Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Powers of arrest

• 12-07-2016 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭

Trying to compile a list of people/groups which have powers of arrest.

I can think of the following:-
    • Any person may arrest without warrant, with reasonable cause, anyone they suspect to be in the act of committing an arrestable offence or suspected to be guilty of an arrestable offence.
    • Gardaí (obviously)
    • Customs/Revenue officers
    • Airport Police
    • Port/Harbour Police
    • Immigration Officers
    • Defence Forces Personnel
    • Park Rangers/Constables (Phoenix Park and Killarney National Park only)
    • An Blascaod Mór National Historic Park "authorised persons" (*possibly invalid as I seem to recall the Act or part of the Act which gave this power was declared unconstitutional by the Supreme Court-can anyone confirm)
    • Inland Fisheries Ireland Officers
    • Private Water Keepers
    • CIE "Authorised Persons"
    • LUAS "Authorised Persons"

Anyone want to add to that?

Also does anyone know if citizens still have the common law right of arrest for breach of peace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

GM228 wrote:

This will be an interesting thread :)

I believe myself only a guard can physically arrest you . I think even a customs person needs a guard on hand to physically arrest you .I'd add in airport police but the airport is their only jurisdiction

That's my belief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

dev100 wrote: »

I believe myself only a guard can physically arrest you . I think even a customs person needs a guard on hand to physically arrest you .I'd add in airport police but the airport is their only jurisdiction

That's my belief

Airport police already in there, and all those people listed can actually arrest you as per statute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Don't mean to derail what could be an interesting thread, but can you please define

anyone they SUSPECT to be in the act of committing an arrestable offence or SUSPECTED to be guilty of an arrestable offence.

Does what I SUSPECT matter ???

Can you link the statute??? I'd like to have a read over it ...

For me it's an extreme grey area. What's a CIE or Luas person going to arrest me for ? If I decide I'm walking along the luas platform and they've mistaken me for someone else and they go to put their hands on my person and I decide I'm walking away how are they going to achieve an arrest on a 6ft2 and built like a tank ??? Rugby tackle me to the ground or rip my arms up behind my back and shoved to the ground knee in the back ?

Sure if you read about the court case where a person hadn't paid or zapped their leap card on a luas and they had went after the person and judge threw it out as the person was outside of luas property and the inspectors weren't entitled to use their powers

In my book anyone putting their hands on me is assault unless it's a guard ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

That's my belief

Anyone can affect an arrest with reasonable force given the right circumstances.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I've said this before but I do not believe for a second that some geezer in a luminous jacket has any right to interfere with my (or any other's) constitutional rights on the say-so of either the Oireachtas or some Minister.

None of those listed, other than AGS have any meaningful power of arrest and AGS only have it because they are trained only to arrest people when they actually have legal authority to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Anyone can affect an arrest with reasonable force given the right circumstances.

Detain but not arrest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,619 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Don't mean to derail what could be an interesting thread, but can you please define

anyone they SUSPECT to be in the act of committing an arrestable offence or SUSPECTED to be guilty of an arrestable offence.

+1 to this query and in the case of a (note the past tense) suspected offence, how far in the past can it be?

And what is an 'arrestable offence'?

And this is more in the area of grammar than law but isn't it a tautology to say that a citizen can arrest someone whom they see committing an arrestable offence?

The law is an ass ...

I know a farmer who blocked is driveway to stop 2 travellers from leaving his old farm house. They were in having a root around.

Guards come and tell him he could be in trouble for holding them against their will .

His mistake was they hadn't taken anything so they couldn't be done for stealing if they had of put stuff in the van then they could have been arrested ...

Gatling wrote:
    Detain but not arrest

Arrest or detain how do you detain someone if you ain't a cop ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,549 ✭✭✭plodder

There are subtle differences, according to my understanding as illustrated by the following:
    (2) Subject to subsections (4) and (5), where an arrestable offence has been committed, any person may arrest without warrant anyone who is or whom he, with reasonable cause, suspects to be guilty of the offence.

(3) Where a member of An Garda Síochána, with reasonable cause, suspects that an arrestable offence has been committed, he may arrest without warrant anyone whom the member, with reasonable cause, suspects to be guilty of the offence.
    For (2), "any person" needs to be damn sure that an offence has been committed, whereas a garda (3) only needs reasonable cause for suspicion. So, if a member of the public arrests someone and they aren't convicted of an offense, no matter what technicality they get off on, they could end up being sued for wrongful arrest. Gardai are immune from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

By insisting that they stay put, physically blocking them from leaving, or sitting on them, as appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Usually it's quite easy depending on the situation your dealing with I come from the security industry so we're used to stopping and detaining shoplifters and people braking into sites ,
    We never say your under arrest, though I've heard poorly trained security staff the use the "your under arrest for shoplifting line over the years "
    You can only use a minimum amount of force of required but a lot of the time it's not needed

A court will decide whether a reasonable person, in your shoes, would have reasonable cause to be suspicious. If not, you may be guilty of false imprisonment, assault etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭The Veteran

Immigration Officers in regard to non-nationals for the purposes of removal from the State or deportation or for being unlawfully present.

coylemj wrote: »
    in the case of a (note the past tense) suspected offence, how far in the past can it be?
    My understanding is that "citizen's arrest" is intended to be used only in urgent circumstances - the crime has just happened and there's an ongoing risk of harm/flight/loss of evidence.

It'll be up to a court to decide if the "arrester" could reasonably have reported the matter to AGS and waited for them to respond.
    coylemj wrote: »
    And what is an 'arrestable offence'?
    An offence which ... may be punished by imprisonment for a term of five years [or more].

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

There are general powers of authorised persons under s.296 of the Fisheries Consolidation Act 1959 (as amended).

S.299 of the above act gives a power to authorised persons (see wider definition in the section) to apprehend offenders (as defined in the section) and to deliver them to Gardai.

S.301 of the above act describes powers of search, seizure and detention of goods etc., by authorised persons.

S.301 was amended by s.53 of the Fisheries Act 1980, which gives powers to authorised officers to take and detain boats and everyone on them and to use such force as he may consider necessary for the purpose of exercising that power.

Also note the following subsection of S.301:
    (6) No authorised officer shall be liable for any loss or damage occasioned by or in the course of the exercise of any of the powers conferred on him by this section, whether such loss or damage occurs by reason of something done personally by such officer or by a person acting under his orders, unless such loss or damage was caused by him wantonly or maliciously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

An offence which ... may be punished by imprisonment for a term of five years [or more]..Quote end.

Wow thats a important bit I didnt think of!

Gatling wrote: »
    Detain but not arrest

Arrest. It's in the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Mech1 wrote: »
    An offence which ... may be punished by imprisonment for a term of five years [or more]..Quote end.

Wow thats a important bit I didnt think of!

So, I grab a fella who smashed a window / shoplifted something / punched someone, and handed them to the cops, but because they would not get 5 years, I am wrong?

I must be reading this wrong ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Military Police have powers of arrest over members of the armed forces I'm pretty sure, OP doesnt specify members of the general public or not.

I know some Dept of Ag investigators have strong powers of search and seizure, wonder if that includes any clause to perform an arrest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

So, I grab a fella who smashed a window / shoplifted something / punched someone, and handed them to the cops, but because they would not get 5 years, I am wrong?

Absolute minefield

If someone battered their missus a bit and the Gardai arrived, they'd couldn't arrest him under section 2

( they were trying to change this obv.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

"May".
    6) A person guilty of theft is liable on conviction on indictment to a fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 10 years or both.

So if they are A) convicted of theft and B) sentenced to 6 months imprisonment they still could be counted under that clause as the offence was one which may incur greater than 5yrs.

It'll be up to a court to decide if the "arrester" could reasonably have reported the matter to AGS and waited for them to respond.

While it's extremely unwise to arrest someone, that assertion is simply not backed up by the construction of the statutes involved.

Criminal Law Act 1997

4.—(1) Subject to subsections (4) and (5), any person may arrest without warrant anyone who is or whom he or she, with reasonable cause, suspects to be in the act of committing an arrestable offence.

(2) Subject to subsections (4) and (5), where an arrestable offence has been committed, any person may arrest without warrant anyone who is or whom he or she, with reasonable cause, suspects to be guilty of the offence.

(3) Where a member of the Garda Síochána, with reasonable cause, suspects that an arrestable offence has been committed, he or she may arrest without warrant anyone whom the member, with reasonable cause, suspects to be guilty of the offence.

(4) An arrest other than by a member of the Garda Síochána may only be effected by a person under subsection (1) or (2) where he or she, with reasonable cause, suspects that the person to be arrested by him or her would otherwise attempt to avoid, or is avoiding, arrest by a member of the Garda Síochána.

(5) A person who is arrested pursuant to this section by a person other than a member of the Garda Síochána shall be transferred into the custody of the Garda Síochána as soon as practicable.

(6) This section shall not affect the operation of any enactment restricting the institution of proceedings for an offence or prejudice any power of arrest conferred by law apart from this section.

One can argue the standard set out in section 4, even better perhaps someone could link some case law. I'm far too lazy to do any meaningful research.

Interestingly in the case of criminal damage the power conferred to joe public is much wider.

Criminal Damage Act 1991

12.—(1) This section applies to an offence under this Act other than section 5 or 13 (4).

(2) Any person may arrest without warrant anyone who is or whom he, with reasonable cause, suspects to be in the act of committing an offence to which this section applies.

(3) Where an offence to which this section applies has been committed, any person may arrest without warrant anyone who is or whom he, with reasonable cause, suspects to be guilty of the offence.

(4) Where a member of the Garda Síochána, with reasonable cause, suspects that an offence to which this section applies or an offence under section 13 (4) has been committed, he may arrest without warrant anyone whom he, with reasonable cause, suspects to be guilty of the offence.

(5) A member of the Garda Síochána may arrest without warrant anyone who is or whom he, with reasonable cause, suspects to be about to commit an offence to which this section applies.

(6) For the purpose of arresting a person under any power conferred by this section a member of the Garda Síochána may enter (if need be, by force) and search any place where that person is or where the member, with reasonable cause, suspects him to be.

(7) This section shall apply to an attempt to commit an offence as it applies to the commission of that offence.

(8) This section shall not prejudice any power of arrest conferred by law apart from this section.

Smashed a window - fine criminal damage, it doesn't need to be an arrestable offence.

Shoplifted - fine as theft is an arrestable offence. Interestingly if the offence committed fell under 'Making off without payment' you'd have an issue as it's not an arrestable offence.

Punched someone - it would depend on the level of the offence under the Non-fatal offences Against the Person Act.

By insisting that they stay put, physically blocking them from leaving, or sitting on them, as appropriate.

I don't think I'd be allowing that somehow unless your a female and blonde I'd possibly allow you sit on me then :)

Gatling wrote:
    Usually it's quite easy depending on the situation your dealing with I come from the security industry so we're used to stopping and detaining shoplifters and people braking into sites , We never say your under arrest, though I've heard poorly trained security staff the use the "your under arrest for shoplifting line over the years " You can only use a minimum amount of force of required but a lot of the time it's not needed

Thanks for the answer .... I'm assuming minimum force is because you are leaving yourself open to legal situation if situation escalates ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

So can you be charged with resisting arrest by anyone or just arrest by the gardai?

Mech1 wrote: »
    So can you be charged with resisting arrest by anyone or just arrest by the gardai?

Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994

19.—(1) Any person who—

(a) assaults a peace officer acting in the execution of the peace officer's duty, knowing that he is, or being reckless as to whether he is, a peace officer acting in the execution of his duty, or

(b) assaults any other person acting in the aid of a peace officer, or

(c) assaults any other person with intent to resist or prevent the lawful apprehension or detention of himself or any other person for any offence,

shall be guilty of an offence.

(2) A person guilty of an offence under subsection (1) shall be liable—

(a) having elected for summary disposal of the offence, on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding £1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months, or to both,

(b) on conviction on indictment, to a fine or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years or to both.

(3) Any person who resists or wilfully obstructs a peace officer acting in the execution of his duty or a person assisting a peace officer in the execution of his duty, knowing that he is or being reckless as to whether he is, a peace officer acting in the execution of his duty, shall be guilty of an offence.

(4) A person guilty of an offence under subsection (3) shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £500 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.

(5) The provisions of this section are in addition to and not in substitution of any provision in any other enactment relating to assault or obstruction of a peace officer.

(6) In this section—

“peace officer” means a member of the Garda Síochána, a prison officer or a member of the Defence Forces;

“prison” means any place for which rules or regulations may be made under the Prisons Acts, 1826 to 1980, section 7 of the Offences against the State (Amendment) Act, 1940 , section 233 of the Defence Act, 1954 , section 2 of the Prisoners of War and Enemy Aliens Act, 1956 , or section 13 of the Criminal Justice Act, 1960 ;

“prison officer” includes any member of the staff of a prison and any person having the custody of, or having duties in relation to the custody of, a person detained in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭relax carry on

Revenue & Customs have powers of arrest in multiple scenarios outlined in the below link. It's starts on page 45. Can't copy and paste them all on a mobile.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/about/foi/s16/investigations-prosecutions-enforcement/enforcement/chapter-03.pdf

That should be your homework well and truly done for you OP :pac:

Sure if you read about the court case where a person hadn't paid or zapped their leap card on a luas and they had went after the person and judge threw it out as the person was outside of luas property and the inspectors weren't entitled to use their powers

That case wasn't about them being able to use powers of arrest, but rather asking for tickets off LUAS property. Completely different.

I've said this before but I do not believe for a second that some geezer in a luminous jacket has any right to interfere with my (or any other's) constitutional rights on the say-so of either the Oireachtas or some Minister.

None of those listed, other than AGS have any meaningful power of arrest and AGS only have it because they are trained only to arrest people when they actually have legal authority to do so.

From a legal/constitutional point of view, what is the difference between an Act of the Oirachthas giving power to the Gardaí to arrest or an Act of the Oirachthas giving anyone else a power of arrest?

Gatling wrote: »
    Detain but not arrest

Realistically what is the difference, when you arrest someone you are detaining them also, how long you detain them for is another matter.

Interesting I've always personally defined "arrest" as lawful detention, but is there actually a general definition of "arrest" in Irish law? I've never come accross a proper definition.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

GM228 wrote: »

I can think of the following:-
    • Any citizen may arrest without warrant, with reasonable cause, anyone they suspect to be in the act of committing an arrestable offence or suspected to be guilty of an arrestable offence.
    • Gardaí (obviously)
    • Customs officers
    • Airport Police
    • Port/Harbour Police
    • Immigration Officers
    • Park Rangers
    • Inland Fisheries Ireland Officers
    • Private Water Keepers
    • CIE "Authorised Persons"
    • LUAS "Authorised Persons"

Anyone want to add to that?

Also does anyone know if citizens still have the common law right of arrest for breach of peace?
    Members of the Defence Forces.
    Section 268, Defence Act 1954.

(4) Any member of the Defence Forces or of the Garda Síochána may without warrant arrest any person who he has reasonable grounds to believe has committed an offence under this section and bring him before a Justice of the District Court to be dealt with according to law.

ED E wrote: »
    Military Police have powers of arrest over members of the armed forces I'm pretty sure, OP doesnt specify members of the general public or not.

I know some Dept of Ag investigators have strong powers of search and seizure, wonder if that includes any clause to perform an arrest?
    4ensic15 wrote: »
    Members of the Defence Forces.
    Section 268, Defence Act 1954.

(4) Any member of the Defence Forces or of the Garda Síochána may without warrant arrest any person who he has reasonable grounds to believe has committed an offence under this section and bring him before a Justice of the District Court to be dealt with according to law.

MP can arrest anyone (not just members of the defence forces) subject to military law who violates that military law under the Defence Act 1955 and it's not just limited to defence forces property - i.e they can do it anywhere in the state.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1954/act/18/section/171/enacted/en/html

Whilst on the subject of the defence forces, officers of the defence forces can carry out arrests when requested to do so by the Gardaí of a rank of superintendent or higher for offences under section 8 of the Criminal Law Act, under the same rules which apply to Gardaí:-

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1976/act/32/section/8/enacted/en/html#sec8

Department of Agriculture investigators don't have powers of arrest.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/department-says-its-investigation-unit-has-no-special-powers/

Yes. It is the maximum potential sentence, not the likely or actual sentence which decides an arrestable offence. theft attracts longer than 5 years so is an arrestable offence.

Here's a question, a person is entitled to know on what charge or on suspicion of what crime they are being arrested. If a person is not so informed but is nevertheless arrested false imprisonment can apply, does that apply to anybody with powers to arrest, I imagine it must under previous Supreme Court rulings and the requirements of the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission Act 2014:-

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2014/act/25/schedule/3/enacted/en/html?q=Arrest&search_type=all
    Article 5 (2)

Everyone who is arrested shall be informed promptly, in a language which he understands, of the reasons for his arrest and of any charge against him.

Are there exceptions and if not how would that work in say a citizens arrest, most citizens wouldn't know the relevant law they are using.

Thanks to all input so far, OP updated, have we covered them all or is there more?

Can anyone answer my other OP question, do citizens still have the common law right of arrest for breach of peace?

Immigration Officers in regard to non-nationals for the purposes of removal from the State or deportation or for being unlawfully present.

They can also arrest anyone who has applied for international protection if they suspect they pose a threat to public security or order in the state, have not made reasonable efforts to establish their identity, intends to leave the state and without lawful authority enter another state, has undermined any arrangement relating to the Common Travel Area, has a suspected forged travel document and more interestingly is suspected of committing a serious non-political crime outside the state.

Does the last part comply fully with the requirements to tell someone the suspicion of crime or on what charge they are arrested?

Does anybody know if Prison Officers have any powers of arrest (possibly only within a prison), or any court officers such as Sheriffs etc, I don't think they do?

Realistically what is the difference, when you arrest someone you are detaining them also, how long you detain them for is another matter.

Interesting I've always personally defined "arrest" as lawful detention, but is there actually a general definition of "arrest" in Irish law? I've never come accross a proper definition.

Purely some musings but if someone was detained and not arrested by a member of Joe public that person may have a stronger case for false imprisonment etc. The reason being is there is no power to detain, only arrest.

One presumes that after an arrest one has the right to use reasonable force to detain that person, but I'm not sure that's a risk (legally or practically) I'd be taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

What are you basing this belief on? Your description could apply to Gardaí as much as anyone.

Indeed, as I said Gardaí and anyone else with powers of arrest get those powers from Acts of the Oirachthas.

Here's a question, a person is entitled to know on what charge or on suspicion of what crime they are being arrested. If a person is not so informed but is nevertheless arrested false imprisonment can apply, does that apply to anybody with powers to arrest, I imagine it must under previous Supreme Court rulings and the requirements of the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission Act 2014:-

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2014/act/25/schedule/3/enacted/en/html?q=Arrest&search_type=all

Are there exceptions and if not how would that work in say a citizens arrest, most citizens wouldn't know the relevant law they are using.

Thanks to all input so far, OP updated, have we covered them all or is there more?

Can anyone answer my other OP question, do citizens still have the common law right of arrest for breach of peace?

Citizens arrest is generally available when the perpetrator is caught red-handed.
    In those circumstances the accused knows why he is being arrested and the Courts are satisfied once the person knows the reason for the arrest. In a number of drink driving cases it has been held that the person does not have to be told the exact section of the act constituting the offence. It is sufficient to say drunk driving.

I have been trying to answer my OP question for a while now:
    does anyone know if citizens still have the common law right of arrest for breach of peace?

Having looked at Thorpe v DPP it would appear that the answer to my question is yes.

However I recently came upon an online news article about breach of peace in the home, I can't find the link now but I think it was dated 2015. What I found curious was there was an apparent quote of a Guard stating they lost their common law power of arrest for breach of peace due to a recent court case. What I can't find is any relevant case that the Guard may have been referring, was it simply in relation to a breach of peace within the home, thus leaving the general right still in place outside the home?

I know in the UK case law has suggested arrest for breach of peace can apply in a home (if a member of the public was to be disturbed) and I'm curious of the position here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I have been trying to answer my OP question for a while now:

Having looked at Thorpe v DPP it would appear that the answer to my question is yes.

However I recently came upon an online news article about breach of peace in the home, I can't find the link now but I think it was dated 2015. What I found curious was there was an apparent quote of a Guard stating they lost their common law power of arrest for breach of peace due to a recent court case. What I can't find is any relevant case that the Guard may have been referring, was it simply in relation to a breach of peace within the home, thus leaving the general right still in place outside the home?

I know in the UK case law has suggested arrest for breach of peace can apply in a home (if a member of the public was to be disturbed) and I'm curious of the position here.

The Garda was mistaken. What Gardaí have lost is the power to charge for breach of the peace without a direction from the D.P.P. If i recall correctly, the D.P.P. took this step after a number of cases where breach of the peace was used instead of an existing statutory power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Kevin3

Is a common law offence an 'arrestable offence'? What is the maximum sentence you could get for a breach of the peace?

Kevin3 wrote: »
    Is a common law offence an 'arrestable offence'? What is the maximum sentence you could get for a breach of the peace?

Yes a common law offence can be an arrestable offence if it carries a potential 5 years or more prison sentence.

Not sure about maximum prison sentence (if any) for breach of peace, AFAIK it's an indictable offence at common law but usually only dealth with summarily at DC level I believe meaning maximum 12 month sentence at the DC, but does it even carry a potential prison sentence, arn't people usually just bound to keep the peace which actually isn't a conviction meaning no sentence.

The Garda was mistaken.

Are you sure? I found the news report and the quote is from AGS president Tim Galvin.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardaiacute-seek-extra-powers-of-arrest-to-tackle-domestic-violence-incidents-322409.html
    We had a common law power of breach of the peace and you could arrest them in a house, but that was declared unconstitutional

Is the comment in relation to within the home being unconstitutional I wonder considering he specifically mentions "in a house".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Yes a common law offence can be an arrestable offence if it carries a potential 5 years or more prison sentence.

Not sure about maximum prison sentence (if any) for breach of peace, AFAIK it's an indictable offence at common law but usually only dealth with summarily at DC level I believe meaning maximum 12 month sentence at the DC, but does it even carry a potential prison sentence, arn't people usually just bound to keep the peace which actually isn't a conviction meaning no sentence.

If I remember my lectures from a good few years ago correctly, all common law offences are/were arrestable because they're all indictable (this was in England & Wales at least, and since then I think it's been changed so that all offences are arrestable under S.24 PACE once certain conditions are met.).