Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Olympic coverage

• 06-08-2016 10:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭

Over the past few days, we have seen several RTE reporters in Rio . Even morning Ireland came from there on Friday last. Six One news On Sat had one reporter interviewing another in front of the olympic vilage.

Imagine my surprise when on the Miriam show we saw that Derval O Rourke and Michael Carrouth will do the commentries on their respective sports.

At a time when RTE are crying for an increase in licence fee , is it necessary to have half the news and sports dept junketing off to Rio while the experts do the commentries from Dublin.

What nextl "The Sunday Game" next week live from Rio ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

There are many things to criticise RTE for.

Their coverage of the Olympics is not one. They do a brilliant job of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭fernrock

my point is, do we need so many in Rio when all most people need are commentries and, they are being done from Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Probably slightly off topic, but the rte mobile app (iOS) is fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Do we know how many are gone to it?

Would it be better if the news reporters were reporting from Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

If RTÉ sent nobody then someone else would complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

fernrock wrote: »
    What nextl "The Sunday Game" next week live from Rio ?.

Don't be giving them ideas. Marty Morrissey would be off to Copacabana beach to do The Sunday Game faster than you could say "women's beach volleyball".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭lukin

Evanne Ni Chuilinn sure looked hawt on the Six-One news today.The climate in Rio helps I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The costs of flight and travel nowadays are not as expensive as it used to be.

This is one of the world's biggest sporting events and it's right that they have reporters there.

The majority of stuff is done from Dublin.

Look at the studio that BBC have there, that costs much more serious money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,175 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Ryle Nugent was interviewed by D'Arcy on the coverage.

Think they have 40 'presenters' down there.

Cahill is obviously the colour reporter aka de paartie animal

NI Cuileann needs to take the hard look off her dial and get her roots done.

Hurley might be the 'afdhernoon' link

Adrian Eames is the gymnast

Could be the making of a good thread here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Who in gods name is commentating on the basketball on RTE 2??, more like the Irish Sid Waddell, "slicing and dicing", "came out with a new air fresher at half time with that fresh approach"???, wtf???

Edit Darragh just said, Tim and Sean, Tim and Sean who??????

BBC commentators- Fck off why don't you. You're so patronising. I'm watching the diving right now and the commentary is just so pompous :(

Who in gods name is commentating on the basketball on RTE 2??, more like the Irish Sid Waddell, "slicing and dicing", "came out with a new air fresher at half time with that fresh approach"???, wtf???

Heard him this morning. Very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

BBC commentators- Fck off why don't you. You're so patronising. I'm watching the diving right now and the commentary is just so pompous :(
    Across the board.... really do not help themselves...

I'm aghast. I had heard their commentary of the opening ceremony was patronising and I'm well used to the BBC through the years but really, this is just "switch off" annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Ah here , Kelly "Like ya know, like, like, like ya know " Harrington, in studio talking about the boxing, brutal!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,175 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Is the guy with the ants nest on his head in Rio.?

Jerry something, Athletics guy, knows his stuff, but the hair!!!

Is the guy with the ants nest on his head in Rio.?

Jerry something, Athletics guy, knows his stuff, but the hair!!!

Kiernan? Yes, Athletics doesnt start up until toward the end of next week though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Duggie2012

RTE couldn't pay the 10,000 euro fee to cover the Dundalk game the other night. Yet the whole dept must be down in RIO living it up. which one is of more national importance. i know which i would choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    RTE couldn't pay the 10,000 euro fee to cover the Dundalk game the other night. Yet the whole dept must be down in RIO living it up. which one is of more national importance. i know which i would choose.

But Eir paid it ? Were they going to show it on two channels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Chijj wrote: »

RTE had first refusal

Chijj wrote: »

only a small portion of the country would have access to the eir sport channel. they put up the money for it so they got it. RTE said they were 'outbid' for the game.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I don't know what all this hoo ha about Donalk is. This happens every year. One or two League of Ireland clubs get into a European Championship and are promptly knocked out in a round or two once the big boys play against them. I'm not always a fan of RTE decisions but I'd commend them on sparing 10,000 on the Dundalk thing.

RTE's Olympics coverage is very good in general but the ads kill me. There are way too many really. I love the two Cork guys who commentate on the basketball. You can tell they really love the sport and they really make the whole thing entertaining.

I thought the BBC coverage of the opening ceremony was more informative than the RTE coverage. I feel sorry for the experts though. Especially for Boxing, Rowing, Equestrian and Athletics I think we should send the experts to commentate on site. I think those are probably our strengths.

Standing on the beach or in the sun in Rio is definitely helping the look of the ladies in the RTE sports department. Standing in the wind and rain in Thurles doesn't do wonders for their look!

On the BBC I'm enjoying Helen Skelton's coverage despite her getting hassle over a short skirt at the first swimming rounds Saturday night. She's enthusiastic and there's a lot to be said for that. Typically of the BBC though they're Team GB ramping all the time. I really feel sorry for the team members who miss out on qualifying. They're forgotten so quickly. I think Kieran Behan is a feckin hero after doing his routing with bloody hands and then dislocating his knee. He didn't qualify but he gets the gold for effort in my book.

mansize wrote: »
    RTE had first refusal

Can you provide a source for that?
    only a small portion of the country would have access to the eir sport channel. they put up the money for it so they got it. RTE said they were 'outbid' for the game.

RTÉ saw a market value for it and Eir bid higher. End of story. Not everything can be shown on FTA television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭ahlookit

Timmy McCarthy. Cult hero gets wheeled out every 4 years. Watch out for the big "downtown" when there's a 3 pointer!

Dont know who the sidekick Sean is.

http://www.joe.ie/news/audio-the-brilliant-off-the-ball-timmy-mccarthy-tribute/38537

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Only games from the Play-Off Round (the last knockout round before the group stages) are part of the centrally sold television rights for the UEFA Champions League.

It is up to each individual club to decide (or indeed, not to decide) upon a process for selling home games in the competition prior to that point. A similar situation applies in the UEFA Europa League with the difference that only games from the group stages onwards are covered.

RTE and TV3 will be covering Dundalk's Play Off Round games live as part of their rights package for the Champions League.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭tampopo

They should change GBR to TGB they say only that. Does my head in. Also, Team Ireland. Sure every country could be Team Generic Country Name.
    The beach look suits Evanne, alright. I heard Timmy yesterday, Lithuania vBrazil. It's hard to get excited about bball. I'm confused as to what a foul is.
    Give each team 100pts and put a minute on the clock and you'd get the same thing.

I watched RTE's opening night as Hazel chirpy Irvine is painful. What's she always laughing at?

why didn't RTE show Annalise Murphy's first race, the one she came first in. WHY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭fernrock

why didn't RTE show Annalise Murphy's first race, the one she came first in. WHY

They would probably have had to send another member of staff out.
    As the ones out there were too busy interviewing each other.

They said they didn't have the footage. I'm guessing that there must have been some problem ont he provider's side.

It looks like they get a package from the official broadcaster that has coverage and highlights of the main events. That saves the local stations from doing all that work themselves and they can break out from the pack to the live streams for events of local interest, like Irish boxing matches etc. That'd certainly explain why RTE and BBC laregely showed the same thing for a few hours yesterday evening. At one point everyone showed rugby which was disappointing considering that there were so many more sports on offer.

Timmy really lifted the evening though with his basketball commentary. It'd be a pretty humdrum sport only for his enthusiasm. He's a legend!

squonk wrote: »
    They said they didn't have the footage. I'm guessing that there must have been some problem ont he provider's side.

did they say that, i went home yesterday evening and was raging when the 1st race wasn't been shown. some horsejumping on at the time, had to follow it online. hopefully annalise can keep the good momentum going today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I read (in the AH thread I think) that there was no footage of the first race at all. There were other events on in the same area and they couldn't film them all. Not sure how true that is.

Yeah Daragh whatshisname (he looks like Generic Sports Anchor to me) did say that there was no footage available of Race 1. I was happy with the 3 day eventing being shown as I enjoy watching that. I have to be honest and say that coverage of sailing isn't exactly riveting and I have to hand it to the commentator for keeping it interesting, though I zoned out after a while. There were sailboarders zipping in and out of shot in Race 2 so I'm guessing that those events were going on at the same time.

I definitely thought the eventing was the better, more entertaining choice yesterday.

Yeah Daragh whatshisname (he looks like Generic Sports Anchor to me) did say that there was no footage available of Race 1. I was happy with the 3 day eventing being shown as I enjoy watching that. I have to be honest and say that coverage of sailing isn't exactly riveting and I have to hand it to the commentator for keeping it interesting, though I zoned out after a while. There were sailboarders zipping in and out of shot in Race 2 so I'm guessing that those events were going on at the same time.

I definitely thought the eventing was the better, more entertaining choice yesterday.

Mention of sailing commentators brings this to mind - courtesy of Viper from the Hardy Bucks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

ahlookit wrote: »
    Timmy McCarthy. Cult hero gets wheeled out every 4 years. Watch out for the big "downtown" when there's a 3 pointer!

Dont know who the sidekick Sean is.

http://www.joe.ie/news/audio-the-brilliant-off-the-ball-timmy-mccarthy-tribute/38537
    Timmy's sodekick=SeanO'Sullivan,another Cork b-ball head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,876 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

How come RTE are showing the same thing on both their channels now?

I know the eventing is a big deal for the Irish so I'd expect them to cover it, but surely to God there's something else they could be showing given they have a second channel???

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    How come RTE are showing the same thing on both their channels now?

I know the eventing is a big deal for the Irish so I'd expect them to cover it, but surely to God there's something else they could be showing given they have a second channel???

Yes, daft showing same thing on both channels....but you can watch different streams here:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/olympics/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,853 ✭✭✭brian_t

That'd certainly explain why RTE and BBC laregely showed the same thing for a few hours yesterday evening. At one point everyone showed rugby which was disappointing !

I haven't watched any of the coverage so far but I thought that the BBC had several Olympic channels on the go.

brian_t wrote: »
    I haven't watched any of the coverage so far but I thought that the BBC had several Olympic channels on the go.

They do, but only on sky and you have to tune them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,051 ✭✭✭Gaspode

I'd rather watch the Olympics on BBC and follow team GB than watch on since the RTE coverage is so bad. Every time I go to RTE they have a few bodies sitting in a studio chatting (about boxing more often than not. Is that the only thing were competing in?) Sod that, show the action, even if Ireland are competing.

Gaspode wrote: »
    Every time I go to RTE they have a few bodies sitting in a studio chatting (about boxing more often than not. Is that the only thing were competing in?) Sod that, show the action, even if Ireland are competing.

Just thought I'd see. There's diving on RTÉ Two and gymnastics on News Now. Not a talking head to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I've had the Olympics on pretty much all the time since it started (not that I've been sitting there the whole time, but I've had it on while I've been doing stuff in the house!) and most of the time when I've turned over to RTE they've been talking in the studio. I flick around pretty often so there has been an awful lot of studio time. It's like RTE feel like they have to get the best value for money whereas the BBC don't mind that the presenters are taking a back seat to the sport.

Gaspode wrote: »
    I'd rather watch the Olympics on BBC and follow team GB than watch on since the RTE coverage is so bad. Every time I go to RTE they have a few bodies sitting in a studio chatting (about boxing more often than not. Is that the only thing were competing in?) Sod that, show the action, even if Ireland are competing.

I agree with this - I've mostly watched BBC as they happen to have been showing what I was interested in, but today I flicked through all the channels every so often in case I was missing something - and every blessed time there was that huge couch with talking heads.... talking.

And now I'm stuck in Saorviewland so have to watch the Irish coverage (mostly replays, I think) - and oh my goodness the commentary is appalling. They're clearly bluffing - I've so far seen diving, gymnastics, and now tennis, and it's obvious that they're chancing their arms.

Fair enough, a country our size can't have experts in everything (coverage of the eventing, rowing and boxing are top notch), but for the more unusual sports I'll be sticking to the Beeb from now on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

lertsnim wrote: »
    There's diving on RTÉ Two

I genuinely thought you were talking about that nonsense soccer match they wasted airtime with.

There's way too much coverage of the Rugby 7s. We can see Rugby any day of the week here and it's pretty annoying that it's getting even more coverage here now when there are more sports happening we don't get to see that often.

I was delighted I discovered RTE NEWS NOW last night which shows a live stream of events with no ads and just commentary. I don't know what RTE were thinking yesterday cutting their coverage for some soccer match. It's not like there isn't soccer available every day of the week normally. What's worse, they kept RTE 1 an Olympic free zone. I thought they'd do what BBC do and have them pick up the slack for a while. I was never as happy to have the BBC available. If that wasn't bad enough, the Joyce fight was only broadcast on RTE NEWS NOW. You'd think that one of our competitors deserves time on on of the mail channels? No, obviously Soccer and Current Affairs are more important. They must have spent an hour though analysing the fight. I watched the coverage on News Now and switched over to RTE 2 later for a minute to see them still talking about it! Eric and Bernard were great though in the pre fight analysis.

Maybe my appreciation of the BBC has grown in time but I never remember there being such a marked difference between them and RTE before. I don't remember previous olympics having so much time devoted to people just talking before. Of course there was always the post games analysis for an hour but it's like the Sports department are on some mission to justify their value or something at the moment. Just show the sports damnit!

Anyone catch Des Cahill's interview later in the night where he was talking about Nick Quinn? Nick Quinn was so impressive in his interview earlier in the evening. Nice guy, very bright and has a plan in his head. Hard not to be impressed with him. Des did a cringeworthy interview about meeting his family. What stuck out for me is that Des ingratiated himself into meeting the family. Apparently Des spotted Nick crossing the road, said Hi and when he found Nick was off to meet his family, asked if he could come along. I thought that was in poor taste. The guy was having some down time to catch up with his family. I'd see talking to them at the swim meet to be fair game really but otherwise leave these guys and their families alone Des!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

There's way too much coverage of the Rugby 7s. We can see Rugby any day of the week here and it's pretty annoying that it's getting even more coverage here now when there are more sports happening we don't get to see that often.

I was delighted I discovered RTE NEWS NOW last night which shows a live stream of events with no ads and just commentary. I don't know what RTE were thinking yesterday cutting their coverage for some soccer match. It's not like there isn't soccer available every day of the week normally. What's worse, they kept RTE 1 an Olympic free zone. I thought they'd do what BBC do and have them pick up the slack for a while. I was never as happy to have the BBC available. If that wasn't bad enough, the Joyce fight was only broadcast on RTE NEWS NOW. You'd think that one of our competitors deserves time on on of the mail channels? No, obviously Soccer and Current Affairs are more important. They must have spent an hour though analysing the fight. I watched the coverage on News Now and switched over to RTE 2 later for a minute to see them still talking about it! Eric and Bernard were great though in the pre fight analysis.

Maybe my appreciation of the BBC has grown in time but I never remember there being such a marked difference between them and RTE before. I don't remember previous olympics having so much time devoted to people just talking before. Of course there was always the post games analysis for an hour but it's like the Sports department are on some mission to justify their value or something at the moment. Just show the sports damnit!

Anyone catch Des Cahill's interview later in the night where he was talking about Nick Quinn? Nick Quinn was so impressive in his interview earlier in the evening. Nice guy, very bright and has a plan in his head. Hard not to be impressed with him. Des did a cringeworthy interview about meeting his family. What stuck out for me is that Des ingratiated himself into meeting the family. Apparently Des spotted Nick crossing the road, said Hi and when he found Nick was off to meet his family, asked if he could come along. I thought that was in poor taste. The guy was having some down time to catch up with his family. I'd see talking to them at the swim meet to be fair game really but otherwise leave these guys and their families alone Des!

That's very RTÉ- soft focus personal setting tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

They have to show the super cup as part of their champions league coverage. Rugby 7s finishes tomorrow anyway. And perhaps RTE think it will get more viewers than other sports...
    Well the soccer will get more viewers than most Olympic events....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭AlanG

brian_t wrote: »

The BBC have 8 Olympic HD channels on FreeSat. You need to tune them in. I think on sky you can get them via red button.

AlanG wrote: »
    The BBC have 8 Olympic HD channels on FreeSat. You need to tune them in. I think on sky you can get them via red button.

i cant seem to access the red button on BBC since the olympics started. is this just me? dosent seem to be available, you have BBC1, BBC2, BBC4 as far as i can see. unless its my remote????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

They have to show the super cup as part of their champions league coverage.

do they:confused:

i didn't give a damn about that match, wanted to see how the irish boxer was getting on, couldn't believe they weren't showing it :(

fryup wrote: »
    do they:confused:

i didn't give a damn about that match, wanted to see how the irish boxer was getting on, couldn't believe they weren't showing it :(

Agreed! Irish amateur boxer in the olympics trumps overpaid foreigners running around a pitch IMHO.