Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think the LC is fair?

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭TMJM96

Every point I'm about to make has been made but I think I want to focus on the fact we do 6+ subjects.

I'm so glad we do, if we didn't I would not be studying what I am now studying in college. When I was 15/16 I thought I wanted to pursue Arts/Humanities in college so I chose History, German and Music. Since I needed a fourth subject I chose Physics on a whim. If I was to choose 3/4 subjects I wouldn't have done Maths and Physics (bad experiences with JC teachers who made me hate the subjects).

I ended up really enjoying and getting good grades in Physics and I was doing alright at Maths, so I decided to study Physics in college (and going into my second year!). This wouldn't have happened if we followed the A-Level system. It's great if you know what you want to do at 15/16 but a lot of people don't. Also, just because they go more in depth at A-Levels doesn't mean they understand it fully. My friend is doing Maths & Physics in England and although her classmates studied stuff more in depth, they're not necessarily that good at it. That's where the bell curve comes in again.

The LC is important but not that important. I scraped into my course and ended up doing as well as those who got 110+ points more than me. I know people who after the LC went to work and are working their way up in companies. My friend is currently interning in a journalism company based just off the work he did during a gap year.