Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2016: Round 12 - German Grand Prix

• 29-07-2016 10:04AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭

Formula 1 is heading to the land of Bratwurst, Pretzel and Beer (16+ only)

TV times, live on Sky, Channel 4 with hightlights

Friday 1 July 2016

German Grand Prix first practice 09:00
    German Grand Prix second practice 13:00

Saturday 2 July 2016

German Grand Prix third practice 10:00
    German Grand Prix qualifying live 13:00
    German Grand Prix qualifying highlights Channel 4 17:30

Sunday 3 July 2016

German Grand Prix 13:00

German Grand Prix highlights Channel 4 18:00

There was no GP in 2015 in Hockenheim, so pole time for 2014 was set by Rosberg with 1:16.540, lap record is set with 1:13,306 2004 by Schumacher.

First training saw Mercedes in front with Nico and a time of 1:15.517. Followed by Hamilton, Ferrari, RedBull and McLaren who seem now to become competitive and booked the places 7 and 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Harika wrote:
    First training saw Mercedes in front with Nico and a time of 1:15.517. Followed by Hamilton, Ferrari, RedBull and McLaren who seem now to become competitive and booked the places 7 and 8.

Great to see McLaren working their way up the grid, I'd say it's been stressful in that company for a while now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,508 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Channel 4 were marvelling at Ericsson getting a top ten time in FP1 new wing seems to be working.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭Harika

Charlie Whiting has confirmed that he will red flag qualifying if there are double yellows to stop drivers improving times

Makes sense, as was Rosberg did was smart but a bad precedent for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

Hope Rosberg can win this weekend and lead the championship into the long break. If Hamilton extends his lead this weekend, I get a sense that it could spell the beginning of the end for Rosberg's title challenge, even with Hamilton's inevitable engine penalties.

Surely, Virtual Safety Car would be a better way to neutralise a qualifying session and less disruptive.
    But this is more of a "General Discussion" topic rather than a "German Grand Prix" topic.

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

flazio wrote: »
    Surely, Virtual Safety Car would be a better way to neutralise a qualifying session and less disruptive.
    But this is more of a "General Discussion" topic rather than a "German Grand Prix" topic.

I had the same thought, but they're probably marginal on fuel for quali and would be boxing regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,482 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Channel 4 were marvelling at Ericsson getting a top ten time in FP1 new wing seems to be working.

Did Channel 4 have highlights of the practice or did they just have it online?

Also good to hear that Sauber have got new updates at long last. They had them on the drawing board but could not afford to produce them.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Was watching FP1 live on tv and following it on Autosport live commentary also. Apparently a bunch of cars went off at turn 1 but none of this was shown on the tv coverage.
    It's a bizarre ****ing sport when you think about it.

Sorry, when I say Channel 4, I mean their world feed coverage for Eir.

Speaking of which, the sound quality on the commentary hasn't improved this morning. Slightly annoying but you get used to it after a few minutes.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Sound quality is pretty shocking alright. Should have got my sky install done for this weekend :o

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Sound quality is pretty shocking alright. Should have got my sky install done for this weekend :o

But then you have to listen to David Croft, who never sounds good at any audio quality.

This too shall pass.

Thats a sacrifice im willing to take :cool:

That ticker at the bottom of the screen is bloody annoying as well. Think we all know the story by now :mad:

I do like eir taking the piss out of VM though with there ads really ramming in the dagger

Hamilton under investigation for an unsafe release. If he gets a reprimand he gets a grid penalty.

This too shall pass.

Hamilton under investigation for an unsafe release. If he gets a reprimand he gets a grid penalty.

Thats a slam dunk penalty imho. but im wondering will they give him a straight penalty rather than a reprimand if they do then he will still have to be careful in future races

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Should slap the new engine in the car and take that penalty too

Team fined but no driver penalty

Hopefully the pace in P3 will be a better reflection of qualifying. Bulls and Ferrari much closer to the Mercs

Watching the quali here on Eir Sport.

Ye weren't kidding about the audio. Sounds like they phoning it in on a Nokia 5210.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Judging by the laps the mercs have just done on the soft they were sandbagging in practice.

Also sound quality is atrocious, would Virgin media do that on purpose to make eir look bad or is that a problem with C4 world feed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,116 ✭✭✭✭bnt

DC sounds like he's having some kind of software malfunction and needs a reboot. :o

Button once again in the danger zone - a couple of good laps and he's at the back of the grid, unless he steps it up.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,719 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Eir are in charge of the channel and audio. I wouldn't imagine VM are messing it up. Anyone
    Here have Eir TV experiencing the same?

Doesn't bode well if thinking of moving to Eir just for F1, and only for 4 months as this is gone next year.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

skipper_G wrote: »
    Judging by the laps the mercs have just done on the soft they were sandbagging in practice.

Also sound quality is atrocious, would Virgin media do that on purpose to make eir look bad or is that a problem with C4 world feed

If you noticed the skipping commentary then it switched to the team audio which was perfect then back to garbled commentary.

Really is shocking in this day and age that we have to put up with this.

Thank christ this is the last time i have to deal with this and VM in general its sky all the way for me now. Race weekends have got a lot longer :p gp3 gp2 then the f1 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

astrofluff wrote: »
    Eir are in charge of the channel and audio. I wouldn't imagine VM are messing it up. Anyone
    Here have Eir TV experiencing the same?

Doesn't bode well if thinking of moving to Eir just for F1, and only for 4 months as this is gone next year.

I'm watching it on a satellite dream box, flicked to Eir to check and the sound is awful on it.

And there's the technical difficulties message on the screen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Simon Gruber Says

19th for Kyvat. Not going to help him much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,116 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's not Eir or Virgin, it's Formula One Productions that provide the feed, operating from their headquarters in Biggin Hill in England - details.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

Kyvat should start updating his CV.

Wonder where Red Bull will switch him to next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

bnt wrote: »
    It's not Eir or Virgin, it's Formula One Productions that provide the feed, operating from their headquarters in Biggin Hill in England - details.

The sound is perfect on Sky sports.

bnt wrote: »

The commentary is put over the f1 feed. And the audio quality of the on track and team radio is perfect.

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Wonder where Red Bull will switch him to next

Here :D

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRVtAR9lPfnmygNMIH-iyhXbB7v5eJ6pVuG5qp4yeqyq8RIFAwDcw

As I said there in the past couple of days, I expect Kyvat not to last the summer break. There'll be a new driver by Spa for Toro Rosso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,827 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Kvyat sounding like he can't wait to get the **** out of Germany and home for a few weeks.

Going to stick my neck on the line and forcast pole will be a time sub 1.14

1.13.8 or so as the mercs had a second in their pocket in Q2

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Kyvat interviewed on Sky there, sounds like a broken man, totally dejected. Said he'd need more than the summer break to find out what's going on with himself - he must know he's out the door now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Going to stick my neck on the line and forcast pole will be a time sub 1.14

1.13.8 or so as the mercs had a second in their pocket in Q2

Davidson predicted a 14.2. Be interesting to see how low they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Kvyat sounding like he can't wait to get the **** out of Germany and home for a few weeks.

Ya he was very down in interview there. Felt for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

What a lap by Ricciardo. Great performance by the red bull. Rosberg could be under a little pressure after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

What a lap by Ricciardo. Great performance by the red bull. Rosberg could be under a little pressure after that.

Or maybe not..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,827 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

well Germany beat England this weekend. Unlike 1966 as we keep being told.

Nice one, Rosberg needs to win this weekend to get back in the hunt again and avoid Hamilton walking the championship.

Not a Rosberg fan but fair play for doing it when he had to. Hamilton not so invincible today and couldn't do it as a reply!!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,659 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Anyone post the full results? Not home so missed the quali! Thanks

Never mind it's showing now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,703 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Gp2 race was pretty good, hopefully f1 race will be as eventful

Hulkenberg under investigation for using a set of tyres in Q1 which were already 'returned' after FP1 (the set which is returned after the first part of FP1).

Link to news story

Edit: He has been handed a grid penalty of one place.

Next link!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,703 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Bit of a let off for hulkenberg. 1 place won't mean much, a 5 place penalty would have been something

Merc were fined 10k for the unsafe release, not a driver error team made a cock up.

Hulk gets a grid penalty (only 1 place but that's irrelevant) not a driver error team made a cock up.

There's no consistency with the application of this crap. It does my head in sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Kyvat interviewed on Sky there, sounds like a broken man, totally dejected. Said he'd need more than the summer break to find out what's going on with himself - he must know he's out the door now.

He reminded me of Grosjean at Suzuka in 2012.

A change of team might do Kvyat good. Look at what happened to Frentzen. He had an awful time at Williams and was almost thrown on the scrapheap. EJ took him on and it rejuvenated Frentzen.

Jordan 199 wrote: »
    He reminded me of Grosjean at Suzuka in 2012.

A change of team might do Kvyat good. Look at what happened to Frentzen. He had an awful time at Williams and was almost thrown on the scrapheap. EJ took him on and it rejuvenated Frentzen.
    I thought Frentzen was with Sauber before Jordan?
    I feel sorry for Grojean. Poor guy can't catch a brake. :D
    In all honesty though, if there's no improvement in the audio feed tomorrow, I might just hold out for the highlights on Channel 4. (Don't like the Sky team, won't go near them.)

This too shall pass.

I thought Frentzen was with Sauber before Jordan?
    I feel sorry for Grojean. Poor guy can't catch a brake. :D
    In all honesty though, if there's no improvement in the audio feed tomorrow, I might just hold out for the highlights on Channel 4. (Don't like the Sky team, won't go near them.)

I was surprised to hear the commentary was perfect on C4 highlights. I may do the same and go for highlights only, it was extremely difficult to watch live.