Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of giving up my club membership

• 08-08-2016 8:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭

Hi Boardsies,

I don't know whether or not to continue my club membership or not. I took a break from golf last year because I had professional exams and wouldn't get to play enough. I joined back this year and am finding it difficult to justify the cost vs the amount of rounds I'm playing. I really like the club but the membership numbers have dropped significantly (roughly 80 members left) and there is no real club spirit, there's good craic when out on the course but that's it. My membership is just over €1k and Id say I play a maximum of about 40 rounds in the year. What do you reckon? Keep the membership next year or let it drop?

blindside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

Hi Boardsies,

I don't know whether or not to continue my club membership or not. I took a break from golf last year because I had professional exams and wouldn't get to play enough. I joined back this year and am finding it difficult to justify the cost vs the amount of rounds I'm playing. I really like the club but the membership numbers have dropped significantly (roughly 80 members left) and there is no real club spirit, there's good craic when out on the course but that's it. My membership is just over €1k and Id say I play a maximum of about 40 rounds in the year. What do you reckon? Keep the membership next year or let it drop?

blindside
    It's a no brainer, drop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭morrga

Hi Boardsies,

blindside

Try a pay and play club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Hi Boardsies,

blindside

I fairness, only you know whether it's worth paying up for anether year or not. Value is subjective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Thanks for the replys lads. Was thinking of moving to a cheaper club that's a bit of a spin but this would mean I would realistically play less than I currently do and therefore wouldn't get to know the members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

If u play 40 times a year that's 25 euros a round or roughly 6.25 a hour so cheaper than drinking.

Cheap and more travel will lead to less golf and it will end up costing u as much per round when u factor in the fuel costs.

Most guys would be delighted to play 40 times a year.

Thanks for the advise Mike, the fuel cost isn't a concern as I have a company car however. I have said 40 but in reality it's probably a bit less, I play once a week most weeks so taking into account holidays, poor weather etc it probably drops a bit. Takin into account as well that I'm paying competition fee's onto of the membership it's probably 30-35 per round, Would I be right in saying that's about the same cost as society golf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Depending where you live there may be clubs offering flexible deals - e.g pay €400 and draw it down as you play your rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

It really depends on the value you personally put on being a member of a club tbh, along with what you get out of it. I'd imagine a lot of club members, myself included, would be horrified at the average cost per round. But there's (potentially) a lot of intangibles that are hard to value, e.g. the ability to head up for 6/9 holes at the drop of a hat should you fancy it.
    Then you've got things like inter-club matches, camaraderie (although you did mention members have been leaving), keeping a handicap, networking etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

I let my membership go last year. It was distance (in tramore where I'm from, but living in Dublin) but I was only getting about 12 rounds a year. When the bill came in the post I think I had played 3 rounds over the entire summer, so even at 450 or whatever it was it was still too expensive to justify. But if i was getting 40 rounds a year if definitely pay to be honest.

But it's obviously a personal choice. One option you have is to take out cheap distance membership. You could still play in opens and after playing in about 4 of them you could have your money made back. And importantly you'd still get to play competition golf.

But you might have difficulty finding places to play on a Sunday. And you might end up looking for partners to play with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Its very subjective.

You are paying over a grand a year and don't feel like you are playing enough to justify it. This tells me that you are not "flush" for better terms and watch your money.

If money was no issue you wouldn't even be worrying about getting your money's worth with your membership.

you know yourself wether or not you can afford to spend 1k a year on something that you are not really using to the level you would want.

The fact you're questioning it would make me say get a pay and play membership for much cheaper.

Personally I wouldn't be paying the 1300 I pay if I wasn't using it very very regular because I just couldn't justify the spend and would put the money elsewhere

ForeRight wrote: »
    Its very subjective.

You are paying over a grand a year and don't feel like you are playing enough to justify it. This tells me that you are not "flush" for better terms and watch your money.

If money was no issue you wouldn't even be worrying about getting your money's worth with your membership.

you know yourself wether or not you can afford to spend 1k a year on something that you are not really using to the level you would want.

The fact you're questioning it would make me say get a pay and play membership for much cheaper.

Personally I wouldn't be paying the 1300 I pay if I wasn't using it very very regular because I just couldn't justify the spend and would put the money elsewhere

The actual money doesn't bother me as such in that it is very affordable for me as I've no kids and a very small mortgage. My old playing partners let there membership go about 2 years ago and we still play regular par 3 golf together. I'm thinking of joining a society as well but still in 2 minds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

I think if you have to ask on here then it's clear your heart's not in it......

Is there an alternative club nearby ghat might have more of a buzz on the club side?

I think if you have to ask on here then it's clear your heart's not in it......

Is there an alternative club nearby ghat might have more of a buzz on the club side?

That's what I'm thinking, my heart just isn't in it. I'm in an awkward position. I play in Mount Wolseley in Carlow, we have about 80 members. My closest club is Carlow golf club but they have far too many members and it's very cliquey and hard to get a tee time. I was thinking of joining Gowran as its a nice course, as I'm under 30 I can join for €300, i do know a few members there but don't know if it's a viable option. I really like my current course and the members just not sure if it's worth the money. Either than or just join a society

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

My own view, for what it's worth, would relate to the dwindling membership and what the club proposes to do it about, if anything.

If I was in your situation and there were plans in place to recruit and retain new members and bring some vibrancy back I'd consider staying, but if the club is being passive about the situation I'd likely head for the door and look for somewhere else that better suits my golfing needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

If your down that neck of the woods what about Bunclody? Cracking course and good membership

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

dar_cool wrote: »
    If your down that neck of the woods what about Bunclody? Cracking course and good membership

Excellent course and one i'd love to be a bit closer to so i could play it more.

Having played (and really enjoyed both) you cant really compare Mount Wolseley and Gowran, two totally different courses. If money isn't a problem then I'd be staying in Mount Wolseley.

I was in the same boat a few years ago, work went quiet and I gave up my membership for a while. Moved to a different, cheaper course that's close to work but unfortunately it's an hour from home. Love playing even though its not in the same league as my old course and can only really play after work during the summer - the extra 2 hours needed to drive on a Sunday is hard justify at home sometimes. I've got to know a small few of the members as well so now have a regular 3 ball going on a Thursday so its perfect for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

Op I know exactly the dilemma you are in, I made that decision this year. I went from playing 4-5 times per week (10 holes on summer evenings, full round Sunday morning) to playing 10 times per year due to a variety of reasons including family, work, mates gave up membership or moved away for work etc. I just stopped enjoying playing and when I did play, I was crap (going from a single figure to looking like someone who didn't know which end of the stick to hold). Money was not a consideration at all, I just didn't want to be part of the club anymore and wasn't enjoying my golf. So for the first time in 15 years I decided to drop my membership. Now I just play occasionally when my mates are around and pay the green fee. I'm told there is a way of paying a GUI sub to retain your handicap for open days, societies but I never investigated it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

Can you take a year out?

That's what I'll be doing next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

davo10 wrote: »
    Op I know exactly the dilemma you are in, I made that decision this year. I went from playing 4-5 times per week (10 holes on summer evenings, full round Sunday morning) to playing 10 times per year due to a variety of reasons including family, work, mates gave up membership or moved away for work etc. I just stopped enjoying playing and when I did play, I was crap (going from a single figure to looking like someone who didn't know which end of the stick to hold). Money was not a consideration at all, I just didn't want to be part of the club anymore and wasn't enjoying my golf. So for the first time in 15 years I decided to drop my membership. Now I just play occasionally when my mates are around and pay the green fee. I'm told there is a way of paying a GUI sub to retain your handicap for open days, societies but I never investigated it.

Sounds interesting, anyone else know how this could be achieved.........:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Hi Boardsies,

blindside

If I could get 10 rounds a year I'd be doing well..

Young children put a serious end to golf

Would have thought 40 rounds would be more than enough to justify membership... €25 a round effectively. Weekend green fees would eclipse that in pretty much every decent course worth playing on in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

a lot of this rings loud and clear with me

my best friend who I played most golf with moved to Oz a few years back..

took a lot of the fun out for me..

But I still had some sort of a love for it but along came some babies and then the time I had for it was gone.

The more I think of it the it's definitly not 40 rounds a year. As someone else has said Bunclody is another option I could consider. I'm strongly thinking of the society route for a year. I can take a year out from my club without paying a re joining fee. Everyone hd given me a lot to think about. I think it is a mixture really of dwindling membership and club doing nothing, friends dropping out and no real club feel to the place.

If you are playing par 3 golf with friends outside the club, you should have a look on teetimes and club websites and see how practical it is going to be to get out for a proper round on a regular basis, and how much it is going to cost. Accepting that it is easier in the summer than the winter.

If it is practical, and you prefer playing with these friends than club members, then you might want to consider that route.

To be honest I've never joined a club and I am beginning to suspect I never will. Even though I like the idea, I play with a particular group of people, and I wouldn't want to give that up. I also enjoy the freedom of choosing where to play and when (within limits). I'm in Dublin though so more choice and availability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭searay

OP, i was a member of Carlow until I moved away 15 years ago. I think you should give it another look if you live close it it. The number of members has fallen considerably and I don't think it'll be as difficult to get on the time sheet as in the past.

It can be harder to join an established club but if you put in the effort of getting to know a few people you'll soon have a few playing partners to call on. I'd always go for the best course within easy reach of where I live.

Green fee golf works fine if you play mostly during the week but I've found it very difficult to get an early green fee slot around the Carlow area when I'm there at weekends.

searay wrote: »
    OP, i was a member of Carlow until I moved away 15 years ago. I think you should give it another look if you live close it it. The number of members has fallen considerably and I don't think it'll be as difficult to get on the time sheet as in the past.

It can be harder to join an established club but if you put in the effort of getting to know a few people you'll soon have a few playing partners to call on. I'd always go for the best course within easy reach of where I live.

Green fee golf works fine if you play mostly during the week but I've found it very difficult to get an early green fee slot around the Carlow area when I'm there at weekends.

I considered moving to Carlow last year and found them very snobby to try and deal with, I've heard very poor reports of interactions with members. They also have their joining fee in place still (€2500) which I've no interest in paying, I believe that day is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Golf365

I reckon the vast majority of golfers who are members of clubs probably don't get value for money. Most golfers get to play once a week and when you take away holidays , weather cancellations & other events you would have to ask well why be a member.
    It is not that long ago when it was quite difficult and an entrance fee was required to join a golf club. Golf is going through a transitional period and golf membership for various different reasons is in decline. Unfortunately in time we are going to see more golf clubs close.
    When I started playing golf on a regular basis we used to travel for over an hour to play so it turned into a full day was taken up playing golf. Nine years ago I joined a club within 15 minutes drive , I joined on my own and it turned out to be one of the best decisions I made as it forced me to get to know other members. I now have a great new circle of friends from being a member . As the course is close by I get to play more often plus I would get to practice a couple of evenings during the week.
    So if everyone looked at getting value for money as a reason to be a member of a golf club what would happen, more courses closing and then we are back to those clubs who have survived reintroducing entrance fees and being a member of a golf club been only affordable by the few. This might suit some today but think about the next generation & the next.
    Hotels that have golf clubs attached the ownership of the hotel will change so membership will change outside of your control. Clubs whose land is owned by someone else also change outside of a members control.
    Join a golf club today that is owned and run by members. Join a golf club that is close by so that you will use on a regular basis. Join a golf club that you can get involved in and that you will be able to influence the future direction of the club.
    Golf will then have a bright future for future generations.

Golf club membership is about more than the cost per round. If you don't value the club ethos, or don't understand that golf clubs are in effect mutual societies, then the "value for money" equation is never going to work for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭moycullen14

First Up wrote: »
    Golf club membership is about more than the cost per round. If you don't value the club ethos, or don't understand that golf clubs are in effect mutual societies, then the "value for money" equation is never going to work for you.

I'm not sure you can say that. People join (and leave) clubs for all sorts of reasons.

For me it's convenience (I'm less than a mile from the club), the ability to play when I want and not be dependent on others for my golf. I'm not at all interested in the club beyond the facility that it provides for me.

For others, of course, the club, competitions, team golf, the social aspect are very important. That's fine - it's a broad church and the club can keep everyone satisfied.

One thing that has changed in the last 5-10 years is that there is very little value placed on remaining a member: people are far more likely to drop their membership now than they were in the past.

In the past it was difficult and expensive to join a club. Today, for the most part, it is possible to join the vast majority of clubs just by simply rocking up and paying an annual sub. It is no problem to let your membership drop for a year or two and pick it up again. I think this has made people think a lot more about the value proposition of a year's golf. In the past, you would look at it as a long term investment. Nothing long-term about it now.

That, to me , is the biggest effect of dropping 'hello' money - it has completely changed the way people look at membership. I have friends that are joined clubs like Portmarnock & Tralee where membership is difficult and expensive to get. They wouldn't dream of letting their membership drop because it was so hard to come by. Completely different scenario for the 'local' club.

In the past it was difficult and expensive to join a club. Today, for the most part, it is possible to join the vast majority of clubs just by simply rocking up and paying an annual sub. It is no problem to let your membership drop for a year or two and pick it up again. I think this has made people think a lot more about the value proposition of a year's golf. In the past, you would look at it as a long term investment. Nothing long-term about it now.

The long term commitment still applies in clubs that are owned and operated by members. I have no difficulty with clubs asking new members to contribute something to reflect all the work and investment put in by members in the past that has made the club what it is today.

There was a time when virtually all clubs operated on that basis. Nowadays there are more commercial operations so you have a choice whether to see yourself as a member or a customer.

I prefer clubs (and the people who join them) in the former category but each to his own according to taste and circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭who_ru

I'm in a similar bind.

I joined a club this year, I'm new to the area and wouldn't know any other members. Membership is 1450 per year, I play semi regularly:)
    But I'm having serious reservations about joining next year for a variety of reasons, the cost of membership being one of them.

I always find that my fitness suffers when I'm a member of a golf club as I devote more time to golf and less time to the gym or bike or running etc.

So personally I tend to get a bit chunky when I play a lot of golf. Having moved to where I am now approx 2 years ago I didn't join a club and played very little golf but spent a lot more time doing other things like cycling, running etc and frankly I was in the best shape I'd been in for a long time. But since joining the golf club this year I've got heavier and exercise less.

The course itself is fine if a little difficult for my abilities. The membership has an old enough age profile, doesn't seem to be many members under 30. I'm 44 and would even be considered youngish in terms of age ��

I'll see next January if I renew or not but right now I'm leaning to not renewing my membership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭moycullen14

First Up wrote: »
    The long term commitment still applies in clubs that are owned and operated by members. I have no difficulty with clubs asking new members to contribute something to reflect all the work and investment put in by members in the past that has made the club what it is today.

There was a time when virtually all clubs operated on that basis. Nowadays there are more commercial operations so you have a choice whether to see yourself as a member or a customer.

I prefer clubs (and the people who join them) in the former category but each to his own according to taste and circumstances.

That's my point. Long term commitment DOESN'T apply to members only clubs any more.

Also, every club has to operate commercially. You have to balance the books - this is made much more difficult by members coming and going.

That's my point. Long term commitment DOESN'T apply to members only clubs any more.

It does in the clubs still charging entrance fees

Thanks for all the advice so far guys. Most of the points made are the arguments I've been having I'm my head. I'm going to continue enjoyimg my few rounds this year and see how I feel in December but I am leaning towards leaving as things stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

It's a tough one, golf is one expensive game as in addition to the membership subs you then also have competition entry fees, travel and miscellaneous items such as occasional equipment.

However since cost isn't the main deciding factor in the OP's case you have to ask where does your enjoyment come from and what brings you back for a game. In my own case I'd have little or no interest in golf if it wasn't for the competitions and singles competitions at that. It's not for the prizes either as I've never won a competition in my home club despite regular participation and it's over a year since I won a prize elsewhere. Singles competition for me add an element of pressure and excitement in the expectation that a good round will be rewarded with either a handicap cut, a prize or both. Even when playing poorly there's an incentive to try and grind out a respectable score and perhaps get into the buffer zone. Golf for me is all about trying to be the best player you can and there's no better measure of that than your handicap and it's fluctuation.

The benefits of club membership for me are therefore:
    1) Active handicap with access to regular competitions
    2) Easy timesheet access especially on weekend mornings when I wish to play
    3) Playing in competitions with similarly minded players out to "mostly" play the best they can
    4) Practice facilities at my disposal covered with the annual subscription.

I can't remember the last time I played 18 holes in a social game, this weekend for instance my home club is running an open scramble competition on the Sun which I've no interest in so I've booked to play the junior scratch cup in Royal Tara instead. Peak season golf in the larger Dublin area does offer decent competition choices of a weekend but rarely outside of the main summer months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Interesting replies to a very good question.

At the moment most clubs do not have entrance fee's and this allows people to move around, which is great news for the players but bad news for the clubs. Most people don't actually value club membership or don't actually understand what they are getting for that fee.

The club model is depending on having 700/800 members who each play on average about 25 times a year, that would be 20,000 rounds a year. Each member (depending on cost associate with the club and location) example in Dublin would pay around €1000 a year to be a member. They know for that price they get the freedom to play golf when they want and to be part of a special group of people who have the same interest and they get the facilities to improve and practice the game and to represent there club.

Clubs then try to make another 200k a year from other activities, bar/food/societies/green fees etc bring their total income up to 1 million on average.

This allows them maintain a course for there loyal members, anyone that pays green fees and societies have to work around the membership demands which is fair enough.

So does the above model actually work?

Personally I would say no. It's too expenses and a luxury, but that's the point of golf membership.

Compare the above club to a business that provides pay and play. They have no interest in improving the club or providing club facilities and this does suit some people and can work if location is good. But in this business model someone is always looking to make a profit. To get the same turn over at average per round of €25 they need 40,000 rounds, that's a lot of feet and damage to a course.

In the current market if your a member for 20 years and paying €1000 you would be annoyed to see new members joining for a cheaper introduction rate and then leaving the following year, but this is where the market is currently but it won't always be like that and a lot of clubs have upped there Green Fees this year. I also believe most clubs will bring back hello money.

The best membership model is to offer a discount to the members who are with the club the longest.

10 years 10% of the sub
    20 years 20% of the sub
    30 years 30% of the sub
    40 years 50% of the sub

This will encourage loyalty to a club and reward the longest members, but it's a huge financial risk for the club.

I think this model is fairer as you have contribute over your membership life to the running of the club, so it should get cheaper for you and not the new people coming into the club.

So to answer the opening posters question, if you have doubt over the value of your membership then that is usually a time to leave.

My main reasons for having membership at my club are the following:

1. Having the time to play
    2. Location of club
    3. Friends
    4. Course and facilities
    5. Wanting to improve (never happens)
    6. Value

Value comes last...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I ditched my membership two years ago when our first kid came on the scene. Havn't really been able to justify returning, and to be honest, there is a part of me that somewhat struggles to get the willingness to go back.

I do miss golf when I'm not playing, but I'm too hard on myself and competitive when I'm playing, and if I'm not playing well I'm not enjoying it.

We have another little one on the way in the coming weeks. Going to try scrounge a few euro away from the next few paydays and see if I can muster some money together to go back next year.

This is now my third little stint away from golf and I'm 28. Find it was too easy to justify not going back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

I am in a similar position. This year I got a reduced rate due to age but I will be back to full sub next year.

I have 3 young kids so don't get out very often. Looking at it on a cost per round there is no way I can justify the full sub. I can barely justify the reduced one.

I know a club is more than just cost per round but due to family I can't avail of club teams, the crack in the bar afterwards, a few holes of an evening etc etc so I am missing out on all the other benefits.

So unfortunately unless they have a more flexible membership option then I will have to give up next year. But I love my competitive golf when I do get to play so will probably try to sort distance membership somewhere so I can keep a current GUI for playing opens. (Yes I know some on here will want to stone me for this but so be it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Simply put, clubs need to become more adaptable to retain members like doc, alx and many others. Many clubs already have a discounted u30 membership, so introducing some option for people with kids under 8 (that's the age they go out to work, right?) would be smart.

There are quite a few ways it can work like e500 pa for 20 weekend comps per year, full use of practise facilities, bar, GUI, etc.

Smarter people than me could easily come up with more inventive options.

"The club captain must be present at the birth to qualify" :p

Imagine the loyalty that would garner further down the line from the people who otherwise might have given up their membership!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭koura

I was a member of Loughrea golf club for 9 years. I asked for a year out for work reasons. Was told it was not possible. I cancelled. I heard later that another MEMBER!!! got a year out. A few years later I got an invitation to join without any entrance fee. Tiger values, Tiger economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Around Dublin they basically have every price point covered.
    You have the pay and play which end up as good a value as some of the distance memberships.

I really like the club I'm in gym and swimming pool included so makes it good value and the kids get some benefit.

Tom.D.BJJ wrote: »
    Simply put, clubs need to become more adaptable to retain members like doc, alx and many others. Many clubs already have a discounted u30 membership, so introducing some option for people with kids under 8 (that's the age they go out to work, right?) would be smart.

There are quite a few ways it can work like e500 pa for 20 weekend comps per year, full use of practise facilities, bar, GUI, etc.

Smarter people than me could easily come up with more inventive options.

"The club captain must be present at the birth to qualify" :p

Imagine the loyalty that would garner further down the line from the people who otherwise might have given up their membership!

Oh I wish. They had it right in Victorian times. Where's a good mine when you need one :p

I am going to contact my club in the new year to see if there is anything they can offer me in terms of a flexible option.
    I like the club and don't want to leave. I'm not looking for special treatment or anything, more wanting to find a way where we both benefit.

I'd hope to have my kids join when the time comes when they will hopefully play. Not going to hold it against them if they can't do anything for me but will be a pity if not.