ones are alot better than the spiky ones as they are spring loaded

Well lads anyone use them and were they a success.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

A friend did and said they were great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

They worked well. About four calves got them off

Did you spot them again on Donedeal? :D

Yes how are the sales going. Who was it that spotted them first on youtube.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

We used them, pretty good overall, the calves remsined quiet, they,re easy enough to fit. Dont forget to have a creep area for the calves when you leave the bunch to a bare paddock. Remove after 5OR 6 Days. Great not having wire pulled down aĺl over the place.

No I'm not selling them. Someone else oh here might be though.

I hear they're going great! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭jd06

Well lads and lassies anyone using the quiet wean paddles this year
    110 euro for 25 and 50euro for 10
    Thought they were pricey. Any experience. Can they be bought over the counter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

€5 a head and mostly reusable. Occasional loss or break. Thus real cost half that.

No bawling or stress, good value, I think.

Having made plastic components, manufacturing price alone would be €2. Wouldn't make them for less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭50HX

50HX wrote: »

They are more for cows that suck. I get them ones instead of the spike ones. If they loose them in the shed or field I'd doesn't matter it another one stands on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭pure breed

They are more for cows that suck. I get them ones instead of the spike ones. If they loose them in the shed or field I'd doesn't matter it another one stands on it.

We used the yellow weaner pads last summer and found them very good.
    Using 3 at the moment in shed on heifers that calved this autumn that are sucking other cows in the pen. Put a couple of small screws through them to add a bit of a pinch. :)

pure breed wrote: »
    We used the yellow weaner pads last summer and found them very good.
    Using 3 at the moment in shed on heifers that calved this autumn that are sucking other cows in the pen. Put a couple of small screws through them to add a bit of a pinch. :)

I found some work around them and turn their head and can still suck. It happens here mostly a month after calving. The ones that figure out how to work around it I think the hook is the only cure for it.

For some reason it seems to be autumn born cattle that do it.

Just checked price paid for 25 of yellow weaner pads €86 delivered.

Yeah we never had any that clever yet, but some of weanlings would be frothing at mouth trying to suck, had fooled oul lad into thinking they were sucking but closer inspection showed sucking air.
    I find the little spikes (screws put on them) move the sucked cow away.

pure breed wrote: »
    Just checked price paid for 25 of yellow weaner pads €86 delivered.

Yeah we never had any that clever yet, but some of weanlings would be frothing at mouth trying to suck, had fooled oul lad into thinking they were sucking but closer inspection showed sucking air.
    I find the little spikes (screws put on them) move the sucked cow away.

Had two feckers here that would look out for the cows calf to start sucking and then run over and sneak a suck from behind. It's a pet hate of mine so they got the road ha.

Haha same here very annoying. Had a replacement heifer here yesterday sucking a cow through a hole in a dividing gate that's there for shared water.
    Couldn't get over the cow be in right place to suck and opportunism of the heifer.
    Cows are too quiet here maybe :)