Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Rose of Tralee 2016AD megathread MOD WARNING IN POST 1!

• 16-08-2016 3:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭

Its that time of year again, The rose of tralee is on telly eireann next monday and tuesday from 8pm. I think it has gone stale again because of Daithi doing it every year, i think they should change the host every two to three years to keep it fresh. Also it needs a couple of contestants who are on the dole or in menial jobs.

MOD:

Saying it now, and saying it clear - quit with the derogatory and mean (or sexist/offensive) comments about the contestants appearance.

If you want to make comments like that go elsewhere/television forum on boards.ie is not the place for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Doesn't Mary have a lovely bottom.... They all have lovely bottoms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I'm most definitely in for this thread...........

I'm going to beat little grey into submission until she gets that sash on and has the monogrammed cutlery on the table for a Christmas dinner...

The ultimate Mammies dream.........(waits for the banter.....)

http://www.roseoftralee.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

If I'm too old to be a rose, then I'm refusing to watch, damnit!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Brace yourselves folks.

Poetry readings have been banned this year. Instead, the lovely girls will be making breakfast rolls, kickboxing & wait for it........hula hooping. :eek:

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/festivals/rose-of-tralee-organisers-have-banned-one-party-piece-this-year-34971943.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Cliff Walker

If they brought in a bikini 👙 section ratings would go through the roof

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Ever since Daithi married one of the roses I've seen him more as a sort of predator than a host. To me it's more like a bogger version of "The Bachelor"

Ah, that's an unfair comment on Daithi. He married yer wan. It was a once off thing. It's not like he is some serial dater of Roses, dumps them when he gets tired of them & moves on to next years fresh crop of lovely girls, like Leonardo Di Caprio with the Victorias Secret models.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Cliff Walker

Any suggestions for possible future hosts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Any suggestions for possible future hosts?

Marty Morrisey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Is it true they are bringing in random drugs testing this year? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I must say along with the BBC sports personality of the year. This is my favourite thread of boards.

I can't wait for American roses coming over trying to one up each other with the most complicated title for what they work as. It's always a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Such lovely bottoms :)

Daithi: And tell me now girleen. What is it you do at all ?
    Random American rose: well daithi(while butchering saying daithi) I'm studying to become a fuel injection technician.
    Daithi: is that right ? And what's that when its at home hai ?
    RAR: it's the process of putting gas into a vessel to allow the road vehicle to run efficiently.
    Daithi: so you put the petrol into the car is it ?

Such lovely bottoms :)

Careful ted. That might offend the girls.

I like the fact they've banned poems. Sure anyone can recite a poem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Road to the Dome on 1 now,not bad,good behind the scenes stuff

Yeah they are showing this instead of the rte masterpiece that is reeling in the years. Feck sake rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

any list of when each rose is on?

First bit of Irish less than two minutes in. Good man daithi.

And there's the reigning rose of Tralee. Fair play.

Opening batter is from New Orleans.

Regular clothes

Evening all!

Such lovely roses...now half of you, the coach is waiting outside.

Step away from the moonshine, young lady.

Here yes we are always nice.

What was up with Daithi's intro music?

I was expecting comedy 'Goon Show' sound effects at the end.

Evening all!

Such lovely roses...now half of you, the coach is waiting outside.
    Yep. Look we brought ye on stage ye got your moment on national tv. Now feck off out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I don't know if I can handle watching it this year. I might actually finally die of mortification. I'll give it a go though.

Craic is Whack, said Whitney.

Ok, does this one count towards the "Lovely Girl Who Is A Teacher" quota or not?

I don't know if I can handle watching it this year. I might actually finally die of mortification. I'll give it a go though.
    Ah sure give it a try. Well either be fierce proud or as you say die of utter mortification.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Ok, does this one count towards the "Lovely Girl Who Is A Teacher" quota or not?
    Depends how we go later in the evening. If we are struggling for teachers then yes.

I can imagine this girl downing a lot of shots and falling asleep in the toilets of a club.

*dives behind couch*

Here comes Roscommon

She looks and speak like a primary school teacher from Roscommon.

Roscommon. Don't mention the Connaught final.

Here comes Roscommon
    Not in croke park.

Jesus, that's a bit of a dig at the Roscommon wimmn. Daithi, there's no need to broadcast the fact that they are ugly as sin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Roscommon; the county that said No!

How many times can she say Roscommon in one speech?

Bingo primary teacher. One definite and one maybe.

I think we can safely say that Roscommon wont be winning anyway. She's the very definition of a Lovely Girl. That's not a bad thing, but next.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Bingo primary teacher. One definite and one maybe.

Or a nurse. That's always a good bet.

edit: nope, teacher. shudda known. :rolleyes:

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Jesus, that's a bit of a dig at the Roscommon wimmn. Daithi, there's no need to broadcast the fact that they are ugly as sin.

Bit harsh to Roscommon. I'm sure there are some good parts of Roscommon.

Down a shot everytime they mention the place they are representing

Where is this one from again? Cork, Leitrim? Mayo?

Roscommon, you don't say !

Down a shot everytime they mention the place they are representing

We won't make the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Are they all on drugs??