Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish man released from Australian detention centre

• 06-08-2016 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭

Bernard Lee did not disclose criminal conviction in Ireland to Australian authorities
    so he lied!
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/irish-man-released-from-australian-detention-centre-1.2747944
    His lawyer:
    “My view is that his non-disclosure [of his criminal conviction in Ireland] when filling in his passenger card, is at the lower end of seriousness, given he had resided in Australia for seven years. It is pretty over the top to cancel without notice and take someone to immigration detention".

Should we arrest some Aussies and send them back on the return flight or just be glad they got beat in the rugby by the Old enemy?

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Follow the rules and you'll be grand. He lied. Not something you wanna do with respect to immigration. 7 years down the sh1tter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

He also committed drink driving offences while in Australia.

Then tried to court public sympathy for his situation by only telling half the story.

Perhaps Ireland should adopt a similar policy of returning migrants who commit crimes to their home country

If Australians break the law in a similar manner and fail to disclose relevant information, then of course they should be sent back.

If you mean some tit for tat thing with no grounds, obviously not, presume you are not being serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Oh great, just what we need....another asshole in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

You want to go to their country- expect to play by their rules and don't complain you discover their sentencing is harsh.

I would expect that same from any immigrants coming to this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Bernard Lee did not disclose criminal conviction in Ireland to Australian authorities
    so he lied!
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/irish-man-released-from-australian-detention-centre-1.2747944
    His lawyer:
    “My view is that his non-disclosure [of his criminal conviction in Ireland] when filling in his passenger card, is at the lower end of seriousness, given he had resided in Australia for seven years. It is pretty over the top to cancel without notice and take someone to immigration detention".

Should we arrest some Aussies and send them back on the return flight or just be glad they got beat in the rugby by the Old enemy?

Let's be clear here:
    Mr Lee has been convicted of criminal offenses in both Ireland and Australia, including drink driving and driving without a license.

He should never be let behind the wheel again. I hope he has to serve a lifetime driving ban wherever he resides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Serial offender for the same offence.
    He's a gowl, we should block the deportation on the grounds that they have to keep him as we don't want him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

Should we arrest some Aussies and send them back on the return flight

If they commit crimes, then send them back. Australia leads by example of how the treat immigrants. Get tough on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭LuckyRoche

He lied on his initial visa application and then went onto drink drive again in Australia. No sympathy for him especially since I heard him on the radio and he went on to say that it was "just a drink driving charge."

Idiots never learn and repeat drunk drivers are some of the biggest idiots of all.

Owryan wrote: »

Then tried to court public sympathy for his situation by only telling half the story.

Perhaps Ireland should adopt a similar policy of returning migrants who commit crimes to their home country

Even when he was attempting to gain the Irish publics sympathy he came across as a knacker.
    Lee says the reason for his detention is “just a drink driving charge from nine years ago in Ireland, I hadn’t declared it on the incoming passenger form at the airport”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

If it was 'just a drink driving charge', why are they deporting the eejit.

Not just a drink driving charge if he can lie about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

One of our own idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The Raptor wrote: »
    If it was 'just a drink driving charge', why are they deporting the eejit.

Not just a drink driving charge if he can lie about it.

He was also done for drink driving twice in Australia and driving without a licence and obstructing police so a little more to the story.
    In the aftermath it emerged that Lee has criminal records in both Ireland and Australia for drink driving, driving without a licence, and police obstruction.

http://www.thejournal.ie/bernard-lee-australia-detention-centre-2901318-Jul2016/

He was also done for drink driving twice in Australia and driving without a licence and obstructing police so a little more to the story.

http://www.thejournal.ie/bernard-lee-australia-detention-centre-2901318-Jul2016/

Well I guess all that doesn't matter because on his girlfriend's facebook page, she was boasting how he was coming 'home' this week. Home being Australia.

Home being Ireland. He'll probably never get into Australia again. They don't mess around.

LuckyRoche wrote: »
    Home being Ireland. He'll probably never get into Australia again. They don't mess around.

Yep, I read it wrong. She said he would be returning home on a flight. I didn't understand how she was calling it home when she's an Aussie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

There are a bunch of these lads in Australia, out acting the gobsh*te with tío much drink in them and having no respect for the locals (Aussies are less fond of getting messy drunk than some might think) and then turning around about how unfair Australia is, crying into a TV3 mic about how the locals don't like us etc. Truth is the Aussies do like us, they just don't like gobsh*tes like this.

Yep, I read it wrong. She said he would be returning home on a flight. I didn't understand how she was calling it home when she's an Aussie.

Ireland's loss is Australia's gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Mena wrote: »
    7 years down the sh1tter.

I think they prefer the term "down under"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Suppose they had enough of our convicts being sent over there

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

So this guy was dis-koala-fied from driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

mzungu wrote: »

*Leaves thread.

Was he tried in a Kangaroo Court ?

The hell is this story doing on the irish times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

Was he tried in a Kangaroo Court I wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

mzungu wrote: »

That's Emusing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

jelutong wrote: »
    Was he tried in a Kangaroo Court ?

Ah now, he is bound by the rule of law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

The flamin' mongrel

The truth must have come out schooner than he expected.

The flamin' mongrel

There's only person that can say that.

Where is he by the way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

There's only person that can say that.

Where is he by the way?

Stroke after heart attack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The hell is this story doing on the irish times.

Blame Joseph Duffy for having his father and then him live from prison on Liveline during the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

Blame Joseph Duffy for having his father and then him live from prison on Liveline during the week.

Duffy was coming across as having a fair bit of sympathy for this serial drink driver too.

He did, so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,377 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Owryan wrote: »

we have such a policy for serious criminals. for petty crime it's not cost effective though.
    511 wrote: »
    If they commit crimes, then send them back. Australia leads by example of how the treat immigrants. Get tough on them.

incorrect, australia doesn't lead by example. getting tough on every single immigrant isn't cost effective and we haven't got the resources. more important things to spend money on such as transport, health, education.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

we have such a policy for serious criminals. for petty crime it's not cost effective though.

incorrect, australia doesn't lead by example. getting tough on every single immigrant isn't cost effective and we haven't got the resources. more important things to spend money on such as transport, health, education.

They Australians don't get tough on every single immigrant. Just those that lie on their visa applications and who commit crimes. Fair dues to them. They're down one habitual drunk driver now.

not at all they are going way over the top. we don't want him back so they can keep him

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

the ausralians drink fostets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

IF he had committed a crime, done the time and didn't disclose it on the immigration form, then had seven years with an absolutely clean record, I'd disapprove of the lie, but have a mild amount of sympathy for someone trying to restart their life and making a dumb mistake for fear of prejudice.

But since that's not the case and he's a serial offender who seems to have no idea of the gravity of what he's done (repeatedly), screw him, no sympathy at all.

g'day mate

not at all they are going way over the top. we don't want him back so they can keep him

He's an Irish citizen so like it or not, he's our problem and not theirs. He broke the terms of his visa and rightfully got the boot.

thow a few shripms on the barbecue mate

burn sea-food

He's an Irish citizen so like it or not, he's our problem and not theirs. He broke the terms of his visa and rightfully got the boot.

well we have to send him back again with a return to sender note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Yet you want halawa back :rolleyes:

the australians are prehistoric

well we have to send him back again with a return to sender note.

I'd be surprised if he ever gets to step foot on Australian soil again. They've one of the largest immigrant populations in the world but if you commit a crime or lie to get in then you get the boot. They're tough but fair.

I only hope the fella gives the drink driving a knock on the head when he comes back here.

I'd be surprised if he ever gets to step foot on Australian soil again. They've one of the largest immigrant populations in the world but if you commit a crime or lie to get in then you get the boot. They're tough but fair.

I only hope the fella gives the drink driving a knock on the head when he comes back here.

i heard he was not only cot driving under the influence but was atually coty driving drinking a big box ofg that ceap wine they have out there in oz,

XR3i wrote: »
    i heard he was not only cot driving under the influence but was atually coty driving drinking a big box ofg that ceap wine they have out there in oz,
    What a goon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Reading the journal article it says he had a drink driving offence 9 years ago. He's 26 years old..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I think it's reasonably common knowledge that the Australians don't like us all that much, people here don't appreciate that but the person in question here is an idiot plain and simple.

Glazers Out!