Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you ever feel sorry for drug dealers?

• 23-07-2016 4:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭

Recently in our town two young people got caught with a large about of drugs(over €100,000)
    I noticed a few people on social media were defending these people saying the Gardai only went after them because they were easy targets and they don't care because they only target the small timers.
    They also went on about their background saying they were from council estates/etc sayint they disnt know better or saw a future but from I know there's rarely trouble in these estates and people have grown up to be wide variety of things. From what I saw the people giving out were anti Garda/etc.
    I personally don't really feel sorry for these people at all.

Do you ever feel sorry for drug dealers? 18 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 18 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Drug dealers? No.
    Drug addicts? To some extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,927 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

I only feel sorry for the victims of drug addiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 JL98

Given the chance they will turn from "small timers" to "big timers" and i highly doubt any drug dealer feels sorry for all the lives and familys they have destroyed, so no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

No

Fcuk them, pack of cnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

What a strange question...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

100000 euro worth of drugs is not a small amount of drugs :) Garda got this one right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Pharmacists, with their high salaries and their dispensaries.:mad:

Not an iota of sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Toobz

All the time...poor them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

failinis wrote: »
    Drug dealers? No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭FISMA.

Recently in our town two young people got caught with a large about of drugs(over €100,000)
    ... the Gardai only went after them because they [...] only target the small timers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,202 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I only feel sorry for the victims of drug addiction.

Some dealers are addicts so some are victims too. It's hard to know where to draw the line.
    I think a simple way for me to say it is I have no sympathy for anyone who makes money from drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,202 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

wonski wrote:
    100000 euro worth of drugs is not a small amount of drugs Garda got this one right.

100,000 Street value. Street value is whatever amount of hash you are caught with worked out how many joints you can get out of it. Same with coke. Es are 15 euro each Street value but if you just bought 1000 of them you only paid 1000 euro not 15000 euro. Value is always 5 times or more than what is actually worth.
    Not sticking up for them. Just explaining Street value. Cops did a good job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

They also went on about their background saying they were from council estates/etc sayint they disnt know better or saw a future but from I know there's rarely trouble in these estates and people have grown up to be wide variety of things.

Their are hundreds of thousands of people in Ireland who grew up in a council estates, that have had varying degrees of success that didn't involve importing illegal substances. At worst you can sit on your arse all day and take the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

I spent my teenage years living on a council estate and I don't sell drugs. It's no excuse.

Drug addicts have some of my sympathy, drug dealers can fcuk off, the scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Hologram

a few people on social media were defending these people saying the Gardai only went after them because they were easy targets and they don't care because they only target the small timers.
    LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    100,000 Street value. Street value is whatever amount of hash you are caught with worked out how many joints you can get out of it. Same with coke. Es are 15 euro each Street value but if you just bought 1000 of them you only paid 1000 euro not 15000 euro. Value is always 5 times or more than what is actually worth.
    Not sticking up for them. Just explaining Street value. Cops did a good job

I know it is street value, not a case of small timer user dealer in this case, though.

Thanks for explaining - small timer it was not indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Depends on what they are selling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mightydrumming

By far one of the strangest questions.

Not in the very slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

What about Michael, Randie, Dookie and Boodie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭stimpson

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Es are 15 euro each Street value

You're being ripped off pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Drug addicts for sure, its ****ing horrible and I think they need more support than they get.
    The dealers get nothing from me, scum of the earth simple. I grew up on a council estate and so did most of the people I know, yet very few of us (far as I'm aware) feel the need to poison other peoples lives with that ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

Legalise it and get on with it. The amount of money we are spending trying to stop it when we could be all millionaires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Ronald Wilson Reagan

Some sympathy for John Delorean as he was set up by a rat working for the feds, otherwise cant think of any id have the slightest bit of sympathy for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Of course they deserve our sympathy.
    They are victims of a hypocritical and unequal society, that takes advantage of their vulnerability : those who are better off hold the conflicting views that they want people to deal them drugs, but that no one should deal in drugs. So chew up these poor guys and then spit them out every now and again when their lives are ruined, as a means of collective societal rejection of what they do.
    The drug dealers really have little chance and are ruthlessly exploited by the better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Brasros

They should be treated like vermin and put down.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Big Pharma spending Billions on marketing and fines for doing illegal stuff.

And then they expect sympathy when people immediately ditch them for cheaper generics the minute the patents expire.

Hint
    If your customers only buy from you because you have a legally enforced monopoly then don't expect people to feel any sympathy. :mad:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Ah no, not really.

I knew a lad in college who was well into his libertarian politics. I met him a few years later, he'd been laid off a few months before. Told me that he didn't sign on (owing to his political beliefs) and instead started dealing. He's got principles, I'll give him that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Ah no, not really.

I knew a lad in college who was well into his libertarian politics. I met him a few years later, he'd been laid off a few months before. Told me that he didn't sign on (owing to his political beliefs) and instead started dealing. He's got principles, I'll give him that.

whats his boards username ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It was more than € 100,000 that was seized by the Gardai. What I'm saying is true about people trying to defend them on the Internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'm not entirely sure if there are many drug dealers out there who are not also users and addicts. Among the small-timers anyway.
    So from that angle I would feel a certain amount of sympathy. Not enough to think they shouldn't be stopped from dealing, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Those who just sell? Absolutely. Shouldn't be illegal in the first place.

Those who sell while getting involved in violent crime? Absolutely not. Pure scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

By default I feel sorry for just about everyone these days. Morality is so hard to interpret. Benefit of the doubt must be applied

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

Do people actually believe that every drug dealer is your stereo typical criminal scumbag?

There are many that are middle class working people that sell as a side line earner to other middle class people. Wouldn't harm a fly type.

Do people actually believe that every drug dealer is your stereo typical criminal scumbag?

There are many that are middle class working people that sell as a side line earner to other middle class people. Wouldn't harm a fly type.

I used to be a drug dealer. I have hurt one or two flies in my time but only with the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Is that you 'El Chapo'?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

FortySeven wrote: »
    By default I feel sorry for just about everyone these days. Morality is so hard to interpret. Benefit of the doubt must be applied
    FortySeven wrote: »
    I used to be a drug dealer. I have hurt one or two flies in my time but only with the car.

well that answers the question of why you have sympathy for drug dealers.

Ever get stiffed for payment?

Ever get more stuff forced on you than agreed and stung to pay for it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

mynamejeff wrote: »

That's the thing though, not every drug dealer either screws people over or resorts to violence in the event of non payment, some treat it like pretty much any other DIY sales business. I have no issue with those people, and indeed I know one or two. Would have more respect for them simply because I know their 'products' are genuine and not full of dangerous sh!te, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I feel bad for my weed dude, Hes a nice guy who sells weed to adults and hes in a lot of trouble if he gets caught. I wish it was legal but thats not likely to happen any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I don,t feel sorry for them,
    but i think hash should be legal for adults to buy from licensed shop as in certain us states .
    tax it ,bring in revenue.
    It might reduce crime or reduce the no of dealers .
    Many people get say a 1000 euros ,worth of hash and sell it to friends .
    for a profit.
    A small time drug dealer will not need to use violence ,its not like the films .
    he sells to a small amount of people ,maybe 10 or 20 euros worth at a time.
    i don.t
    consider someone who works and smokes hash a few times a week
    a drug addict .
    Someone with 100k cash is a big drug dealer .

A drug addict is someone whose life revolves around getting drugs ,
    many of them just go to a clinic and get it free .
    Drug addicts do not have jobs .
    i don,t support any person who sells cocaine or heroin .
    IF you are are full time dealer the last thing you,ll do is use drugs.
    apart from smoking hash maybe.
    drug addicts hang around the city centre ,
    and go to the local clinic .

mynamejeff wrote: »

Nope. Everything went well. Right up till the prison sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    What about Michael, Randie, Dookie and Boodie?
    Respect for the wire reference.
    Those who just sell? Absolutely. Shouldn't be illegal in the first place.

Those who sell while getting involved in violent crime? Absolutely not. Pure scum.
    Tend to agree with this. The fact that Alcohol is still legal while drugs like marujana, lsd and cocaine remain illegal and unregulated is a damning statement on the puritanical society we choose to live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭Nermal

failinis wrote: »
    Drug dealers? No.

Why would I feel sorry for a drug addict? They're having a great time, high all the time while I'm stuck in an office.

I do feel sorry for drug dealers, who hustle all day and get rewarded with jail for being good capitalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

i sold lots of things in college.

used to make a tidy sum about 2grand a month.

never got stiffed money cause i never gave tick.

the stuff i sold isnt the stuff that ruins families.

someones got to make the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,740 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Feel sorry for their lack of communication and punctuality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Clownyface

Dealers are just addicts who got sick of paying for their fix. I don't really feel sorry for any dealer because they make good money and know the risk.

I feel sorry for the people whose lives could be ruined with criminal convictions for something stupid like cannabis or small personal quantity of narcotics in a club or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,222 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I don't feel sorry for anyone with the word "Drug" in front of the noun.
    Why should I?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I just picture two heavy set men in brown leather jackets huddled over taped up bundles tearing them open with Stanley blades, licking the edges clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

There's a big issue of ignorance and lack of knowledge here. Frankly most drug dealers aren't of the scumbag stereotype trying to f*ck over the addict. For example countless kids are born into having to sell drugs, like it or not. School is not a realistic option due to the situation they are born into and in a world where a piece of paper for a university, contacts and a pleasing demeanour and background is ever important they are stuck with very few options. How could you blame them getting involved with dealing when it's quick cash, and often the most money they can make at that time or at any time for that matter. When they become a grown adult selling drugs is all they know and all they can do. And that's heartbreaking. Do they end up getting involved in other violent crimes like beating the crap out of addicts trying to scam them or rob them, yeah probably. But you must realise the average dealer is as big a victim as the addict. Often they are so far gone that they too are addicted in their own way. If they decide to leave where and what the f*ck do they do and where do they go? The people higher up, they guys who don't see the addicts day to day, the guys that aren't on the streets with product in their pockets and wrinkled bills in the other, are they going to let go a worker who's working for whatever is given to them...they might let them go but it won't be a simple farewell thanks for your graft. In a way it might be a blessing a dealer gets caught and jailed, until they're released and they're forced back into it again. Of course not all dealers are like this, but a lot of them have no other option in life, like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

TBH I have more sympathy for the tree that was cut down to make the jacks roll I used while reading this post...