Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drink break

• 21-07-2016 2:18pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭

How many of you take a break from the drink a few time a year,I've a big holiday coming up in 5 weeks and I think it would be great to give the booze a rest till then,problem is I dont think I can,would apreciate some insight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I make sure to have minimum 2 nights a week off entirely, up to 4 some weeks; and I've recently enough had a Flagyl enforced 2 weeks off all booze - including mouthwashes and "alcohol free" beers.

I don't find it hard at all really. 5 weeks is a bit of a stretch but it would be a good test of will. If you can't do more than a few days off in a row, you have a drink problem honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What age are you, roughly? And why do you feel you need to take a break every so often?

That says to me that you think you have an issue with drink. I'm not a fan of these cold turkey, going on a diet type of schemes. They never work and they don't fix the original problem. It's a stop gap and once you break from it, it is back to the way things were. Small adjustments over time are a much better approach and something you can easily live with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Think of it the other way. How often do you take a break from normality?

Scary thought?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

L1011 wrote: »
    I make sure to have minimum 2 nights a week off entirely, up to 4 some weeks; and I've recently enough had a Flagyl enforced 2 weeks off all booze - including mouthwashes and "alcohol free".

Don't mean to be a dick but do you really drink 5 nights a week? Is that normal in your circle?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

I try for at least one day a week,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

jester77 wrote: »
    That says to me that you think you have an issue with drink. I'm not a fan of these cold turkey, going on a diet type of schemes. They never work and they don't fix the original problem. It's a stop gap and once you break from it, it is back to the way things were. Small adjustments over time are a much better approach and something you can easily live with.

Not sure I agree at all..

I was a heavy drinker for years.. All through my teens, 20's and 30's. I wasn't an alcoholic or anything but i loved a few pints.

In my late 30's I started taking one month breaks from the drink. I did it for a multitude of reasons but initially i just wanted to test myself and see what would happen if i did it..

Every time i went off drink i felt better. I slept better, looked better, ate better etc etc etc. So i kept taking months here and there because I liked how it felt.

Then about 16 months ago, i gave it up for a month and never went back. I haven't touched a drink since and my life has improved and changed in ways i never would have thought possible.

All of this came from taking a one month break and gaining a different perspective on alcohol. I would recommend it to anyone that hasn't tried it at least once.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

Average for me is drink for a night out and then not drink for weeks afterwards, I don't think I've ever had a drink casually. Last time I drank was the start of June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

I'm 35. I used go out 5 nights a week. These days I don't do even a tenth of that. I had a night out about 3 weeks ago, haven't drank since. Hadn't drank for about a month or 2 before that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I went out last Saturday for 2 pints of Guinness. Hadn't been in a pub for a couple of months before that. I was going to have a beer last night but had a cup of tea instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I've become accustomed to having one or two drinks most evenings to unwind after work. Not something I want to continue indefinitely, but it's the only thing keeping me sane right now :(:p

I might go out 2 or 3 times a year for drinks.

That's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭ozzy78

During the summer I tend to drink most nights. Hard to resist a cold IPA on a warm summer's day. This would be mostly at home. Only get out to the pub once or twice a month nowadays due to young baba. I do worry that I'm drinking too much and would consider taking a few weeks off. Did it in January and had much more energy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

BabyE wrote: »
    Average for me is drink for a night out and then not drink for weeks afterwards, I don't think I've ever had a drink casually. Last time I drank was the start of June.

I'd be pretty similar, i drink socially but wouldnt just go for a pint for no reason or drink at home.

Could be 2/3/4 weeks between drinks.

Starting an intensive crossfit thing next week so wont drink from now(essentially 2 weeks ago) til September.

also have 2 kids under 2 and doing a part time masters so tbh a big session isn't worth the hassle/time spent on the couch tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Most days I don't drink, but tend to over indulge when I do.

I could easily polish off a bottle of wine by myself and could knock back 6 or 7 pints at the pub. Pub visits are rare though.

I'm going on the dry for September and November...to see if I can do it. And for health reasons obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Went working across the pond start of june last year and came back just in time for the galway races hadnt time to drink there was pubs nearby alright but i didnt know much people there to go for a pint with came back near enough to a pioneer think i had 5 pints in that time i was there no fags either and it ruined raceweek for me could only drink fu*ck all and my stomach was in bits for the week after the first night so from my experience i would say keep tipping away the way your going

Better living everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

It's so interesting to read this thread and see that others are such infrequent drinkers. I rarely meet anyone similar in Ireland though I do know a handful of non-drinkers. Two or three times a year, I like to break from consciousness and get bananas. But that's about it. Hangovers, the expense and the weight gain through eating crappier are simply not worth it.

When you're 40 with 2 kids getting paralytic is not a desired course of action. 6:30 is my getting up time 7 days a week. Wouldn't want to miss too many days suffering in bed.

That said even in my 20s my drinking was not as heavy as most of the drinkers here. I wonder has it gotten worse over time or is it because guys in their 20s have more leisure time now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    When you're 40 with 2 kids getting paralytic is not a desired course of action. 6:30 is my getting up time 7 days a week. Wouldn't want to miss too many days suffering in bed.

That said even in my 20s my drinking was not as heavy as most of the drinkers here. I wonder has it gotten worse over time or is it because guys in their 20s have more leisure time now.

I've a good mate who'd booze every night, might be a couple of cans or more. no kids but i dont know how he does it, i could deal with the general **** feeling day after day.

I used to work with a guy who was mid 40's, every night he went to his local, him and his friends had a table in their local (well off south dublin area) he'd have 5/6 pints then either a bottle of wine or a 6 pack of cans when he got home. This was every night. He had chronic ulcers, but he used to get a health check every November 30th so from November 1st.. he'd stop drinking.

Im not sure how but all his liver function checks came back fine (or so he said) but he;s still going strong these days

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,549 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

There seems to have been something of a shift away form the culture of getting absolutely plastered in favour of a more relaxed mode of alcohol consumption. I read recently that the number of nightclubs in the UK has halved.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Interesting to hear people's different drinking habits.

I'm 33 and these days I rarely binge drink. Getting older and moving to the countryside most of my drinking is now at home with the wife, or if she's working I might have a lads night in (with Bridie the cat, okay it's a female cat but I still say lads night in! :D) and chill out while watching a TV series.

About 3 nights a week I might drink but no more than that. On most of those nights I might have a max of 2 500ml bottles of beer or 2 glasses of wine or sip on a whiskey, but often just the one drink. If one of those nights are a Friday or Saturday we would probably have 1 or 2 more drinks to that.

Rare do I go on big sessions these days unless it's a wedding or a stag, it's that time of my life.

Back in the days in college we were reckless. Drinking a naggin or more of spirits to warm up before heading out. I remember 4 of us in the house used often buy 2 bottles of vodka between us and have them polished off before heading out, a half bottle each! If I did that now I would be in a heap, probably throw up and be written off for 2 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Turkey Creek

I've never been one for social drinking casually- the thoughts of having 1 or 2 social pints after work or with a meal pains me greatly - I haven't got the self control to walk away after a couple of beers - I'd need to go the whole 9 yards.

Because of that, I stay off it Sunday to Thursday 100% of the time no exceptions, then on Friday night I could drink 12 pints

Saturday I'd probably sit in, 8 cold ones watching a few movies

Then back on the healthy eating/non drinking wagon for the next 5 days

Far more satisfying in my opinion

There seems to have been something of a shift away form the culture of getting absolutely plastered in favour of a more relaxed mode of alcohol consumption. I read recently that the number of nightclubs in the UK has halved.

I think niteclubs were their own worst enemies with often ridiculous door policies, over priced drinks and crap music. Rarely set foot in one where I can say I enjoyed it.

Don't think people are drinking less though. Just drinking elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I very rarely drink on a week night these days unless I'm off work the next day.

Most of the time, I drink every second weekend (one night) only but when I do, it'd be between 5 - 8 pints.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,549 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I think niteclubs were their own worst enemies with often ridiculous door policies, over priced drinks and crap music. Rarely set foot in one where I can say I enjoyed it.

I've enjoyed the ones I've been to but I only go occasionally. That said, my local in Donegal used to charge €15 entry and Dublinesque prices for drinks. It was the only one and I can easily see why people don't like them.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

A lot of the younger lads I would know are more likely to be found hanging out a gym then a bar.

They're a lot more body conscious then we were and take good care of themselves.

We just drank..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I think above rings true alright. There is such body image consciousness among many millennials that they will sacrifice or curtail booze to maintain the six pack. Previous generations were less concerned about appearances and fitness and probably boozed and still booze more.

I never drink at home as I do too much of it at weekends out. I try to abstain the remaining 6 days if I've gone on a major one the previous weekend (usually a Friday night and involving 8-12 drinks).

I also keep saying I'll take a month off but never somehow do. I can't manage a night out without a pint in my hand. What does that say??

Swanner wrote: »
    A lot of the younger lads I would know are more likely to be found hanging out a gym then a bar..

I wonder what the stats show

I've a very good friend who's greek, he works all over europe and ive visited him in many places, the continental approach (but espeically the spanish approach) is so refreshing, eating and drinking is a long event.

A social gathering is a means to interact and not get hammered

I kinda want off getting drunk too. I was toying with the idea ages back of whether I was a problem drinker or whether I should stop.

But then one day - due to an all ages no alcohol Damien rice gig that started mid afternoon - I ended up on the streets of Dublin to go home around the time the drunks really hit the streets. And seeing that sober from the outside - rather than as one of them myself - with their Walking Dead like appearance finally put the last nail in the coffin for me and I went essentially dry from then on.

Now my drinking habits are I only drink when I have a house party (once a month) and that would be nursing the one - on some occasions two - glasses of wine for the entire night. Or I might attend the occasional whisky tasting evening and the like.

A few of my friends - like the OP - moved to try going off the drink for a month or more. Most of them achieved it. But the language used when doing it did worry me slightly. How they had to try so hard - how difficult they thought it would be - the relief when it was over - and more. They really did sound like they had a drinking issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Utah

Swanner wrote: »
    A lot of the younger lads I would know are more likely to be found hanging out a gym then a bar.

They're a lot more body conscious then we were and take good care of themselves.

We just drank..

I agree with this. When I was younger none of my friends went to the gym, not a single one. I think once we hit our 30s we started to go, probably due to middle age spread :rolleyes:
    I see troops of young lads in the gym these days.

I drink once every two weeks I would say. 8-12 pints. That will soon be knocked on the head I'd imagine due to a sprog en route. I'm looking forward to it to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭White Ninja

I was never a big drinker, but I still used to go off the drink for spells of a few months at a time for years. Then about 3 years ago, I basically gave it up for good. Now I might have 1-2 pints twice a year.
    It's becoming more common to not drink in this country, I know lots of people who don't drink, I think younger people are becoming a lot more educated about the down sides to drink, like all the cancer risks, and other health risks associated with it. I have young cousins who are 18 and don't drink, it's just becoming more accepted.
    Even when I first stopped drinking, the non alcoholic choices in Tesco was basically just Becks. Now there's loads of choices, and a lot of them are often sold out when I go to get them, so something is changing.
    One big difference I noticed since I stopped drinking is that I enjoy nights out more. The best craic on night out is the first few hours when everybody is still semi-sober, thats when you'r catching up with mates, and people are still coherent and funny. When people get drunk they just become obnoxious, they talk too loud, they stand too close, they spit when they talk, so once that starts I just go out to my car and drive home, and leave my mates to join the zombie hoards. I've never felt like I've missed anything except the feeling sick, standing in taxi queues, and smell of spilled beer, all things I can live without.
    The longer I'm off it, the less I understand it, I'll never go back to drinking, I see very few upsides and a lot of downsides. What I would like though, is if Guinness made a non alcoholic version!

I wonder what the stats show

I can appreciate that my views are based on anecdotal evidence.

I'm not suggesting that young lads aren't going out getting hammered. They are. It just doesn't seem to be as prevalent as it was in our day.

This thread is making me sound older and older by the post !!
    The best craic on night out is the first few hours when everybody is still semi-sober, thats when you'r catching up with mates, and people are still coherent and funny. When people get drunk they just become obnoxious, they talk too loud, they stand too close, they spit when they talk, so once that starts I just go out to my car and drive home, and leave my mates to join the zombie hoards.

And then while staggering around, dribbling and spitting on themselves, telling the same joke for the 8th time that evening and wondering why you didn't laugh, they'll have the cheek to tell you you're no craic :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 344 ✭✭Kobe248

Ive stopped drinking since I came home from Toronto

I cant say I ever was anyways never drank till I was 25

But since Im back I feel better saving for holidays and gigs than going out spending money on the same kinda night every Friday

I feel better for not tbh

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

ozzy78 wrote: »
    During the summer I tend to drink most nights. Hard to resist a cold IPA on a warm summer's day. This would be mostly at home. Only get out to the pub once or twice a month nowadays due to young baba. I do worry that I'm drinking too much and would consider taking a few weeks off. Did it in January and had much more energy.

Pretty much the same here, couple of beers at home with the wife after work most nights, though probably only out at the pub once a month or less, and tend not to get drunk often even then. Currently taking a break from the booze and making fresh juice mixes as the alternative, which I'm really enjoying. At 50, I think it is the habit of having some kind of treat/reward after a hard days work which has taken the form of a cold tasty beverage. Not being a smoker, into drugs or junk food, illicit pleasures are thin on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

28 and no kids so I go out at least once a weekend, usually two times. I tend to meet up with friends for a few drinks two and three times a week.

Honestly, I've never felt the need for a break from drinking. I did have to reevaluate my way of drinking 'cause I'd got into some bad habits. I think it's more about how you drink as to how much or how often you drink.

I also feel that if you feel you need to take a break from drinking then you need to have a closer look at your drinking behaviour.

Was at a wedding friday.. took me two days to get over it.

wont have a drink now til the end of the month and that will be only 2/3 and then i have 5 day stag in Prague :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Don't mean to be a dick but do you really drink 5 nights a week? Is that normal in your circle?
    drinking 5 nights a week doesnt mean getting plastered 5 nights a week.
    one beer every few nights can be drinking 5 times a week, and leads up to a much lower alcohol consumtpion than friday and saturday night bingers.
    Not saying this is that posters case maybe he does drink too much, but drinking 5 nights a week doesnt mean you have a problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

I can only really drink socially which means a few times a year as most of my friends live in Dublin so it's never been much of a problem for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

I've been drinking less and less as i've gotten older.

In my 20s it was twice a week, sometimes more, going full tilt when drinking. Then working it off in the gym during the week.

In my early 30s it was once a week on average, 8 pints or so (including the occasional binge, be it a stag or football weekend, where it'd be no holds barred drinking).

In my mid-late 30s it was once every fortnight on average, 7-8 pints, with the weekender binges (stags etc) less frequent.

I'm 41 now, and up to 6 months ago, it was maybe 2-3 long necks at home of a Fri or Sat night, and once a month i'd head out for 7-8 pints.
    Then I had a soccer weekend away, and drank like i was 20 again, and haven't been able to drink very much since.
    Now if i have 4 pints i have to stop. That kinda suits me tbh as i generally wouldn't drink more than that anyway.

I was at a boys get together last weekend (3pm start), and it was the usual blowout, but after 4 pints, i had to go on the coffee.
    I had eaten earlier but had some more food and water, and after 4 or 5 hours i had 4 more pints. I was plastered after them, and was hungover for 3 days.

I'd spoken to my GP a few months ago, as i was alarmed that my alcohol tolerance had dropped so much so quickly.
    He basically said it was just me getting older, and was my bodys way of telling me what my limit was now.
    (he ran tests, and everything was A-ok)

TLDR:
    I used to drink heavily when i was younger, now 4 is my limit.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

bb1234567 wrote: »
    drinking 5 nights a week doesnt mean getting plastered 5 nights a week.
    one beer every few nights can be drinking 5 times a week, and leads up to a much lower alcohol consumtpion than friday and saturday night bingers.
    Not saying this is that posters case maybe he does drink too much, but drinking 5 nights a week doesnt mean you have a problem

Tends to be the case in many countries in Europe where a glass or two of wine would be had with most meals. It would be interesting to know the relative health risks of drinking the same quantity of alcohol spread evenly over the week versus knocking it all back in a weekend binge. AFAIK, the latter is far more damaging, but I'd need to dig out references.

Mind you, as others have already said, if you think you need a break from the drink, chances are you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

The liver is a pretty robust organ, if it's given time to recover.

I generally make a point of not taking any alcohol Monday to Wednesday. Usually don't drink in November at all, given the tendency to greater than normal indulgence around Christmas time.

The scary thing is, you can have done lethal damage to your liver before you experience any symptoms at all. Have a read of this:

“What happens is people buy wine and in some cases people drink half a bottle a night several times during the week and a bottle each day at the weekends. That’s enough to cause liver failure.

“The awful thing is that people frequently have no premonition or warning that they’re going to develop liver failure, and to die as a result of alcohol because the vast majority of people who develop cirrhosis, develop liver failure, haven’t got symptoms before the crisis, and the life threatening component develops.”

Blood tests

He [Professor Frank Murray] said that blood tests are not very precise and can often pick up the effects of alcohol rather than alcohol damage.

“The sad fact is we don’t have a great test of impending liver failure or impending advanced damaged leading to cirrhosis and liver death. Any abnormality should be a very serious warning to patients if they’re drinking substantially."

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/sharp-rise-in-number-of-women-dying-from-alcohol-related-illness-1.2742383

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

I probaley drink at least one day Friday or Saturday. ive noticed this year that ive began to cut down and its getting rare for a night out between my friends.

never had a problem being off the drink. since i dont drink during the week and on a rare occasion at home. The problem i have is i have little will power and either have none or too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Was at a wedding friday.. took me two days to get over it.

wont have a drink now til the end of the month and that will be only 2/3 and then i have 5 day stag in Prague :eek:

A 5 day Stag, to me that's the stuff of nightmares. One day is more than enough for a light weight like me.

Jon Richardson the comedian does a great sketch where he realises that he could leave the stag night and everyone was so drunk they wouldn't even notice...so that's what he did and then retired to his hotel to eat crisps and watch snooker....funnier the way he tells it...I'll get me coat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Charizard

I was never a big drinker, but I still used to go off the drink for spells of a few months at a time for years. Then about 3 years ago, I basically gave it up for good. Now I might have 1-2 pints twice a year.
    It's becoming more common to not drink in this country, I know lots of people who don't drink, I think younger people are becoming a lot more educated about the down sides to drink, like all the cancer risks, and other health risks associated with it. I have young cousins who are 18 and don't drink, it's just becoming more accepted.
    Even when I first stopped drinking, the non alcoholic choices in Tesco was basically just Becks. Now there's loads of choices, and a lot of them are often sold out when I go to get them, so something is changing.
    One big difference I noticed since I stopped drinking is that I enjoy nights out more. The best craic on night out is the first few hours when everybody is still semi-sober, thats when you'r catching up with mates, and people are still coherent and funny. When people get drunk they just become obnoxious, they talk too loud, they stand too close, they spit when they talk, so once that starts I just go out to my car and drive home, and leave my mates to join the zombie hoards. I've never felt like I've missed anything except the feeling sick, standing in taxi queues, and smell of spilled beer, all things I can live without.
    The longer I'm off it, the less I understand it, I'll never go back to drinking, I see very few upsides and a lot of downsides. What I would like though, is if Guinness made a non alcoholic version!

I agree with you about nights out being just as much fun, I do the same, once they start getting drunk I head off home, I always found when I drink that thats the stage I would spend stupid money aswell.
    Thankfully I didnt have much drinking years 25-29 since weve had our baby I dont drink anymore, Like I wouldnt say I dont drink more Im happy to have a few 7ups and head home