Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tuesday

• 01-08-2016 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,955 ✭✭✭✭

Just one for me in the 6:25 at Cork tomorrow and it's Enter The Red at 6/1. Only reason I am backing it was because I got talking to the trainers wife at Leopardstown towards the start of the year and she said it had a great chance at winning in the next few months. It's placed on three separate occasions for me and not been too punished by the handicapper. Let's hope it can do the business tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭closcriobh

Cork 20:25 sees Harlequeen drop down from placing in G1's such as the Oaks to take on a Group 3 contest. Has the superior form and De Sousa going all the way to Cork for that one ride. Opened at 9/4 but 13/8 now best price, which still seems fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Have also backed HARLEQUEEN and have also backed FLIGHT RISK 7/1 EW 7.25.
    GL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

notice that all three of Charles Byrnes' horses at Roscommon have been backed from double digits into 4s or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Stacksey

notice that all three of Charles Byrnes' horses at Roscommon have been backed from double digits into 4s or less.

It takes very little money to move odds from 12's to 4's at a track like Roscommon, the thing is high street bookmakers wouldnt take big bets on these 3 horses so how does someone like Byrnes get a big bet on? Surely he wouldnt be able to get his cash down til at the track itself? maybe i'm wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Stacksey wrote: »
    It takes very little money to move odds from 12's to 4's at a track like Roscommon, the thing is high street bookmakers wouldnt take big bets on these 3 horses so how does someone like Byrnes get a big bet on? Surely he wouldnt be able to get his cash down til at the track itself? maybe i'm wrong

I'd be inclined to agree with you stacks. Bit of a lay job going on perhaps. Expect them all to drift before the off and get stuffed. My puntings not going well so I'm staying away for a few weeks so wouldn't trust my judgement at the minute though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Stacksey

I'd be inclined to agree with you stacks. Bit of a lay job going on perhaps. Expect them all to drift before the off and get stuffed. My puntings not going well so I'm staying away for a few weeks so wouldn't trust my judgement at the minute though :(

We see it so often with these 'Gambles' which end up drifting back to what they where 2 mins before the off, with irish racing its essential to wait just before the off if having a bet, this has proved quite profitable in the last few weeks with Aidan O'Brien horses, when the money is down they generally collect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,416 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Done an E/W Treble on the Charles Byrnes runners seeing as its been spoken about.

Charles gets off to a good start anyway

Be nice to see it come off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Done an E/W Treble on the Charles Byrnes runners seeing as its been spoken about.

Hope it lands for you. BOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

Gamble landed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,180 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Well feck me sideways. Unreal stuff there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

What prices were they when it was mentioned on here if any1 could tell me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Tsssst

seanhynes wrote: »

699/1 at 9am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Tsssst wrote: »
    699/1 at 9am

First showing of the 3 were 16s, 16s and 14s :pac: 4334/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

And how many times have we seen Byrne's horse's and others gambled on with form like that and NOT come in....that's where the punter is losing out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Please be careful what you post regarding a trainer's success, the betting and the likelihood of the win(s). Any posts suggestion any win or loss is "a gamble" will be deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

I know someone who had 300 e/w on the first one cos he thought it might be punted tonight. Cashed out for 1k profit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭mountai

I dont understand the logic of people begrugging a gamble like this. <snip> . As has been pointed out , most of these gambles fail , so good luck when they do come in . Russell / Byrnes , a deadly combination and ALWAYS need watching.

I don't begrudge people winning money. It's easy to see why some people don't like them the horses have obviously been pulled previously for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tinpib

Any more success stories? Last night I had rejected gambling and all its empty promises, and was happy with my decision.

Saw about this gamble at around 2:30pm but didn't back it. Then when the first one won I got on a double at 7/1 for the second 2. So better than a kick up hole.

Today is the stuff of legend really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

mountai wrote: »
    I dont understand the logic of people begrugging a gamble like this. <snip> As has been pointed out , most of these gambles fail , so good luck when they do come in . Russell / Byrnes , a deadly combination and ALWAYS need watching.
    And what about the punters who followed the lost gambles..

Three of my posts deleted. One saying you don't need info to win long term

Retarded forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,416 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

seanhynes wrote: »

I got 6-1, 5-2, 5-2,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tinpib

I got 6-1, 5-2, 5-2,

I saw the odds for a split second at around 2:30pm and I think they were around that alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

Retarded forum
    Expect to welcome new user "Zarkava" in next few weeks.

Retarded forum

Please PM the mods if you've any questions or queries re: modding rather than posting queries or unnecessary comments in thread.

Seems as if the stewards did look into the winners. From irishracing.com
    The Stewards enquired into the apparent improvement in form of War Anthem, trained by C.Byrnes, placed first, compared with its recent form. Evidence was heard from the trainer concerned who stated that his animal was ridden at Listowel on the 6th June and Limerick on the 3rd July by G.B. Noonan, an inexperienced claiming rider. He commented that his charge had jumped big and deliberate at Listowel and had never taken a hold of the bit. At Limerick he felt that the rider was weak on his charge who was unable to keep him in contention. He further added that the booking of D.N. Russell in addition to a complete change of training routine by easing off in his exercise combined with the fact that his horses had been out of form but showed signs of improvement in recent work outs had all contributed to todays improvement. He further informed the Stewards that this animal had a history of bursting blood vessels but to his knowledge had not done so on the racecourse. Evidence was also heard from Andrew Shaw, Turf Club National Hunt Handicapper, who stated thatp>War Anthem was tailed off in two previous hurdle races and despite winning a weak contest today, abnormal improvement had been shown. Having considered the evidence the Stewards noted the explanation offered and took no further action.

The Stewards enquired into the apparent improvement in form of Mr Smith (GB), trained by C.Byrnes, placed first, as compared with its previous run at Killarney on the 14th July 2016. Evidence was heard from the trainer concerned who stated that his charge was unable to go with the pace in this two mile one furlong contest and jumped deliberately before losing interest when becoming detached from the main contenders. He added that P.T. Enright who rode Mr Smith (GB) at Killarney had suggested that this animal was ungenuine and could benefit from the application of blinkers, be ridden more prominently and race over a longer distance. Today he did as suggested and felt that his horses had improved in their overall health in recent weeks, all of these factors contributing to this success. Evidence was also heard from Andrew Shaw, Turf Club N.H. Handicapper, who stated that this animal was running off a rating of 83 having been dropped 2lbs for the Killarney run. He also commented that blinkers were applied today and the animal was racing over a longer distance. Having considered the evidence the Stewards noted the explanation and took no further action.

http://www.irishracing.com/news?prid=177313&headline=Bookies-hit-hard-by-Byrnes-Russell-treble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

convert wrote: »
    Seems as if the stewards did look into the winners. From irishracing.com

http://www.irishracing.com/news?prid=177313&headline=Bookies-hit-hard-by-Byrnes-Russell-treble

Have to laugh at the last one. A flat bred horse by Galileo and formerly trained by John Gosden getting outpaced in a 2 mile plus hurdle race :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

This thread a good reminder of why I don't post in here anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Tsssst

This thread a good reminder of why I don't post in here anymore...

how come?

you'd think everyone would be cheerful the bookies got smashed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,180 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Tsssst wrote: »
    how come?

you'd think everyone would be cheerful the bookies got smashed

The post by MH was nothing to do with bookies getting smashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

That was a massive coup and fair play to them it takes a lot of luck and everything to go right to get three of them in.

I have been critical of Davys ride on Sealight the first day in Galway but even though these three looked easy it still was a great feat of riding to get them around especially on the last one whom I feared for when he wouldn't grab the bit jumping of and Davy had to get after him.

Sealight money back x 10.

An Saighduir today and Freight Train at Brighton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

tipptom wrote: »
    That was a massive coup and fair play to them it takes a lot of luck and everything to go right to get three of them in.

I have been critical of Davys ride on Sealight the first day in Galway but even though these three looked easy it still was a great feat of riding to get them around especially on the last one whom I feared for when he wouldn't grab the bit jumping of and Davy had to get after him.

Sealight money back x 10.

An Saighduir today

Huge coup my balls. Great training feat alright but total exaggerating by the Bookies PR men as ususal.
    All horses were cut into 4/1 by 9.30am. Most people would not be able to get €50 single on at 16/1 at that time of the morning never mind doing a treble. They have systems in place since Curley cleaned them.

Id say they might have had €100 treble using about 20 accounts.

On the sea Light ride i backed it at 5's and cant have any complaints about Davy. Horse made a mistake at the first and then they went a crawl meaning he had nowhere to go coming down the hill!

Kauto wrote: »
    Huge coup my balls. Great training feat alright but total exaggerating by the Bookies PR men as ususal.
    All horses were cut into 4/1 by 9.30am. Most people would not be able to get €50 single on at 16/1 at that time of the morning never mind doing a treble. They have systems in place since Curley cleaned them.

Id say they might have had €100 treble using about 20 accounts.

On the sea Light ride i backed it at 5's and cant have any complaints about Davy. Horse made a mistake at the first and then they went a crawl meaning he had nowhere to go coming down the hill!
    Charles got the big prices.
    Davy should have stood down before Sealights race instead of standing himself down after his race.
    The horse should have won by 5 lengths.

Charles got the big prices.
    Davy should have stood down before Sealights race instead of standing himself down after his race.
    The horse should have won by 5 lengths.

If the ordinary joe on the street cant get those prices if they tried for €20, how did Byrnes get them? Answer is he probably didnt. Its all fantasy stuff. They wouldnt take €50 euro at those odds before 10am.
    Stop being taken in by the bookies PR bull!

Wouldnt have mattered who rode Sea Light half way round, he wasnt going from the position he was in and the pace the race was run at!

McDonagh is a genius at getting them out of the stalls from a bad draw,probably helped by O Callaghans horse still smoking a hamlet by the time Declan was looking to cross over to the rails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

If the ordinary joe on the street cant get those prices if they tried for €20, how did Byrnes get them? Answer is he probably didnt. Its all fantasy stuff. They wouldnt take €50 euro at those odds before 10am.
    Stop being taken in by the bookies PR bull!

Wouldnt have mattered who rode Sea Light half way round, he wasnt going from the position he was in and the pace the race was run at!

I've seen it done on a big scale when I was in England. Very easy to do when the stakes are small & plenty of accounts are being used in a small space of time. The accum at the big early prices paid over 4,300/1. They'd have easily got over a thousand in small multiples on lots of different accounts. Do the maths there on that one alone. Then you have stable staff, friends & friends of friends who did the same thing then you're looking at huge money.

How they cotton on to these coups is through lack of discipline. It only takes one clown to lose the run of himself & chance a €50 or €100 treble. THEN it's picked up by the systems in place & then the game is up & the prices are gone. Very easy to get bets on when there's disciplined people involved. This was planned & planned well. Believe me this was a serious touch that they landed, not "PR". Gave a mate of mine a shout earlier this morning & he said it was a proper job. Plenty half arsed attempts at trying to get a touch landed & because someone involved loses their discipline & the prices are gone before the owners or anyone else can get their early money on, the horses end up getting stopped. That happens more than you think & jve witnessed it first hand in the UK.

Motivator wrote: »
    I've seen it done on a big scale when I was in England. Very easy to do when the stakes are small & plenty of accounts are being used in a small space of time. The accum at the big early prices paid over 4,300/1. They'd have easily got over a thousand in small multiples on lots of different accounts. Do the maths there on that one alone. Then you have stable staff, friends & friends of friends who did the same thing then you're looking at huge money.

How they cotton on to these coups is through lack of discipline. It only takes one clown to lose the run of himself & chance a €50 or €100 treble. THEN it's picked up by the systems in place & then the game is up & the prices are gone. Very easy to get bets on when there's disciplined people involved. This was planned & planned well. Believe me this was a serious touch that they landed, not "PR". Gave a mate of mine a shout earlier this morning & he said it was a proper job. Plenty half arsed attempts at trying to get a touch landed & because someone involved loses their discipline & the prices are gone before the owners or anyone else can get their early money on, the horses end up getting stopped. That happens more than you think & jve witnessed it first hand in the UK.

I agree with the execution but they wouldnt have got anything on at the big prices. They were all cut at 9AM!! FFS you can barely have €1 on a big priced treble at that time in the morning. Talk of €5m is pure fantasy. If they got €500K they would be doing very well! If they had the discipline to wait until the limits were raised around 11AM they would have got treble the money on!

Bookies systems are pretty sophisticated since they had the pants pulled down by Curley. You cant have suasage on a multiple with horses from the same stable without the system triggering a mx bet of Nil!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,526 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I did €5 EW during the day. Paid €557.

I agree with the execution but they wouldnt have got anything on at the big prices. They were all cut at 9AM!! FFS you can barely have €1 on a big priced treble at that time in the morning. Talk of €5m is pure fantasy. If they got €500K they would be doing very well! If they had the discipline to wait until the limits were raised around 11AM they would have got treble the money on!

Bookies systems are pretty sophisticated since they had the pants pulled down by Curley. You cant have suasage on a multiple with horses from the same stable without the system triggering a mx bet of Nil!

It all depends on the history of the account holder & what firm it's with. I've gotten several small ew multiples on with the same firms before it's been copped. Keep them to €5 & €10 ew & I've gotten maybe €100 or €150 in total on before its restricted. At those prices you're already ahead of them. Then also you have the shops that open at 9, it can take 15 mins for prices to change in the morning & ive seen it first hand. So they could easily have gotten multiples on in shops without the staff realising what's happening. By the time the traders get the call in & the prices changed it could be 15 mins, a lot of bets can be done in that amount of time. What I've done in the past is lucky 15s & then throw in a non runner on the docket, the staff don't realise the significance of it & it's only when they get a call they figure it out.

You wouldn't need huge money to land a touch at those prices. Just consistent small multiples done in very quick time. Just think all they needed to do was get €1000 altogether at the early prices before it was copped. If you had 50 people doing the bets it doesn't take long to add up to massive money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

If they were smart, which no doubt they were, they'd have done Yankees instead of individual or multiple bets which I'm sure would set off much less of a trigger. Possibly the three horses in there with a known non-runner or a reserve. I think you'd get more money on that way.

It was a massive coup and anyone thinks this was a bookies PR stunt is not getting it.
    They have bookies and ex bookies setting that up and they know how far they can push it,the rest was lads in the morning seeing the run on Charles Byrnes horses and doing trixies and patents at 4s,good luck to them.

As a poster said this is all about discipline and that was what Charles was talking about when he thanked all his staff in the RP this morning.

It was a massive coup and anyone thinks this was a bookies PR stunt is not getting it.
    They have bookies and ex bookies setting that up and they know how far they can push it,the rest was lads in the morning seeing the run on Charles Byrnes horses and doing trixies and patents at 4s,good luck to them.

As a poster said this is all about discipline and that was what Charles was talking about when he thanked all his staff in the RP this morning.

Exactly, often these coups are actually more than what the public are told. Curleys one two years ago was incredible & far more was taken than we're all led to believe.

Sometimes there's large doubles with short priced favourites that other trainers have layed out for that day - it's important to remember that these lads aren't working alone & have hundreds of contacts both in Ireland & England. There are so many different routes these lads can take to get money on, they're intelligent enough to have horses ready to land it & they're intelligent enough to know how to get their money on. Obviously the big prices went quickly but the damage was already done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Barney curled had the sense to do it with lucky 15s . This gamble would have been far more effective in a similar bet like a patent. Bookies do not pick up as quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

The First two horses were owned by the "Byrnesy Boys Syndicate" :p

Barney curled had the sense to do it with lucky 15s . This gamble would have been far more effective in a similar bet like a patent. Bookies do not pick up as quick

The only reason he had the sense to do that was because there were 4 horses! 🙈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Motivator wrote: »
    The only reason he had the sense to do that was because there were 4 horses! 🙈

3 horses and a (certain) non-runner in the Yankee and you're in business.

I hear there is more to come about this,one person not very happy and not going along with the script.

Branch line tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I hear there is more to come about this,one person not very happy and not going along with the script.

Branch line tomorrow.

Wonder have you the same story as me? I heard the Top of the Town connections werent happy with Byrnes