Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Expensive Stag-Do's

• 22-08-2016 9:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭

So, a good pal of mine from Glasgow is having his stag-do in a couple of weeks.

He has been chatting to me on and off about potential locations and was suggesting places like Dublin, Galway, Cork; all within Ireland as he wanted to "get away somewhere".

He confirmed yesterday that the stag-do will be held in London and that everyone should book into a hotel in Covent Garden... I mean, FFS, could he have picked a more expensive location?

Accommodation for the 2 nights is €400, with flights, transfers and car parking another €200... that's €600 before we even factor in booze / food etc. I am now expecting this to cost me in the region of €1000.

I know it's his stag-do, but as his family is rich, money is never a factor to him.... What is it with people and expensive stag-do destinations?

He'll ridicule me if I'm not there for the full weekend (I was considering only going one night due to the huge costs), but this is more than I can reasonably afford right now.

We all could have went to mainland Europe for a lot less. Thoughts on how to handle?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Just don't go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭webpal

book your own hotel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Tell him the truth. You can't afford it and you'll catch up with him at the wedding. I'll be honest, there's no way I'd put myself under financial pressure to attend something over a fear of being slagged for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

Yeah went to a stag before booked separate flights and hotel,came in alot cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

He has been chatting to me on and off about potential locations and was suggesting places like Dublin, Galway, Cork; all within Ireland as he wanted to "get away somewhere".

He confirmed yesterday that the stag-do will be held in London and that everyone should book into a hotel in Covent Garden... I mean, FFS, could he have picked a more expensive location?

Accommodation for the 2 nights is €400, with flights, transfers and car parking another €200... that's €600 before we even factor in booze / food etc. I am now expecting this to cost me in the region of €1000.

I know it's his stag-do, but as his family is rich, money is never a factor to him.... What is it with people and expensive stag-do destinations?

He'll ridicule me if I'm not there for the full weekend (I was considering only going one night due to the huge costs), but this is more than I can reasonably afford right now.

We all could have went to mainland Europe for a lot less. Thoughts on how to handle?

See the bolded parts. He's not really, is he?

I'd skip it, and be honest with him. "Sorry dude, it's just too expensive for me."

Don't feel guilty. My sister went and held her wedding party in one of the most affluent resorts in Europe. We did tactfully suggest that she seek out somewhere more reasonable for her guests sake, but no way would she. She was upset then about the relatively poor attendance from guests on her side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Try AirBnB and see can you find a nice apartment that would allow a group of you to stay and it would also allow you to cook meals.

Try and stay a bit further out from Covent Garden to save on accommodation (although transport costs would increase).

London is an expensive city to stay in and socialise in, and will be hard to get around that. Certainly not a place I would suggest for a stag.

Failing all else, don't go. Easier said than done, but no point putting yourself under financial strain for someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭afatbollix

There is nothing wrong in saying Sorry I cant go its too expensive. If they do take the piss are they really your friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭GBX

See the bolded parts. He's not really, is he?

I'd skip it, and be honest with him. "Sorry dude, it's just too expensive for me."

Don't feel guilty. My sister went and held her wedding party in one of the most affluent resorts in Europe. We did tactfully suggest that she seek out somewhere more reasonable for her guests sake, but no way would she. She was upset then about the relatively poor attendance from guests on her side!

This, as you said he has him being from money, I wouldn't imagine costs came into it. If he is a good friend - you should be able to tell him out straight without judgement ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭rogercross

I agree with the above posters, I've skipped 2 expensive stags and one astronomically expensive wedding due to the ridiculous costs the people in question were forcing on their friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Haven't been to one in years. Even good friends. I find the 'I don't go to stags' line works really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

If he had it in Galway or Cork , how much really would you be saving ?
    It certainly going to cost you 7-800 here anyway.
    Book cheaper accommodation , very easy to do in London and/or go for 1 night , that certainly will get you back to your budget for Ireland and probably take you cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

we've had a few people suggest that the hotel the wedding is in is too pricy and my OH's family even suggested we look at something cheaper. I sent them a few cheap hotels within a few mile radius if they want they can stay there.

My stag is in Amsterdam 4 days an Ajax game and good few other activity's , again her uncles and cousins are not impressed because they cant afford it and want to do a second one here which im not doing.

weddings and the associated stuff are pricey , go don't go but don't not go and then b1tch about the price of stuff it's just irritating. Granted your mate could have found somwhere cheaper then London but if that's what he wanted that's what he wanted.

I've had a few of the lads say they cant go for different reasons the only ones i've gotten annoyed with (OH's Family) or have had the piss ripped out of them are the ones that have complained about the cost. Think going for a night and taking the ribbing might be the best plan OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

Ryanair flight to London, use train and tube network to get to hotel. The Travelodge on Covent Garden is good value for the location, £69 single rate or £80 with breakfast and Wi-Fi.

https://www.travelodge.co.uk/hotels/318/London-Central-Covent-Garden-hotel

I've had a few of the lads say they cant go for different reasons the only ones i've gotten annoyed with (OH's Family) or have had the piss ripped out of them are the ones that have complained about the cost. Think going for a night and taking the ribbing might be the best plan OP

Wait, you're going to Amsterdam for 4 nights and you're taking the piss out of people who are complaining about the cost of it? Jesus…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭rogercross

we've had a few people suggest that the hotel the wedding is in is too pricy and my OH's family even suggested we look at something cheaper. I sent them a few cheap hotels within a few mile radius if they want they can stay there.

My stag is in Amsterdam 4 days an Ajax game and good few other activity's , again her uncles and cousins are not impressed because they cant afford it and want to do a second one here which im not doing.

weddings and the associated stuff are pricey , go don't go but don't not go and then b1tch about the price of stuff it's just irritating. Granted your mate could have found somwhere cheaper then London but if that's what he wanted that's what he wanted.

So basically you're one of those people.

rogercross wrote: »
    So basically you're one of those people.

What people , like i said no issue with people not being able to go just dont be winging at me that its to expensive you cant organiise an event like a stag or a wedding with a big group and suit everyone's budget/ spending power unless you plum for a cheap option and thats not nearly what me or the majority of the lads wanted for the stag or my fience wanted for the wedding.

I wouldnt mind if some of the lads came for 1 or two nights or sat out a few things overthere , its the ones complaining about the cost constantly are the ones wrecking my head. Me and the majority of my mates have well paying professional jobs my OH's family allot of them are manual or shift works on low end income , but i dont know why they expect me to either incur the cost of a second cheaper stag so they can go or constantly moan and complain that they cant afford the actual one .

To be honest anyone that's said they cant afford it and just left it at that is fine its really just the ones that keep bringing it up that are the irritation.

So you take the piss out of somebody because they can't afford it? Not really a thing a mate should be doing. Why ridicule somebody. Do you know their financial status?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭mjp

Glad your not one of my mates Walter. Say your OH family are delighted not to be going.
    Find it stupid and ridiculous that you would slag mates off for not being able to afford go on a 4 day stag to Holland. Incase you didn't realise a huge number of people in this country are struggling to pay their mortgages and get by from week to week.

GBX wrote: »
    So you take the piss out of somebody because they can't afford it? Not really a thing a mate should be doing. Why ridicule somebody. Do you know their financial status?

Come on when have you ever been in a group of lads that their hadsnt been contant taking the p1ss out of each other over everything. really its only 2 of the lads can go cuz of the money issues one of the lads were subbing and he's paying us back. the other lad b1tchs about the price of everything , ok he has a crap job but it gets kinda old fairly fast listneing to somone complain constantly about the price of things.

we actualy suggested to him that he come over for 1 night the flights were about €40 return and were renting a 15 man barge for the 4 nights at 80 a head but i'l be paid for by everyone else going so he could have just slept on the couch or the floor free of charge. but evrytime wer talking about it or planning while hes there he statrs moaning about the cost again and so yeh he gets the piss taken out of him

mjp wrote: »
    Glad your not one of my mates Walter. Say your OH family are delighted not to be going.
    Find it stupid and ridiculous that you would slag mates off for not being able to afford go on a 4 day stag to Holland. Incase you didn't realise a huge number of people in this country are struggling to pay their mortgages and get by from week to week.

None of the lads have morgages and the one not coming and complaining lives at home rent free with his folks.

I wish her family were just glad not to b going and would just drop it at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

What people , like i said no issue with people not being able to go just dont be winging at me that its to expensive you cant organiise an event like a stag or a wedding with a big group and suit everyone's budget/ spending power unless you plum for a cheap option and thats not nearly what me or the majority of the lads wanted for the stag or my fience wanted for the wedding.

I wouldnt mind if some of the lads came for 1 or two nights or sat out a few things overthere , its the ones complaining about the cost constantly are the ones wrecking my head. Me and the majority of my mates have well paying professional jobs my OH's family allot of them are manual or shift works on low end income , but i dont know why they expect me to either incur the cost of a second cheaper stag so they can go or constantly moan and complain that they cant afford the actual one .

To be honest anyone that's said they cant afford it and just left it at that is fine its really just the ones that keep bringing it up that are the irritation.

It's possible that you actually have genuine mates who can't afford your stag. Although they can't afford it, they would really like to be part of your stag as you are important to them. Their only options therefore are to go despite the fact they can't afford it (there are varying levels of "can't"); don't go; or see if they can talk you into some sort of affordable option.
    It's not really that unreasonable.

That said, if you're happy to have a fancy stag with only your fanciest friends present; fire away!

Come on when have you ever been in a group of lads that their hadsnt been contant taking the p1ss out of each other over everything. really its only 2 of the lads can go cuz of the money issues one of the lads were subbing and he's paying us back. the other lad b1tchs about the price of everything , ok he has a crap job but it gets kinda old fairly fast listneing to somone complain constantly about the price of things.

we actualy suggested to him that he come over for 1 night the flights were about €40 return and were renting a 15 man barge for the 4 nights at 80 a head but i'l be paid for by everyone else going so he could have just slept on the couch or the floor free of charge. but evrytime wer talking about it or planning while hes there he statrs moaning about the cost again and so yeh he gets the piss taken out of him

Thats fair enough if somebody is constantly whinging about price of everything. I work with a similar bloke. Does the head in alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

My stag is in Amsterdam 4 days...

Just the bare four days; would you not make it a full week while you are at it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Honestly just don't go. €1000 is twice what we had to spend for a week away in Ireland this summer for me, my husband and our toddler. That is a ludicrous amount of money to spend on a stag (or a hen). For most that is several months of savings. Don't bitch, don't moan just out with it and say sorry I can't afford that-have a great time

DavyD_83 wrote: »
    It's possible that you actually have genuine mates who can't afford your stag. Although they can't afford it, they would really like to be part of your stag as you are important to them. Their only options therefore are to go despite the fact they can't afford it (there are varying levels of "can't"); don't go; or see if they can talk you into some sort of affordable option.
    It's not really that unreasonable.

That said, if you're happy to have a fancy stag with only your fanciest friends present; fire away!

why should i have a stag im not happy with just to accomodate other people budget , i know what i can afford and then its up to them. like i said no issue with people picking and choosing what activitys they do overthere , how many days they go for and have sorted accomodation relitivly cheap for 4 nights at €30 a head per night basicly. my issue is only with "thiose People" who constantly whine about the price of everything.
    GBX wrote: »
    Thats fair enough if somebody is constantly whinging about price of everything. I work with a similar bloke. Does the head in alright.

Its the most annoying thing in the world ok if the person is genuinly destitute or whatever but like , he's said he not going cant affor it whatever and is still constanly complaining about the cost and saying were mad spending the money on it everytime it comes up , like there are lads with rent and worse jobs then him going and not complaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Organised my brothers one last year. Same thing trip to London . Had very few dropouts but we did have one or two due to cost. No issues. About 25 lads in total travelled... but wouldn't have if we didn't do a lot of the work for them..We organised a group rate in a hotel outside the centre and worked out at 110stg each b+b for the weekend which made the trip including flights(Ryanair) cheaper than the stay at home option of Galway.

Galway hotels are an utter rip off in my experience and it ain't that much cheaper than London as a place to go out.

We also got a group rate for dinner on both nights..just when asking about group rates..tell them you are a golf society or something..i.e. not a stag. The whole weekend cost me about 600 Eu in total..drink food transfers clubs etc

London can be done cheaper but you need to organise it better than saying book something in Covent gardens..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Most people i know consider stags and weddings a bit of a nuisance. To think they are all happy spend a lot of money on 4 days in Amsterdam is a bit naive. Many will but a fair few won't. That's just the reality. Especially when the next friend could be having his a few months down the line. Stags and weddings are an ongoing expense.

A guy at work only last week was giving out yards because he has been invited to two stags in quick succession, one in Hungary and the other in Dublin. He just can't afford it but feels he has to go.

vkid wrote: »
    . Galway hotels are an utter rip off in my experience and it ain't that much cheaper than London as a place to go out.

We also got a group rate for dinner on both nights..just when asking about group rates..tell them you are a golf society or something..i.e. not a stag. The whole weekend cost me about 600 Eu in total..drink food transfers clubs etc

London can be done cheaper but you need to organise it better than saying book something in Covent gardens..

Thats the thing like people have odd notions that going away is cheaper , like retun flights to Amsterdam wernt much more expensive then a train to Galway or Cork , we had far more options on hotels and air BnB then we would have here , theres more to do , food and drink is chaper.

London would be the same the OP has loads of options of just doing 1 night over there , like you could do it and not even book a hotel just stay out clubbing till 5 go for a McBreakfast and back to the airport or see if one of the other lads will let you shower and change in his room before you go for your flight back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,915 ✭✭✭Alkers

The best course of action to get a group of the people heading over to get a larger air bnb together. You can then cook some food there, do predrinking at offo prices etc and it should work out a lot cheaper than a hotel per person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭jockeyboard

The best hens nights i have been on were one night away close to dublin (where we live) no fancy stuff, good fun in rented house/hotel that dosnt cost anything-games and memories for the hen. Usually we chip in for some bubbles. Then a meal and out for dancing.
    Most of my friends have kids/mortgages etc so it suits majority expense wise and time wise.
    Feck sake, four nights away with activities?? London and convent garden?? Thats fine but dont expect most people to go.
    My good friend went away for her 30th on a trip that was expensive and said would love ya to go but understand if you cant.
    (Dont get me started on weekends away for 30s/40s birthday!)

Forgot to add...
    #notions!!

Feck sake, four nights away with activities?? London and convent garden?? Thats fine but dont expect most people to go.

Suppose it depends on who your friends are like i said we all have good jobs i'm the only one even looking at buying at the minute so no mortgages , some of the lads are still at home , no one has kids etc...

The Oh's family are not in the same boat shes from a very working class area and that and her uncles do have morgages kids crap jobs etc ... but there no way of keeping everyone happy.

Had i done one here the lads would have been p1ssed off becuse we live in Dublin and go out here regularly here and the golden rule is don't leave dublin unless its by plane , so had i just rented a holiday home in Kilkenny for a weekend , they'd have lost it i wouldn't have enjoyed but her family would have happily gone. Instead the lads are all buzzin for amsterdam and her family are throwing a strop and giving it the usual, notions stuff.

The one thing i've learned from doing the wedding planning is that you wil never ever please everybody so your better off just doing what you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

My brother, the best man, suggested having my stag in Eastern Europe but I ended up picking Galway for a Friday and Saturday night. My main reason was I didn't want to be pushing expense on the lads.

He found some great self-catering apartments in Salthill for the gang and we had a ball. Some did just Saturday night and others both nights so it was flexible.

I'm doing fairly alright for myself and could afford these Covent Garden and 4 day Amsterdam stags but I'd feel I'd be putting pressure on the lads. Probably doesn't hurt either that my family and relatives are rural folk from North Kerry and West Limerick - not known for spending money on fancy stuff even though they could afford to! :D

Thats the thing like people have odd notions that going away is cheaper , like retun flights to Amsterdam wernt much more expensive then a train to Galway or Cork , we had far more options on hotels and air BnB then we would have here , theres more to do , food and drink is chaper.

London would be the same the OP has loads of options of just doing 1 night over there , like you could do it and not even book a hotel just stay out clubbing till 5 go for a McBreakfast and back to the airport or see if one of the other lads will let you shower and change in his room before you go for your flight back.

I've honestly only ever stayed in a hotel once on a stag weekend. The rest were groups of houses rented together somewhere down the country for the weekend. Drive down Friday evening, back up Sunday evening. A cost of maybe €50-€100 for the accommodation between the 15-20 of you there, crates of beer, the cost of whatever activity you're going to do on the Saturday and the weekend costs about €200-350. For me, the stag is about getting your mates together for a great session and not being putting a load of expense on the people you want to spend the weekend with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Had i done one here the lads would have been p1ssed off becuse we live in Dublin and go out here regularly here and the golden rule is don't leave dublin unless its by plane , so had i just rented a holiday home in Kilkenny for a weekend , they'd have lost it

Don't know whether to go :rolleyes: or :D or :eek:. I'll go for :D on this one!

The Oh's family are not in the same boat shes from a very working class area and that and her uncles do have morgages kids crap jobs etc ... but there no way of keeping everyone happy.

I suspect you never had any intention of having her family along to it - might lower the tone with their working class ways - so win, win for you.
    Had i done one here the lads would have been p1ssed off becuse we live in Dublin and go out here regularly here and the golden rule is don't leave dublin unless its by plane

Cant quote but dont leave dublin unless its on a plane????
    My understanding of hens/stag is time to have fun with family/friends before the wedding.....that is the important thing is to be surrounded with friends/family.
    Btw, if my husband spoke about my family the way you speak about your wife to be i would be very hurt.

I've honestly only ever stayed in a hotel once on a stag weekend. The rest were groups of houses rented together somewhere down the country for the weekend. Drive down Friday evening, back up Sunday evening. A cost of maybe €50-€100 for the accommodation between the 15-20 of you there, crates of beer, the cost of whatever activity you're going to do on the Saturday and the weekend costs about €200-350. For me, the stag is about getting your mates together for a great session and not being putting a load of expense on the people you want to spend the weekend with.

flights to the Dam were €40 retun , the barge is €100 a head for all four nights so €1500 total , so thats 440 per heads flights and accomodation and everything were doing over ther is optional could be another €500-€600 if you do everything or just the cost of cans on the barge. don't feel that's particularly steep like , and probily equivilant to what youd spend here with far less to do

Don't know whether to go :rolleyes: or :D or :eek:. I'll go for :D on this one!

I had to go with :rolleyes: myself. Honestly, I've never had to deal with people like that. Thank Christ…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

If stags were like this, I'd go to stags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭tastyt

Suppose it depends on who your friends are like i said we all have good jobs i'm the only one even looking at buying at the minute so no mortgages , some of the lads are still at home , no one has kids etc...

Had i done one here the lads would have been p1ssed off becuse we live in Dublin and go out here regularly here and the golden rule is don't leave dublin unless its by plane , so had i just rented a holiday home in Kilkenny for a weekend , they'd have lost it i wouldn't have enjoyed but her family would have happily gone. Instead the lads are all buzzin for amsterdam and her family are throwing a strop and giving it the usual, notions stuff.

The one thing i've learned from doing the wedding planning is that you wil never ever please everybody so your better off just doing what you want.

If nobody else has said it, your fiancee is a very lucky woman and im sure her working class relatives with jobs not as good as yours are delighted you are now part of the family

endacl wrote: »
    If stags were like this, I'd go to stags.

This is all that's ever been done in my family and circle of friends. Is it an oddity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Come on when have you ever been in a group of lads that their hadsnt been contant taking the p1ss out of each other over everything.

"Haha, you can't afford to go"

Yeah, I've been out with people that don't go on like that.

They're called 'friends'.

"Haha, you can't afford to go"

Yeah, I've been out with people that don't go on like that.

They're called 'friends'.

'Hahaha, you're poor! I have to hold my nose because you smell so bad! Because you're poor!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

I'm sure it could be made cheaper if you book your own stuff and If he ridicules you over not being able to afford it, he's a right w4nker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,741 ✭✭✭Bacchus

That is a very good thing to keep in mind but I would also keep in mind that if you ONLY please yourself you'll piss a lot of people off. At the end of the day you are inviting people to two events (stag/hen and wedding) that celebrate YOU (and your partner). Those people are going at their own expense and time and at the very least deserve your respect and consideration. Just because you and a few friends are in that sweet spot where you've got a good career going with few responsibilities to weigh it down (kids, mortgage), doesn't mean everyone is like that. Do things the way you want to do them but respect that for some people it's a big imposition and in some case simply not something they can afford.

Cant quote but dont leave dublin unless its on a plane????
    My understanding of hens/stag is time to have fun with family/friends before the wedding.....that is the important thing is to be surrounded with friends/family.
    Btw, if my husband spoke about my family the way you speak about your wife to be i would be very hurt.

Thats a kind of a joke rule with the lads but to be honest we have never been on a weekend away here but regularly go the UK for Football and have gone all over europe on holidays over the last 8 or 9 years , tbh ive still been to more citys in the UK and states in america then i have Counties here. The age when going away on a plane was fancy or notions or whatever is long over like.

I dont have anything against my Oh's family , don't think i've said anything to bad or untrue to be honest , i'm not close to them at all so it was more important to me that me and the lads had a good time away then have it here and have them involved.

Bacchus wrote: »
    That is a very good thing to keep in mind but I would also keep in mind that if you ONLY please yourself you'll piss a lot of people off. At the end of the day you are inviting people to two events (stag/hen and wedding) that celebrate YOU (and your partner). Those people are going at their own expense and time and at the very least deserve your respect and consideration. Just because you and a few friends are in that sweet spot where you've got a good career going with few responsibilities to weigh it down (kids, mortgage), doesn't mean everyone is like that. Do things the way you want to do them but respect that for some people it's a big imposition and in some case simply not something they can afford.

and ive no issue with that so long as people respect that i am and dont expect me to suit their budget and keep winging at me when i dont.

Apart from they are moaning cause they are poor and also that they have crap jobs.....wtf!!

Where is your fiances hens?? Is she having similar issues walter??