If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ted's Tenebrous Tower.(Lair Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,614 ✭✭✭Mozzeltoff

Or how you didn't crack someone elses teeth!! I have being tempted to a lot!! I just wish people would realise life is waaayyy too short for that kind of ****. I get it, some people like to eat healthy..that's great..fair play to them! But for the love and honour, if they know they're going to be dining out can they not just put their stupid bull**** aside for one meal at least?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 62,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Hard on people with legitimate issues too, i've an older relative back home who reads magazines and the like, whatever illness is featured, she has it, is an expert on it, and will shout it from the rooftops when out ordering food or buying shampoo or feckin anything.. To quote Peter Griffin, it really 'grinds my gears'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

I feel sick :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 62,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Crap Shan, was hoping you were getting some sleep.

No I'm around as usual. Got school in less than six hours too

I'm off for a couple of days, got get a start on packing, meet auctioneer and photographer and schedule in viewing places, chaos.

Literally sounds like the world is ending outside with a massive hail shower :eek:

Had one earlier here, being in one of these huge factory type buildings is quite an experience, temperature has dropped off a cliff too, very achey.

I'd say it is. I'm right below the roof so the noise of the roof tiles and the windows is terrifying

It's tremendous, spot lads out on the floor looking up nervously

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Noc Noc... :P

Went to bed 2+ hours ago, can't sleep :/

Oops, must buy decaf tea!

Arrah I'll be alright, done have an early start at least.

How's the night progressing for you? I'm seeing awful weather reports for the West...

Night going grand thankfully, few more hours and be behind me

I'm yawning so this might be a fine opportunity to try and get some zzzs.

I hope the rest of the night goes quickly and without event :)

It's bitter out me fingers are frozen, first day of spring how are ya?!

Finished work for a couple of days, it's going to be very busy though :(

Computer lab. Still no sleep :(

Mozzeltoff wrote: »
    Or how you didn't crack someone elses teeth!! I have being tempted to a lot!! I just wish people would realise life is waaayyy too short for that kind of ****. I get it, some people like to eat healthy..that's great..fair play to them! But for the love and honour, if they know they're going to be dining out can they not just put their stupid bull**** aside for one meal at least?

There is a lot of faddy crap around gluten and dairy but for plenty of people it causes real problems. Too much dairy triggers my IBS so I have no problem asking for lactose free milk. For every annoying customer I'm sure there are genuine people who simply can't tolerate gluten and/or dairy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,614 ✭✭✭Mozzeltoff

There is a lot of faddy crap around gluten and dairy but for plenty of people it causes real problems. Too much dairy triggers my IBS so I have no problem asking for lactose free milk. For every annoying customer I'm sure there are genuine people who simply can't tolerate gluten and/or dairy.

Don't get me wrong, I am well aware of intolerance's people have when it comes to certain food. I worked as a chefs assistant in a nursing home and I learnt pretty fast about gluten intolerance, diabetes and fat free and salt free diets.While I was in college doing my culinary course we had multiple classes on nutrition and dietary requirements.

I can't eat cream or anything containing cream as I am on Metformin for PCOS. I'll be physically sick.

I will happily accommodate anyone to the best of my abilities if they have a dietary requirement BUT if you go through what I have to go through daily you'll understand why I may get a bit uppity about all the fussy fads. Gluten free is becoming a major fad. Hell my OHs aunt said so herself and she's a genuine Coeliac.

Only a few months ago a woman came into the bistro asking about the fruit, if it was sprayed with chemicals, was it picked or did it fall naturally from a tree. Turns out the woman was a fruitarian and was demanding we ring the suppliers to find out because the information we did have on the fruit wasn't good enough.

A few weeks back we had another person scream at a waitress when she found out that our oil isn't Gluten free..(oil in the fryer, we batter fish, we cook in the fryer).

Or as I said the woman with the kid who was allergic to ice cream. She asked for a half scoop, I did what I was told but she demanded I give the child two more scoops after he ate the half scoop. Her other child who wasn't allergic had less ice cream than the kid who was allergic..that makes no sense. If I had a child and knew it was allergic to ice cream I doubt I'd be giving them any at all.

And a kicker in the teeth? She didn't want to pay for the two extra scoops and used her kids allergy as an excuse..

Genuine cases I have no problem with. People who have an attitude because we can't comply entirely to their diets, I tend to see red mist..

Hello

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Hello

Fierce quiet here isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

**invites a drum & fife band to lair**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭cgh

at long last,
    those bands have left.

Waiting and waiting and waiting some more

Hospital day Shan?.

It was physiotherapy :(

I'm in ribbons.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Morning folks