Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great Razor Blade 'Go Faster' Stripe conspiracy.

• 14-07-2016 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭

The stripes don't actually make you shave faster, but they are the same principle - a con.

The stripes are NOT on there to 'sooth your face with calming aloe vera', or anything like it.

They are there to slowly dissolve a gooey glue like substance over your blades, rendering the blades grimy, icky and essentially useless after two or three goes, so that you will discard the razor and buy more!!

It only took me ten years to figure this out.

Akin to the 'blue line ' they had on toothbrushes, to tell you when it was time to replace them, the 'stripes,' only strip (yup, word-play) you of your reasonably hard earned monies!

(Please note: Any comments about being scabby - coz you're only supposed to use these hugely expensive razors one or twice, will be reported to my mum)

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Do they have speed holes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

If you run the blade under the tap, it gets rid of the stuff off the blades. Just a little life hack for you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

get yourself a razor pit. I heard about them first here. They're great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Gillette are literally the worst razors out there.A huge marketing scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

If you run the blade under the tap, it gets rid of the stuff off the blades. Just a little life hack for you there.

No, the gunk is designed to to melt on contact with water, so using water doesn't work. I've tried.
    Grayson wrote: »
    get yourself a razor pit. I heard about them first here. They're great.
    A what now?
    kneemos wrote: »
    Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Not that one

Aldi razors -with go super fast stripes and dodgy exhaust- are a good alternative. Failry cheap and good shave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Not that one

Aldi razors -with go super fast stripes and dodgy exhaust- are a good alternative. Failry cheap and good shave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

I have started putting mine in a little airtight box and have noticed they last much longer.I reckoned it was leaving it sitting between shaves was causing the strips to dry out and the blades to dull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

ArtSmart wrote: »
    A what now?

http://www.razorpit.com/

It's for cleaning razors. Works really well. I shave my scalp too so I used to fly through razors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Peasant shaving with a Gillette the shame of it all. I shave with a personalised blade handcrafted from the marble quarries of Carrara.

I saved a fortune in razors by taking medication to prevent puberty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

Ahh...someone's never used Tesco-value.

It's not so much shaving as blood-letting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I grew a beard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

The metal in the Aldi ones is actually not too bad and lasts a while.

The Tesco ones are terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Grayson wrote: »
    http://www.razorpit.com/

It's for cleaning razors. Works really well. I shave my scalp too so I used to fly through razors.

I use my forearm to perform the same function, I push it up the inside my arm about a dozen times to clean the dirty blades and they last much longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Get yourself a double edged safety razor and the razor blades then. Can get like 100 blades for 20-30 euro. Would last you about a year if you shaved every day.

There's even a forum http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1103

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

titan18 wrote: »
    Get yourself a double edged safety razor and the razor blades then. Can get like 100 blades for 20-30 euro. Would last you about a year if you shaved every day.

Not a bad idea.

Anyway, the point I'm (sorta) making, is the SCAM aspect of it all.

Damned dirty apes!

(or similar statement)

Took a look at this thread. Yup, that's the future. Fking nonsense these turbo charged gibberish for 25 squids.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055448697

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

no they're not, the blade sensor 3 is my weapon of choice, superb razor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

ArtSmart wrote: »
    Anyway, the point I'm (sorta) making, is the SCAM aspect of it all.

Then take a look at the 'female' razors. Apparently making the plastic a delightful pastel colour entitles companies to charge double the price.

Screw that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I use Wilkinson sword extreme 3 disposable razors which if kept clean stay sharp and reliably useful for a couple of weeks per razor. I once tried Gillette and found after two uses the blade was bound for the bin, complete garbage, but I understand why they make their blades that way, to sell more blades, I won't be one of their customers though.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Clean-shavedness is nonsense. No man needs a face like a baby's arse. Once or twice a week is more than enough to shave and who cares if it's baby smooth. It'll be stubbly by lunchtime anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

You get a far better shave with a double-edged razor as well. The blades are incredibly good value and the idea that you cut yourself more often is nonsense.

You can get a good double-edged razor, shaving brush, shaving soap and 50 blades (I love PolSilver Super Iridium blades) for less than 70 euro. It's an investment that pays itself back quickly in terms of quality of shave and value for money.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

magentis wrote: »
    I have started putting mine in a little airtight box and have noticed they last much longer.I reckoned it was leaving it sitting between shaves was causing the strips to dry out and the blades to dull.
    you're doing it wrong

keep them in a pyramid shaped container and they last much longer *

*If you believe that then you may be interested in a bridge I have for sale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

you're doing it wrong

keep them in a pyramid shaped container and they last much longer *

*If you believe that then you may be interested in a bridge I have for sale

How much for the bridge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭recyclops

osarusan wrote: »
    The metal in the Aldi ones is actually not too bad and lasts a while.

used an aldi blade once ,caught an in grown hair and sliced a fair bit of my cheek off, was like a ham being sliced in a deli.

hospital trip ensued, was rushed through triage due to deep laceration :D and i got a week off work as i was not allowed increase blood flow (which was great as i had bought batman arkham city the day before)

thanks aldi blades:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

magentis wrote: »
    How much for the bridge?

I'll buy it from you when you're finished with it.

I f*cking wish Dollar Shave Club would ship to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,608 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

When I go to India I stock up on the basic Mach 3 blades, not any of the various vibrating super powered yokes, just the standard ones.

I bought about 40 blades for the equivalent of about €20 in May 2014 and I'm still only about half way through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Ah here, electric shavers is where all the action is at. Since the 1980s.
    Wet shaving is for the Brut Brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I get me razors from Aldi and then put spurious aftermarket strips on them and do little designs in the handle. I'm a boy shaver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I've to be patient because my razor is lowered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Winterlong wrote: »
    Ah here, electric shavers is where all the action is at. Since the 1980s.
    Wet shaving is for the Brut Brigade.

electric shavers give me a rash :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

fryup wrote: »
    electric shavers give me a rash :(

That's so weird. Electric rashers give me a shave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

When I shave with my excelsior 5 turbo blades, a spectral Lamborghini passes in the mirror and a ghostly women strokes me on the cheek.

Well worth the 45 euro a packet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

When I shave with my excelsior 5 turbo blades, a spectral Lamborghini passes in the mirror and a ghostly women strokes me on the cheek.

Well worth the 45 euro a packet.
    Where does she stroke when you shave your balls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Yeah, best move I ever made with regard to shaving. Don't believe all the sh!te about having to shave twice or three times in different directions in order to get a close shave. Once you get used to your own particular razor you'll be able to shave as quickly as you can with one of those stupidly expensive 5 blade yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

NiallBoo wrote: »
    Ahh...someone's never used Tesco-value.

It's not so much shaving as blood-letting.
    Or Wilkinson Sword with those ridiculous 'protector' yokes which just result in stubble clogging up the razor and you can't wash it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Possibly a cheaper option is to get a cat, smear cat food all over your face (and any other places you want to shave) and let the cat lick it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Viking Shave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Grow a beard. Feck shaving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

philstar wrote: »
    no they're not, the blade sensor 3 is my weapon of choice, superb razor

I suppose if you're the type who does'nt mind paying silly money for a disposable piece of plastic with an entry level blade its... okay. Not that I'm being elitist of course

This is where you need to be aiming for

https://shaveselect.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Feather-Hi-Stainless-Double-Edge-Razor-Blade-Package.jpg

or you can go straight :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Start a company called Euro Shave Club