Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAF could shot down hijacked planes in Irish airspace

• 09-08-2016 1:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/raf-tornado-jets-could-shoot-down-hijacked-planes-in-irish-airspace-414646.html

Lost for words that we can't defend our own airspace and rely on another country, and a country that will leave the EU, because the Government can't be bothered to replace the rotary yokes parked in Baldonnel.
    The fact that they couldn't even keep up to a rotary Russian plane is a joke.
    Feel so sorry for the crew who must be begging at this stage to have proper jets to patrol our skies in than something from the 80s.
    Does the Government really not think that at this stage we should actually have a proper defensive budget put in place?
    Embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

Costs too much to run our own. This set up has been in place for years. What's the problem?

The lads in baldonnel are flying round in circles to keep thier flight hours up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Imagine the cost of running a proper air force!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

bear1 wrote: »
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/raf-tornado-jets-could-shoot-down-hijacked-planes-in-irish-airspace-414646.html

Lost for words that we can't defend our own airspace and rely on another country, and a country that will leave the EU, because the Government can't be bothered to replace the rotary yokes parked in Baldonnel.
    Feel so sorry for the crew who must be begging at this stage to have proper jets to patrol our skies in than something from the 80s.
    Does the Government really not think that at this stage we should actually have a proper defensive budget put in place?
    Embarrassing.

Welcome to 2001

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Top hole. Bally Jerry pranged his kite right in the how's your father. Hairy blighter, dicky-birdied, feathered back on his Sammy, took a waspy, flipped over on his Betty Harper's and caught his can in the Bertie.

You know ... bally ten-penny ones dropping in the custard ... um ... Charlie Choppers chucking a handful ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Well it is good to have friendly neighbours rather than hostile neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Ted111 wrote: »
    Top hole. Bally Jerry pranged his kite right in the how's your father. Hairy blighter, dicky-birdied, feathered back on his Sammy, took a waspy, flipped over on his Betty Harper's and caught his can in the Bertie.

You know ... bally ten-penny ones dropping in the custard ... um ... Charlie Choppers chucking a handful ...

Great sketch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

bear1 wrote: »

Embarrassing.

Do you want the hospitals or schools closed to have a few fast jets that we will never need?

The Irish people don't support defence spending in the mistaken believe that by being neutral we don't need to problem is we aren't neutral we are militarily non aligned, neutral countries can defend their own boarders which we have never been able to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It cost millions to purchase and service fighter jets. In the unlikely event that we ever find ourselves in trouble Britain will deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Sure it's grand. We share the lifeboats too, if you were adrift in the Irish Sea I don't think you'd care if it were English accents or Irish accents on the boat that saved you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Imagine the cost of running a proper air force!

The Czech's lease a squadron of jet fighters (12) for less than our cost of leasing just 4 S&R helicopters for the coast guard!

Affordability is not an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

The Czech's lease a squadron of jet fighters (12) for less than the cost of leasing just 4 S&R helicopters for the coast guard!

we need an inflight refueling capacity though - the Czech's don't have any oceanic airspace to defend ;)

12 jets are fine if you are landlocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

The Czech's lease a squadron of jet fighters (12) for less than our cost of leasing just 4 S&R helicopters for the coast guard!

And how do you propose we a) run them and b) fly them with no prior experience or infrastructure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

1-5 million per jet to purchase and another estimated 5 - 15 million per yer per jet to service and maintain .

Probably be a better idea of allowing armed friendly jets to be allowed stay in Baldonnell on rotation

And how do you propose we a) run them
    Run them?
    By making them go into the sky probably. ;)
    fly them with no prior experience
    Luckily people can be trained.... as the Czech & Hungarian AF's were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

ipnslt.jpg

Jawgap wrote: »
    we need an inflight refueling capacity though

That's debatable when you look at other small maritime nations like Norway & Denmark manage without.

Luckily though if one was needed there are pooled European tanker assets that Ireland can avail of without massive capital outlay.

Run them?

I hear them jet fighters are heavy on the auld oil.
    Check every few weeks see if she needs a top up.

I hear them jet fighters are heavy on the auld oil.
    Check every few weeks see if she needs a top up.

They keep a bottle of 10w40 in the cockpit just in case.

none of your semi-synthetic nonsense!

Run them?

Luckily people can be trained.... as the Czech & Hungarian AF's were

That's where affordability may just come into the question. Having fast jets would be nice, I'm a little bit of a military buff, but lets be realistic. There's far greater problems to solve than this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's time to buzz the tower!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Del2005 wrote: »
    Do you want the hospitals or schools closed to have a few fast jets that we will never need?

The Irish people don't support defence spending in the mistaken believe that by being neutral we don't need to problem is we aren't neutral we are militarily non aligned, neutral countries can defend their own boarders which we have never been able to do.

I cant see how leasing a few jets would results in hospitals ot schools being closed.
    As for the rest of your post id agree with.
    Yes we may never need to call on the raf or need to use our own craft for such a scenario but I find it baffling that we need to go to another country and ask.them to fly over to us and help cause we don't have the tools for it.
    I believe I read that the swedes leased the czechs jets and the mechanics for a very reasonable sum, so why couldn't Ireland get the same sort of deal?
    Or call bollocks to our defence and ask the raf to base their jets in baldonnel. At least it would be quicker in any event.

Id love to see us pick up some Saab JAS 39 Gripens.
    But that's not going to happen in our life time at least .

Drones will be the future unfortunately we'll likely miss that boat too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

That's where affordability may just come into the question. Having fast jets would be nice, I'm a little bit of a military buff, but lets be realistic. There's far greater problems to solve that this.

Fair enough. However, it doesn't detract from the idea that we need a proper air defence.
    After 9/11 the government asked the defence chiefs what would be needed for us to be secure and he was told f-16s (more or less I think).
    Now 14 years would have gone by without any real need for them and then in the space of a few months the Russians came in and out as they pleased and we needed the raf.
    If we had had our own jets we could have dealt with that problem alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Gatling wrote: »
    Drones will be the future unfortunately we'll likely miss that boat too

Drones would be good for coastal security so you might make the naval budget stretch a bit. I'd imagine they would be standard in 10 or 20 years which is about the speed of civil service decision making

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

That's debatable when you look at other small maritime nations like Norway & Denmark manage without.

Danish economy is worth around 300 billion + per annum with a unemployment rate of 6% the average dane pays a lot more income tax compared to here too ,.

Imagine a government suddenly decides upping tax rates up to 40% across the board there would be riots

That's where affordability may just come into the question

As I said already, if we can blow €50m a year on just 4 helicopters, then around the same for a dozen planes won't crush the nation what with it being less than 1/1000th of government expenditure
    There's far greater problems to solve that this.
    Luckily there are nearly 300,000 public servants working on the other things.
    However that doesn't mean that things you don't want done can't ever be entertained!

As I said already, if we can blow €50m a year on just 4 helicopters, then around the same for a dozen planes won't crush the nation what with it being less than 1/1000th of government expenditure

Ok we'll buy the planes for 50m, and park them in a garage to rot because you seem to (continually) forget that maintenance and training costs more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Ah sure no point in spending money on defense...until it's needed, then watch the **** hit the fan or prop in this case. But sure good old neutral Ireland going nowhere fast why would we ever need to defend ourselves sure we'd just roll over and surrender to an invading force. Sad but true.

Danish economy is worth around 300 billion

And?

So Denmark has the 36th biggest economy on earth.
    And Ireland has the 40th.

Is that where the debate ends?

I'm suggesting we consider the possibility of having a capability of around 1/4 of what the Danes have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Over Macho Grande?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

And?

So Denmark has the 36th biggest economy on earth.
    And Ireland has the 40th.

Is that where the debate ends?

I'm suggesting we consider the possibility of having a capability of around 1/4 of what the Danes have.

Wonder if they spend 1/3 of their budget on social welfare each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

How many times has it been necessary to shoot down hijacked passenger aircraft over European airspace in the last 50 years?

Ok we'll buy the planes for 50m

You will note that I didn't say buy.

Seeing as you are a self declared defence buff, you don't need me to tell you the details of example I gave wrt the Czech Airforce & Saab.

You already know that that deal included all training (for 21 pilots & 69 technicians), upgrades & support for the duration of the lease.

You also don't need me to tell you that this was all for an average of €5.5m per aircraft per year which when compared to the Coast guards CHC deal (averaging €12.5m per aircraft per year) represents pretty good value.

It's a stupid state of affairs I believe we actually spend close to 800million this year and yet we have next to no capabilities to defend our skys or seas .

Dane's have 60 F16A and 17 f16bs weve have 7 PC9s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

The Garbage Man Can !!!

You will note that I didn't say buy.

Seeing as you are a self declared defence buff, you don't need me to tell you the details of example I gave wrt the Czech Airforce & Saab.

You already know that that deal included all training (for 21 pilots & 69 technicians), upgrades & support for the duration of the lease.

You also don't need me to tell you that this was all for an average of €5.5m per aircraft per year which when compared to the Coast guards CHC deal (averaging €12.5m per aircraft per year) represents pretty good value.

So nothing regarding hangars, runways, jet fuel, basic fast jet training (I imagine the Saab deal is plane-specific, assuming some competency already)? Costs start climbing hard then. The Czechs have had a proper air force with jets for decades. We don't. It's not as simple as "buy planes" like you're suggesting.

It's a stupid state of affairs I believe we actually spend close to 800million this year

It's €904 for 2016.
    of this 80% is spent on pay & pensions.

Capital defence expenditure will be just €66m this year, almost entirely on the navy's P60s.

You can't really have any kind of capability if you are spending €60m a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Next time the RAF lads are over here shooting down terrorists can you tell them to blow up that shed down the back of me field? Marty wants €400 to come in and knock it with the digger.

Over Macho Grande?

I'll never get over Macho Grande...

(...You're too low, too low..)

Luckily though if one was needed there are pooled European tanker assets that Ireland can avail of without massive capital outlay.

Seriously?

All Ivan has to do is trundle up and down the West Coast and wait for the fighters to arrive on station, then continue trundling until the light in the fighters' cockpit comes on that gives the pilots a squeaky arse when they're over water......then when they call Bingo and head for home Ivan can trundle in behind them ;)

One recent RAF QRF interception resulted in a pair of Tiffies being on station for nearly 10 hours - second thing the Brits do after they launch the QRF is launch a Voyager.

It's not as simple as "buy planes" like you're suggesting.

Quote where I said "buy planes"..... cos reading really seems to not be your thing!

I'm saying that the training and maintenance & the aircraft can all be leased, just like other countries manage to do it & just like the Coast Guard already do!!

And you know that the Czechs & Hungarians also got training jets included.

Quote where I said "buy planes"..... cos reading really seems to not be your thing!

I'm saying that the training and maintenance & the aircraft can all be leased, just like other countries manage to do it & just like the Coast Guard already do!!

And you know that the Czechs & Hungarians also got training jets included.

And I just explained that that wouldn't be nearly enough. You should try reading my post that you just cut.

second thing the Brits do after they launch the QRF is launch a Voyager.

Which they rent.... I'm sure they wouldn't say no to an extra client!

No one is saying buy MRTTs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

It's €904 for 2016.

Quite tight, money spent on wages is a disgrace - we should have a slave army of Unsullied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Let's jack up income tax to provide us with the schools, army and other services we deserve.

Wait, where did everybody go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Those Russians at it again? They've always had it in for poor old Eire.

We should have military service too, and conscription, that'll learn em.

Which they rent.... I'm sure they wouldn't say no to an extra client!

No one is saying buy MRTTs

Rent or buy it's still a capability that had to be provided to support a QRF - so now that has to be added to the bill for the 24 jets we'd need to operate a round the clock QRF to address a negligible threat and the cost of upgrading, maintaining and operating the hard and soft infrastructure.

It would be great to see, but it would also be a phenomenal waste of money.

It's €904 for 2016.

Capital defence expenditure will be just €66m this year, almost entirely on the navy's P60s.

You can't really have any kind of capability if you are spending €60m a year.

And we spend €640 million on over seas aid,€25 million on the protection of refugees
    And €19 billion on social welfare ,

640 million over seas that in several cases funded foreign governments military spending go figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

I'd love to be a Nuclear superpower.....don't **** with us , alright?

added to the bill for the 24

You are saying 24
    I doubt that many would be needed to maintain a QRF of say 3 (again, if the Czechs can manage 3 from 12, why not?)

12 would be sufficient.
    It's my preference to asking daddy across the Irish Sea to do our governments job for us.