Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This Horse racing forum

• 22-08-2016 10:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭

This place has basically died a death over the last couple of weeks, and over moderation is being put forward as one of reasons why. Is there any appetite for admins/moderators and forum users to enter into a grown up discussion with a view to resolving differences?

I'd say a lot of the lads who used to contribute to the daily threads aren't as active any more. Without a tips thread, I think the daily threads are vital to the forum.

Might just be the case that this forum will only be busy around the big festival times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

Probably the time of year with the lack of good racing-most lads on here are prob jumps fans as well.Take a look at the Not606 horse racing forum.There is a daily thread on there and some very good tipsters too-I post under Ste D.Hope the mods let me post this now-No harm flirting with another forum esp as it so quiet on here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

Earendil wrote: »
    This place has basically died a death over the last couple of weeks, and over moderation is being put forward as one of reasons why. Is there any appetite for admins/moderators and forum users to enter into a grown up discussion with a view to resolving differences?

Fully agree and it's not just the last couple of weeks

Hopefully it can make a turn in the right direction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

tbh the forum has never really recovered from the 2014 World Cup incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Agree 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Remind us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

Remind us

No point going down that road the ones that where there no who's to blame for the way it ended up and for how this form turned out after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

Don't talk about off topic stuff in the off topic thread. Ahhh memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

I see a sponsored add by another forum on the top of this page today. It's a sign!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

Convert, would you or the other mods have a view on this?

The latest thread that seemed to be a flashpoint, and the one that I think may coincide with this forum going very quiet, was the one re the Charles Byrnes runners at Roscommon a few weeks back.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057629561&page=2

On it you make reference to stop using the term 'Gamble'. I wasn't involved on the thread but I recall thinking that was strange at the time as the RP and press in general were referring to it as a gamble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

The foolishness of the 2014 incident among other reasons are why i dont post on the horse racing forums anymore.that forum site mentioned above looks good and they might be getting my business in future.its not only recently the horse racing forum here as gone downhill,its been sliding into an abyss for quite a while.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Howya Jess

• Company Representative Posts: 16 Verified rep OLBG: SteveM

Hey Mig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

BumperD wrote: »
    I see a sponsored add by another forum on the top of this page today. It's a sign!

Haha not a sponsored ad mlad-i post on not606 and here but it's dead there days-just saying there is another decent forum if anyone interested

I was referring to the olbg add showing on my iPad!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Earendil wrote: »
    Convert, would you or the other mods have a view on this?

The latest thread that seemed to be a flashpoint, and the one that I think may coincide with this forum going very quiet, was the one re the Charles Byrnes runners at Roscommon a few weeks back.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057629561&page=2

On it you make reference to stop using the term 'Gamble'. I wasn't involved on the thread but I recall thinking that was strange at the time as the RP and press in general were referring to it as a gamble.

I got a weeks ban over nothing on that topic. Probably get another one now.

The fact that a mod still hasn't replied to this shows they aren't active members of the forum which only makes the situation worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭hawkhead

I loved this forum not a prolific poster by any means just enjoyed reading posts by folk that knew their **** (and those that didn't). Knowledge and info was put out there for everyone, banter on the most part was good and added to the enjoyment of the place.
    Yet for some reason the powers that be decided to moderate in a way that was always going to mess things up.

The results are obvious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Just to lighten the mood, is it OK for me to post a winner here for Bellewestown this evening?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

hawkhead wrote: »
    I loved this forum not a prolific poster by any means just enjoyed reading posts by folk that knew their **** (and those that didn't). Knowledge and info was put out there for everyone, banter on the most part was good and added to the enjoyment of the place.
    Yet for some reason the powers that be decided to moderate in a way that was always going to mess things up.

The results are obvious
    Pretty much the same myself. Avid racing fan. Favourite sport after Football.
    Thoroughly enjoy reading the posts from Tryfix about breeding and Dosage index, PC and his Choo Choo picks and all the other posters putting up selections and analysis. Hopefully it picks back up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

Agree with most of what's been said in this thread.

Used to really enjoy this forum, massively regressive these days and no sign of anything changing in that regard.

Plastering sponsored ads all over the place prob not the answer either.

Just to lighten the mood, is it OK for me to post a winner here for Bellewestown this evening?

What do ye reckon? I'm a little nervous:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭CH3OH

What do ye reckon? I'm a little nervous:confused:

mrsdoyle2_2.jpg

CH3OH wrote: »
    mrsdoyle2_2.jpg

I don't know , I'm scared:confused: what if someone gets cross with me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭CH3OH

I don't know , I'm scared:confused: what if someone gets cross with me?

tumblr_mtzsut0tAO1sjwg5lo1_500.gif

CH3OH wrote: »
    tumblr_mtzsut0tAO1sjwg5lo1_500.gif

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:, WIIL I NAME THE HORSE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

Why don't you just stick it up on gazza1's "Wed 24th august" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

I don't think the forum can ever go back to the way it was. When Rossom and The Kid were posting tipping advice this place was really alive, they're long gone and some of the busiest posters who used to keep the forum going have also pulled back or left because of various incidents.

The only way to stop the forum from dying is if posters keep on posting despite the current situation. Use it or lose it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭minibear

I miss how busy this place used to be. I know feck all about the sport only that I love it and I've learned a lot from reading here. From the reasoning behind fancies & tips to breeding, general gossip, I find it all interesting and fun. I never have anything to contribute but I really appreciate all the posts and what I've picked up (both from a general information and also a betting perspective) :)

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:, WIIL I NAME THE HORSE?

Why didn't someone reassure me and tell me to go ahead?
    The won in the first:D @ 25-1!l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Right up there with some of the worst after timing ever on this forum I'd say

Look all ye had to do was ask the name of the horse, no point in taking it out on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Look all ye had to do was ask the name of the horse, no point in taking it out on me.

Refer Mrs Doyle gif!

Jesus that after timing is even worse than the world cup ****e

i think realdanbreen couldn't see the mrs doyle images. they don't show up on my phone, only on the pc.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I am undoubtedly the one that "triggered" the 2014 incident, and as a result of that I've been trying not to get involved here unless absolutely necessary.

I don't want to go into that again - an Admin was involved at the time and the issue was resolved, even if not to everyone's satisfaction. However I would just add one thing that some, but certainly not all, of you will be aware. That 2014 "incident" was the culmination of a year or more of issues with the forum and something was bound to bring it to a head at some stage. For any of you that still harbour grudges, all I can do is apologise for my own actions, although I would contend there were a number of mitigating circumstances

That brings me onto certain things that have taken place on the forum. I note mention of an individual that used the forum for effectively advertising a paid tipping service. To be clear that is entirely against site rules. Anyone advertising can expect a straight site ban, although I do not believe that ever happened in this case as the mod and CMods did not alert the Admins to what was going on (which has now ceased)

On the issue of forum traffic, I have looked at the month of August in 2012 (when the last Olympics were going on). I think that's a fair comparison and would note that forum traffic has dropped 30% since then. However I would add that traffic across the site is down 35% based on the same comparison

So yes traffic is down. Also the issues we had during that 2013/14 period have reduced drastically. Yes some of the more "colourful" characters may no longer be around here, but equally some of the more troublesome posters are also not posting (for a variety of reasons I am sure)

Now one further point - I have no issue with this thread remaining open as a general forum feedback. The forum is probably overdue one (although in future please ask the local mods first). If there are any specific complaints about modding, this is not the place to air them. You can contact a CMod (and there are 4 of us so it certainly does not have to be me). After that you can start a thread in the Help Desk Forum. However your starting point should be to discuss it with the local mods first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

minibear wrote: »
    i think realdanbreen couldn't see the mrs doyle images. they don't show up on my phone, only on the pc.

Could the realdanbreen actually be minibearpretendingtobedanbreen, stay tuned the plot thickens!

Well I have another one for Navan tomorrow but unless ye are nice to me I will keep it to myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 291 ✭✭Bigbok

Well I have another one for Navan tomorrow but unless ye are nice to me I will keep it to myself.

What's the name of the horse

Shemale wrote: »
    Could the realdanbreen actually be minibearpretendingtobedanbreen, stay tuned the plot thickens!

what, like some sort of hermaphrodite horse racing fan? no, sorry to disappoint. :p
    I've only ever got a few tips from someone myself in real life. don't know anyone involved apart from them, and the tips weren't very good either!

realdnbreen, there's a separate tipping (and fancies for today) thread in the Gambling forum here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1384

minibear wrote: »
    what, like some sort of hermaphrodite horse racing fan? no, sorry to disappoint. :p
    I've only ever got a few tips from someone myself in real life. don't know anyone involved apart from them, and the tips weren't very good either!

realdnbreen, there's a separate tipping (and fancies for today) thread in the Gambling forum here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1384

I'm aware of that but I really wanted just to spead a bit of joy around here instead. Now if a few more of ye ask me nicely I will name the horse(after I get on my few bob at lunchtime today) I mean where else would you get this kind of service?:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Jaze Dan will you give it a rest?

This is a feedback thread. Take your tips to the daily or Rossom appreciation thread.

Bit pathetic you want people to literally beg for a tip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

It does seem a little egotistical alright

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Jaze Dan will you give it a rest?

This is a feedback thread. Take your tips to the daily or Rossom appreciation thread.

Hey! I'll take my tips wherever I like pal.
    I won't be PM you the horse and that's for sure.

I'm sure he's absolutely devastated.... :rolleyes::rolleyes:

I've set up a Saturday thread for you Dan. If we go down the road of requesting a popularity contest in advance etc for contributions, the forum is screwed. Everyone posts information freely, and generally reads the aftertiming sticky. Good luck

Back on topic, this thread seems to have generated a much needed boost in contributions, long may it last

OK, just take them somewhere else mate and quit spamming the thread

Beasty wrote: »
    I am undoubtedly the one that "triggered" the 2014 incident, and as a result of that I've been trying not to get involved here unless absolutely necessary.

I don't want to go into that again - an Admin was involved at the time and the issue was resolved, even if not to everyone's satisfaction. However I would just add one thing that some, but certainly not all, of you will be aware. That 2014 "incident" was the culmination of a year or more of issues with the forum and something was bound to bring it to a head at some stage. For any of you that still harbour grudges, all I can do is apologise for my own actions, although I would contend there were a number of mitigating circumstances

That brings me onto certain things that have taken place on the forum. I note mention of an individual that used the forum for effectively advertising a paid tipping service. To be clear that is entirely against site rules. Anyone advertising can expect a straight site ban, although I do not believe that ever happened in this case as the mod and CMods did not alert the Admins to what was going on (which has now ceased)

On the issue of forum traffic, I have looked at the month of August in 2012 (when the last Olympics were going on). I think that's a fair comparison and would note that forum traffic has dropped 30% since then. However I would add that traffic across the site is down 35% based on the same comparison

So yes traffic is down. Also the issues we had during that 2013/14 period have reduced drastically. Yes some of the more "colourful" characters may no longer be around here, but equally some of the more troublesome posters are also not posting (for a variety of reasons I am sure)

Now one further point - I have no issue with this thread remaining open as a general forum feedback. The forum is probably overdue one (although in future please ask the local mods first). If there are any specific complaints about modding, this is not the place to air them. You can contact a CMod (and there are 4 of us so it certainly does not have to be me). After that you can start a thread in the Help Desk Forum. However your starting point should be to discuss it with the local mods first

All that is fair enough even though some of those "colourful characters" are certainly missed.

The recent dry spell was certainly triggered by convert's intervention on the Charles Byrne's "gamble" posts. She appears to have gone to ground since then which is hard to understand. Why continue as a mod if she hasn't even got a contribution to make on this thread?

My own view is that no racing forum can function if commenting on coups and gambles is outlawed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Imhof Tank wrote:
    The recent dry spell was certainly triggered by convert's intervention on the Charles Byrne's "gamble" posts. She appears to have gone to ground since then which is hard to understand. Why continue as a mod if she hasn't even got a contribution to make on this thread?

Well said