Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Races Best dressed lady online abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

bigpink wrote: »
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/showbiz/irish-showbiz/galway-races-best-dressed-lady-8537775
    Saw this getting shared on facebook alot
    Geniune or looking for publicity

If you found any tweets/posts/etc of people slagging her then its likely true.
    Disgusting to drag people down based on looks - and if this bad event meant she could push her own brand then why not, get something positive from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I think there are only so many ways we can have the headline 'online eejits are eejits' presented to us. It's a popular headline on slow news days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

But if you put yourself out there in a public and vain way you will be judged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

She has a blog and I see nothing but fawning over her on her blog. I see her blog got a mention in the article. I haven't seen anyone trolling her online over this.
    She's also about to launch her own line of clothing too so I'm guessing publicity

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Not at all hard to believe seeing as how there are open threads on AH right now doing similar with other public figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Trolled for been an A Cup or going braless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

what did they make fun of her over exactly?

Know some who go to this stuff, incl one who owes money to half the parish yet thinks nothing of plastering pics of herself in some ridiculous head gear on social media even though it must gall her creditors.

Anyway, each to their own...but personally I couldn't think of anything more than inane and vacuous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

These stories a product of two things, lazy journalism and the new virtue of victimhood.

Journo's go to think piece these days is fashionable on line sexism, because they need go no further then a facebook comments page for their story and a sympathetic angle to write about utterly uninteresting D list subjects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

shocker, online abuse exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Well that's unfortunate.
    Especially considering there's absolutely nothing bitchy about best dressed women competitions....

Most unfortunate indeed.

Serious fawning over her going on alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/to-all-of-you-cyber-bullies-out-thereps-off-and-get-a-life-galway-races-best-dressed-lady-hits-back-after-online-troll-attacks-34930424.html

Fair play to her! These trolls shouldn't be allowed to get away with this behaviour, why do so many women try to tear others down? :( I don't get it. I thought Lisa McGowan's dress was stunning, it was so understated and simple compared to some of the really elaborate and OTT designs that have won it previous years. I think it's perfectly okay to state your opinion on the dress but to attack this girl personally over her figure and appearance is just not on and plain nasty. Glad she's stood up for herself and it seems from her blog page that she's already helped others who have been bullied by speaking out

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Not at all hard to believe seeing as how there are open threads on AH right now doing similar with other public figures.
    Which ones? Just a tad of a difference between criticism of a public figure's views and calling someone a saggy boobed umpalumpa is there not?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I really feel fortunate to have grown up in the 1990s when the internet was still regarded as a virtual space, and you didn't take what anonymous idiots wrote on it in any way seriously except if they wrote something that made you laugh.

I'd be interested in a study of some kind to determine exactly when, or which years, the internet started becoming serious business. If this was happening in the 90s, nobody - including the person receiving the trolling - would have batted an eyelash, because "the internet will be the internet". It's a rather bizarre phenomenon that people now take to heart what even ten years ago they would have brushed off as irrelevant and insignificant.

When I used to use the internet as a kid I got called every name under the sun and so did everyone else - and the overwhelming ideology was "if it gets too much for you, turn it off for a bit and come back online later when those people will have fecked off".

Why would she care?
    She won best dressed lady.
    She has a load of publicity for her new shop/ label/ blog whatever it is.
    She won a load of money & vouchers etc.

I doubt very much she us sitting at home crying over some internet troll saying she should be wearing a bra or whatever.

I'd imagine it's good free publicity though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I haven't seen any of the abuse (so no idea how valid her complaint is) but there can be a tendency for people to be very nasty and use derogatory names in cases like this. Because she entered a competition like this then I think all aspects of how she put herself together on the day are open for fair criticism - the outfit and how it fit, accessories, hairstyle, makeup, tan. It is perfectly possible to criticise these things without name-calling or slagging her off personally. Some people seem to see it as an opportunity to be vicious though unfortunately.

Shes playing it for pr i think

Shes partakes in a scene that looks down on other women

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

bigpink wrote: »
    Shes playing it for pr i think
    One bunch of notice boxes winding up another bunch of notice boxes, only pausing to decide which flag of convenience/shared grief to drape on their Facebook avatar this week.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Please attack the dress and not the woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

What's wrong with her pert boobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

The media seem to class nasty comments on someone's dress and threats and racial abuse all in the one category of "trolling." One negative tweet can be enough to spawn a so-called story which will get more headlines than a rampant Klanner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

My arse looks very big in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

In today's increasingly PC and equality of the sexes seeking environment, I wonder why people haven't asked for a best dressed man prize to also be available, rather than nitpick over how a woman wears a dress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

How is this news?
    Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

I don't agree with thw abuse if it existed, but i would question who are the judges that awarded a best dressed lady to a lady whose nipples are pertruding through the dress. I like the outfit but a bra would have made it better. Was the standard really that bad or is it the fashion now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

It's completely wrong that there is on line abuse
    directed at the ****ing geebag ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Smondie wrote: »
    I don't agree with thw abuse if it existed, but i would question who are the judges that awarded a best dressed lady to a lady whose nipples are pertruding through the dress. I like the outfit but a bra would have made it better. Was the standard really that bad or is it the fashion now?
    The outfit is perfectly respectable, it fits her well. I find the whole horse races type style conservative and outdated but being hung up on a bit of a nipple in possibly chilly weather and around flash photography that exaggerates everything is ridiculous.

entropi wrote: »
    In today's increasingly PC and equality of the sexes seeking environment, I wonder why people haven't asked for a best dressed man prize to also be available, rather than nitpick over how a woman wears a dress.
    Race fixtures routinely run competitions for Best Dressed Man/ Most Stylish Man, including at Galway.

Some competitions like 'Best Hat' are actually unisex.

meeeeh wrote: »
    The outfit is perfectly respectable, it fits her well. I find the whole horse races type style conservative and outdated but being hung up on a bit of a nipple in possibly chilly weather and around flash photography that exaggerates everything is ridiculous.
    No, not wearing a bra, in chilly weather when your are trying to win a competition that will put you in the spot light and then complaining about people commenting on it is the bit I find ridiculous.

If the dress is supposed to be worn without a bra, the designer should have used thier skills to reinforce the area.

Eh. The easiest way to solve this is by not going on Twitter.

No, not wearing a bra, in chilly weather when your are trying to win a competition that will put you in the spot light and then complaining about people commenting on it is the bit I find ridiculous.

If the dress is supposed to be worn without a bra, the designer should have used thier skills to reinforce the area.
    Christ, I didn't realize nipples are so offensive. Do they hurt your eyes?

I never said they were offensive? It's hardly classey and to hail it as 'best dressed' is puzzling.

What's to say it can't be considered "classy"? I mean, your definition as to what is and isn't might be different to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Anyone with an active twitter account gets abuse.

What's to say it can't be considered "classy"? I mean, your definition as to what is and isn't might be different to others.
    to quote basil fawlty, it's called style dear, you wouldn't understand :p

Should I ensure my nipples are showing through my evening gown before the next big occasion?

I have no idea why visible nipples would make you think a woman is braless. Nipples show through bras all the time.

Should I ensure my nipples are showing through my evening gown before the next big occasion?
    I see you are contributing to me someone else's statement (which I agree with btw) but you might be going a bit too far on your crusade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Lisa posted this in reply to someone:

'Hi Hun.. I ban anyone that posts anything negative on my page. They might comment once but they will never EVER get the chance again xxxx"

Also:

"I just don't get it. You may not like a look but move on from the post and don't comment eh xxx I'm trying so hard to drum it into my followers and 99% are brill and the other 1% get trashed x"

So she probably deleted the abusive comments which is why people can't see them. I presume they were written on her blog page as I don't see any negative comments on other facebook pages (Independent and The Mirror have both covered Ladies Day, among various others like her.ie, evoke.ie, etc) or twitter

I see you are contributing to me someone else's statement (which I agree with btw) but you might be going a bit too far on your crusade.
    I don't know how the quote this got mixed up...i'll try to fix it.

What crusade?

I don't know how the quote this got mixed up...i'll try to fix it.

What crusade?
    Sorry I thought it was intentional.

I've not got a clue how the posts are showing up as being by other posters apologies meeeh and boneyarsebogman. I'm just pressing reply and that is what pop's up????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,831 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I have no idea why visible nipples would make you think a woman is braless. Nipples show through bras all the time.

All the time? They're wouldn't be a bet placed at the races if that was the case.

PARlance wrote: »
    All the time? They're wouldn't be a bet placed at the races if that was the case.

Yes all the time. Unless a bra is of the thick padded moulded type then prominent nipples show through quite easily.

According to this women's site. Prevent the Most Embarrassing Wardrobe Mistake

1. Fabric choice of dress
    2.bra selection
    3. . Accessories, a.k.a. the supporting cast "There are a variety of products with which to cover your nipples, from petals (flesh-toned, flower-shaped adhesives) to silicone gel pads (these come sticky or plain)," Palad says. "In a pinch, you can also use bandaids, surgical tape, or panty liners (cut in half and attached to the inside of your bra).

http://www.womenshealthmag.com/style/prevent-the-most-embarrassing-wardrobe-mistake

Or you can wear a bra if you need to and stop being embarrassed about stuff like that.

Double post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

Some convenient publicity for her new brand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Ronald Wilson Reagan

So it's now necessary to wear a bra or use a nipple concealment device while in public to prevent the cribbing of busybodies, if they think I'm going to wear a bra they can feck off.

#freethenips