Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JobPath/Turas Nua Information Session?

• 18-08-2016 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭

Hey all,

I've been 'invited' to attend one of these group meetings next week and will also have to attend a further 'individual meeting' with an 'Employment Advisor' to 'discuss my employment objectives, identify any supports needed to achieve my employment goal and to develop a Personal Progression Plan', which all sounds a bit corporate and impersonal IMO.

I've very little idea of what to expect and, despite recently asking an employment advisor in Intreo and a couple of people in the local DSP office about Turas Nua and what they're doing, there's very little specific, first-hand or practical information actually available or readily accessible about them, who they are or how they conduct their business.

So, if anyone here can help inform me on exactly what to expect from this meeting and the best way to approach it; or indeed any background information on Turas Nua itself, I would be very grateful.

Thanks in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

More info on it here.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057498034

...........I dont think much of it, but some have positive experiences with it.

There is an element of putting a gun to your head about it, I wish it was better but.........??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Terpsichorean Master

jimmyw wrote: »
    More info on it here.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057498034

...........I dont think much of it, but some have positive experiences with it.

There is an element of putting a gun to your head about it, I wish it was better but.........??

Yeah, I read that thread yesterday, but it pretty quickly degenerated into an argument between a couple of the posters and ended up having very little useful information as a result. So I thought I'd start this thread instead and hopefully it would go a bit better!

How long have you been on it yourself?

And can you tell me anything about what that group information session meeting next week will be like?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

Posters are strongly advised to read the forum charter before posting on this thread,items 5 and 5a!!!!!.

mp22

Yeah, I read that thread yesterday, but it pretty quickly degenerated into an argument between a couple of the posters and ended up having very little useful information as a result. So I thought I'd start this thread instead and hopefully it would go a bit better!

How long have you been on it yourself?

And can you tell me anything about what that group information session meeting next week will be like?

I am on it since October and since then,two or three officers have left including the woman that was with me.I kinda lost all faith in it after that. I built up a rapport with her, and then she was gone in a shot.

I went through a training course at first on interviews and such. I then had to do a mock job interview and got written feedback. The guy was writing out stuff for 5 minutes. Some of us wore tie and shirts. I felt like a dork tbh.

About a month before all this I had monthly meetings with someone from the DSP itself and the fella was a demon.I had ideas in my head of bringing in a hammer to use on him.He mentioned this scheme before it came out and he said they will be ruthless. Well he was wrong,he was the one who was ruthless.

But on the last day with him,he was all sweetness and light, so maybe he was under pressure. So the turas nua staff are fine in the centre I go to any way but I am not sure it's doing any good though.

I am kinda left to my own devices now.

I am on it since October and since then,two or three officers have left including the woman that was with me.I kinda lost all faith in it after that. I built up a rapport with her, and then she was gone in a shot.

I went through a training course at first on interviews and such. I then had to do a mock job interview and got written feedback. The guy was writing out stuff for 5 minutes. Some of us wore tie and shirts. I felt like a dork tbh.

About a month before all this I had monthly meetings with someone from the DSP itself and the fella was a demon.I had ideas in my head of bringing in a hammer to use on him.He mentioned this scheme before it came out and he said they will be ruthless. Well he was wrong,he was the one who was ruthless.

But on the last day with him,he was all sweetness and light, so maybe he was under pressure. So the turas nua staff are fine in the centre I go to any way but I am not sure it's doing any good though.

I am kinda left to my own devices now.

That doesn't sound very promising, sorry to hear that it's not working out for you. I was talking to an advisor in Intreo last week and he said much the same thing about them wrt staff turnover, which doesn't bode well for any sort of effective or productive continuity. I mean if they can't keep their own staff in the job, how is anyone supposed to have confidence in their ability to do so for us and people like us?! Although I suppose being left to your own devices isn't the worst thing that could have happened either.

Just out of curiosity, what does that entail and how often do you have to meet with them etc?
    And how much longer will you have to do it for do you know?
    I heard it was twelve months at least, but obviously no-one's been on it quite that long yet.

Also, can you tell me anything about what the first meetings - group and one-to-one session - will be like and what should I expect or be prepared for?

Sorry for all the questions, but as I said it's almost impossible to get usable or practical information through the official channels, so any and all first-hand information you can provide is very welcome!

Dont mind the questions,ask away.I dont like to be negative all the time, I am sure there are people who find the service to be of benefit. Well that is great.

But I can only express my experience and we were all in a scheduled group around tables on a course to discuss interview techniques and questions and how to answer them. Thats the only one I was on.

With regard to the one to one, the advisers make an appointment for you to come in at an appointed time each week to go over your CV at first, and maybe twick it a bit and what areas you would like to go into and jobs you can apply for etc plus other associated stuff.I believe they work with some employers, but I haven't seen much of that.

From time to time, they fill in a monthly questionnaire on various topics with you about different things, (I actually forget!!).The rest of the time you go on the computer yourself to look up jobs in the centre.

I have found the advisers grand, but I dont know how effective the whole process is, but who knows, you might love it.I can really come in anytime and an adviser chats to me in general which suits me, so I am not complaining about that.

At first I actually had a bit of craic with my adviser but I kinda keep my distance from them now just in case they are gone in flash, but thats just ME!.

Dont mind the questions,ask away.I dont like to be negative all the time, I am sure there are people who find the service to be of benefit. Well that is great.

But I can only express my experience and we were all in a scheduled group around tables on a course to discuss interview techniques and questions and how to answer them. Thats the only one I was on.

With regard to the one to one, the advisers make an appointment for you to come in at an appointed time each week to go over your CV at first, and maybe twick it a bit and what areas you would like to go into and jobs you can apply for etc plus other associated stuff.I believe they work with some employers, but I haven't seen much of that.

From time to time, they fill in a monthly questionnaire on various topics with you about different things, (I actually forget!!).The rest of the time you go on the computer yourself to look up jobs in the centre.

I have found the advisers grand, but I dont know how effective the whole process is, but who knows, you might love it.I can really come in anytime and an adviser chats to me in general which suits me, so I am not complaining about that.

At first I actually had a bit of craic with my adviser but I kinda keep my distance from them now just in case they are gone in flash, but thats just ME!.

That all sounds pretty harmless I suppose, especially compared to some of the scare stories that are doing the rounds, but it's also very well-worn ground from a DSP/Intreo/LES point of view also and doesn't sound very productive or like it's really helping you either unfortunately.

Speaking of questionnaires, I read something about one that they use with some rather intrusive questions also (such as how do you respond emotionally to situations and have you or do you plan to commit criminal acts?), which I found to be quite worrying.

Is that accurate? Is there such a questionnaire - and how do/would they respond if you choose to not answer some of those questions, do you know?

Also, what are the monthly questionnaires like?
    Is it workplace related subjects or more like psychological profile type stuff?
    Or just more general subjects?

Thanks again!

......have you or do you plan to commit criminal acts?), which I found to be quite worrying.

Is that accurate? Is there such a questionnaire - and how do/would they respond if you choose to not answer some of those questions, do you know?

Also, what are the monthly questionnaires like?
    Is it workplace related subjects or more like psychological profile type stuff?
    Or just more general subjects?

Well once its done once, its only a matter of going over it again which only takes about 3-5 minutes to run through TBH.

Some of the questions I dont really think about too closely, I just answer something.I cant really remember the other questions I am asked.Maybe something like "how are you with money"?How do you feel about the CV...something along those lines.Yeah more like psychological I'd say alright.

I dont think they ask about criminal acts, I dont think thats true:confused:.
    Harmless stuff really.

You do get mileage expenses though, so much per miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

First appointment is simple enough.
    A small group is invited together.sign in,fill in a form (name,address etc,what type of work are you looking for).watch a short, PowerPoint type slideshow.
    Quick individual chat after that just to run through the form
    After that,appointment every few weeks for a one on one chat.Nothing too formal,seem to be just going through the motions.As i understand it,you're on it for a year (not sure what happens at the end)
    The three monthly interview is ok and not too intrusive.(do you have a car/interview clothes/can you work late etc)

Well once its done once, its only a matter of going over it again which only takes about 3-5 minutes to run through TBH.

Some of the questions I dont really think about too closely, I just answer something.I cant really remember the other questions I am asked.Maybe something like "how are you with money"?How do you feel about the CV...something along those lines.Yeah more like psychological I'd say alright.

I dont think they ask about criminal acts, I dont think thats true:confused:.
    Harmless stuff really.

You do get mileage expenses though, so much per miles.

So, does that mean that they ask you to do the questionnaire more than once? That seems a bit odd tbh, that it would it need to be done more than a single time.
    Can you remember how long did it take to do the first time btw?

And I certainly wouldn't consider an unfamiliar private company with whom people have to engage under threat of sanction, asking people questions about how they are with money to be at all harmless. That really is none of their business and a very curious subject matter for them to be asking people about IMO. What has that got to do with getting people a job!

I don't know where I came across the question wrt criminal activity, probably on another thread about this that I read before, but it's not really any more unusual than the question about money I think, and would all be part of building a psychological profile on those who fill them out I'd imagine. Either one would be pretty intrusive IMO and I don't think I'd be comfortable answering questions like that - did anyone that you know of refuse to answer some of the questions?

And what was/would be their likely response to it if someone did do you think?

Hope this doesn't come across like I'm putting you on the spot btw, I'm just glad to be able to find out as much as possible, so thanks again!

zoe 3619 wrote: »
    First appointment is simple enough.
    A small group is invited together.sign in,fill in a form (name,address etc,what type of work are you looking for).watch a short, PowerPoint type slideshow.
    Quick individual chat after that just to run through the form
    After that,appointment every few weeks for a one on one chat.Nothing too formal,seem to be just going through the motions.As i understand it,you're on it for a year (not sure what happens at the end)
    The three monthly interview is ok and not too intrusive.(do you have a car/interview clothes/can you work late etc)

Thanks for the response zoe 3619, appreciate it!

What's the form you mentioned about - is it another of those progression plan type things?
    Or do you mean the questionnaire that jimmyw mentioned?

And what's the three monthly interview btw?
    That's the first that I've heard about that!

Tbh there seems to be quite a variance between different offices and what they're asking people to do, so hard to know exactly what to expect.

When I first went in to the centre at the start, my advisor went through my CV and the areas I wanted to get into on the computer and went through this questionnaire asking about the areas mentioned already.

This process took a bit of time granted but after that, as Zoe, the previous poster has said, they review the questionnaire every few months, not every month as I said. It's so mind boggingly boring, I forget.

I also did a course with yet another private company about doing interviews that took about a day from I think 9-4. We only answered questions on forms as part of this course.

I don't know exactly what the purpose of the questionnaire is, but yeah, it's redone every few months, but it doesn't take that long after the first time though.

To be honest, I don't know if anyone has refused to answer any of the questions because I am only concerned with my self really. Personally I dont find them obtrusive, just pointless.

Every time you go in then after that, your advisor might have a talk with you for a few minutes,then the rest of the time,you can go on their computer looking for jobs by yourself. They may also give you a form recording what jobs you have applied for too.

If you feel uncomfortable answering any questions, I am sure you can ask,I have not found the advisors to be rude or arrogant, they probably will answer it honestly. TBH, I found one person in the DSP office itself to be far more rude. Now every place might be different of course, but I would LIKE to think otherwise.

Maybe others have different experiences, but thats mine.

When I first went in to the centre at the start, my advisor went through my CV and the areas I wanted to get into on the computer and went through this questionnaire asking about the areas mentioned already.

This process took a bit of time granted but after that, as Zoe, the previous poster has said, they review the questionnaire every few months, not every month as I said. It's so mind boggingly boring, I forget.

I also did a course with yet another private company about doing interviews that took about a day from I think 9-4. We only answered questions on forms as part of this course.

I don't know exactly what the purpose of the questionnaire is, but yeah, it's redone every few months, but it doesn't take that long after the first time though.

To be honest, I don't know if anyone has refused to answer any of the questions because I am only concerned with my self really. Personally I dont find them obtrusive, just pointless.

Every time you go in then after that, your advisor might have a talk with you for a few minutes,then the rest of the time,you can go on their computer looking for jobs by yourself. They may also give you a form recording what jobs you have applied for too.

If you feel uncomfortable answering any questions, I am sure you can ask,I have not found the advisors to be rude or arrogant, they probably will answer it honestly. TBH, I found one person in the DSP office itself to be far more rude. Now every place might be different of course, but I would LIKE to think otherwise.

Maybe others have different experiences, but thats mine.

Ok jimmyw, thanks again for your time and the info.
    It all sounds fairly tedious but relatively harmless and, judging by what you've said, there's no need to be overly optimistic regarding its likely use or effectiveness.

Is there anything else you think is worthwhile to know about it?

Yeah, dont listen to me, I am a flipping cynic.:D

You sign in and out every time for the fire regulations..........................................................................................................:)

......more like showing your attendance.:P

When are you going in?

Look, it might very well be good for you and you might get something from it, so lets give it a chance.I was led to believe that I was nearly going to be water boarded in there, when in fact its wasn't all that bad, but it remains to be seen what people around the country find it.My CV was redone by them in there.You do get your expenses paid.

Actually,I dont hear anything on radio/television/newspaper about peoples experiences with it.I must get onto joeeeeeeeeeeeeee Duffy!!!!

Keep us informed of how you get on

I will be going in there tomorrow.

As I said in my previous post, I went into the centre again today. I have to go in next week on a different day to Retwick my CV again.and to go over the questionnaire as well.

I actually asked him of the purpose of this, and he said it's to build up a profile of how I FEEL ABOUT THE PROCESS I AM MAKING. I think. It's done every 13 weeks apparently.

So put that in your pipe and smoke it.

As I said in my previous post, I went into the centre again today. I have to go in next week on a different day to Retwick my CV again.and to go over the questionnaire as well.

I actually asked him of the purpose of this, and he said it's to build up a profile of how I FEEL ABOUT THE PROCESS I AM MAKING. I think. It's done every 13 weeks apparently.

So put that in your pipe and smoke it.

I was in there today and I have to go in again on Friday.

I signed in when I arrived but never even thought to sign out when I left, so I don't know what difference that makes.
    I'd agree with you that it's definitely about monitoring your attendance though, I wouldn't believe for a second that it's about "the fire regulations", what utter nonsense!

Did someone there actually say to you that that's what it was for or were you just making a joke?

If that were actually the case then, surely the same regulations would apply for all such organisations, but the fact that they don't and, that they felt the need to lie about it (if it is indeed the case and you weren't joking) - says an awful lot indeed about their approach to their 'customers', especially when you think of just how meaningless a thing it is.

Obviously it's early days, but I thought the whole thing seemed to be a bit of a one size fits all, box-ticking exercise. My 'advisor' just seemed anxious to go through his questions, get the answers and move me on out the door. I got zero sense that anyone there really cared about me or any of the people they are meant to be 'helping', and the horrible, impersonal, euphemistic corporate jargon that they all use to dress up what they're saying and doing only helped to reinforce that idea.

As for what your guy said about building up a profile of how you feel, that seems rather telling - they want to build up a profile of us all right, but something tells me that's for their benefit, rather than for ours.

And I'd be very curious to know what will be done with all the information that they're collecting about the people involved. What happens to that afterwards, who does it belong to and, most importantly, who will have access to it I wonder?

I hope it gets better from here but I definitely won't be holding my breath. I didn't see or hear anything new or different that would lead me to believe that it'll be too, or enough, unlike what's been done before and so able to get improved results, but hopefully I'll be proved wrong.

Sure let me know how you get on with that questionnaire anyway.

BTW, when should I expect to have to fill that out myself?
    Will I have to do it on Friday? (At my second appointment)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

I am surprised that no one in this thread has reached the same conclusion about this that I have, namely that the whole purpose of "Job Path" is to get you so fed up with the way you are treated by this organisation that you sign off the dole.

There will be some people on JA who choose it as a lifestyle and when that lifestyle gets disturbed by the need to be somewhere a few times a week, then it might no longer be worth the trouble to be claiming benefits and instead take up work that had up till that point been considered unacceptable.

Nomis21 wrote: »
    I am surprised that no one in this thread has reached the same conclusion about this that I have, namely that the whole purpose of "Job Path" is to get you so fed up with the way you are treated by this organisation that you sign off the dole.

There will be some people on JA who choose it as a lifestyle and when that lifestyle gets disturbed by the need to be somewhere a few times a week, then it might no longer be worth the trouble to be claiming benefits and instead take up work that had up till that point been considered unacceptable.

Totally unfair,not everyone wants to be on it, but its not that easy for some people.The fact is that its only a box ticking exercise, and they are not genuinely helping people.If they truly were, then fine, I would not have a problem with it, and it doesn't bother me if they carry on with it.

Sure let me know how you get on with that questionnaire anyway.

BTW, when should I expect to have to fill that out myself?
    Will I have to do it on Friday? (At my second appointment)

I mightened be able because Ill probably be in a trance...

I doubt it, its only every 13 weeks.

I agree. Most people don't want to be on it. That's why I also disagree with this 'box ticking' exercise but the Government score points by reducing the live register in size and it seems that using Turas Nua will help them achieve that, even if it doesn't often help those who are at the sharp end of their methods.

I wonder even if the people on the jobpath program are even included in the jobless figures.

They are included because they continue to receive JA and are on the live register

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Clockwork Owl

As an aside, a fire safety register is not for monitoring attendance. Sifting through names and deciphering handwriting is ridiculously complicated when it can just be tracked directly by staff. In many cases, large offices will also have a staff fire register used for fire drills (either paper or electronic) which is separate from the way they clock in and out.

It's impractical to do this in a big shop due to footfall, but it's pretty common practice in large offices.

I had my periodic questionnaire today along with a refresh of my CV, and I was wrong about the 'criminal' question as it is there, BUT my advisor said we DON'T answer that as it was never changed since at the start of this program. He did admit that it's not relevant.

It begs the question though, what kind of idiot thought to put it there in the first place. I don't know why they couldn't take it off though now.

He also showed me the 'chart' I have built up from answering all these questions to see what areas that's required to be worked on............ LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 stray

This is a pretty lengthy post, but I wanted to share my own experience of JobPath/Turas Nua, because I wish I could have read more about it before I started on it.

I was placed on JobPath in April of this year, at the Waterford Turas Nua office. The initial letter was as has been discussed; an invitation to attend an information session, with the addendum that failure to attend would lead to a penalty in payments. I'd been on Jobseeker's Allowance for about 18 months at this point. I was worried and nervous about starting the course, which would last for 12 months or until I found full-time employment (as far as I'm aware, you still have to attend TN if you only gain part-time work).

My first appointment was fine, though I was struck by the atmosphere of the office. Bright, airy, open plan, people bustling around in business casual; while sat in a group of brightly coloured furniture were the Jobseekers who looked how I felt: apprehensive and slightly vexed. The information session was a tag-team between a DSP representative and a Turas Nua Advisor. There were about a dozen of us attending. I can't remember most of the content of the powerpoint, it was pretty boring, and was information I already knew from having looked JobPath up when I got the letter. The DSP rep mentioned he would be available after the session to answer any questions. As people were leaving I started to ask him a question, which he interrupted to say "We'll wait until everyone's left in case there's any private details". I said it was no problem, and proceeded to ask him if we were still available to take up CE schemes and JobBridge placements. He leaned in very close to me and quietly said no to CE schemes, yes to JobBridge. He left very shortly after that, not having fielded any more questions.

The next appointment I had was to meet my Personal Advisor. She was very nice, friendly and supportive, and told me a little of her own story; having recently finished college a job she had lined up fell through, so she had to scramble for another job and so found herself at Turas Nua. She seemed ruefully pleased with her situation. She went through a questionnaire on her PC, which aside from being slightly intrusive (I bristled at the question "Do you suffer from any medical conditions that have prevented you from taking up work?" - I'd been suffering from some mental health issues for some time, and found the question frustrating both because it did not allow for further explanation, and also seemed somewhat insensitive) I found it frustratingly narrow in its multiple choice responses; the options were "Fully agree", "Somewhat agree", "Somewhat disagree", "Fully disagree". For me, I found myself repeatedly wishing there was an option to respond "I'm not sure". I had, and still have, concerns over what exactly is done with this data, though I didn't ask about it. I had to take this questionnaire a second time with another PA a couple of months later, when my original PA went on sick leave due to a fall sustained at home. As of last Monday she did not seem to have resumed work.

Over the next few months I had regular appointments, on average once a week. After my original PA went on sick leave, I and about 8 other people from her work load were placed on a four week course (one class per week, about 4-5 hours per class). The course was a guide to CVs, cover letters, interviews etc. It was somewhat informative. It was, confusingly, presented as some sort of replacement for our cancelled PA appointments. I could not find the connection between the two events. I found the course leader to be knowledgeable but overly familiar, constantly referring to events from her own experiences in unemployment which I found transparently pally, unnecessary and slightly patronising. She referred on two occasions to the misguided tendency of the general (employed) public to look on the unemployed as scroungers etc.

My meetings with my new PA went pretty well. We got on well, she seemed to be genuine, if a little unfocused at times. I did another one day course (9am - 4pm) which was an presented to me by my PA as an option, and though I was positively inclined to do it, nevertheless I was always afraid to say no to anything, in case it would affect my JA. The course (given by the same course leader as before) was an introduction to what's involved in contact centre work. I found it pretty informative but again, very dull and unengaging.

In the meantime I applied for jobs constantly. I learned about several jobs websites I had not known before, which was helpful. Also helpful was the idea of sending out prospective cover letters. If you don't know, these are cover letters that you send to companies who are not actively hiring, but for which you have the skills to work. You simply say you are available to take up any position in the company, and then give the usual cover letter bit about what makes you suitable. Though I didn't get any direct positive responses (ie interviews) from this method, it did have the indirect effect of boosting my confidence and broadening my scope. After all, when you're writing about how great you are it's hard for it not to rub off, regardless of the state of your own self-esteem. Which, if you've ever been on the dole, you'll know can be in pretty short supply.

Over the course of my time with TN my PA applied for two jobs on my behalf, one of which I had actually already applied for. She emailed me a couple of links to jobs too. Many of the more recent appointments mainly entailed using the TN computers to search online for jobs, which I was doing from home anyway. On two occasions she gave me a form to detail my job applications. She said this form was given to the DSP. I found it useful to have a system of keeping track of my email correspondence with employers, and automated emails from applications made online (this amounted to making a tag group in my Gmail account). My PA led a short class in interview technique. She had 9 of us fill out a form with interview-like questions, then give the form to the person beside us who would carry out an interview. Though it was nice to have a chat with someone about their experiences, as well as get an idea of what it's like to be an interviewer, I didn't find the exercise hugely helpful.

The company covered travel expenses incurred from attending appointments. I mostly got the bus, and had these paid for upon producing the receipts. The PA (only my PA could perform this) takes the receipts, writes a docket and usually accompanies you to retrieve the funds from the front desk. They had a chart with the various costs of driving to the office, depending on where you live. There was a fire form at the front desk where I signed in every time. I often forgot to sign out, though they seemed to begin clamping down on people not signing out after a while. It crossed my mind that this form was really to keep track of attendance, but someone on another thread here has pointed out that this is unlikely. In any case, the PAs keep track of attendance. I missed two appointments; the first because I changed address and didn't receive the letter for my next appointment. I had notified TN of my new address, but it obviously got lost in the system. The second missed appointment was because I was away at a family wedding. The PA was completely understanding both times, and I didn't incur any punishments.

The office had a printer for customer's (a strange name for us) use, and they supplied me with envelopes and stamps to post out CVs and cover letters. My PA straightened up my CV (I'd been using the same format for about ten years) and pointed out little things like the fact that prospective employers aren't allowed to ask your date of birth, and you shouldn't have it on your CV. She told me about JobsPlus (an initiative whereby employers are paid a grant when they take on someone who has been long-term unemployed, with a tier each for one- and two-year LTUE, from €7,500 to €10,000 I believe), which I applied for online but received no further correspondence on. I added it to my CV nonetheless, and mentioned it in my cover letters.

In around June or so I realised that I was carrying a heavy resentment towards the process, particularly at the notion that the Irish government thought it was ok to leave the fate of potentially vulnerable unemployed people to a private company motivated purely by capital gain. After all, if there were no unemployed people, would a company like Turas Nua exist?

However, I recognised that this resentment was not helping me find work. I resolved to just swallow the resentment and fully throw myself into it, use whatever resources were to hand and look outside my remit for work. It did somewhat cynically strike me that perhaps this was part of the TN process ie make dole existence even more unpalatable to help shove people back into any old job, but I was fine with that. I was totally fed up with being on the dole, and just wanted to get my independence back. I was working through my mental health issues too, and figured I would roll all the motivations into one and get things moving.

I'm glad to say that I've now found a full-time job, and I start next Monday. It's work I've never done before, and hadn't seriously considered doing before. But I'm viewing it as a challenge, which also comes with the substantial perks of being off the dole, and in some ways getting my life back. I'm going to keep looking for other jobs while at this new one in any case. But I'm optmistic generally.

There are pros and cons to TN, of course. The people I dealt with were generally respectful, understanding and helpful. I had misgivings about the company, as I'm sure many will. But, if you're on the dole and really don't want to be any more, it has the potential to be an excellent resource which you are encouraged to exploit fully. You can call in to the office any time and use the computers and facilities, and speak to your PA if they are available. You can call or email them. If you really don't mind being on the dole and don't want to work (no judgement, it's your choice) then I imagine you will find it very aggravating. For me, it ended up being a positive experience, and I can't wait to start working. If you're just starting with JobPath, I wish you good luck, regardless of what you hope to get out of it.

tl;dr
    Unemployed long term, got over misgivings about Turas Nua, found work, delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭eastbono

What a fantastic and seemingly unbiased report of Turas Nua.

stray wrote: »
    t/QUOTE]

Wow, I have to lie down after that:D.

I am in Waterford too and the woman I was with went off sick, and never came back.I see some others have gone from there too.....:confused:.

How often do you go in there in the week?.Tuesdays is my time.

I did some of what you did, but not all.To be honest, the crowd in the backroom of the DSP office itself are worse than the turas nua crowd, so I think its better if it continues, (warts and all).Lesser of two evils so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Great Post Stray!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭piplip87

be very careful. My dole was cut this week for missing three meetings since I started. Once my father in law had a massive stroke that morning so I called and explained and the other two occasions where for job interviews. So there you have it you will be cut for attending interviews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

piplip87 wrote: »
    be very careful. My dole was cut this week for missing three meetings since I started. Once my father in law had a massive stroke that morning so I called and explained and the other two occasions where for job interviews. So there you have it you will be cut for attending interviews

so you called them and let them know three times you wernt making it but they still cut you, thats not true mate come on.

any reasonable human can read that and say they either didnt believe you or you didnt show proof of the interviews/medical emergency.

its stuff like that that feeds into the fear of TN.

and TN dont cut your dole, the social welfare do, based on a report from TN

stray wrote: »

tl;dr
    Unemployed long term, got over misgivings about Turas Nua, found work, delighted.

have to say this is a great post, yes TN arnt the wonderful golden ticket the government expected them to be but its an fair review.

im delighted you got a job, im not sure if the phone support line is available to you if you didnt get the job via TN but if it is id use it, i have a few people from TN working with me and they think its great, two were out of work long term 3 + years and simple things they didnt want to ask in the office they were able to ring the phone line about.

Congrats!:D

so you called them and let them know three times you wernt making it but they still cut you, thats not true mate come on.

any reasonable human can read that and say they either didnt believe you or you didnt show proof of the interviews/medical emergency.

Yes, all true but cuts in JA have doubled since the arrival of jobpath.

This may be for various reasons but genuine hardship has been caused by information from a private company who are not accountable in the same way as state bodies..

Yes, all true but cuts in JA have doubled since the arrival of jobpath.

This may be for various reasons but genuine hardship has been caused by information from a private company who are not accountable in the same way as state bodies..

i don't doubt that, but again its not TN that cut your dole. its the social welfare.

and the appeal process would sort it pretty sharpish and penalise TN for cutting someone who was either in a medical emergency or an interview and was able to show records of both.

its easy to prove you were in hospital with a family member and/or in an interview, so lines have been crossed somewhere.

Yes I called them each of the tree times I could not make it. My adviser who is absolutely brilliant never asked for proof.

I went to the social welfare office with the proof and everything is sorted again.

Yes I called them each of the tree times I could not make it. My adviser who is absolutely brilliant never asked for proof.

I went to the social welfare office with the proof and everything is sorted again.

oh good,

i have to say though, and this is not me slighting you, but its weird that they would cut your dole without asking for proof, surely you are entitled to miss things, as you called them in advance.

seems weird they could cut your payment without cause.

oh good,

i have to say though, and this is not me slighting you, but its weird that they would cut your dole without asking for proof, surely you are entitled to miss things, as you called them in advance.

seems weird they could cut your payment without cause.
    I know. Its madness, seems more like a miscommunication between Seetec and the DSP.

It has been cleared up but just a word of warning to those who are on it.

Bring proof to your next meeting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Do Seetec apply for positions on your behalf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

So if your on this Job path/turas nua scheme but you decide you want to go back to college, am I right in thinking you can't get btea or vtos ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 nicolaed1

google- JobPath-RFT.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

piplip87 isnt making it up,asked recently here about getting letter to intreo informational meeting.

basically once there got asked to write down ph number,then session started got handed brochure and few pages with different links to all websites for jobs etc.Then the one went over slides in like 20 minutes and thats all got told everyone will be sent out letters to attend one on one meeting with inspectors.

what grinded me thou was the one giving presentation mentioned at least 3 times if you dont show up whenever your called its cut in your benefits.Some poor chap got late 5 mins,and was nearly cut off from entering,even thou session haven't even started.
    Not sure how that fits with TN or JP but seems they eventually connect or pass person to one of these.
    Now id understand if it was proper informational meeting and letting people ask questions,but reading of slide and giving some web pages when all that info is in every SWO office just to get someone to come over or cut off is as good as doing nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I got a letter from tus a couple of days ago. Now I have a letter from tuas nura to come to a meeting. I have a fair knowledge of tus through friends experience. One friend told me tuas Nora is a nightmare. So little worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 fiasiog

I've received a letter last week and had to change the appointment as I'm on the part time education option and currently pursuing a masters every Monday (the day it fell on). Lady on the phone was fairly rude and changed it to Tuesday.
    Turns out I've been offered part time work and I don't know what to do or who to contact now. Do I contact Seetec (jobpath people) or my local intero office? Not to mention I live 40 miles away from where the meeting is held and I can't drive.

Worried if I don't attend I'll be penalised even though I've managed to find some work for myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

fiasiog wrote: »
    I've received a letter last week and had to change the appointment as I'm on the part time education option and currently pursuing a masters every Monday (the day it fell on). Lady on the phone was fairly rude and changed it to Tuesday.
    Turns out I've been offered part time work and I don't know what to do or who to contact now. Do I contact Seetec (jobpath people) or my local intero office? Not to mention I live 40 miles away from where the meeting is held and I can't drive.

Worried if I don't attend I'll be penalised even though I've managed to find some work for myself!

Will you still be signing on? If so then you will probably still have to attend.

Tasden wrote: »
    Will you still be signing on? If so then you will probably still have to attend.

There's no mention of that in the letter or when I was on the phone

What letter? The appointment letter? In fairness they're not gonna list all eventualities in a letter. But as far as I know once you are still signing on (looking for full time work) they will still want you to attend. Although I would have thought being on PTEO would exclude you moreso than part time employment.

My thoughts too. There's no getting out of it it seems. I'll have to ring the intero office Monday (while in college, probably have to skip a class because I always seem to be on hold for what feels like a century) and see what they think as I need to tell them I have been offered part time employment and find out what my options are.

Have you looked into part time job incentive? Check if you're eligible. That way you're no longer on the live register and may not have to engage with jobpath (maybe-not for sure- so check it out).

Have you had your initial meeting? Do you not have a direct email for your adviser person? Or even a general email that you can send apologies to? I wouldn't be skipping class to ring. At the very least just wait for your break like. Or go in to your app on Tues and discuss it all in person.

Have you looked into part time job incentive? Check if you're eligible. That way you're no longer on the live register and may not have to engage with jobpath (maybe-not for sure- so check it out).

Have you had your initial meeting? Do you not have a direct email for your adviser person? Or even a general email that you can send apologies to? I wouldn't be skipping class to ring. At the very least just wait for your break like. Or go in to your app on Tues and discuss it all in person.

I have looked into part time job incentive, I believe I'm eligible and that's my next plan on action with the intero office. As for the jobpath thing it's the initial session that tells you about the whole thing and then you get an employment advisor. Its the first group meeting thing that I'm suppose to be attending Tuesday.

(Thanks for replying by the way! You're being very helpful!)

I have looked into part time job incentive, I believe I'm eligible and that's my next plan on action with the intero office. As for the jobpath thing it's the initial session that tells you about the whole thing and then you get an employment advisor. Its the first group meeting thing that I'm suppose to be attending Tuesday.

(Thanks for replying by the way! You're being very helpful!)

Yeah I would head to the group session and explain all when there tbh. Phone calls etc can just get messy with he said she said, at least if you go on Tuesday you won't have a question mark over attendance and you'll get to meet a person who you can communicate with directly in the future if needed. Bring all documents etc so that you don't have to call back with them of they need proof or whatever.
    (No problem! :) )

Yeah I would head to the group session and explain all when there tbh. Phone calls etc can just get messy with he said she said, at least if you go on Tuesday you won't have a question mark over attendance and you'll get to meet a person who you can communicate with directly in the future if needed. Bring all documents etc so that you don't have to call back with them of they need proof or whatever.
    (No problem! :) )

Yeah I think you're right. Seems like the best option!