Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you say to THAT teacher you had?

• 16-08-2016 10:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭

So now that we are all mature, responsible, well centered adults here in After Hours, we can reflect on our school days...

No so much the good ones, I wanna here about the bad ones, the awful ones.. They may have been good at teaching itself but perhaps they did or said something awful?

In my final couple years of primary school I had this awful weapon who clearly had issues with men/boys. Even as an immature 10-12yr old it was blatantly obvious. She treated the boys awfully. One day I was given 150 lines ( :o ) for getting up to go to the bathroom. She had a one at a time only rule (for boys). I had a glance around before getting up and didn't notice anybody missing but as I went to the door somebody came back. So I was severely punished. My father came in to see her on it but she just smirked in his face.

We'd come in excitedly after break looking forward to P.E and she would just go, "Right, no P.E today, take out your Irish books! :mad: It was clearly done on purpose. I'd love to have said, "Stop being a bitter so and so, treat all class equally and respect the fact that children require exercise and look forward to P.E".

She was just an arrogant, condescending wench. Dead now, god love her!

In secondary school, I took great offence to being referred to by my surname knowing that if I did the same to the teacher I would get in all sorts of crap! I'd love to answer back with just the teachers surname and when I would receive the bollocking about respecting the teacher I would love to have said, "if you want me to respect you, then start respecting me by calling me by my proper name"... :p

I had a religion teacher tell the boys that they should not babysit or go into childcare as they, "might be tempted"... :eek: :mad: It did cross my mind at the time to say, "Speak for yourself". I would have gotten expelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You were right about my maths.
    I should have listened more.

Yous were allowed to just up and leave for the toilet without permission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Fcuk no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,760 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"**** you and your poxy langauge you RA-loving terrorist bastard."

Not entirely fair, but would have loved to have said it anyway.

I'd also loved to have said soemthing along the lines of, "do you really think it's fair to bring your emotional baggage into a primary school classroom and express your inadequcies in such a violent and sometimes unprovked manner towards 9-year-old kids instead of talkign to a professional?" to one particular teacher.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Stop sitting there while rubbing your nipples for 40mins and teach something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

If you hate teaching so damn much, find another career and leave the rest of us in peace. I might have actually enjoyed Irish if you weren't so horrible to be around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

There was a creepy one in my primary school (I didnt have him luckily) and he would actually get a kid to go and buy bread and ham and make him a sandwich for his lunch. Worse he would have the child bring the sandwich to the desk, take a bite then insist the child took a bite after him as a "reward" for making a nice sandwich. Then he would offer the "lucky" child some warm sweets from his pocket.

For punishment he would force a child to stand with their hand on his shoulder or his arm if he was standing.

He just seemed to be about having the children inappropriately close in proximity to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Did you attend a hedge school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You couldn't teach a fish to swim you cúnt!

And you weren't cool, you were a fúcking muppet! Oh and btw, nice sweat stains under your arms ya twat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

"Holy ****, saying that a student would be good in bed is so way out of line. Also, you know there's no front to that desk, right? We can actually see what you're doing."

And to another one "Please retire and take up basket-weaving or something that will calm the volcanic rage and hate bubbling under the surface. How long have you been teaching anyway? ARE YOU A HIGHLANDER?!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd wager your teachers might have something to say about you if we asked them OP. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Peregrine wrote: »
    Stop sitting there while rubbing your nipples for 40mins and teach something.

I see you went to a Christian Brothers school as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

"This entirely voluntary religious ritual you want us to take? There is no point in telling us how voluntary it is if you're then going to make us sit in that room for hours until we agree to do it."

I actually can't recall if we won that or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

We knew you were an alcoholic. Your breath stank.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Stop forcing your religious beliefs onto us in history class, you wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

My history teacher I had during my last days of school.... Miss Murphy.... Sounds like a history teacher to..

"You FLAT ar$ed FLAT chested intimidating Fck. There is more curves on my kitchen floor then on your pancake lanky 6ft 6 frame.

Ive seen the back arse of a cow look more appealing then you. But don't worry God loves you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

To the principal I'd say:
    That stupid shower of wankbags you call employees are incapable of passing on a single thought to the students and should all be fired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd have one thing to say to my English teacher I suppose.

It's pronounced Boo, like its spelling, it's not fcuking Beau.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

I hated you and believed that you went out of your way to make my life hell but when I reflect on it now you were the only teacher who actually called me out on my destructive behavior every single time and actually tried to reign it in, cut through all my bullѕhit and teach me something. All the other teachers let me get away with it.

So yeah, thank you for being a сunt to me, I turned out OK in the end!

I never had a teacher that I hated, but we did have more that one teacher who had mental health issues ( in todays parlance ) it only occurred to me as an adult they were 'not well'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I wouldn't be a teacher, perhaps you shouldn't have either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Yea pretty much. It worked well apart from that one time that I didn't realise somebody was in there before me. They literally came back into the class as I was walking out but still got 150 lines!

I'd wager your teachers might have something to say about you if we asked them OP. :)

Not at all, I was quiet and well behaved. Not the sharpest or brainiest. I was just unfortunate to be male with that weapon in primary school.

py2006 wrote: »
    What would you say to THAT teacher you had?

I'd talk to them as I would talk to anybody from my school days that I haven't met in decades - with respect, goodwill and genuine interest in how they've got on in life.

If people are holding grudges about school past the age of 20 there's probably certainly a deeper issue that they're scapegoating school for. With perhaps a single exception in the career of a teacher - if a student made a false allegation against them - I'd be certain teachers spend zero time thinking about troublesome past pupils of the thousands they have thought. Only in the mind of the troublesome kids are they themselves remembered badly; there are always troublesome kids and that's the life context in which a teacher will remember them.

"**** you and your poxy langauge you RA-loving terrorist bastard."

Yawn. Do you not even bore yourself at this stage with your trite clichéd scapegoating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

to my 3rd and 4th class teacher you were the first person to call me stupid and make me believe it. you are a disgrace to your profession

i'm your daughters boss now... and i'm definitely not stupid.

to the the English teacher in 2nd year who gave me extra classes (unpaid) outside of school hours for 4 months,thank you, I graduated summa cum laude from a top tier University because of the belief you instilled in me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭ZeitgeistGlee

Irish is still a waste of everyone's time and you're still an anachronistic, subsidised, piece of Gaeltacht trash. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I'm actually, genuinely happy you are dying alone now - assuming you haven't croaked already.

Irish is still a waste of everyone's time...

Speak for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Dave0301

I'm actually, genuinely happy you are dying alone now - assuming you haven't croaked already.

Jaysus. There is disliking a teacher and holding a grudge...and then there is this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,760 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yawn. Do you not even bore yourself at this stage with your trite clichéd scapegoating?

The man asked a qustion, I asnwered the question. It's what I would have said.

Some people hated the langauage for reasons of bullying teachers. It's an acceptable opinon to hold based on personal experience. It happpened. Stop denying it and get over it.

If you have anything at all to back up your claim of "trite cliched scapregoating" to challenge my summation of said personal experience, then I respectfully challenge you to present it. If not, maintanin silence or debate with someone else.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

"Putting a female student of your knee and getting a male student to slap her behind is just perv. "

"You were a horrible snobbish bitch who looked down your nose at students. Learning blocks of text off by heart does not help students learn a language and mocking those who can't doesn't help. You couldn't teach Napoleon to speak French you cow."

"Thanks for telling me that you knew I could do better. Because of your encouragement I tried harder and did better. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭ZeitgeistGlee

If people are holding grudges about school past the age of 20 there's probably certainly a deeper issue that they're scapegoating school for.
    Speak for yourself.

Are you going to nitpick every post that doesn't meet with your singular approval Fuaranach? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Speak for yourself.

Probably speaking for the majority of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Who taught you? Leatherface?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

To Sr Maria who I had in first year for Irish and who then went to California, you were the best Irish teacher I ever had and the rest were not good, you were badly missed.
    To my maths teacher, speedy gonzales, no one ever had time to talk in your class as we were all too busy keeping up with you.
    To most of my teachers it would be a thank you.
    To my geography teacher it would be you didn't control the class very well and it made it hard to learn, you should have sent all the messers in the class to the principal's office so the rest of us who wanted to learn could do so.
    To the history teacher I had for three years, that is not how you teach, we could all see you picked on certain people for petty things and the rest of us had to sit there and keep quiet about it. I don't know how you are still teaching and I hear the same things continue to this day.
    To my chemistry teacher, a special thank you, you were great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I had some bloody great teachers though

Maths English and first year French especially

They would take no prisoners but they would get the best grade out of the students

It was a vocational school so rough enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Speak for yourself.

Aye, go breá liom caint as gaeilge. Féach conas a maith eachtrannac é...
    (cheers Google...)

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Jaysus. There is disliking a teacher and holding a grudge...and then there is this.

There are bad teachers, vindictive teachers then there was this person...

There were no trouble makers in her class, trust me, no one survived making trouble in her class...

I did classwork, homework, well in tests, I even did ****all messing or anything in class (because I didn't really get on with anyone in that class...) etc etc so you'd imagine with the head down I got on well.

Nope.. There were two types of pupils to her, the lickarses and the "lost causes", despite their actual merit as pupils... Unfortunately I was the only "lost cause" with strict parents so things like bad reports and notes home tended to make my day harder than it needed to be. And boy oh boy did she use that to her advantage. All because I was a good student, but I refused to see her for anything more than what she was...

Even though I passed the junior cert flying colours, getting "an honours in rubbish" (I actually burst out laughing when she said that, it was pretty funny to her credit...) it took so much ****ing.... "trouble" (I missed four months of the class in third year, due to snapping and being unable to do the 300 lines and getting them signed at home. I wasn't getting back in until the lines were done..) that I opted out of the class she was teaching for the leaving cert and simply didn't have the energy to continue to fight on both home and school fronts every single week, so opted out of any other classes she was teaching too.

I got off lucky, I was just about smart enough for the class but it was all down to skin thickness. There were pupils there way smarter than me who had their futures stunted (my plans didn't really need higher everything anyway..) by being unable to handle her and opting out of the higher level in subjects she thought. And they were people who's parents had taken their side! :D

As for the grudge? Strange thing to say, considering I literally can't remember the last time I actually gave her any thought up to now...
    It's simply 'Oh yeah! You're the witch dying/died alone. Ha.' And I'll forget until the next time her shrewd, wrinkly visage crosses my mind. Hardly a grudge :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

How's your Haddington Road Agreement? fcukface!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

To my history teacher:

I told you that bo**ix, Hitler, was anything but stable....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

To my primary school principal:

You sweaty hairy - faced old harridan, I bet you felt big bullying eleven year olds just because they were smarter than your own kids. On the subject of whom, they must have your husband's genes because they're not bitter old Jesus freaks like you.

Praying seven times a day and waffling on about Padre Pio's gloves and sitting next to the Bishop does not educate kids. As we found out in Secondary school, having to play catch up with kids from other primary schools.

To my secondary school teachers (some of whom I've already said this in person): Thank you all.

To my history teacher:

I told you that bo**ix, Hitler, was anything but stable....

Did you go to school pre WW2??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 RoughSleeper

Crea wrote: »
    "Putting a female student of your knee and getting a male student to slap her behind is just perv. "

Uh what? "Just perv"? I'm pretty sure it's more than that...How are they not in jail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Well now, what do you say to a bitter middle aged very overweight man who takes pleasure in bullying young boys and teenagers into submission with threats of police and trouble for their already troubled parents, backing them into a corner goading them to lash out at him so he can be rid of them, he reduced one poor lad to tears in the school gym one day with such bullying in front of two classes who were told to wait and watch as he humiliated the lad till he wanted to kill himself, head of the school football teams and also went on a few years after to become principle(marked by the suicide of a bullied gay first-year).

You say nothing because people like this are only in it for the mileage and other expenses, proved by the fact that he went on to be a councillor on Kildare CoCo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think most of my teachers got a pretty good measure of whether I liked/respected them or not. And I don't have any grudges or things I'd like to say to any of them.

There was one priest that I actively disliked, but that was a pure clash of personalities. I would still cross paths with him now and again, and aside from a nod and a howya there's no interaction between us. The mother in law thinks the sun shines out of his arse, she cannot understand why I dislike the man so much :D

I did have one teacher I go on with that I turned against me though. He was a holy Joe, his whole family involved in the church choir and all that stuff. Religion class at 16/17/18 were small group discussions rather than a big class. When I told him I was no longer Catholic and he asked why, I told him that it was all just a load of made up nonsense in a book.
    He never responded, but never really talked to me again after that :D