Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst/weirdest place youve seen people fall asleep

• 10-07-2016 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

Im not really the sleepy type but my best mate is..his a guarantee to fall asleep in the car if the journey is more than 5 miles, he loves a good kip at the end of a right session and once we found him asleep in the doorway of a centra when he got sleepy on his walk home

Are you like these are do you know of somebody who is..whats the weirdest skeep youve had or heard of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I woke up one morning on someone's kitchen table in Sligo. Not just resting my head on it, like properly up on it curled up in a ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

pablo128 wrote: »
    I woke up one morning on someone's kitchen table in Sligo. Not just resting my head on it, like properly up on it curled up in a ball.

Yeah waking up in sligo sounds brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭lc180

My mate fell asleep in an elevator while we were stuck in it and waiting for help.
    We had been on the pints of Guinness the night before and he farts something stupid in his sleep so it was overall a pretty traumatising experience for myself.

Have slept in a bath, on a stairs and on a toilet floor.

The element of shame really added an edge to the subsequent hangovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Saw a lad falling asleep with a pint in his hand standing in a bar in Cavan after a night on session without kipping...

He was fine for about 20 mins and eventually one the lads his head rested on a wall before he was about to fall over....

Slept for a good hour in that position and was brand new after....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

My uncle fell asleep on a roundabout before. I cant fall asleep unless im comfy in a bed or a couch, no matter how drunk I am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

Had a snooze half way up a mountain last weekend. Would have slept there for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭PopTarts

A friend of mine fell asleep while having his hair cut once.

Bizarre.

PopTarts wrote: »
    A friend of mine fell asleep while having his hair cut once.

Bizarre.

I've done that too.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

I once nodded off while getting my teeth cleaned, the dentist was very impressed :-()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Utility room floor at a friends house party using my jacket as both a blanket and a pillow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭sundodger5

On a motorbike.....while driving. It didn't end well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Was it in Cartron by any chance?

It was near enough to Sligo town but not sure of the area. Probably around 2001/2002.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

on a dropship

It was near enough to Sligo town but not sure of the area. Probably around 2001/2002.

Yeah I'm pretty sure that was my mam's kitchen table! Just north-west of the town, off the Rosses Point road? You must be friends with one of my brothers!

I genuinely couldn't tell you as it was so long ago. Myself and a mate went up for a night out, and stayed in a girls house he was seeing. As far as I know she was renting a room there at the time. She was from Leitrim herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Maybe its just a thing Sligo people do when visiting ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,350 ✭✭✭munster87

I fell asleep on a plane before. Lost my pilot licence after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Going to work early one morning and found our postman asleep, sitting on his bicycle and leaning against the Convent wall.
    Tippy - toed past him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

My daughter was at Speech and Language therapy, and I dozed off sitting in with her and the therapist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

On the production line in the Smithwicks Brewery while on a school trip (yes a brewery).The noise was deafening.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I once fell asleep on a high stool at the side of the dancefloor in a club in Leeson Street. There may have been drink involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Genuinely.....on top of a woman during sex. But I think she did too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

When I was a teenager I got up in the morning for school and my sister was asleep standing up with her arms around the hot tank. Had gone looking in there for clean socks or whatever and it was warm and comfy so she just nodded off again. She's a champion sleeper that one.

I have a tendency to fall asleep in the foetal position under the duvet at the foot of the bed. I seem to spend more of my time in hospital than out of it, and during my most recent stint, several times the alarms were raised because the nurses doing the hourly checks thought I'd gone AWOL. :o When in fact I was just curled up at the wrong end of the bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

On top of one of those massive concrete tombs that are right by some churches belonging to some important priest or something from yonks back. I was absolutely locked but its one of the better drunken sleeps I have had. Usually I'd end up in a bath or in a wardrobe if I need a quick nap on the sly.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I was out sailing in a race a few weeks ago and three of us who were sitting on the side all fell asleep/dozed for the best part of an hour.

One guy lay down on the deck, wrapped his arm around the rail and slept. I spent about fifteen minutes wondering if he was going to roll overboard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I fell asleep on the stairs in a friends place at a house party one night.

Crippled the next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

In a pub toilet. Sat down, trousers around ankles, head against door. No idea how long for. Had told friends I was leaving but went to toilet first. When I woke they were gone.

Can't even claim it was a moment of drunken youthfulness as it was only two summers ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Knew a guy that fell asleep at a table, tipped out of the chair and promptly fell back asleep curled up on the floor

I found a friend sleeping on his back on the footpath outside a neighbour's house. Still holding onto his bottle of beer though. His brother pulled him by the legs across the road and in his own front door. That woke him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

my uncle in Kerry used to take donkey and cart to local every night. At closing time he would get in cart and donkey would know way home and stop in yard while my uncle slept it off until 5 am/
    All the locals knew this and one night they were waiting. they lifted him off the cart, unhitched the donkey. and took the wheels off the cart.
    They brought him.the donkey, cart and wheels into the farmhouse kitchen, reassembled the whole lot and put him back in the cart.
    Course he woke as usual at 5 am.......thought the fairies had got him/
    Tried to tell his friends but ( all knowing what happened) told him he was dreaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Fell asleep in a Cinema when I was about 16.
    Woke up alone and in total darkness.
    Had to break out of the place and got in unbelievable **** because I broke a tiny window in the toilets to effect my escape.
    Got fined, had to pay for new window glass, and barred for three weeks from said Cinema.
    Jeez, the injustice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I'm deleting the oul subscription to this thread because there are hardly any "Thanks" to posts and I'm particularly pissed off that nobody "Thanked" my post about actually falling asleep on top of a woman during sex. FFS! Can there be a worst or weirder place to fall asleep, considering your knob is inside another person!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭Daisy78

Saw a young boy, couldn't have been more than 5 or 6 asleep on the pavement outside the Hilton hotel in Ho Chi Minh, dressed only in a light vest and shorts. It was a fairly respectable part of the city with a lot of international hotel chains in the area which probably made it all the more jarring to see a small child so destitute. Here was this tiny little fella fast asleep on the footpath with tourists passing in and out of the hotel not paying any heed. I had never encountered that level of poverty before and wasn't sure how to respond. Eventually a police woman came along and gave him some food so at least somebody was keeping an eye on him. I still think about him, wondering if he ever managed to find a more permanent home and a safer and more comfortable place to sleep at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

When I was small, I used to pull the laundry out of the dryer when it was dry but still hot, pile it into a huge laundry basket my Granny had, and climb on top. It was so warm and soft and heavenly. I'd still do it if I could fit.

I have a tendency to fall asleep in the foetal position under the duvet at the foot of the bed. I seem to spend more of my time in hospital than out of it, and during my most recent stint, several times the alarms were raised because the nurses doing the hourly checks thought I'd gone AWOL. :o When in fact I was just curled up at the wrong end of the bed.

Oh and another night I went to the loo, came back and spooned in a friend's bed across the ward from me. Imagine! :o She took it well, thankfully she was sound and just laughed the next day and told me I was a gob****e, but isn't that a nightmare ... going into a psychiatric hospital, and having one of the other patients cuddle-raping you in your sleep! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Daisy78 wrote: »
    Saw a young boy, couldn't have been more than 5 or 6 asleep on the pavement outside the Hilton hotel in Ho Chi Minh, dressed only in a light vest and shorts. It was a fairly respectable part of the city with a lot of international hotel chains in the area which probably made it all the more jarring to see a small child so destitute. Here was this tiny little fella fast asleep on the footpath with tourists passing in and out of the hotel not paying any heed. I had never encountered that level of poverty before and wasn't sure how to respond. Eventually a police woman came along and gave him some food so at least somebody was keeping an eye on him. I still think about him, wondering if he ever managed to find a more permanent home and a safer and more comfortable place to sleep at night.

Good Post

It's actually horrendous how some kids are forced to live.
    Yet Vietnam is able to spend vast amounts of money on it's Army while some of it's childern are desititue.

Although in saying that we're not much better
    I've seen mothers with their kids sleeping in their arms begging on the Streets of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The jax of the Left Bank in Kilkenny. Woke up to see bouncers arms coming over the door and I fought them off thinking I was seeing things. We all had a good laugh as I was being casually escorted out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

My friend fell asleep in a hotel corridor at a wedding. The night porter found him and couldn't get any info from him so put him in an empty room just to get him out of corridor. He woke the next morning to a room identical to his own but it was obviously empty of belongings.

He had no recollection of what happened so he marched to reception saying his room was robbed 'they took absolutely everything' until the receptionist told him what happened he piped down a lot then. Very embarrassing for him but it gave us all a bit of a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭Mech1

I was awoken one night by two gardai that had a report from a distressed young lady that she couldnt get up the stairs to her apartment due to a naked gent asleep midway up the staircase.

I had been on the lash and sleepwalked out of my apartment and promptly fell asleep out there.

The Gardai questioned me briefly and brought me back to my apartment door and knocked for a while before waking my girlfriend and asked her if I belonged to her!

A few other questions as well as in had we had an argument or something before they would release me back into her care.

Best thing was I had a police scanner in my bedroom blaring away and they assumed it was coming from their car parked 3 floors down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I was very lucky now that I think of it... I fell asleep leaning over the edge of the ferry leaving Aranmore Island in Donegal one morning at 8am. We had gone straight through the night partying and I decided I had to escape the debauchery. I drifted off while I was staring at the waves. The deck hand woke me up when he came round looking for tickets approaching Burtonport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

One night was out with a fella who my dad happened to like very much.
    Same fella proceeded to knock back about 10 pints and copious amounts of shots. He after "walking" me home collapsed on my da's car bonnet and rolled under the car where he promptly went into a sound sleep.
    Knocking on the door panicking I happened to get the blame "you are very selfish making the poor lad go out when he was working hard all week!....he's obviously wrecked!!??"
    Dafuq!? I didn't even drink at the time!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

I was on holidays last week. It was hot, was out touring all day, i couldn't stay awake anymore, so i sat down on a bench for 5 minutes. Then i lied down and fell asleep. It was only meant to be a power nap. woke up when some random stranger ran up to me and slapped my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

What a great thread and something I hadn't thought of much and now realise how many stories I have..best/ worst one is waking up at the bottom of my parents bed after crying my eyes out...very drunk..
    Jeez I have fallen asleep in so many places, under cars, boots of cars ..Outside of Leisureland Galway in December..
    But the best story is of my friend falling asleep against iron railings (Cork city 1990 at Prince) his head slipped through the railings and he got stuck, everyong gone..no mobiles back then..tis a good thing a young Graham Norton didn't come by..

What a great thread and something I hadn't thought of much and now realise how many stories I have..best/ worst one is waking up at the bottom of my parents bed after crying my eyes out...very drunk..
    Jeez I have fallen asleep in so many places, under cars, boots of cars ..Outside of Leisureland Galway in December..
    But the best story is of my friend falling asleep against iron railings (Cork city 1990 at Prince) his head slipped through the railings and he got stuck, everyong gone..no mobiles back then..tis a good thing a young Graham Norton didn't come by..

Another 2 stories..
    Friend of mine found his father asleep at the wheel ...he ( the father) was a Garda at the time..
    Heard of another lad who drove his car into a flood, stalled it and woke up hours later with queues of people either side..he got pneumonia afterwards..he learnt his lesson..