Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Ploughing Championships 2016

• 18-08-2016 10:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭

Well here we are folks with another year past us and it's that time again for the farmers mecca.

So who's thinking of going to the show? Anyone here going to have a stand at it? Maybe a boardsie tea room :D
    What ya going to see or what might be of interest for people to throw an eye over?

Going to have a look at this new product from alstrong. If the price is right I might purchase or maybe make one over the winter :D

http://www.alstrong.ie/alstrong-auctus

P.S first dibs on any spare/free tickets that are offered :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Base price wrote: »
    Security Alert ;)

Hope to go for a day out. Not in the market for anything - no money to spend.

Ah you ladies always have a stash somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ah you ladies always have a stash somewhere
    Yeah we do and it's called "run away money" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I was there last year. I got a pair of tickets in the post.
    Not sure if i'm going this year.

Where about's is the site? Is it near where the tullamore show is?

Just noticed I've the wrong date on the thread title......jaysus above.

Full year ahead of myself :rolleyes:

Maybe a mod might sort that for me :o

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I was there last year. I got a pair of tickets in the post.
    Not sure if i'm going this year.

Where about's is the site? Is it near where the tullamore show is?

Just a few miles back from the tullamore show grounds towards tullamore town

Just noticed I've the wrong date on the thread title......jaysus above.

Full year ahead of myself :rolleyes:

Maybe a mod might sort that for me :o

I hope you don't be writing out cheques like that.:D

Well **** it anyways :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

First time in 4 or 5 years I'll have a chance to go so I probably will. Looking forward to it big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ye have a free ticket, will bring eldest lad. Havent been in a few years

Jesus jack your not found of glanbia.
    And reggie if you can make one of them I'll take my hat off to yea!
    Dont think there's any love lost for them at the minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Reggie. wrote:
    So who's thinking of going to the show? Anyone here going to have a stand at it? Maybe a boardsie tea room What ya going to see or what might be of interest for people to throw an eye over?

Will be working for the 3 days on the company's stand. If it's anything like last year I won't get to see much of the rest of the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Tickets got & everyone ready to go.
    Now which day ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

ill probably go Thursday like last year.

Back exhibiting next year so last chance for a good look

Got a call off alstrong and that machine is costing €11500 +vat. Mmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

We went to New Ross a couple of years ago after a long break from going. No drama getting there for us despite the horror stories that abounded. I literally wouldn't go across the road to it ever again. I can think of only one or two other occasions when I felt more robbed by a day out/event. Beyond sh1te. Save the diesel money Whelan. Bring the young lad to a couple of matches in Dublin over the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

... Going to have a look at this new product from alstrong. If the price is right I might purchase or maybe make one over the winter :D

http://www.alstrong.ie/alstrong-auctus
    Did you not make up one of them before?

We went to New Ross a couple of years ago after a long break from going. No drama getting there for us despite the horror stories that abounded. I literally wouldn't go across the road to it ever again. I can think of only one or two other occasions when I felt more robbed by a day out/event. Beyond sh1te. Save the diesel money Whelan. Bring the young lad to a couple of matches in Dublin over the winter.

Everyone to their own.
    Personally I feel this site has potential, especially if Rail could be promoted & regular shuttle service, reduce cars & reduce stress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Young chaps want to go, will have to negotiate strongly if I want their uncle or Mammy to take them. Just cannot see the attraction of not being able to see anything bar people

Did you not make up one of them before?

Not the acutus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

To all who are going if any of ye see a man selling magic mops or dirt cheap perfume for the women folk steer well clear.

I remember down in Middleton the perfume man was plying his trade all the women couldn't resist the samples he was giving and spent €50 for heaps of the stuff only to find out the perfume they bought wasn't like the samples :D

Then there was mop man with his magic mop that would dry up all the water in Cambodia, they were buying them for a tenner a pop like they would never again see a mop. Men and women alike were taken by his spin, some even bought 2-3 mops. The mops didn't make it half way across the kitchen floor when they were binned :eek:

In fairness New Ross was a diaster compared to all the other years, last year was the first time I missed it in 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Longford Leader

Will be going to it on my own. The kids get to go to the Tullamore show which is more family friendly.

I go every year, I even survived that New Ross site where the whole country headed for the one corner :rolleyes:

Jesus Reggie you must have the keys to the bank vault :D

Will be going to it on my own. The kids get to go to the Tullamore show which is more family friendly.

I go every year, I even survived that New Ross site where the whole country headed for the one corner :rolleyes:

Jesus Reggie you must have the keys to the bank vault :D

More expensive than I thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Farrell wrote: »
    Everyone to their own.
    Personally I feel this site has potential, especially if Rail could be promoted & regular shuttle service, reduce cars & reduce stress

The site wasn't the problem. Biggest delay we had on access was waiting for the ferry. Everything else was the problem. Too many things that were just horrendous to even start listing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Agree totally with you.
    Went for a few years and swore each and every time to never go again .Haven't gone for years despite it being pretty near to me.

Never saw the attraction and always felt it was a victory of hype over reality.A private company charging you for the privilege of being cannon fodder for each and every snake oil salesman with a remote connection to agriculture and many with no connection at all.
    All that Farmers Journal country living,Macra,Darina Allen,Green Food Island,IFA,,Joe Duffy,Met Eireann,Hunter wellies,unnecessary expensive luxury machinery promoted(is 5k for some thing to take net wrap off a bale really needed etc etc )gives me a pain.

Seems like its just another item on an annual bucket list for many and listening to RTE etc and reading the papers rehashing a three card trick sales technique would wear after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Hoping To go- I used organise it as a school trip from School but one yr a guy took it over and I have to be creative in my excuses to book it off. Love all of these shows. Wife will go without me but will bring the child.

Agree totally with you.
    Went for a few years and swore each and every time to never go again .Haven't gone for years despite it being pretty near to me.

Never saw the attraction and always felt it was a victory of hype over reality.A private company charging you for the privilege of being cannon fodder for each and every snake oil salesman with a remote connection to agriculture and many with no connection at all.
    All that Farmers Journal country living,Macra,Darina Allen,Green Food Island,IFA,,Joe Duffy,Met Eireann,Hunter wellies,unnecessary expensive luxury machinery promoted(is 5k for some thing to take net wrap off a bale really needed etc etc )gives me a pain.

Seems like its just another item on an annual bucket list for many and listening to RTE etc and reading the papers rehashing a three card trick sales technique would wear after a while.
    Jaysus you'd put anyone off going. It's a day out and doesn't cost a lot, personally the snake oil salesmen as you call them rarely contact you after, you contact them if interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Jaysus you'd put anyone off going. It's a day out and doesn't cost a lot, personally the snake oil salesmen as you call them rarely contact you after, you contact them if interested.
    Looking at tractors and stock here every day of the year so to me a day out involves something a little different to the same old same old.That's just me or maybe just getting crooked as old age approaches.
    To be honest never got the attraction of looking at machinery or stock in a sea of mud and paying for the privelige.

The main advantage is if you are interested in buying something most of the dealers are in the one place so you can price around etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Myself and a few mates are going, nothing in particular to look at but a good beering session and a bit of farming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Coolfresian

Always find it a good day out. However I generally prefer the shows in the summer, hard to beat tullamore. Will go 1 or 2 days again. Some of the trade stands are decent and always something to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    The main advantage is if you are interested in buying something most of the dealers are in the one place so you can price around etc
    I'm going this year after missing it for the last few years. Looking for a few bits for the coming year so will do a spot of comparing on the day and finish off at Millstreet later in the year if I decide to go ahead. It's handy having the main lads in one spot near each other where you get a bit of info from one and can ask in the others.

I just wish they would organise it a bit better by separating out the life style sections and entertainment from the machinery. At least then there might be a bit of room to actually see the machinery and move from stand to stand without getting hit by mops and fireplaces:(

I'm going this year after missing it for the last few years. Looking for a few bits for the coming year so will do a spot of comparing on the day and finish off at Millstreet later in the year if I decide to go ahead. It's handy having the main lads in one spot near each other where you get a bit of info from one and can ask in the others.

I just wish they would organise it a bit better by separating out the life style sections and entertainment from the machinery. At least then there might be a bit of room to actually see the machinery and move from stand to stand without getting hit by mops and fireplaces:(
    How do you get hit by a fireplace?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

How do you get hit by a fireplace?
    I went on the last day a good few years ago, Oak Parks last year, and some of the stands were selling off stuff at cost price including a timber lintel of a fireplace which I hit going around a corner too fast:o:D

The worst of all are the scavengers looking for free food, we were in the super value tent one year and only one other person and the man at the counter put out samples of brown bread with ham and relish. He no sooner had them landed on the counter and the place was swarmed and every bit of bread gone, do the fcukers eat at home at all? They are the same with the portaloo's some b@stards will sh1t in every one of them, why don't they leave their sh1t at home.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The worst of all are the scavengers looking for free food, we were in the super value tent one year and only one other person and the man at the counter put out samples of brown bread with ham and relish. He no sooner had them landed on the counter and the place was swarmed and every bit of bread gone, do the fcukers eat at home at all? They are the same with the portaloo's some b@stards will sh1t in every one of them, why don't they leave their sh1t at home.
    Go to the toilet before you get there and as soon as you leave. Men are lucky.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

I was at Tullamore last weekend and i see a woman must av been 60 years old approaching a stand i was at. Takes a writing pen off the stand puts it in her plastic carrier bags with the 50 other pens she had got already. The ploughing is full of these people, do they not know you can buy a pack of 10 writing pens for €2.

liam7831 wrote: »
    I was at Tullamore last weekend and i see a woman must av been 60 years old approaching a stand i was at. Takes a writing pen off the stand puts it in her plastic carrier bags with the 50 other pens she had got already. The ploughing is full of these people, do they not know you can buy a pack of 10 writing pens for €2.
    They have copped on to the pen grabbers at the ploughing the last few years :)

whelan2 wrote: »
    Go to the toilet before you get there and as soon as you leave. Men are lucky.....
    On the side of the motorway, definitely not, even though I saw a man in his 50's after the ploughing one year on the slip road onto the motorway p1ssing away to his hearts content brazen out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

More expensive than I thought

Buy a handy plough and land level and roller on dd and you'll have twice a better reseed job done.

It's that way a few years now. Machinery is usually in its own section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Buy a handy plough and land level and roller on dd and you'll have twice a better reseed job done.

I'd never plough again here for reseed. No depth of topsoil. Only turning it down and bringing up subsoil.

I'd question viability of reseeding anyways on beef farm outside of say silage ground.

Muckit wrote: »
    I'd never plough again here for reseed. No depth of topsoil. Only turning it down and bringing up subsoil.

I'd question viability of reseeding anyways on beef farm outside of say silage ground.

Would you not double plough (turn now leave & again in the spring).
    Ranger mentioned this before, that building up P & K would be cheaper & more beneficial than reseeding, but ploughing does improve drainage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭White Clover

Farrell wrote: »
    Would you not double plough (turn now leave & again in the spring).
    Ranger mentioned this before, that building up P & K would be cheaper & more beneficial than reseeding, but ploughing does improve drainage

A healthy soil with plenty of life in it will improve drainage more than any amount of machinery. Get the earthworms etc to do the drainage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Different soil I suppose, I'd never do a reseed without ploughing agin. I think the seed bed if far better and it allowed grass roots to go much deeper in healthy soil. Better drainage and better uptake of minerals in the grass with the deeper roots. obviously you need good P&K and om. When the grass sward gets tired reseeding is %100 worth it on a beef farm. It pays ten times over compared to an old sward and more kg gain per day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I'll probably do a day there seeing as it's close to me. I might even take a look at the ploughing. Particularly the vintage ploughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I'll probably do a day there seeing as it's close to me. I might even take a look at the ploughing. Particularly the vintage ploughing.

Wha! Actually watch ploughing!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Milkybar Kid.

usually get 3 tickets off my glanbia branch so I'll be going for 2 days. Looking to buy a hedgecutter and maybe a slurry tank.

How do you manage to get 3 tickets from them?