Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Riello flange

• 10-07-2016 12:29am
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Was at a heatpac yesterday. Had a recirculating poc problem. It was comming out beside the blast tube. I got it sorted by loosening the burner mounting nut, to provide a better seal.

The burner seemed to rock where it butted the flange. The flange doesn't seem to be of a material that could warp, but something was going on there. I made sure there was no residue at the interface.
    I have ordered a new flange and gasget.
    Anyone else had this happen? Know why?

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭jimf

yes I have seen it several times and usually on a gx5 burner but on g3 as well but not as often why cant riello use 2 points to attach burner to flange

loosening the nut back a little allows the burner to fall more into place against the flange body

new flange and gasket might not even fix the problem ah well theres always a little rub of ht silicone to the rescue

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 Nidge Murphy

Does Ht silicone comply?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

jimf wrote: »
    yes I have seen it several times and usually on a gx5 burner but on g3 as well but not as often why cant riello use 2 points to attach burner to flange

loosening the nut back a little allows the burner to fall more into place against the flange body

new flange and gasket might not even fix the problem ah well theres always a little rub of ht silicone to the rescue

Was a G5X alright Jim. Flange was as if bent slightly in at top and bottom (not obvious to the eye) causing a slight cam in the centre. You would think that the single bolt mounting would cause it to bend the flange the other way.

Are the burner mounting faces damaged in such cases also? You said new flange might not fix it.
    Might need a daub if gunk when I go back.

Does Ht silicone comply?

Probably not, but it gets it going until properly sorted. Would give it more consideration if it was a kitchen or utility unit.

Btw how come you can post? I see "banned" beneath your user name. Not having a go, just curious.

im like you wearb id be more concerned if it was indoor

i have come across a a few mounting flanges warped but only on the flat boiler /gasket side never on the burner side

im like you wearb id be more concerned if it was indoor

i have come across a a few mounting flanges warped but only on the flat boiler /gasket side never on the burner side

Good. I'll get it sorted one way or another then.

maybe a slightly longer bolt that you put the nut on to mount the burner and a few washers to allow a bit of bite that way the arse of the burner may not kick out as much

says he who never tried this himself

maybe a slightly longer bolt that you put the nut on to mount the burner and a few washers to allow a bit of bite that way the arse of the burner may not kick out as much

says he who never tried this himself

Could be a good solution Jim. However I will fit the new flange this time and keep the other in mind.

Another thing that happened when I was servicing this.... It was firing fine when I arrived, but after cleaning the PC it failed. I had to fit a new PC.

I have a theory on this and will run it by you. I think that the PC was close to failing before I got there. Failing as in seeing light during startup. The slightly dirty PC dulled down this light and allowed it to start. Cleaning the PC allowed more light on its face and it refused to allow the solenoid to open.

What you think?

btw I don't have a new PC of this type at moment, but the failed one read 200/300 Ohms with my key ring LED and 14,000/16,000 Ohms when covered. This may be useless info because of the nature of LED's. I will see when I can compare it to a new one.

if there is one thing i have learned since i started with riello burners is to expect anything i don't mean this is a bad way imho their a grand burner to work with

pc on the g series have so many failure symptoms from 12 sec lockout to constant running of burner without going to lock out to having a nuisance once a week lockout to maybe twice a day

i have had two burners in recent times that needed both pc and cb to solve an issue which caused the problem to take out the other i don't know but i don't get too hung up on reasons for failures anymore jesus when i started i used to wreck my head trying to come up with excuses

i suppose with the fg recycling the flame pattern was changing due to the different amounts of excess air available

jaysus wheres that scudo when we need ans to a technical question but then again ???????????????????????????????????

Wearb wrote: »
    Could be a good solution Jim. However I will fit the new flange this time and keep the other in mind.

Another thing that happened when I was servicing this.... It was firing fine when I arrived, but after cleaning the PC it failed. I had to fit a new PC.

I have a theory on this and will run it by you. I think that the PC was close to failing before I got there. Failing as in seeing light during startup. The slightly dirty PC dulled down this light and allowed it to start. Cleaning the PC allowed more light on its face and it refused to allow the solenoid to open.

What you think?

btw I don't have a new PC of this type at moment, but the failed one read 200/300 Ohms with my key ring LED and 14,000/16,000 Ohms when covered. This may be useless info because of the nature of LED's. I will see when I can compare it to a new one.

Thanks Jim. Scudo! Where are you :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Thanks Jim. Scudo! Where are you :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Prob still stagging

Don't think I am active on boards long enough to get that Dtp.

Still I miss his quirkiness. He'd have had a unique way of sorting out my flange problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Tom44

Was at a heatpac yesterday. Had a recirculating poc problem. It was comming out beside the blast tube. I got it sorted by loosening the burner mounting nut, to provide a better seal.

The burner seemed to rock where it butted the flange. The flange doesn't seem to be of a material that could warp, but something was going on there. I made sure there was no residue at the interface.
    I have ordered a new flange and gasget.
    Anyone else had this happen? Know why?

Over tightening of the two flange nuts on the firebird heatpac encourages warping as flange is not on a total flat surface like other makes of boilers, all metal, especially aluminum will warp if heated and stressed.(over tightened bolts)
    Escaping hot fumes will then amplify the warping.

The single mounting bolt is not the fault or cause.

A bead of fire cement or HT silicon will help.

Tom.

I googled SCUDO before, it made interesting reading in a strange way !!

cheers for your input tom

Don't think I am active on boards long enough to get that Dtp.

Still I miss his quirkiness. He'd have had a unique way of sorting out my flange problem.

No hidden joke. I just meant he's sulking

Yeah thanks Tom.

Scudo was nothing if not interesting. However he left of his own accord, so could re register any time he liked.
    Have to say that on the whole I miss his down to earth contributions.

Yeah thanks Tom.

Scudo was nothing if not interesting. However he left of his own accord, so could re register any time he liked.
    Have to say that on the whole I miss his down to earth contributions.

Me too. The last version (scudo3) that came back was a bit bitter though.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Me too. The last version (scudo3) that came back was a bit bitter though.

Well he only came back that time to get it all of his chest. He had a belligerent attitude then. He needed to be a little less uptight and ease back in.

He could have stayed, but I guess he let it get to him.

Well he only came back that time to get it all of his chest. He had a belligerent attitude then. He needed to be a little less uptight and ease back in.

He could have stayed, but I guess he let it get to him.
    Before my time, but I saw some heated debates with a Shane, but nothing over the top ?
    Nothing else much.
    Cannot find a scudo3
    When I re read old topics.

Tom44 wrote: »
    Before my time, but I saw some heated debates with a Shane, but nothing over the top ?
    Nothing else much.
    Cannot find a scudo3
    When I re read old topics.

Scudo3 was only back for a day

I meant belligerent during his last day or two. He wasn't always like that, just then, when he had made up his mind to leave. He wanted to get a few things off his chest before going.

ah he just got grumpy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

Scudo is still around for those who know where to look, resident now in a place where topics such has this can be discussed with fellow professionals without the general public having access to it, information that Billy the Kid could cause damage with.

You sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

Well! when not at the wine counter in Aldi.

I'm lost :confused:

You and me both

hes gone upmarket so it used to be lidl :cool::cool:

Nothing worse or more dangerous than a drunk giving his two pence worth of advice here then ?
    No wonder he was banned 👍

I think Scudo left of his own accord and wasn't banned.

As for bad advice, there are enough watching the forum to correct bad advice.
    The danger is PMs. For that reason I never give advice to joe public by PM

I think Scudo left of his own accord and wasn't banned.

As for bad advice, there are enough watching the forum to correct bad advice.
    The danger is PMs. For that reason I never give advice to joe public by PM

Agree,
    But there's not as much regulars/old characters "plumbers" as their use to be giving interesting good debates, DGOBS (Funny name !!) is gone, witch & garry too, Andy from Sligo was interesting, and one or two others who made posts interesting. + one or two twats.

But it was entertaining, which it's not now. P&H forum

Is anybody actually qualified here, no proof so nobody knows? ?
    No direct offence intended.

Tom.

Jeasus, I'm a taxi driver 92% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Robbie.G

Agree,
    But there's not as much regulars/old characters "plumbers" as their use to be giving interesting good debates, DGOBS (Funny name !!) is gone, witch & garry too, Andy from Sligo was interesting, and one or two others who made posts interesting. + one or two twats.

Tom.

The strange thing is that a few of those that you mentioned weren't qualified plumbers just people that really know their job

Agree,

Tom.

ya I agree theres no bit of a debate here anymore like in the old days when shane and scudo used to have a go at each other don't mention capacitors :p

Agree,

Tom.

Dgobs and Gary aren't gone are they??

don't think so

Robbie.G wrote: »
    The strange thing is that a few of those that you mentioned weren't qualified plumbers just people that really know their job

What's qualified?

Peter Pan could be giving advice here for all we know ?

It frightened the bejesus out if me. I looked it up and they are still here....phew!

JimF is the only one of the real old guys left here now.

What's qualified?

If you think there are not good knowledgeable people here, just post a bul**** answer to some question and you will soon find out.

"Plumbers know everything "

Sorry, couldn't resist. :):)

No offence, just had to post,
    Electricians too know everything, but we know they don't !!

It frightened the bejesus out if me. I looked it up and they are still here....phew!

JimF is the only one of the real old guys left here now.

real old is very accurate :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Over the years there have been a few "..wtf are you saying" moments alright :pac:

What you think?

Maybe nobody interested but here goes anyway.

I have compared a new one 250 ohms with same LED and 225,000 when covered and shaded (seems
    the plastic of the PC allows light to difuse)
    The covered figures vary, depending on how well its shaded, but it seems that good one will be in the
    100s of thousands ohms and a bad one in the 10s of thousands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭agusta

Maybe nobody interested but here goes anyway.

I have compared a new one 250 ohms with same LED and 225,000 when covered and shaded (seems
    the plastic of the PC allows light to difuse)
    The covered figures vary, depending on how well its shaded, but it seems that good one will be in the
    100s of thousands ohms and a bad one in the 10s of thousands.[
    A photo cell can fail on both sides of the parameters,the only true way of testing is with a lux meter

I like that your looking for a gasman on a post about oily flanges:D

gary71 wrote: »
    I like that your looking for a gasman on a post about oily flanges:D

Huh?
    Maybe it just me being slow today. Gave it a lash in Kilkenny at a stag last night :(. I am too old for such carrying on.

Huh?
    Maybe it just me being slow today. Gave it a lash in Kilkenny at a stag last night :(. I am too old for such carrying on.

As I normally stay way from oily flange posts I didn't know Ye were looking for me:o

gary71 wrote: »
    As I normally stay way from oily flange posts I didn't know Ye were looking for me:o

Oh! I never really noticed that you didn't post much on oil.
    Must pay more more attention in class

Oh! I never really noticed that you didn't post much on oil.
    Must pay more more attention in class

Don't touch oil anymore, the first job I did in this country was oil and I got chased around my van by the customer who was trying to throw the contents of a bucket of poo over me:( but the turning point was when I was serviceing a big boiler in a shopping centre and I opened the door of the boiler house to find all the shoppers and staff standing in the carpark all looking at me after the shopping centre was evacuated because the big girl blouses management mistook a little tiny bit of smoke from the boiler as a fire:confused:

There you are. Look at all the fun you are missing out on now. :0